MCDFNL 2025 discussion

• Thread starter Forest St End
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

Would be very surprised if Galea landed at Trentham.
Also don't think his value is astronomical now days.

And it only takes 2-3 players to depart to free up $800 a week
Long time reader - First time poster.

Local Footy Man you say you have no affiliation to a club but you always get very defensive of Trentham. Smells a little funny buddy.
Please know I am Trentham Saints' #1 ticket holder so in future please run any Saints opinions through me so I can tick them off and I would like to know who you are. I'll be keeping a close eye on everyone's phone at the mighty saints TANK BAR next season. Wow what a great place to sink a few cans.
No one is allowed to disparage my magnificent club, so I need to be informed of all saints' commentary before it's posted. TIA.

Galea will probably 175 next season and win us another flag.
Playing for free because he said and I quote "Trentham saints til I die" which I thought was a bit weird since it was his first time at the club. Maybe he fell headfirst down the falls on his way who knows. Anyway, I don't mind we need passionate clubman around and he will be a great addition to sidekick Brent BOOMER Harvey.

Talking about Boomer, be warned he is bringing a car full of his mates to play all home games next year. I'm talking Carey, Stevens, Petrie and Malcolm Blight. Dennis Pagan is also gonna keep stats and move the magnets for Addo. Good luck Talbot lol

GO SAINTS

Cody Driscoll has signed back on at Stawell and won’t be back out at Navarre. Bit of a blow for Navarre who thought he may of been on he’s way back out. I think Josh Fowkes is seeing who else Stawell recruit before he makes a decision on whether he plays at Stawell or back out at Navarre

Josh Cowan coaching D’ford, can/will he get little bro back from Trentham?

No chance CurtyB.
Joel Cowan got a blood nose in a game this year and you know the saying he bleeds red white and black? Well it’s actually true. Looked funny as seeing saints coloured blood but that’s just him. Loves our club. Spoke to his this morning he said please tell the media to stop these vicious rumours.
So I guess like Kim Kardasian has “sources” chatting to the daily mail on her behalf I am JC’s source so take it as gospel.
Case closed move to the next.

Something came across my desk today that Talbot are now being investigated by the White House and big WICKSY is going full Donald Trump and is going to enforce 100% tariffs on all the imports. Supporting local is his model and I don’t mind it.
I saw Galea and Taczon driving past yesterday with their brand new caravans on the back heading on holiday. I did love their personalised number plates TALBOT1 & TALBOT2.
Do they have to give them back at the end of the year? Just make sure they clean them before they give them back.

GO SAINTS

Long time reader - First time poster.

Local Footy Man you say you have no affiliation to a club but you always get very defensive of Trentham. Smells a little funny buddy.
Please know I am Trentham Saints' #1 ticket holder so in future please run any Saints opinions through me so I can tick them off and I would like to know who you are. I'll be keeping a close eye on everyone's phone at the mighty saints TANK BAR next season. Wow what a great place to sink a few cans.
No one is allowed to disparage my magnificent club, so I need to be informed of all saints' commentary before it's posted. TIA.

Galea will probably 175 next season and win us another flag.
Playing for free because he said and I quote "Trentham saints til I die" which I thought was a bit weird since it was his first time at the club. Maybe he fell headfirst down the falls on his way who knows. Anyway, I don't mind we need passionate clubman around and he will be a great addition to sidekick Brent BOOMER Harvey.

Talking about Boomer, be warned he is bringing a car full of his mates to play all home games next year. I'm talking Carey, Stevens, Petrie and Malcolm Blight. Dennis Pagan is also gonna keep stats and move the magnets for Addo. Good luck Talbot lol

GO SAINTS
Doubt boomer will return

No chance CurtyB.
Joel Cowan got a blood nose in a game this year and you know the saying he bleeds red white and black? Well it’s actually true. Looked funny as seeing saints coloured blood but that’s just him. Loves our club. Spoke to his this morning he said please tell the media to stop these vicious rumours.
So I guess like Kim Kardasian has “sources” chatting to the daily mail on her behalf I am JC’s source so take it as gospel.
Case closed move to the next.

Something came across my desk today that Talbot are now being investigated by the White House and big WICKSY is going full Donald Trump and is going to enforce 100% tariffs on all the imports. Supporting local is his model and I don’t mind it.
I saw Galea and Taczon driving past yesterday with their brand new caravans on the back heading on holiday. I did love their personalised number plates TALBOT1 & TALBOT2.
Do they have to give them back at the end of the year? Just make sure they clean them before they give them back.

