Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

At this stage..

I can’t help but feel, at rock bottom with the club. Of course I’ll reassess after trade week.

We had all this great hope that Graham Wright, was some great agent of change.

IMO. We kept Voss
  • We must of struggled to attract any decent assistant. Our coaching group seems to have come out worse.
  • We haven’t lost players throughout the dark times, but now they want out TDK (money), JSOS (wanted out), Curnow (wants out)
I’ll wait until after trade week to assess the list, but not holding great hope, it’s going to be better than this years.
I respect and understand where you're at with the club, but so far I'm the opposite, I'm more optimistic than I have been in years.

Next year definitely feels like a 1 step backwards to take 2 steps forward kinda year. We're weeding out the players who don't want to be here/are bad for culture, regardless of talent (TDK, JSOS, Lij, Charlie to a lesser extent) and are done 'playing nice'. We're setting standards and are holding people accountable to them.

We're losing a lot of talent, yes, but I think now is the time to hit the draft a.) before Tassie comes in, b.) whilst we have a lot of young talent coming through.

Let's pretend for a second that we make a pick before a Dean bid this year, and we don't make a first round pick next year due to matching Cody. For the 2027 season (ages away, I know) we'll have these names on our list who are 22 and under:

Lachie Cowan (23 by a month so I'm counting him)
Hudson O'Keefe
Cooper Lord
Ashton Moir
Billy Wilson
Matt Carroll
Jagga Smith
Harry O'Farrell
Ben Camporeale
Lucas Camporeale
Harry Dean
Jack Ison
First round pick this year
Cody Walker

That is a hell of a young core to build with, and we can either inject some quality youth into a strong team, or have a really solid head start on a rebuild despite Tassie cooking the draft for us, regardless of where we're at on field.

I can see the vision we're building towards, as it is clear that what we did in 2023 won't work anymore, and I like that we've acknowledged that rather than digging our heels in (by trading for Houston last year, for example).

Like I said, I can fully understand if someone is to be doom and gloom about our situation, as we have underachieved with a quality list and are losing a lot of talent in one off-season, but I'm super optimistic about the future.

We don’t have the cap space and Voss doesn’t have any long term security.

We will be a much more attractive prospect in 12 months time. More cap space and some clarity on coaching and game plan. All things being equal we are still a destination club but we’ve hamstrung ourselves over the last 2 years.
We have about $2mill in cap space. Plenty of room to bring in a quality player like a Humphrey

I think the reality is 2020 to 2025 should have been our window with the age profile of our list. We just didnt make anything of it aside from that run in 23. Mainly comes down to 3 things to me:

1) Silvagni blowing to many picks, particularly mids.
2) Poor coach choices in Teague then Voss
3) Inability to keep our best players on the park

Now our profile is at a place, where we could go hard like the Pies to keep the window open, with the risk of tumbling right down the ladder if things dont work out. Or reset over the next couple of years to give ourselves another extended run.

Looks like we are doing the latter which I think is the right choice. This senior playing group have given us no reason to double down on them.
We had the talent ripe 22-24 but our players were feeble under pressure

Didnt help Melbourne get Flanders, and that's despite the Trac nomination.

Although I guess each relationship is different. Humphrey and King could be super tight or Humphrey might could think King is hopeless. Cant know from the outside.
If we can’t get him Dees is the best option for the whole league with the talent GC are amassing

You know, we have plenty of reasons to be annoyed with SOS, but he's actually done us some solids so far,

Pick 9 for a super inconsistent TDK who had to battle for his spot with Pitto at times.

Pick 19 for Jack who in your wildest dreams would never have thought we'd get 19 for if we're being honest.

and now taking himself out of the bidding for Dean sweepstakes.

To that, we say thank you ol mate Son of Serge.

Would we be happy with Pick 11, F1, Florent + Hayward?

Would allow us to package up 10 and 11 to move up the board, and also have added fodder for Cody next year.

Gulden should be asked first. Otherwise swap Florent with Campbell and its a deal.

Florent should be a separate trade

Carlton need a deal that is heavily skewed in their favour. Trading a 60-70 goal kicker, 2-time Coleman medalist with 4 years left on a contract does not happen often.

Why is that? At least they have a plan and are being bold despite their limitations as a peasant club. Clearly selling the dream better than we are.
Nothing to do with selling the dream and everything to do with offering the dollars! IMO. That’s why Flanders doesn’t want to play under his old coach (King) even when he played him in the middle which is what he apparently wants.
Money talks.

Saints are doing the Essendon Stringer, Saad, Smith off-season.

False dawn imo
I'd argue this is even worse than the * off season I mean just look at this list

TDK
JSOS
Ryan
Flanders
Aleer

I've genuinely never seen a more uninspiring list of recruits in my life.

Mind you, they've lost their heart and soul skipper and one of the best ruckman in the game to boot.

