Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

At this stage..

I can’t help but feel, at rock bottom with the club. Of course I’ll reassess after trade week.

We had all this great hope that Graham Wright, was some great agent of change.

IMO. We kept Voss
  • We must of struggled to attract any decent assistant. Our coaching group seems to have come out worse.
  • We haven’t lost players throughout the dark times, but now they want out TDK (money), JSOS (wanted out), Curnow (wants out)
I’ll wait until after trade week to assess the list, but not holding great hope, it’s going to be better than this years.
From another perspective this club has for far too long been ‘nice’ when it comes to players.For once we’ve decided to keep a coach and bring in players who want to play for this club not keep players happy or upset their feelings.

Yes it would’ve been easy to sack ANOTHER coach and go through the same cycle.I for one am excited about what the future holds.

Cody/Jagga/Moir/HOF/HOK/Walsh/Cowan etc.

I’d rather that group than cry babies like Jsos and Charlie.

You're technically right, but this is how open markets work, there's now a bidding war for Humphrey which makes his value go up and up and up.

On the surface, yes Charlie is more valuable than Humphrey, however, a bidding war changes all of that, and a bidding war we do not have on ol mate Charles.
Also, when people were talking Humphrey plus a 1st for Curnow, thats when it was assumed Goldcoast wanted Curnow. We would have some leverage there.

Now they dont want Curnow, Humphrey is an isolated deal and GC have no incentive to trade him. Ups his cost.

Saint Kilda are crazy.

Sign TDK on huge money, and Jack Silvagni on more than he is worth, and subsequently lose Marshall and Steele.

For us pick 9 and 19 is a good result.

“Smart business”?

Bloody ruthless business!

Take a heart and soul warrior who just happens to be in the top half dozen rucks in the competition, a go to when times are tough and tell him he is no longer held in high esteem by the management. A young bloke from another mob who has reached his mid twenties and remains more promise than performance has pushed you aside.

Anyone think Marshall has mates in the group. Players who look to him as their pillar, their minder, now see him flicked on a whim.

Then we have TDK joined by the son of the list manager in a major list overhaul.

We Blues are concerned by elements of our culture. Good luck Saints.
Then add in the treatment of jack steele

My question is why does geelong play nice with the saints over marshall. Yeah pick 19 is about right, but st kilda ate over a barrel here and mackie plays HARD. This could get quite funny

Getting some “laughs” at my comments on Humphrey’s value.

We moved on two first rounders, a second rounder, and Matt Owies for 18yo, 0 game, unproven Jagga Smith last year.

But two first rounders for 21yo, 60 game, 4th in the B&F AND contracted Bailey Humphrey is absurd.

The draft is weak and we have Dean and Walker over the next two years. It would be a steal people.
Not sure two first rounders are a steal but agree with you that he would be a fantastic player for us to have

Getting some “laughs” at my comments on Humphrey’s value.

We moved on two first rounders, a second rounder, and Matt Owies for 18yo, 0 game, unproven Jagga Smith last year.

But two first rounders for 21yo, 60 game, 4th in the B&F AND contracted Bailey Humphrey is absurd.

The draft is weak and we have Dean and Walker over the next two years. It would be a steal people.
The draft does not have the depth of quality compared to last year, there is definitely good talent at the high end of this .

A top five pick for Humphrey with a late 1st or early 2nd is more accurate.
We gave up 12 & 14 for Smith that is quite different to giving up top five picks.

I hope you city ##### remember. A Gippsland man don't need you around anyhow

Ahhh, the good old days, spending every school holidays and long weekend down in Lochsport at the holiday house and Bairnsdale staying with family! Do you remember Bairnsdale before it all changed when the Sydney Olympics changed everything??

Some towns in Gippsland are heavenly for bring up kids and some are get out as fast as you can. You can escape it when you live in the city. I’ll leave it at that.

Then add in the treatment of jack steele

My question is why does geelong play nice with the saints over marshall. Yeah pick 19 is about right, but st kilda ate over a barrel here and mackie plays HARD. This could get quite funny
Be funny if Geelong trade out their first rounder on the first day of trade week Hawthorn style

At this stage..