GO SAINTS
It looks like Talbots is following what teams like Carisbrook, Trentham, Natte, and Harcourt have been doing for the past five years. When a team that has been struggling starts to do well, other clubs in the league often react negatively.

The word from the caravan park suggests that there must be a strong club atmosphere if they’ve managed to keep their entire team from last year and retain all there locals also which have battled it out over the past 10years

Maybe reiny Gunther’s cardboard is paying off finally.

It looks like Talbots is following what teams like Carisbrook, Trentham, Natte, and Harcourt have been doing for the past five years. When a team that has been struggling starts to do well, other clubs in the league often react negatively.

The word from the caravan park suggests that there must be a strong club atmosphere if they’ve managed to keep their entire team from last year and retain all there locals also which have battled it out over the past 10years

Can’t speak for the others but Trentham have never paid big money for players.
Didn’t get within 10k of the salary cap when I was on committee 3 years ago.
75% of team have played juniors at Trentham, or are connected to the club.
Talbot should take a leaf - there’s a reason they’ve been at the top for a long time. See where the brown and gold are sitting in 5 years time.

FYI - just because a team beats you, doesn’t mean they are spending big coin.
Some clubs invest time and hard work into culture and being a place their players and friends want to play (and stay)

Note - I have no issue with Talbot spending the town budget to win a flag. Good luck to them. All comments are made in jest. I agree with previous comments in that the more guns running around in our league the better. Who wouldn’t want the standard to be the best it can.
However, everyone with half a brain knows what’s happening.
Also find it funny that it’s always deflected to other successful clubs must do it so don’t pick on us.

Can’t speak for the others but Trentham have never paid big money for players.
Didn’t get within 10k of the salary cap when I was on committee 3 years ago.
75% of team have played juniors at Trentham, or are connected to the club.
Talbot should take a leaf - there’s a reason they’ve been at the top for a long time. See where the brown and gold are sitting in 5 years time.

FYI - just because a team beats you, doesn’t mean they are spending big coin.
Some clubs invest time and hard work into culture and being a place their players and friends want to play (and stay)
Respectively, being on a committee at a footy club gives you access to the “official” books. Most committee people would have no idea of the inner workings of the football departments at clubs and what payments are being made.

The top 6 in this comp would be spending over the cap no worries at all.

I’ve been on the committee at a couple of clubs over the years and was heavily involved in a footy department at one, so have a fair idea of how it all works.

I watched a number of teams play live this year in this comp and the Central Highlands so you get a feel for things. Carisbrook’s mid year recruits wouldn’t have come cheap. Navarre clearly topped up late to make a run. Talbot clearly paying a bit but had them from the start. Trentham loaded up a bit this year, good on them got the choccies. Natte have always paid plenty, but are very well run and family oriented. Reckon they’ll start to struggle over the next couple of years. Harcourts recruits out of the Bendigo league each year and that wouldn’t be cheap.

Interested to hear people’s thoughts on the state of the league? It’s widely accepted that this year was one of the best we’ve seen and the grand final gate was a big one backing that up. I actually didn’t mind the atmosphere at Carisbrook, but hope we can get it back to Princes Park next year.

Campbells Creek must be a chance of falling over. Haven’t seen much at all about re-signings or signings on their socials, looks grim for them.

Unfortunately my old club the Giants seem like they’re struggling. Too much in fighting and a real wasted opportunity with the merger. I see 1-2 of their talented juniors are already getting picked off. They’ve got a decent following with junior families tho, they just need to get it right at the top end.

Maldon are battling financially. Newstead just keep chipping away without seeming to make ground.

Avoca are the real mystery club to me. Something isn’t right there. Decent sized town and following, juniors always decent. Netball flying but their senior arm of their footy club just goes nowhere. Needs a clean out off field.

Lexton have dropped right off after many years of being strong. Rumours of infighting over the new facility and local pub situation.

Dunolly don’t look super healthy.

The top 6 seem to be ticking along ok, but I’ve got my doubts Natte can continue to dominate going forward. Running out of ways to bring kids through and a lot of the local families have stopped the baby making factory.

Best crowds I saw this year were at Carisbrook, Natte and Talbot.

Maryborough still trying to get in. Smart money would be to seek entry for 2027 now and tool up and get ready to go. To try and start from scratch now and play footy next season is the definition of insanity. I’m in their corner tho and I’m hoping they can get up in some shape or form.

