Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

If the deal looks anything like that, I want something other than just 2 and Chesser back, especially if we're sending off Acres, because we could use him ahead of some of our forward options we seem happy to fill the bench with.

I've seen this valuation of Humphrey for a few hours now, and if the club is reading this, I want to be very clear: **** that.

Do not make that deal, do not even entertain it. There is no valuation of Humphrey where that makes any sense. He would have to transform into a star midfielder for that to make sense.

That deal is horrifically bad for the future of this football club and helps neither Voss nor any reboot or rebuild.
Fair enough Jim

What do you think he is worth in a trade, or is he not worth pursuing?

To those saying Humphrey is not worth 2x first rounders (ESPECIALLY in a weaker draft) whilst being contracted till 2028 are delusional.

As stated by a poster earlier, all the clubs can see where his talent is going, hence why there's already 4 big Victorian clubs after him (will likely be more soon)

IF the Suns would take 2 firsts in the current draft, you do that every day of the week.

If the Dawks don't get Merrett, I guarantee you they'll be giving two firsts for Humphrey.

If the deal looks anything like that, I want something other than just 2 and Chesser back, especially if we're sending off Acres, because we could use him ahead of some of our forward options we seem happy to fill the bench with.

I've seen this valuation of Humphrey for a few hours now, and if the club is reading this, I want to be very clear: **** that.

Do not make that deal, do not even entertain it. There is no valuation of Humphrey where that makes any sense. He would have to transform into a star midfielder for that to make sense.

That deal is horrifically bad for the future of this football club and helps neither Voss nor any reboot or rebuild.
If Melbourne throw in May and Oliver I'd like it more.

That could definitely work
But imo if im carlton you worry about Cody next year with trading out 2027 and 2028 future picks
I dunno just feels like if we trade out one of the best full forwards with the draft picks we already have youd be wanting another gun midfielder with Hayward Florent and Humphrey, so you could trial cripps playing more as a forward

With Tassie coming in and dominating the draft in ‘27, even a mid table finish leaves our natural pick at 20 plus. How then do you expect that pick to be the basis of trading in to the ‘26 draft for enough points to match a top three bid on Cody.

We must go in to the ‘26 season with enough points to match a high bid, or at very least an airtight agreement with a trusted trading partner to trade in the future (anyone trust any of our opponents with that?)

Last edited by a moderator:
They essentially swapped Marshall for TDK and will receive a 1st round pick (Geelong's). TDK also much younger so has way more years left.

Marshall out -> TDK, 1st Rd pick in.

Pretty smart business.

Regardless, the compo picks give us some good leverage to make moves either for our F/S prospects or to attack trades. The freed up salary cap is a bonus too.
“Smart business”?

Bloody ruthless business!

Take a heart and soul warrior who just happens to be in the top half dozen rucks in the competition, a go to when times are tough and tell him he is no longer held in high esteem by the management. A young bloke from another mob who has reached his mid twenties and remains more promise than performance has pushed you aside.

Anyone think Marshall has mates in the group. Players who look to him as their pillar, their minder, now see him flicked on a whim.

Then we have TDK joined by the son of the list manager in a major list overhaul.

We Blues are concerned by elements of our culture. Good luck Saints.

To those saying Humphrey is not worth 2x first rounders (ESPECIALLY in a weaker draft) whilst being contracted till 2028 are delusional.

As stated by a poster earlier, all the clubs can see where his talent is going, hence why there's already 4 big Victorian clubs after him (will likely be more soon)

IF the Suns would take 2 firsts in the current draft, you do that every day of the week.

If the Dawks don't get Merrett, I guarantee you they'll be giving two firsts for Humphrey.
Also going back a week or so people here suggesting trading Curnow for Humphrey & pick 6 & maybe even Walter was mentioned.

Seems like Humphrey value has suddenly increased on the back of his potential availability, is a very good player but let's temper things a little, definitely a early 1st & something else added, lf it happens more likely to be part of a three way trade.

Think whoever gave EB the info was going off what the Suns and manager had told people (including the clubs) which as we've found out today is a load of bullshit the level we've rarely seen.

It'll play out over the weekend.

I just hope he doesn't pick Collingwood as it would be a massive piece of their post-Pendles and Sidebottom puzzle.
When ever eb put the 🐻❌ up Gold Coast come out and said Humphrey isn’t on the trade table the next day

Replace Acres with Florent in 2025. Are we a better team or not?
We all love Blake because Dees. But to me he’s exactly the type of player we neeed to move off. Poor decision making and bad kicking is death in the modern game, doesn’t matter how good your running patterns are. So yes, we’re better

They essentially swapped Marshall for TDK and will receive a 1st round pick (Geelong's). TDK also much younger so has way more years left.

Marshall out -> TDK, 1st Rd pick in.

Pretty smart business.

Regardless, the compo picks give us some good leverage to make moves either for our F/S prospects or to attack trades. The freed up salary cap is a bonus too.
This doesn’t take into account the TDK impact on their salary cap. TDK is being paid so far over that he’s effectively going to cost them an extra player in the 600-700k range.

Classic case of overvaluing our own and undervaluing others.

