Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

As C4[2]Yo`DooR & Soapy V have said, the Cats offer isn't the final deal, however, it is the party starter.

Thanks Mackie.
The fact that Sydney are yet to put in a formal offer is incredibly intelligent. Wait for what gets turned down then wait to strike. I’m expecting to still get 2-3 first round picks with 1-2 players. If Sydney can get WC involved we could very well have another top 2 pick to play with.

This isn't the bidding war people think it will be , cats are playing this very smart.

Charlie wants geelong and only geelong.

We can agree to a better swans deal but charlie won't agree to go there, I would be shocked if he does.

Cats have made their best offer, every one from here gets a bit worse.

Forces us to accept or reject.

If we reject cats come calling again next year., and probably pick up marshall this year.
We hold the power here, hence why Charlie hasn't nominated a team publicly although Geelong is his preferred team he also knows they are the least likely to get it done.

lf Geelong do not put up a quality player it is not happening, whether that is trading directly to us or a third party.

I don’t think hate is the word to be honest.

There’s an enormous amount of distaste about this.

I, with my wife, pay our hard earned for a membership to travel 300k to watch our team play.

His perceived lack of commitment this year and the selfishness of seeking an early exit from his very well paid commitment to our club has left a bad taste in my mouth.

He made a commitment to you all, to me and my family and to his teammates and the club. To pull the exit cord and not have sufficient compensation lined up worsens the taste. It’s his right to ask. It’s our right to say no. And unless we are properly compensated I hope we do. If he chooses to then underperform next year then that is also his right. But it is also our right to continue to hold him to his contract.

So hate… no.
It’s just a game and I watch it for enjoyment.
But I can get a little grumpy at someone taking the piss out of me and the club I love.

OK so I have username regret!

I don’t know who I am anymore…

Sad Tom And Jerry GIF by Bombay Softwares
You were always Ed

This isn't the bidding war people think it will be , cats are playing this very smart.

We can agree to a better swans deal but charlie won't agree to go there, I would be shocked if he does.

If we reject cats come calling again next year., and probably pick up marshall this year.
Far from their best offer, posturing first offer yes but borderline insulting…

It’s a nice “fall back” option to have.

But I really think Geelong are playing games with the Saints and it’s in turn turning up the heat on the swans.

In the words of Denzel Washington “We can’t lose”.

View attachment 2451119o
terrible fall back option. If the Geelong 3 firsts are all that's on offer surely he stays.

Good news for us is the Cats will again need to offer 3 firsts next year to even join the conversation.

And the same the year after.

That’s the beautiful security of a 4 year deal working both ways. If he really wants out as badly as the media suggests the Sydney offer is there.

We hold the whip hand.

Not trying to single you out here, but his value won’t hold. He’s a used car. Another year on the clock, especially if he sooks it up like everyone claims, and he’s not worth three first rounders picks anymore.

Look at Clarry. Adelaide offer two firsts a few years ago. Now the talk is he could end up at gws for a third rounder, with Melbourne paying some of the contract. Yes, we held Gibbs and got the deal done the next year, but Gibbs wasn’t scorching the earth behind him.

I agree we hold the whip hand. He seems to be burning bridges so he can’t come back. If he wants out that much, then he’ll go to Sydney, so let’s see what their offer is, or if Geelong ups there. At worst we get to choose between 3 first rounders, or holding him to his contract. But if we take him back, we need to assume that we get less for him in future.

You don't know that or what we can do with them and it's just the start. Bidding war between Swans and Cats is what we want

What I do like is we will have a bunch of picks and also salary cap room. First time in a long while and opens up many many opportunities over the next 3 plus years

Says to me now that Charlie deal is more likely than not
If this is the common view on this board I think I've walked into the twilight zone.

3 crappy low to mid 20 picks aren't creating any opportunities, certainly not any that's going to get us close to the holy grail, not getting us a grade young talent not getting us Butters or similar.

Just had a quick squizz at the Pussies board.
95% of them don’t realise there’s 1st rounders and 1st rounders.
3 pks in the 20’s ain’t gonna get it done morons.
As bad as team supporters banding around the fact that they have a player who was formerly a first round draft pick as somehow enhancing their trade value, notwithstanding said player is BOG fringe and can't break into their senior side.

I don’t think hate is the word to be honest.

There’s an enormous amount of distaste about this.

I, with my wife, pay our hard earned for a membership to travel 300k to watch our team play.

His perceived lack of commitment this year and the selfishness of seeking an early exit from his very well paid commitment to our club has left a bad taste in my mouth.

He made a commitment to you all, to me and my family and to his teammates and the club. To pull the exit cord and not have sufficient compensation lined up worsens the taste. It’s his right to ask. It’s our right to say no. And unless we are properly compensated I hope we do. If he chooses to then underperform next year then that is also his right. But it is also our right to continue to hold him to his contract.

So hate… no.
It’s just a game and I watch it for enjoyment.
But I can get a little grumpy at someone taking the piss out of me and the club I love.
:thumbsu:Very nicely stated.

No problem we keep him.

If this is the common view on this board I think I've walked into the twilight zone.