Respectively, being on a committee at a footy club gives you access to the “official” books. Most committee people would have no idea of the inner workings of the football departments at clubs and what payments are being made.

The top 6 in this comp would be spending over the cap no worries at all.

I’ve been on the committee at a couple of clubs over the years and was heavily involved in a footy department at one, so have a fair idea of how it all works.

I watched a number of teams play live this year in this comp and the Central Highlands so you get a feel for things. Carisbrook’s mid year recruits wouldn’t have come cheap. Navarre clearly topped up late to make a run. Talbot clearly paying a bit but had them from the start. Trentham loaded up a bit this year, good on them got the choccies. Natte have always paid plenty, but are very well run and family oriented. Reckon they’ll start to struggle over the next couple of years. Harcourts recruits out of the Bendigo league each year and that wouldn’t be cheap.
Thanks Master of Disaster - good to hear your opinion.
Believe it or not (I know you are the committee expert in this thread) I was on the committee as part of football operations and was actively involved in signing and paying players on a weekly basis.
Again, just because a team is winning, doesn't mean they are spending big. Sometimes great club culture is a beautiful thing. Sounds like you unfortunately haven't been able to experience that. Trentham would love to have you next year.

Just curious - Can you confirm who Trentham 'loaded up' with this year?
I would like names please. You've made the statement, give us the information.

Believe it or not (I know you are the committee expert in this thread) I was on the committee as part of football operations and was actively involved in signing and paying players on a weekly basis.
Again, just because a team is winning, doesn't mean they are spending big. Sometimes great club culture is a beautiful thing. Sounds like you unfortunately haven't been able to experience that. Trentham would love to have you next year.

They brought in 5-7 new senior players did they not? Without going back through the team lists that’s my guess. You can prob name the new or returning boys this year.

Interested to hear people’s thoughts on the state of the league? It’s widely accepted that this year was one of the best we’ve seen and the grand final gate was a big one backing that up. I actually didn’t mind the atmosphere at Carisbrook, but hope we can get it back to Princes Park next year.

Campbells Creek must be a chance of falling over. Haven’t seen much at all about re-signings or signings on their socials, looks grim for them.

Unfortunately my old club the Giants seem like they’re struggling. Too much in fighting and a real wasted opportunity with the merger. I see 1-2 of their talented juniors are already getting picked off. They’ve got a decent following with junior families tho, they just need to get it right at the top end.

Maldon are battling financially. Newstead just keep chipping away without seeming to make ground.

Avoca are the real mystery club to me. Something isn’t right there. Decent sized town and following, juniors always decent. Netball flying but their senior arm of their footy club just goes nowhere. Needs a clean out off field.

Lexton have dropped right off after many years of being strong. Rumours of infighting over the new facility and local pub situation.

Dunolly don’t look super healthy.

The top 6 seem to be ticking along ok, but I’ve got my doubts Natte can continue to dominate going forward. Running out of ways to bring kids through and a lot of the local families have stopped the baby making factory.

Best crowds I saw this year were at Carisbrook, Natte and Talbot.

Maryborough still trying to get in. Smart money would be to seek entry for 2027 now and tool up and get ready to go. To try and start from scratch now and play footy next season is the definition of insanity. I’m in their corner tho and I’m hoping they can get up in some shape or form.
A great review of the current state of play in the league Master of Disaster. Some of the footy played this year was of a standard that has not been seen in the league for many years. This is probably due to a higher number of recruits that have come from a higher standard of footy elsewhere. The amount of money allegedly being spent by certain clubs is quite high and I am not sure it is sustainable in the long term.

A major problem is the gap between the 'haves and have nots'. Some of the clubs in the bottom half of the ladder this year were well off the mark and I am not sure they will ever be competitive. You could also question their long term future. Having a reliance on recruits from far and wide to field a team also is a sign the club may be in a vulnerable situation with their long term future.

Agree about the comments with Avoca FNC. They seem to be a basket case year after year and despite their strong following, never seem to improve. Perhaps as suggested a clean out is well overdue. Some of the club's choices with coaching staff and recruits over the years are questionable.

One of the other issues is clubs are constantly acting like pariahs to keep their teams on the park. It is like a revolving door with a number of players bobbing up at a different club each year. Would be good to see this practice stop but I am not sure how it could be achieved.

Still see the long term future of many clubs within the league very clouded and therefore the structure of the league could certainly change going forward.