I can’t help but feel, at rock bottom with the club. Of course I’ll reassess after trade week.

We had all this great hope that Graham Wright, was some great agent of change.

IMO. We kept Voss
  • We must of struggled to attract any decent assistant. Our coaching group seems to have come out worse.
  • We haven’t lost players throughout the dark times, but now they want out TDK (money), JSOS (wanted out), Curnow (wants out)
I’ll wait until after trade week to assess the list, but not holding great hope, it’s going to be better than this years.

I suspect we are actively tanking at this point. Again, there is a lot to play out but we seem to be actively cutting depth and not really active in replacing it.

I guess they feel there is no choice after last year's disaster of an off-season (and clearing house on too many veterans and leaving the team uncompetitive, while simultaneously trading the farm to add two players who have both done their ACLs is an all-time disaster, whichever way you look at it).

so now the approach seems to have flipped completely into a fully charged tank/rebuild before Tassie enter?

I suspect internally the thinking is something like:

• add absolute minimum this season - Dean, Ison, and cheap filler (Khamis, Reidy), stockpile a late first-round or two next year.
  • clear out even more salary/veterans - Curnow, TDK, SOS, Acres (now rumoured to WC), etc.
  • retain somewhat unpopular, veteran coach as sacrificial lamb. He's a decent enough motivator to keep the young guys happy and can then cop the flak (and protect the board from criticism, which is our club's #1 goal).
  • tank next season, drop into bottom 2.
  • lose Walsh to FA next year (no way he sticks around if things go that badly...) = another first round pick as compensation
  • Further clear the decks next year - Cripps is out of contract, not sure who else but by that stage the big deals are all gone.

2026 draft = potentially get picks 2 and 3, THEN get Walker (with Swans pick and other later choices). Tanking not only gets us draft pick (and compo pick) ahead of Walker, but drastically reduces the points required to match him (ie: a bid at 2 costs 2481 points, a bid at pick 4 is only 1962, which can be matched with picks 14 and 15).

2027 season = we are terrible again = despite Tassie, we will still get a top 5 pick (ie: if we are 17th then we get pick 4). Quite a strong case for a priority pick mounts (although more likely 2028... the AFL won't want to dilute the Tassie draft more). Tassie also have to trade out 3 of their top 11 picks, and we'll be in the mix for those as well.

By end 2027 I guess we can add 5-7 draft picks to go with the very young core of role players we carried this year (we had 18 players 22 and under...)

It's the complete opposite of any strategy that has 'worked' in about two decades, but that is pretty standard fare for us at this point.

The draft does not have the depth of quality compared to last year, there is definitely good talent at the high end of this .

A top five pick for Humphrey with a late 1st or early 2nd is more accurate.
We gave up 12 & 14 for Smith that is quite different to giving up top five picks.

We don’t have a top 5 pick and I don’t expect our pick to be top 5 next year. If we get Sydney’s picks they won’t be top 5 either.

12 + 14 makes it sound somewhat reasonable. Total cost was 15 (Joe Berry) + 8 (10-12) + 29 + Owies for Jagga and a pick in the 60s.

I’m a big fan of Jagga but we paid a lot. And because we paid a lot I reckon the club will shift its focus to the new young core. Smith, Humphrey, Walker, Lord, Campos, led by Walsh and Cerra. Dean, HOF, Moir, Hollands, Carroll, Cowan, Motlop, Ison, Chesser.

I think if we can land a young gun like Humphrey it will appeal, and signify the change in mindset at the club.

I suspect we are actively tanking at this point. Again, there is a lot to play out but we seem to be actively cutting depth and not really active in replacing it.

I guess they feel there is no choice after last year's disaster of an off-season (and clearing house on too many veterans and leaving the team uncompetitive, while simultaneously trading the farm to add two players who have both done their ACLs is an all-time disaster, whichever way you look at it).

so now the approach seems to have flipped completely into a fully charged tank/rebuild before Tassie enter?

