Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

If Butters is definitely going next year then Port are silly to hold him this year. No way they get the same picks next when he's an out of contract RFA. Plus the picks they get will extend into the Tassie draft.
Port would be betting that new coach/new enthusiasm and hopefully a few more wins will convince him to stay.

Port traded out of this years draft last year because they (reportedly) do not rate it. Port will match any RFA offer and get the same value whether this year or next for a top 5 player in the comp.

If I’m you guys I’d be doing everything possible to get him this year, 12 months is a long time and things change. He might stay at port or Collingwood may come knocking.

When it comes to Butters, who are the players that are untouchables? For me it’s still the same as they were for Wilkie: Bont, Richards and Darcy.

What do we think of going for Steele and/or Caminiti from StK.

Steele is an outstanding defensive mid - Elite tackles and good clearances. We were keen on Deven R - and Steele is older but much better player. Would be very keen to show he should have been treated better by the Sts. Similar player to Kennedy but would be part of a harder edge midfielder.

Caminiti has been OK down back but is only 21 and has shown real flexibility- big unit - and if he settles on playing back may be OK. My favourite is Ballard but next is Riccardi (to play as a KPD. Caminiti and cheaper version of Riccardi.

Steele is an outstanding defensive mid - Elite tackles and good clearances. We were keen on Deven R - and Steele is older but much better player. Would be very keen to show he should have been treated better by the Sts. Similar player to Kennedy but would be part of a harder edge midfielder.

Caminiti has been OK down back but is only 21 and has shown real flexibility- big unit - and if he settles on playing back may be OK. My favourite is Ballard but next is Riccardi (to play as a KPD. Caminiti and cheaper version of Riccardi.
I’d find it strange if we traded out Macrae one year only to bring in a lesser player in Steele one season later, all the while having surprisingly brought in Kennedy. Saints midfield is very average and even they’re pushing Steele out.

I’m not a fan of Caminiti, at all.

Certainly feels like the Wilkie throw at the stumps which dragged on longer than even we thought has now lead to some Butters whispers coming out.

If he requests a trade Port will buckle based on previous history.

Not keen on a highly paid older midfielder given that we still have Libba and chose to retain Treloar for another year.

I think the idea with Robertson was more about succession, which isn’t a factor for Steele given his age.

Caminiti would be solid experienced KPP depth at either end. I think Bev would rate his versatility. Would take Busslinger’s spot imo.

Port would be betting that new coach/new enthusiasm and hopefully a few more wins will convince him to stay.

Port traded out of this years draft last year because they (reportedly) do not rate it. Port will match any RFA offer and get the same value whether this year or next for a top 5 player in the comp.

If I’m you guys I’d be doing everything possible to get him this year, 12 months is a long time and things change. He might stay at port or Collingwood may come knocking.
If I was port, I'd be holding him that extra year and backing in the club's environment. Worked with Bergman.

To be fair Bergman just did the short term extension to take him through to free agency. Butters is gone, just up to them whether they want to negotiated a trade now or March next year and trade.

I’m sure Hobbs is a great kid from the Horsham footy factory, but he’s slow, fumbly, and not good in any aspect.

Being friends with a few bombers supporters and watching their games this year, I wouldn’t even give up pick 60 for him, waste of a list spot.

The centrepiece this year though might be if we’re able to trade up into one of the Suns’ top 10 picks. If Port rated Sharp or Schubert that might have some appeal, but if they don’t rate this year’s draft then that might not move the needle and they may prefer to wait for the next three years of FRPs starting next year.

homer simpson GIF

Not a fan of either to be honest. Steele slow, old. Caminiti is such a turnover king down back. I also reckon he’ll move fwd again now.

Think we can stop pretending Butters is any chance this year, it’s not happening. Port have no reason to trade him and Zac’s is too professional to try force the issue.

If the club know we’re a serious chance next year I’d be looking to trade this years first into next year in some way, look to get another late first/early second for this year to take to the draft and go into next year locked and loaded to target one of the best players in the game.

Think we can stop pretending Butters is any chance this year, it’s not happening. Port have no reason to trade him and Zac’s is too professional to try force the issue.

If the club know we’re a serious chance next year I’d be looking to trade this years first into next year in some way, look to get another late first/early second for this year to take to the draft and go into next year locked and loaded to target one of the best players in the game.

I think ports list is a complete mess.
Only positive is they get to bring in more kids now and another year before Tassie enter the draft.

Three decently placed first rounders is a minimum for Butters. And if we're being honest, that probably isn't enough for Port to budge.

internally, they would back themselves to show enough to convince him to stay well Into the future.

I really like Butters as a player and would like him at the club but 3 first rounders is an absolutely ridiculous price, that we would struggle to pay without major machinations and we should steadfastly refuse such a deal.

History is littered with deals of this kind that have had dire consequences.
The Chris Judd and Tim Kelly deals spring to mind where even when the sought after player plays well for his destination club, they are a long-term loser following the deal.

No deal is worth it at any price. Especially when Butter's isn't the type of player we lack right at this moment in time having just resigned Treloar.

We desperately need a Sam Taylor\Harris Andrews type but even then; I would still baulk at a price of 3 first rounders.

There is no path towards Port being competitive next year, no matter what Carr, Koch and co try to spin. If he stays you will assume there a handshake agreement from Port to let him go without much fuss the year after.
With Tassie looming on the horizon and a realistic assessment tells you that you aren't contending. It would make rational sense to bite the bullet now.

Start the rebuild and get 12 months development into the draftee's . That is my way of thinking any how. Might win them a few extra games if they hang onto him but does that serve you the best in the long term

Except that he has already spoke to them about the possibility.

Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)