A great review of the current state of play in the league Master of Disaster. Some of the footy played this year was of a standard that has not been seen in the league for many years. This is probably due to a higher number of recruits that have come from a higher standard of footy elsewhere. The amount of money allegedly being spent by certain clubs is quite high and I am not sure it is sustainable in the long term.

A major problem is the gap between the 'haves and have nots'. Some of the clubs in the bottom half of the ladder this year were well off the mark and I am not sure they will ever be competitive. You could also question their long term future. Having a reliance on recruits from far and wide to field a team also is a sign the club may be in a vulnerable situation with their long term future.

Agree about the comments with Avoca FNC. They seem to be a basket case year after year and despite their strong following, never seem to improve. Perhaps as suggested a clean out is well overdue. Some of the club's choices with coaching staff and recruits over the years are questionable.

One of the other issues is clubs are constantly acting like pariahs to keep their teams on the park. It is like a revolving door with a number of players bobbing up at a different club each year. Would be good to see this practice stop but I am not sure how it could be achieved.

Still see the long term future of many clubs within the league very clouded and therefore the structure of the league could certainly change going forward.
Avoca were super strong when I played in the league, when the fields were dominating

How was the culture last year when the senior coach and reserves coach were punching on because the twos boys didn’t want to play ones?

Yeah and those “pariah’s” move between the worst performing clubs for good money and the cycle continues.

I’m not sure how to fix the haves and have nots. It will always exist. I actually credit Carisbrook for raising the standard of the league. They were prob the first club to really get professional off field, with a focus on performance and improving their facilities. I think other clubs are catching up now but they certainly led the way for the league in the last 10-20 years in terms of professionalism. Of the local clubs, I rate them and Natte as the best run. Hopefully Talbot can turn some of their on field success in further developing their juniors and facilities, which are sadly lacking.

I applaud the clubs who think laterally and adapt to the modern age of society and footy. Flexible training venues and expectations and getting creative with recruiting are essential. Maryborough was a sports mad town when I was a young fella, but that seems to have changed.

They brought in 5-7 new senior players did they not? Without going back through the team lists that’s my guess. You can prob name the new or returning boys this year.
I count only 4 recruits to Trentham this year, Harvey, Baird, Smith, Nesci, + not a new recruit but the returning Weber-Mirkin. Smth and Nesci no world beaters but handy league experience from the other 2, and though they didn't play much, they played when it mattered.

How was the culture last year when the senior coach and reserves coach were punching on because the twos boys didn’t want to play ones?
I think you have been a little misinformed through the rumour mill 🤣
Their dispute was a couple of years ago and had nothing to do with players - Unfortunately just 2 very different people with strong heads.
Culture still great then. Strong environments allow people to have a dispute without it being an issue.
That year both teams made a prelim with the 2's being undefeated until then. Also 150+ at presentation night and 32 players on end of season footy trip. reeks of bad culture doesn't it.
What a club.

I count only 4 recruits to Trentham this year, Harvey, Baird, Smith, Nesci, + not a new recruit but the returning Weber-Mirkin. Smth and Nesci no world beaters but handy league experience from the other 2, and though they didn't play much, they played when it mattered.
Josh Linton the 5th who also only played 4 games.
Unfortunately hurt his shoulder a couple of weeks before finals that required surgery to fix.

Agree on C'Creek, you need to have success to attract some successful people, absolutely none of that on field, the future looks bleak. Clubs not voting in Maryborough a real head scratcher, surely club's would have their doubts on Creek's long term sustainability.

Avoca and Giants both just need to get their senior footy grades back up to scratch. Everything else looks good. Both could use a strong, well credentialed playing leader in order for the senior footy to take the next step. When was the last time Avoca played finals?

Dunolly is shaky, they have done a great job on getting back from rock bottom, but seems like there is always a decent number of players in and out. Still would love to know what happened to co-coach Jack Merrin who departed mid year for Bridgewater. Also rumors of Jordy Waldron and Bailey Hall not getting along with the senior footy hierarchy - Their best ruck and key forward playing twos.

Lexton dropped off this year but they were regular finals team before that, though just making up the numbers. They have picked the new senior coach from outside the club, expect him to be a breath of fresh air, attract some new faces and get them back in playing finals footy. Think they would of only missed finals maybe 3 times since joining the league in 2011.

Maldon seem to bottom right out then save up the cash and give it a decent nudge for a few years. Not sure if Wust is the leader that will get them back to fighting for a top 4 spot though.

MCDFNL 2025 discussion