List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

I think I could see us being the 3rd club that gets involved with the Hawks/Ess Merrett Trade.

Possibly something like below...just depends how much Essendon want CDT and if 5 & 9 is enough for us, but it would give us a great opportunity to get two of players like Sharp/Cumming/Lindsay/Dovaston and we keep 13 and go to the draft with 1,5,9,13, 31,34,53,58 and still have opportunity to trade to 7 or 8 with GC if we want to or with Carl for Pick 10.

GetGive
Ess2, Haw F1 2026, Haw F1 2027Merrett, 5
HawMerrett, 419,Haw F1 2026,31, Haw F1 2027
WC5,9,312,41
I think all parties would be happy in this trade.
To be honest, it’s like the whole draft and trade period is coming down to if any club love CDT enough to move up the order. It seems to be the key to unlocking a lot of moves

Chile with the South America jokes

Mira, como no he estado publicando tanto, pensé en compensarlo yendo hoy al entrenamiento abierto de los Eagles. Interesante sesión. Aquí les dejo algunas notas.

Gee Venables tiene algo de talento. Principalmente trotó un poco antes de dedicar la última media hora, más o menos, a tiros a balón parado; al final, metió algunos tiros preciosos desde detrás de la línea de banda para divertirse un poco. Casi no lo vi fallar ningún tiro.

Sorry to intrude, fellow Mexicans, but I honestly don’t understand your trading strategy.

Giving away a former first-rounder for a late second, then paying a second for a fringe KPP coming off an ACL with little to show for it, that’s puzzling.

If you’re paying a premium for potential, how much upside is left in a 27-year-old?

Makes me think we were far too generous with our OA/Starcevich trade. We probably could have squeezed pick 2 out of you.

Aren't you the poster who was trying to tell me WC are paying for some of Oscars contract to push it into Band 1 compo (and that this is a thing that is allowed)?

Any proof of this yet?

Agree with this. Some posters set themselves up to melt by setting the expectation bar in the win the trade setting.

It’s already happening with the bid on the suns kids at pick one and get Patterson. It’s not happening, no club has bid on a player at pick one yet and that includes Dacios, the Ashcroft’s and Sam Darcy. All more worthy of pick one status than the Academy kids this year.
It’s not happening but you watch posters in here convince themselves.
Sorry if this has been said already but, in 2020 Adelaide bid on Academy-linked JUH at pick 1 - Bulldogs matched and they took Thilthorpe with pick 2.

There is a precedent for bidding with pick 1.

When can we chuck cripps,bazzo or Barnett on the rookie list to delay their delistings?
It only has to be done before the draft to allow us to have additional picks - if we think that our F/S & NGA players are going to get bids and thus we need spaces on the main list (or if we want to be able to use any later picks ie 34 we might have otherwise as normal picks).

Harvey Johnston seems the other logical rookie list movement, moreso than Bazzo.

I just reckon we're going to be highly disappointed in any pick split we do. I was all for trying to move up for one of GC's picks but with that seemingly out of the question I'm really not keen on moving down from 2.
And if we're honest most people are only proposing we split pick 2 because people are reluctant to take Sharp at 2 and no one really wants CDT.
I'm apprehensive about what we do but I do think there's a chance we do something left field that looks decent post-draft

So who are we drafting and why?

Assuming GCS don’t have enough points and we have a ‘somewhat’ open pool for our first 2 picks. I don’t know enough about the GCS academy boys or how they compare to Willem, CDT, Sharp.

I wouldn't rule out a trade on draft night involving 1 or 2. So good luck to anyone guessing.

Mira, como no he estado publicando tanto, pensé en compensarlo yendo hoy al entrenamiento abierto de los Eagles. Interesante sesión. Aquí les dejo algunas notas.

Gee Venables tiene algo de talento. Principalmente trotó un poco antes de dedicar la última media hora, más o menos, a tiros a balón parado; al final, metió algunos tiros preciosos desde detrás de la línea de banda para divertirse un poco. Casi no lo vi fallar ningún tiro.
que?

I would be taking calls for pick 2.
If Tigers and Bombers aren't super keen, we just take Duursma & CDT and grab the best mid remaining with 13 (likely Farrow or Greeves).

Happy Well Done GIF

And McGovern was a fat rookie pick up.
I’ve said this before but when we took McGovern I was still going to watch Eagles pre season training and doing my poxy write ups on here when I thought I was going to go to uni to be a sport journalist (I probably would’ve been better than old mate Woodcock), and he is the player I had thought least likely of ever playing a senior game, let alone being one of the most influential players for their position in modern football.

I think what I’m saying is my opinions are shit and I should deactivate my account.

Pickering on trade radio asked about the Eagles using 13 + late picks for 7. He said he 'hadn't heard anything about that' but he had heard 'the likes of Essendon packaging 5&6 for 2'

Interesting he specifically said pick 2 and sounded as if he knew something was in train (as opposed to talking out the proverbial as some of these hosts need to do to fill 9 hours of content over 7 days)

Ok back to work...

Pickering on trade radio asked about the Eagles using 13 + late picks for 7. He said he 'hadn't heard anything about that' but he had heard 'the likes of Essendon packaging 5&6 for 2'

Interesting he specifically said pick 2 and sounded as if he knew something was in train (as opposed to talking out the proverbial as some of these hosts need to do to fill 9 hours of content over 7 days)

Ok back to work...

Probably just reading this thread for discussion fodder.

