Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

I think we've been critiquing the forward line for a while without laying it all at the feet of Charlie, but I can look back at the GWS game leading into the finals in 2023, and the game basically being all about him winning the Coleman.

GWS basically made a ring around him and forced him to leap high and early to secure the ball. He's been easily rattled ever since.

He had a shot to become a smarter footballer that created opportunities for others and make the opposition think twice, but instead he's leaned heavily into thinking it all has to be on him and it's seemingly broken his body and his mind from all the related stress.

It's frustrating to see him avoid conversations around his maturity level - granted some of these have been framed by mug punters quite poorly - to the point where he's almost had to be dragged kicking and screaming to be a vaguely mature professional at a time in his career where his raw athleticism has failed him. It's only compounding the issue.
i don't know if I agree with anything you have said.
You make Charlie sound like he is not coachable.

I guess I am still struggling with the fact 18 months ago we appeared to have a well connected group heading in the right direction, compared to now where it feels like everyone is jumping ship and we are looking at another rebuild.

If people think that if Charlie goes to a club with better ball movement that all of a sudden he’ll kick 80 plus goals then think again.

He needs to get his attitude in check first and improve on other factors of his game not be that lazy flog that he is now.
And if he cracks the sads at getting a well-deserved straighten-up, imagine how he goes at a club where everyone demands a team-first attitude.

Surprised we aren't into Nick Daicos considering he was a..

GIF by APB

If people think that if Charlie goes to a club with better ball movement that all of a sudden he’ll kick 80 plus goals then think again.

He needs to get his attitude in check first and improve on other factors of his game not be that lazy flog that he is now.

Harsh. There were plenty of games where Charlie was one of better players despite being double and triple teamed with no notable second tall alongside him. We were one of the worst (or was it the worst?) sides moving the ball inside 50 this year.

Of our developed/seasoned players how many of them improved or sustained their form from 23/24? Hewett, Hollands, Haynes?? Certainly less than half a dozen. I think it’s system based as much as any attitude or application problems.

Harsh. There were plenty of games where Charlie was one of better players despite being double and triple teamed with no notable second tall alongside him. We were one of the worst (or was it the worst?) sides moving the ball inside 50 this year.

Of our developed/seasoned players how many of them improved or sustained their form from 23/24? Hewett, Hollands, Haynes?? Certainly less than half a dozen. I think it’s system based as much as any attitude or application problems.

The worst...

That's why the AFL needs to go through the place with a fine tooth comb. We know they've been cheating the salary cap for years to retain high profile players. But the AFL does nothing because one of the pussies cool boys was working at AFL house covering for them.

I thought that third party payments needed to be included under the salary cap (Judd) or has that disappeared into the wind?
I have no idea about the afl policy but the cattery needs to change the kitty litter cos it stinks to high heaven down there!!!

I’m very sceptical that a fine tooth comb is even available at head office. There is just no way that the AFL admin will openly reveal skeletons in the closet at the cats. Remember how the drug cheats were set to have no penalties until WADA stepped in and Dimitriou called them preemptively to get them to burn all the docs.

Or at least give Wallis the files with the spreadsheets in them, which given his intellect was equivalent to putting them in the Tesla that Musk shot in to space!!!!!

Agreed. Dude has to actually be bothered to lead instead of waiting out the back of the goal square. When you're less professional in your approach (on field) than Fev, you've got a problem.

Yeah but just roughly, how many future picks do you think we're getting for Charlie?

Swans will have one, and it'll probably be pick 13+

We'll obviously need more than that...
Charlie is obviously worth a boat load.

If say Geelong turn up a future first from another club somehow, they could offer

Their 2026 first, another clubs 2026 first, 2027 first and some other pick trade stuff.

3 firsts in the future, plus our own in 2026 and 2027 plus whatever we get for pick 9.

That's a lot of material

Mentions Hawks, * and Pies... no mention of the Blues there...

Hawks really dgaf, they're casting as many nets out there to land a big catch... spits in the face of Merrett and his management though... there's no way in hell they can facilitate both trades.

As for Pies... lol no chance...

* is the one to worry about... so many top picks this year they could hand over for him... if we are in the picture, just got to hope that landing Charlie is the more attractive proposition rather than more draft picks... thing is, those extra picks might be what gets the Trac deal done too...

long story short, Humphrey is a very long shot still.

If say Geelong turn up a future first from another club somehow, they could offer

Their 2026 first, another clubs 2026 first, 2027 first and some other pick trade stuff.

3 firsts in the future, plus our own in 2026 and 2027 plus whatever we get for pick 9.

That's a lot of material
Since when can you trade future picks 2 yrs away

I'm all for making our list better overall - but until we have a solid system and game plan then our team will never be better overall.
How do you know the system isn't solid, and we just didn't have the cattle available that could play that way?

When we've been healthy, we've been almost unbearable* at times.

Edit: JFC - really have to re-read everything in write: *unbeatable.

i don't know if I agree with anything you have said.
You make Charlie sound like he is not coachable.

I guess I am still struggling with the fact 18 months ago we appeared to have a well connected group heading in the right direction, compared to now where it feels like everyone is jumping ship and we are looking at another rebuild.
Is it that money is the root of all evil…?

That's a lot of material

That will really then depend on which club they can pry that F1 from and who they'd be willing to give up to make that happen...

SDK -> Saints to play alongside his brother? Well maybe but Saints won't be able to pay him anywhere near what they gave Tom so... Sam might not be so partial to doing that...

Melbourne could be the other option for SDK.

We will also very likely need 2x 1sts next year for Cody Walker...

Cats F1 will be so far back in the round that it will not help match the Walker bid... having said that, it won't satisfy Port either, not by a long shot... but they will want 2027 1sts, again the Cats pick will be so insignificant to their cause that they won't consider it ...

I don't think any of that happens...

We will obtain at least 1 more F1 this year and trading Charlie is the only way I can really see that happening. That along with our own 2026 1st will be completely off the table no matter what... including for Butters. We will not jeopardise our commitment to Cody in any way...

Ok your making him sound like he's on Ugle-Hagan level. We are all basing our opinions, unless I have missed something on some hearsay from big footy keyboard warriors, instead of what we know is true that a player has asked for a trade if possible I can 100% believe if Charlie stays he won't sook it up. As for us looking after him I honestly don't know what you mean. What I do know is the clubs injury history to important players over the last 10 years has been horrendous.
Ugle Hagan .. where did you get that from … hagan is a knob of the highest order .. we looked after curnow pay wise , contract length etc his brother as well .. he has already sooked it up this year .. you think he wouldn’t do it next year if he comes back …we are all keyboard warriors by the way and I’m not basing my opinion on FB .. just read the room and you know his manager is the one telling everyone what Charlie wants

That's why the AFL needs to go through the place with a fine tooth comb. We know they've been cheating the salary cap for years to retain high profile players. But the AFL does nothing because one of the pussies cool boys was working at AFL house covering for them.

I thought that third party payments needed to be included under the salary cap (Judd) or has that disappeared into the wind?
And that's just the ones they didn't hide well enough, or the ones they left hanging the wind to distract from the real issue.