2026/2027 Draft & Trade Periods

How about this......he's a 21yo country boy who goes home to his mates for a break, having a great time, and they get in his ear after a sh*tload of booze, that heaps of players are breaking contracts, why don't you give it a go......then you can get back to a Vic team and we can do this when ever we can and you don't have to fly home all the time.......
now that all sounds like a great idea to a 21yo kid full of the liquid stuff.............then reality sets in............something his irresponsible mates don't have to deal with..........and then he'll realise that he doesn't have the control right now at this time, and he's gonna have to return to his place of employment and face the other employees... and his bosses.....
Interesting times.
I reckon this is pretty close. It doesn't even sound like his agent knew about meeting Melbourne until after it happened.

How about this......he's a 21yo country boy who goes home to his mates for a break, having a great time, and they get in his ear after a sh*tload of booze, that heaps of players are breaking contracts, why don't you give it a go......then you can get back to a Vic team and we can do this when ever we can and you don't have to fly home all the time.......
now that all sounds like a great idea to a 21yo kid full of the liquid stuff.............then reality sets in............something his irresponsible mates don't have to deal with..........and then he'll realise that he doesn't have the control right now at this time, and he's gonna have to return to his place of employment and face the other employees... and his bosses.....
Interesting times.
he had the meeting with Melbourne straight off the plane it was reported before he got to BFE

The Humphrey thing is being blown out of the water. No need to panic.

And whilst legally these guys are adults. We live in different times to what millennials and Gen X and Boomers did. Most kids are sheltered and dont learn to take responsibility these days to much time on screens or playing funny buggers with no consequences. So really they're still kids as they dont get given the opportunity to learn from their mistakes as often as other generations.

The Humphrey thing is being blown out of the water. No need to panic.

And whilst legally these guys are adults. We live in different times to what millennials and Gen X and Boomers did. Most kids are sheltered and dont learn to take responsibility these days to much time on screens or playing funny buggers with no consequences. So really they're still kids as they dont get given the opportunity to learn from their mistakes as often as other generations.
if you take a man’s wage you should act like a man. Or should Dimma put him in a timeout and make him think about his actions?

Thinking about this whole Humphrey situation. This guy has apparently wanted to go home the least couple of trade periods. Why tf would he sign a four year extension and then proceed to go about getting a trade home in perhaps the worst way I have seen in a while. This guy isn’t toxic, He’s just a ****ing moron
And/or his manager is.

This is not correct. He spent a bit of time with family first before all this BS.
His manager picked him up, dropped him off to his mates house in Melbourne. His mum was suppose to pick him up but was a bit late, this is apparently the window where he went for a walk with Melbourne reps at the Tan.

Yes but I’m pretty sure he spent some solid time camping and what not down there then came here for the Club Champion night and then back again.

This is how you do trade week fellas:

1) Trac and two second rounders for Humphrey

2) Pick 7 and 8 for Curnow.

3) Leave JUH on the scrap heap and save yourself the potential circus and distraction he’ll bring.

Trac and Curnow in at the expense of Humphrey makes you flag favourites for next year. You are a better team next year with Petracca and Curnow in and Humphrey out.

It’s so simple and there for the taking.

3) Leave JUH on the scrap heap and save yourself the potential circus and distraction he’ll bring.

Trac and Curnow in at the expense of Humphrey makes you flag favourites for next year. You are a better team next year with Petracca and Curnow in and Humphrey out.

No thanks, don't want Curnow (or JUH). Do want Humpa to stay.

You don’t think Curnow takes you to flag favourites?

At the moment I don’t think GC has enough weapons up forward to win a flag.

Or, are Suns supporters not expecting to be in flag contention next year irrespective of who they get? Is next year still a learning and development year and if they make it to a prelim, then that’s the dream result?

For me it is. If there’s reinforcement that we’re a finals team that truly belongs there, make top four and maybe play a preliminary - that’s a successful 2026.

2027 is the year, which is why holding Bailey and trading for the correct player next year is the better move. Why rush to collect scraps this year? There’s no benefit.

For me it is. If there’s reinforcement that we’re a finals team that truly belongs there, make top four and maybe play a preliminary - that’s a successful 2026.

2027 is the year, which is why holding Bailey and trading for the correct player next year is the better move. Why rush to collect scraps this year? There’s no benefit.
Win 2027 and there's a three-peat incoming with tassie entering the league ala Hawks 2013-15

This is not correct. He spent a bit of time with family first before all this BS.
my understanding is he went camping with his Dad and came home to GC then went back down to Melbourne, his Mum was to pick him up from the airport and rang to say she was held up and late at work and his mate picked him up and he caught up at The Tan with King

Trac and your F1 and it might turn some heads

I think with humper likely leaving next year, I think we need to get the ball rolling with an extremely aggressive search for an A/B+ grade small forward in the 26 trade period.
I think Trac still has at least 3 good years of mid/fwd x-factor before being full time fwd to finish his career and can cover the humper role while we develop another game breaker.
Dimma and Craig Cameron, make it happen

I don't speak for everyone but I don't see us winning the flag next year without or without Curnow. Finals yes, Pelim? Maybe.

Curnow wants Geelong, and has a bung knee. I don't think the price is worth the risk. I want us to get Zeke and Paterson as our last academy guns for a while then start really hitting the trade market next year.

I'm on the fence about Trac being worth getting tbh, I watched him closely this year (he was in my SC team) and he was a shadow of his former self. We will need him more interested next year to make the trade worth it. But that's clearly happening so I'll support him next year.

2026/2027 Draft & Trade Periods