If they start talking in Spanish we will be certain.

Ok back to work...
Pick 2 for 5 & 6 is the absolute dream.

Give up CDT and take Sharp & Cumming.
With Duursma on top, this transforms our team for round 1 2026. Calling it a win would be a massive understatement.

Sorry to intrude, fellow Mexicans, but I honestly don’t understand your trading strategy.

Giving away a former first-rounder for a late second, then paying a second for a fringe KPP coming off an ACL with little to show for it, that’s puzzling.

If you’re paying a premium for potential, how much upside is left in a 27-year-old?

Makes me think we were far too generous with our OA/Starcevich trade. We probably could have squeezed pick 2 out of you.
A couple of thoughts on your obviously trolling post.

First of all, yes Young did blow out his ACL but otherwise has been generally healthy, and he came back to play well for the second half of the season so he’s now well and truly past the ACL injury, not really “coming off it” where there’s uncertainty about whether he will still be able to play footy at the same level.

It also seems odd to bring up his ACL injury but not Chesser’s repeated ankle surgeries which wiped out his entire first season as well as part of the most recent one.

And finally, pick 2 hadn’t even been awarded as compensation since the Allen signing came after the Starcevich trade was completed, so “we should’ve held out for pick 2 lol” doesn’t even make sense.

So we have got ourself a lock down defender, a KPD and likely to be picking up an inside mid as a rookie. All areas of need. No ruck but maybe this year is not the year to be shopping. All players coming in are ready to play and there will be differing views on whether they are best 23 or not.

We made out like bandits with pick 2 and Starcevich was a fair price considering it got us an upgrade to pick 13 and that premium should more taken out of what we paid for Starc.

Slight unders on Ryan but not far off for a 30 year old and a FF3 in the Tassie draft will be of little value. A load of posters looking at how Chesser (R1) and Young (MSD) got onto a list and not what role they can play for us going forward. I recall a load of posters unsure whether we give Chesser a new contract about 2 months ago.

I am now expecting Clarke to take a slight back seat and see if we can be the circuit breaker on some deals.
Examples:-
  1. Would pick 2 help get the Petracca deal done? Would 7 and 8 be too much or enough? Maybe we could chuck in 41.
  2. Would Dons want to sell hope after losing Merrett to Hawks? Do they turn it around and make a hard play for 1. What would they pay for Duursma? I am listening. Could it be 5+6+Dons F1 for 1+13+Eagles F2?
  3. Would Dons go the full reset and want 1 and 2. With 5 6 9 own F1 and Hawks F1 to play with (obviously not all of those picks but options plus we could provide NGA points back this year).
  4. Are those Tigers wanting pick 2 for CDT or are they just going to sit and wait.
  5. What are the Blues going to do with 10? I expect they want another F1 and what would a trade of 13 to 10 look like?
  6. There is no doubt that Duursma would be a welcome addition for the Eagles and I expect we twill take him. There CDT options will not be enticing but well worth considering.
Will we take 3 picks or 4?To get 3 top 10 picks do we trade up or do we trade back?

Meanwhile the draft looks shallower than last year - 2024 was one of the deepest drafts I can recall. That said, the crop in 2025 still has good options in the 20 to 40 range. The likes of Curtin, Whan, Walley and Rodriquez have all slid way back in rankings. Have they all deteriorated that badly or will there be bargain buys? What about Dalton who returned from broken wrists?

Would appear we’ve finalised our player trades in and out for this year, so now it’s a matter of what steps, if any, we take to improve/reposition our draft hand.

Ensuring we have the necessary list spots to fill our draft objectives will also need to be done. Depending on the status of Jack Hutchinson who might have been upgraded off the rookie list, we have a maximum of 5 main list spots and possibly only 4.

Optimally, we’d have 6 main list spots available. Cripps seems the most obvious way of adding a spot by either moving him to the rookie list or nudging him into retirement

We hold 7 picks inside the first 3 rounds:

R1- 1,2,13
R2- 34,41
R3- 53,58

I’ll leave any potential splitting of pick 2 alone for now as that’s something best left until closer to the draft. Pick 1 should be off limits

However, there maybe an opportunity to package up some of our other picks to move up the draft board - particularly with other clubs trying to broker complicated trades looking for more flexibility with their options.

On points value:

• Picks 13,34,41 = 1660 points which would give a surplus of 217 points if traded for pick 8. Had the Suns not been looking to trade for Petracca this would still have been a viable option for us despite the teeth gnashing over trading pick 38 instead of 41
• Picks 13,34 = 1440 points which would give a surplus of 174 points if traded for pick 10. Might be enough to get Carlton’s attention but they’re likely to wait and see what happens with Curnow
• Picks 34,41 = 580 points which would give a surplus of 101 points if traded for pick 29 which Gold Coast hold

If our draft hand doesn’t change prior to the draft we stand to lose pick 58, and possibly 53 depending on how many list spots we have - clubs can only take the same number of picks in as they have vacant list spots.

Where we rate Banfield, Williams and Evans on our draft board will influence how many picks we intend to use and where we hold them

Pick 2 for 5 & 6 is the absolute dream.

Give up CDT and take Sharp & Cumming.
With Duursma on top, this transforms our team for round 1 2026. Calling it a win would be a massive understatement.
This would be one of the only pick splits I'd be happy with, you'd think it'd be 2&13 though.

I really wish you’d just not post your tripe.
You are a huge reason why the Starc thread was an absolute bin fire