Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Sam Edmund reporting we have emerged as contenders for Ben Ainsworth

You’d think if Humphrey nominated us, it would unlock the Curnow deal.

Suns > Pick 8 (Syd) & Pick 10 (Blues)
Swans > Curnow & Pick 36 (Blues)
Blues > Humphrey, Haywood, Florent & F1 (Swans), Pick 17 (Suns)

We’d have to move on some more players for points and to bring in Khamis, Chesser & Reidy.
Maybe this could work, dont mind it! having a bit of a laugh but this might be your most accurate yet haha

Florent, Chesser, Ainsworth, Hayward... It's like Austin finally realised blokes who can run and kick are what this list needs!

He's been chipping away at it for a while, mate.

Fantasia, Hollands, Carroll, Wilson, Moir, Smith, HOF, Campos, Charleson, Evans.

Mixed success, some that just need a bit longer and some that haven't panned out. But the shift has been there for anyone to see.

He's been chipping away at it for a while, mate.

Fantasia, Hollands, Carroll, Wilson, Moir, Smith, HOF, Campos, Charleson, Evans.

Mixed success, some that just need a bit longer and some that haven't panned out. But the shift has been there for anyone to see.
The shift happened last year when it was already too late unfortunately imo. The issues with our outside ball use have been there for multiple years now and needed to be addressed earlier if we were any hope of contending over a prolonged period.

McGovern hasn't been offered a contract - he was asked to shop himself around, honestly I don't think he has any takers. Desperately wants to stay but the club isn't forthcoming. It's purely a waiting game for him but doesn't like his chances. Very upset.

Lij said he is hoping he will get to stay, but also wasn't very confident.

He might have misunderstood and gone to Chadstone for a few hours and picked up some bargains 😜😉

🏪

He would have had a say in that too Wicks...

I reckon we just didn't have the room to go after anyone post 23 season.

Post 24, it was clear as day our midfield was lacking and hence going after Jagga rather than Houston was the smart move, in hindsight, it clearly was too...

The biggest list issues still stem from SOS's draft stuff up from 16-19... failed to pick up a few quality mids. Austin had to try and be creative hence the Williams as a mid idea, luring Cerra over etc. Had no top 10 picks to work with until last year.

The belief would have rightly been that Dow, SPS, Fish, LOB etc would eventually come good as our mids so they tried drafting small forwards with our first pick - hence the Durdin and Motlop selections... obv that hasn't panned out and if you look back at those drafts, could say we missed Paul Curtis.. but so did a lot of other clubs...

The writing was on the wall with our aging midfield post 24 though...
Bingo.

The shift happened last year when it was already too late unfortunately imo. The issues with our outside ball use have been there for multiple years now and needed to be addressed earlier if we were any hope of contending over a prolonged period.
I still think 2023 ended up masking the style the list was capable of playing. When the game really shifted to pace and skills with Hokball, we had already doubled down on a mode of footy which had become outdated.

It's not Vossy's fault that Austin and Agresta gutted the list the last 2 years which is the primary reason the players have become disillusioned.

Instead of building on a preliminary finals base they've torn it to shreds.
i don't really agree with this fwiw, i think that team put together an amazing run in 2023 but that was the peak, it wasn't a sustainable repeatable pattern to be regular contenders, as 2022 and 2024 showed.

better to start the change process when they did than hold on too long to a failed system and list.

Carlton fans: “We need better half forwards, we have no half forwards, we suck going inside 50”

Also prob same Carlton fans: “Ainsworth and Hayward won’t improve us at all, they’re average etc.”
We need runners and better kicks!

DON'T WANT OLLIE FLORENT HE PLAYED 3 GAMES IN THE VFL THIS YEAR!

McGovern hasn't been offered a contract - he was asked to shop himself around, honestly I don't think he has any takers. Desperately wants to stay but the club isn't forthcoming. It's purely a waiting game for him but doesn't like his chances. Very upset.

Lij said he is hoping he will get to stay, but also wasn't very confident.
Maybe a rookie one year deal or wait for SSP.

Silvagni a third generation player who publicly admitted he will always love the club yet still choose to leave. TDK had an offer to good to refuse. Charlie just wants to get out of the place asap and wants to take a pay cut. Something is rotten in the club.
In the immortal words of Billy Ocean:

When the going gets tough,
The weak ask for a trade...

Or something.