List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Doing a bad achilles injury isn't forgetting how to play footy. Weird take imho.

Been a lot of players along the journey who weren't the same after an achilles injury.
who are some others?

I remember the killer of Ben Paton's career Roughead wasn't the same.

This, to me is the proper way to look at it.

Look at the trading in its entirety when a trade is not exactly as you required. Pick 7 for Flanders? We haven't seen the full trade, still might be something coming back or as projecttv mentioned a token pick for Ainsworth.

Will anyone complain if we end up with
TDK - no draft capital
JSOS - no draft capital
Flanders - pick 7, overs maybe
Aleer - pick swaps
Ryan - pick swaps
Ainsworth - token pick

Roh - overs because contracted
Steele - fair as we told him to look around

Would people melt? Really we have limited draft capital and have up to four players to trade for.

As long as we have the capital to get Fincher and we keep F1, who cares?

Four clubs wanted Flanders and people are quibbling over some second rounder - lol

I havent heard anything good re Ben Ainsworth.

No chance he finds a 3rd club. Essendon might just pay him out.

Man we had some promising players really fizzle out badly over the last 15 years.

Like really quality 22 year olds that just forgot how to play footy by 26. I've never seen anything like it.
We were absolutely dire at developing talent when he came through the door. I reckon there are a stack of what-ifs we had at the club around that time.

Doing a bad achilles injury isn't forgetting how to play footy. Weird take imho.

Been a lot of players along the journey who weren't the same after an achilles injury.
He did his achilles in 2021. He returned to have his best statistical year in 2022. His last 3 years have been absolute trash.

Suggesting that his achilles was what has caused him to regress in all but his comeback year is an even weirder take IMO.

We were absolutely dire at developing talent when he came through the door. I reckon there are a stack of what-ifs we had at the club around that time.
I have the misfortune of following two sporting teams closely. St Kilda and the Philadelphia 76ers.

I said I've never seen anything like saints players forgetting how to play, but that wasn't true. Philadelphia had back to back number 1 picks in Ben Simmons and Markelle Fultz and they both also literally forgot how to play.

I wonder why I bother following sport sometimes.

Ruckman Rowan Marshall wants to go to Geelong but St Kilda are prepared to keep him if there isn't a satisfactory deal, while as yet there are no offers for Jack Steele.

No chance he finds a 3rd club. Essendon might just pay him out.

Man we had some promising players really fizzle out badly over the last 15 years.

Like really quality 22 year olds that just forgot how to play footy by 26. I've never seen anything like it.
Scientifically, it's known as the "Richo Effect".......

"G'day Saints fans!"

....AAAAHHHHHHHHH..........

I have the misfortune of following two sporting teams closely. St Kilda and the Philadelphia 76ers.

I said I've never seen anything like saints players forgetting how to play, but that wasn't true. Philadelphia had back to back number 1 picks in Ben Simmons and Markelle Fultz and they both also literally forgot how to play.

I wonder why I bother following sport sometimes.
Couldn't you just follow whorethorn for a couple of years?

is purple on drugs. his made up deal for the marshall trade was literally the stupidest shit ive heard since nathan brown was on there. what utter trash.

He did his achilles in 2021. He returned to have his best statistical year in 2022. His last 3 years have been absolute trash.

Suggesting that his achilles was what has caused him to regress in all but his comeback year is an even weirder take IMO.
I'd reckon the rest of his career as opposed to one year 'statistically' is the greater sample size.

Post surgery he had no penetration on his boot and couldn't kick over a jam tin. More importantly lost ALOT of agility and sideways movement in his game.

But don't let facts get in the way of a good story.