Don't be fooled by them "being active".

Humphrey is going to be that star player. Maybe as early as next year.

If we could get him for what would essentially be a single first round pick and a slight upgrade that would be unbelievable value. He is a 2 firsts++ player who will have every Victorian club throwing the kitchen sink at him and rightly so.
All players are valued on potential. He will end up that level of player for the next 10 years.

Not to mention he is contracted and it is a below average draft where GC have academy kids to pick up (the exact same logic we send back the other way with Curnow).
What are you projecting him as? Star goal kicking mid, or 50-goal forward that provides ground level and aerial pressure?

Either way his tank would need to improve enormously, and he would see a lot more opposition attention. At that point, he'll need to adjust his style to be smarter about where and when he smashes in, or he'll slow down or just wind up regularly injured.

Meanwhile, Sam Cumming is a player available in this draft who plays exactly like that midfield role and should be available at 9/10, and if you want a medium forward who can smash in and provide the odd bit of midfield spark, there's Oliver Greeves.

Despite the Dean bid range - and subject to character assessment and background checks - acquiring either player is far more affordable than your mooted trade.

Humphrey is not otherworldly, he is not Dusty or Petracca or Dangerfield or Judd, it's not something that he's going to magically etch out of himself without an enormous increase in athletic ability. He's not on the same trajectory and there are direct and aggregate alternatives.

Interested to see what Melbourne get for Petracca, and will take your thoughts on that in due course.
Getting some “laughs” at my comments on Humphrey’s value.

We moved on two first rounders, a second rounder, and Matt Owies for 18yo, 0 game, unproven Jagga Smith last year.

But two first rounders for 21yo, 60 game, 4th in the B&F AND contracted Bailey Humphrey is absurd.

The draft is weak and we have Dean and Walker over the next two years. It would be a steal people.
You should probably look into my comments on those Hawthorn and West Coast trades and what we could and should have done instead.

The short version is something like Hotton and Hynes, or Hynes, Gerreyn, Sharp/Cumming and another top 30 pick this year.

Not a fan of what we did, and we did not plan for failure at all in 2025.
Fair enough Jim

What do you think he is worth in a trade, or is he not worth pursuing?
If that's the valuation now, he is not worth pursuing. I think his true valuation would be a single mid-first - much like the pick we're now holding - with maybe a pick in the 40s coming back.

A nod to his potential, but a stark reminder that he's a 30-goal medium forward with a limited tank despite some tricks.
To those saying Humphrey is not worth 2x first rounders (ESPECIALLY in a weaker draft) whilst being contracted till 2028 are delusional.
What's delusional is how people are turning a broad observation about a draft pool into something that it's not.

Why do you think it's a weak draft?
We gave up 12 & 14 for Smith that is quite different to giving up top five picks.
We originally gave up a future first (projected as pick 9 this year), a future second (projected as pick 31 this year), and what wound up being pick 36 (Ough, but could have picked Gerreyn).

Silly deal by the end of it.
2027 season = we are terrible again = despite Tassie, we will still get a top 5 pick (ie: if we are 17th then we get pick 4). Quite a strong case for a priority pick mounts (although more likely 2028... the AFL won't want to dilute the Tassie draft more). Tassie also have to trade out 3 of their top 11 picks, and we'll be in the mix for those as well.
They have to trade out four, specifically 5, 7, 11, and 13, but they're every odd number in the top 14, so it's not a year when you want to be skimming the bottom 4.

They also have pick 5 and 9 in 2028 and 2029, and the first pick of every round of those drafts in addition to their natural draft position. Pick 5 will again have to be traded in both years.

So there's an opportunity there, but not the kind of one you want to bottom out for.
Yes, yes you are. Bet responsibly!

Ignorant???

As someone who has worked with aspiring AFL players and spent plenty of time in Gippsland, there is absolutely nothing ignorant about my comment, even if it was poking a bit of fun at Moe.

But you opened the door so here you go.

Before these kids are drafted, everything is checked, especially where they grew up and is it a ‘high risk’ place. Their friends are checked, their schools, their standing in the community, everything. More so when they come from small country towns.

In club land, being ignorant is not knowing the crime rate and Ice addition rates in country towns and thinking that ‘friends’ as you said, don’t have a massive influence on said player.

It’s hard enough as it is to keep these kids away from access to cocaine and gambling without the worry of them going back into a small town, cashed up and influenced by said ‘friends’.

I could name 3 off the top of my head that have been lost to footy because of this (all Carlton players)…

Your ‘grounded’ comment is a thing from long ago when society was a much simpler thing to navigate!
By your reasoning he should never return home to see his family because he might run into a bad egg. How many drug users live on the gold coast or in Melbourne. I stand by my statement that your statement is ignorant, plenty of good people live in and come from Moe, it is unfair to denigrate the town as a whole because of it's low socio-economic status. Be better

What are you projecting him as? Star goal kicking mid, or 50-goal forward that provides ground level and aerial pressure?