3 crappy low to mid 20 picks aren't creating any opportunities, certainly not any that's going to get us close to the holy grail, not getting us a grade young talent not getting us Butters or similar.
Yes the excitement of getting 3 Zac Fisher's or 3 Liam Stocker's....

The offer just gets worse and worse the more I think about it, we may as well just pack up and become a feeder club to the successful sides if we take this.

Not trying to single you out here, but his value won’t hold. He’s a used car. Another year on the clock, especially if he sooks it up like everyone claims, and he’s not worth three first rounders picks anymore.

Look at Clarry. Adelaide offer two firsts a few years ago. Now the talk is he could end up at gws for a third rounder, with Melbourne paying some of the contract. Yes, we held Gibbs and got the deal done the next year, but Gibbs wasn’t scorching the earth behind him.

I agree we hold the whip hand. He seems to be burning bridges so he can’t come back. If he wants out that much, then he’ll go to Sydney, so let’s see what their offer is, or if Geelong ups there. At worst we get to choose between 3 first rounders, or holding him to his contract. But if we take him back, we need to assume that we get less for him in future.

I don’t believe his relationship with Carlton or those at the club is nearly as bad as the media or his management suggests. He certainly wants out but it isn’t untenable. We could hold him for another year and still get at least 2 first rounders in 12 months time.

And yeah, Clarry is a rotten example who has other issues, but have a look at his best mate Trac. Coincidentally also with Connor Sports Management who did the same shit through last years trade period pushing for a move. Fast forward 12 months time, just finished 2nd in the B&F, still loved by fans, still in contract, and the Dees are still looking at 2 first round picks for him if he does get a move again.

We’ve got to trust Wright and his judgement and I think he will hold him if he isn’t satisfied. Or you accept the overs from Sydney and give him the choice. Is it really about getting out of Carlton or is it about getting down to Torquay more often with his new buddy Baz? Call his bluff.

The fact that Sydney are yet to put in a formal offer is incredibly intelligent. Wait for what gets turned down then wait to strike. I’m expecting to still get 2-3 first round picks with 1-2 players. If Sydney can get WC involved we could very well have another top 2 pick to play with.
I don't believe we need WC involved. Just make sure the deal includes Sydney's 1st this year and next year.
Then use our pick 11 and Sydney's 10 to move up to pick 2 and Chesser from WC.

I don’t believe his relationship with Carlton or those at the club is nearly as bad as the media or his management suggests. He certainly wants out but it isn’t untenable. We could hold him for another year and still get at least 2 first rounders in 12 months time.

And yeah, Clarry is a rotten example who has other issues, but have a look at his best mate Trac. Coincidentally also with Connor Sports Management who did the same shit through last years trade period pushing for a move. Fast forward 12 months time, just finished 2nd in the B&F, still loved by fans, still in contract, and the Dees are still looking at 2 first round picks for him if he does get a move again.

We’ve got to trust Wright and his judgement and I think he will hold him if he isn’t satisfied. Or you accept the overs from Sydney and give him the choice. Is it really about getting out of Carlton or is it about getting down to Torquay more often with his new buddy Baz? Call his bluff.
I don't trust anyone, Wright another in the long list of "oh lets trust this guy with everything", if he makes what appears a bad deal, I wont see it as 4D chess, I will just see it as a bad deal.

Just had a quick squizz at the Pussies board.
95% of them don’t realise there’s 1st rounders and 1st rounders.
3 pks in the 20’s ain’t gonna get it done morons.
Yep Itchy. And with Charlie pulling his finger out the cats won’t be bottoming out any time soon. If they were able to switch the deal to include some cellar dweller 1sts, well things may be more enticing. And that’s having no ****ing idea how the Tassie stash is going to drain the 1st round talent across that timeframe. At least Mackie has already eaten his words about Carlton setting the price.

Last edited by a moderator:
Just on a side note, wasn't it 'convenient' that the AFL slapped Geelong with the ol' lettuce leaf yesterday for breaches, then come out and announce that all clubs can trade their 2025, 2026 and 2027 first round picks regardless of previous trades.

Then in a complete coincidence, Geelong come out the following day and offer 3 first rounders for Charlie, which they weren't able to under the previous rule :think:

Don't accept garbage offers because the offers may get worse. He can play VFL for us the next 4 years if he wants to sook it up.

Not saying we accept a garbage offer, and the Swans offer is not that.

Do tell, how does Charlie playing VFL for 4 years improve Carlton vs the offer from the Swans?

I know there's emotion attached to it, but need to take a breather and be a bit more realistic.

There are no trades where a star is traded for another star player. It just doesn't happen.

Sydney don't have pick 1... if they did, they wouldn't be including their F1 + Hayward.

We need an F1 out of this trade period at the very least so we can match the Walker bid...

How do you suppose we get that F1 pick by keeping Charlie? I'm listening for an alternative, but I doubt anyone can give one.

We'd also ideally want to get a kid before the Dean bid comes this year... again, the Charlie trade unlocks the ability to do that. What's the alternative?

Hayward is a solid medium forward option. If we get Ainsworth as well, I'm actually keen to see how our forward line will function next year with Harry, HOK, Kemp, Ainsworth, Hayward and Moir...