Curnow and Humphrey would just about be a straight swap.

At this stage..

I can’t help but feel, at rock bottom with the club. Of course I’ll reassess after trade week.

We had all this great hope that Graham Wright, was some great agent of change.

IMO. We kept Voss
  • We must of struggled to attract any decent assistant. Our coaching group seems to have come out worse.
  • We haven’t lost players throughout the dark times, but now they want out TDK (money), JSOS (wanted out), Curnow (wants out)
I’ll wait until after trade week to assess the list, but not holding great hope, it’s going to be better than this years.

Getting some “laughs” at my comments on Humphrey’s value.

We moved on two first rounders, a second rounder, and Matt Owies for 18yo, 0 game, unproven Jagga Smith last year.

But two first rounders for 21yo, 60 game, 4th in the B&F AND contracted Bailey Humphrey is absurd.

The draft is weak and we have Dean and Walker over the next two years. It would be a steal people.

Curnow’s value off field is worth far more than Humphrey … he attracts membership and sponsorship.

I think this is overplayed. Worth maybe 2-3000 members who would’ve jumped off anyway with how poor we were. We will always attract lucrative sponsorships as a big Victorian club.

Winning on field is how you win off field.

Charlie is worth more but not a great deal more, I still think if we can somehow get Humphrey and Walter for Charlie and current pick 9 and maybe our future 3rd that’s about right.

That will set us up for the future

Humphrey is worth 2 first round picks, but what you are all forgetting is we need to get another 1st rd pick for next year. And we need those picks to do it.

We are in a tough position this and next year because the AFL decides to move the goal posts instead of worrying about NGA’s and free agency of players wanting to go to successful clubs or ones ie St Shitna with heaps of money.

So it’s a catch 22. Would looooovvvve Humphrey but he would need to demand us. Which sadly, competing against other clubs we are not that attractive.

Collingwood would sell him a dream but that team gets involved and have no picks. But they seem to flog ordinary players off at ease and get 1st rounders for them because they came from a successful club.

What does it tell you why there is no bidding frenzy on a player like Charlie.

Says it all about us unfortunately for now.

But one day some young gun will have the mentality of i love Carlton and would love to go and help them up the ladder. I can only dream. Would Humphrey do that. I think he has this air of cockiness and want to play in front of big crowds and in a successful club.

Would love to be proven wrong by a player one of these days. Ie Juddy.

Also going back a week or so people here suggesting trading Curnow for Humphrey & pick 6 & maybe even Walter was mentioned.

Seems like Humphrey value has suddenly increased on the back of his potential availability, is a very good player but let's temper things a little, definitely a early 1st & something else added, lf it happens more likely to be part of a three way trade.
You're technically right, but this is how open markets work, there's now a bidding war for Humphrey which makes his value go up and up and up.

On the surface, yes Charlie is more valuable than Humphrey, however, a bidding war changes all of that, and a bidding war we do not have on ol mate Charles.

100%. If anything, Humphrey is worth more in a trade. We can posture and say Charlie's not on the table all we like, but most know it's just talk. Gold coast actually mean it when they say they don't want to trade Humphrey. Hardwick isn't going to let Humphrey get traded for a pick 10 in this draft, he's pushing for a flag.

I’d like to think the Suns would want to deal with a club that offers them the best deal in terms of a quality player and picks if it agrees to trade Humphrey - and on that basis its more likely that would be Carlton rather than Collingwood or even Hawthorn.
let's not sell ourselves short....

We get a Humphrey in the door, we're definitely top 8 bound.... we made a prelim only 2 years ago.

Reckon our big guns won't be excited by the addition of Humphrey and maybe Haywood?

Cripps, Weiters, Harry, Walshy, Cerra - all had poor seasons by their own lofty standards (for a host of different reasons).

Can't see that repeating in unison?

Kemp, Smith, Newman - add a lot to our best 22... Kemp may take a bit more time to get going...

Just need to make sure the other guys coming in (the B, C grader types) are a level up on the blokes we're culling or trading... reckon Chesser will surprise many....

And given EH's obvious talents, I'd like to see the Club try to get him to resolve his issues...

I think at this stage, Curnow should be worth a little more.. probably Humphrey and a first, with a later pick going back..

Charlie is worth more but not a great deal more, I still think if we can somehow get Humphrey and Walter for Charlie and current pick 9 and maybe our future 3rd that’s about right.

That will set us up for the future

Are Charlie’s next 4 years of football worth more to Carlton than Humphrey’s next 12?

He is worth overs to GC for the same reason Charlie is worth overs to us; contracted on unders, marquee player, output should improve next year.

There is a chance Humphrey becomes a better footballer in as little as 12 months. I wouldn’t bet on it myself but he just came 4th in their BnF. Hes not a Hayward or Florent he’s a genuine star.

Tipping they end up being traded for a similar price.

I think at this stage, Curnow should be worth a little more.. probably Humphrey and a first, with a later pick going back..

Ultimately comes down to how badly Charlie wants out and how badly Hardwick wants Petracca and potentially Charlie himself.

I don’t think Humphrey is particularly keen on leaving atm but that will change if they bring in marquee players in his position.