Either way his tank would need to improve enormously, and he would see a lot more opposition attention. At that point, he'll need to adjust his style to be smarter about where and when he smashes in, or he'll slow down or just wind up regularly injured.

Meanwhile, Sam Cumming is a player available in this draft who plays exactly like that midfield role and would be available at 9/10, and if you want a medium forward who can smash in and provide the odd bit of midfield spark, there's Oliver Greeves.

Despite the Dean bid range - and subject to character assessment and background checks - acquiring either player is far more affordable than your mooted trade.

Humphrey is not otherworldly, he is not Dusty or Petracca or Dangerfield or Judd, it's not something that he's going to magically etch out of himself. He's not on the same trajectory and there are direct and aggregate alternatives.

Interested to see what Melbourne get for Petracca, and will take your thoughts on that in due course.

You should probably look into my comments on those Hawthorn and West Coast trades and what we could and should have done instead.

The short version is something like Hotton and Hynes, or Hynes, Gerreyn, Sharp/Cumming and another top 30 pick this year.

Not a fan of what we did, and we did not plan for failure at all in 2025.

If that's the valuation now, he is not worth pursuing. I think his true valuation would be a single mid-first - much like the pick we're now holding - with maybe a pick in the 40s coming back.

A nod to his potential, but a stark reminder that he's a 30-goal medium forward with a limited tank despite some tricks.

What's delusional is how people are turning a broad observation about a draft pool into something that it's not.

Why do you think it's a weak draft?

We originally gave up a future first (projected as pick 9 this year), a future second (projected as pick 31 this year), and what wound up being pick 36 (Ough, but could have picked Gerreyn).

Silly deal by the end of it.

They have to trade out four, specifically 5, 7, 11, and 13, but they're every odd number in the top 14, so it's not a year when you want to be skimming the bottom 4.

They also have pick 5 and 9 in 2028 and 2029, and the first pick of every round of those drafts in addition to their natural draft position. Pick 5 will again have to be traded in both years.

So there's an opportunity there, but not the kind of one you want to bottom out for.

Yes, yes you are. Bet responsibly!
Jimmae, I'm with you, but in my honest opinion I'd take him comfortably over 2 kids in this draft.

He easily could and likely will be a damaging burst mid who can kick 30+ goals a season.

The Dusty comparison is accurate.

You know, we have plenty of reasons to be annoyed with SOS, but he's actually done us some solids so far,

Pick 9 for a super inconsistent TDK who had to battle for his spot with Pitto at times.

Pick 19 for Jack who in your wildest dreams would never have thought we'd get 19 for if we're being honest.

and now taking himself out of the bidding for Dean sweepstakes.

To that, we say thank you ol mate Son of Serge.
Nah, **** him. He’s a narcissistic grumpy old campaigner with way too many crosses to bare that have been shown to be extremely childish

Interesting conversation this morning and SOS came up. The comment was, he’s learnt from drafting days that it’s impossible to build a list with a few top 10 picks over 3-4 years. Go after free agents and move on contracted players that you don’t want/need. Geelong and Swans the kings at this.

He tried to do a GWS with Carlton but he didn’t have enough picks to play with. He also wanted to trade out 2 of our top 5 players for picks/players but was shouted down!

There will be so many players looking to move when Tassie come in, plenty have their contracts expiring around then!

Gotta respect saints for it

They have no other way of getting better. They’ll be top 6 next year

No Way Comedy GIF by CBC

Interesting conversation this morning and SOS came up. The comment was, he’s learnt from drafting days that it’s impossible to build a list with a few top 10 picks over 3-4 years. Go after free agents and move on contracted players that you don’t want/need. Geelong and Swans the kings at this.

He tried to do a GWS with Carlton but he didn’t have enough picks to play with. He also wanted to trade out 2 of our top 5 players for picks/players but was shouted down!

There will be so many players looking to move when Tassie come in, plenty have their contracts expiring around then!

Interesting.

Still think, and always will, that the core of a premiership group needs to be built via the draft.

I'd argue this is even worse than the * off season I mean just look at this list

TDK
JSOS
Ryan
Flanders
Aleer

I've genuinely never seen a more uninspiring list of recruits in my life.

Mind you, they've lost their heart and soul skipper and one of the best ruckman in the game to boot.

Don't be fooled by them "being active".
Agree, it’s like everyone has forgotten the off-season they brought in:
B Hill
31 yr old Ryder
Butler
D Howard
Z Jones

They got worse within 2 years, tied up all their money in a bunch of C graders, in the process gave up Acres who funnily performed better than Hill plus the pick that Melbourne used for Kozzy.