I suspect internally the thinking is something like:

• add absolute minimum this season - Dean, Ison, and cheap filler (Khamis, Reidy), stockpile a late first-round or two next year.
  • clear out even more salary/veterans - Curnow, TDK, SOS, Acres (now rumoured to WC), etc.
  • retain somewhat unpopular, veteran coach as sacrificial lamb. He's a decent enough motivator to keep the young guys happy and can then cop the flak (and protect the board from criticism, which is our club's #1 goal).
  • tank next season, drop into bottom 2.
  • lose Walsh to FA next year (no way he sticks around if things go that badly...) = another first round pick as compensation
  • Further clear the decks next year - Cripps is out of contract, not sure who else but by that stage the big deals are all gone.

2026 draft = potentially get picks 2 and 3, THEN get Walker (with Swans pick and other later choices). Tanking not only gets us draft pick (and compo pick) ahead of Walker, but drastically reduces the points required to match him (ie: a bid at 2 costs 2481 points, a bid at pick 4 is only 1962, which can be matched with picks 14 and 15).

2027 season = we are terrible again = despite Tassie, we will still get a top 5 pick (ie: if we are 17th then we get pick 4). Quite a strong case for a priority pick mounts (although more likely 2028... the AFL won't want to dilute the Tassie draft more). Tassie also have to trade out 3 of their top 11 picks, and we'll be in the mix for those as well.

By end 2027 I guess we can add 5-7 draft picks to go with the very young core of role players we carried this year (we had 18 players 22 and under...)

It's the complete opposite of any strategy that has 'worked' in about two decades, but that is pretty standard fare for us at this point.
I reckon we can win the flag next year. I can't believe so many people are talking bottom 4 let alone bottom 2. Very pessimistic. Being positive has served me very well over the years so who knows, maybe I'm just a dreamer

Pretty ignorant comment by you, good to see he is grounded and hasn't forgotten his family and friends.

Ignorant???

As someone who has worked with aspiring AFL players and spent plenty of time in Gippsland, there is absolutely nothing ignorant about my comment, even if it was poking a bit of fun at Moe.

But you opened the door so here you go.

Before these kids are drafted, everything is checked, especially where they grew up and is it a ‘high risk’ place. Their friends are checked, their schools, their standing in the community, everything. More so when they come from small country towns.

In club land, being ignorant is not knowing the crime rate and Ice addition rates in country towns and thinking that ‘friends’ as you said, don’t have a massive influence on said player.

It’s hard enough as it is to keep these kids away from access to cocaine and gambling without the worry of them going back into a small town, cashed up and influenced by said ‘friends’.

I could name 3 off the top of my head that have been lost to footy because of this (all Carlton players)…

Your ‘grounded’ comment is a thing from long ago when society was a much simpler thing to navigate!

If the deal looks anything like that, I want something other than just 2 and Chesser back, especially if we're sending off Acres, because we could use him ahead of some of our forward options we seem happy to fill the bench with.

I've seen this valuation of Humphrey for a few hours now, and if the club is reading this, I want to be very clear: **** that.

Do not make that deal, do not even entertain it. There is no valuation of Humphrey where that makes any sense. He would have to transform into a star midfielder for that to make sense.

That deal is horrifically bad for the future of this football club and helps neither Voss nor any reboot or rebuild.
Add Walter to the deal then.

So I guess with GC focusing on Petracca and JUH and Marshall being Geelong's focus, the only options for Cur ow now are stay or go to Sydney.
How things change in the space of a few days.

I'm still liking the idea of 2 x 1sts and either Florent or Hayward, now that he's said he'd be open to a move. Need to make something happen before all the options dry up.

So I guess with GC focusing on Petracca and JUH and Marshall being Geelong's focus, the only options for Cur ow now are stay or go to Sydney.
How things change in the space of a few days.

I'm still liking the idea of 2 x 1sts and either Florent or Hayward, now that he's said he'd be open to a move. Need to make something happen before all the options dry up.
I think the ball is in Curnows court to give up on Geelong and make a trade request to Sydney.