Rumour Bluemour Discussion XLI

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Love the optimism but there's equal chance this is not going to happen imo. Voss oversaw the culture and standards. It comes from the top. A list of 40 odd guys will ALWAYS have some not as commited/ bad eggs etc and it takes the strong leadership to keep culture 'good'.

Didn't happen in the last 4 years and we've blamed the players - rightly - moved them on but why won't it just happen again?

Wright and his report to Board

Does anyone know why Charlie wants out or do we get the goss after the trade … I get geelong but to go heck Carlton and go to
Sydney seems odd unless it’s money related
Money... he saw TDK departing for serious dollars and decided that, after completing the front ended part of his contract, he wants more money. I think that he and his manager thought they could bluff the club into re-negotiating his contract, but the club said "yeah nah mate, **** ya" and now he has the hump with the club for a situation he instigated.

He's probably gone to Shitney and said "my contract is for a million a year, I'll come and play for you and take a paycut to 750k/year". The media has played it up that he'll take a paycut to go and play for another club, but the fact is that he wants more money for the next 4 seasons.

So... he can **** right off with that bullshit.

I’ll pose this question to you: if Charlie puts in another year of 20% effort, is then the wrong side of 30, or heaven forbid cops another serious injury, therefore intentionally or otherwise tanking his value - what do you think we could get for him on the market?

The likelihood is if he’s not traded, you’re going to get the Charlie of 2025, and not the Coleman medalist - this is the risk you’re taking.

These are my thoughts perfectly put.

If you still believe he can get back to 2023 levels with Carlton it’s hard to swallow, the longer this has gone it’s become increasingly obvious that is not reality.

Not really a rumor, but was down at the club today. Saw the guys training in the gym.

HOF, HOK, Flynn Young, Moir, White, McGovern and Elijah. All looked in great shape but Moir in particular stood out. A a real specimen. HOF still very skinny. Hopefully he can build his body during his year off. Also, saw Gov doing laps of Princess Park. Was going pretty hard. He gave Elijah a big hug when he arrived which was nice to see.

Was hoping to catch a secret meeting between Bailey Humphrey and Voss. Unfortunately no such luck.

HOF have the knee brace still on?

Geelong are not out. They will be back with another offer by tomorrow night.

You've heard something or that's what you think will happen?

Call me crazy, but I do quite like what Carlton are doing here.

Reidy, Chesser, Ainsworth and likely Hayward, Florent and Khamis. Sure not household names, but hasn't all the criticism these past two years been about our next-in-line group? Plus, half of them don't want to move but that attitude can be changed quite quickly.

Also interested if we land a surprise 7th recruit. I kind of hope for it.

And to think there is still Lij, Binns and Gov the club wants to kind of nudge out the door. Wouldn't expect any of them to go for a pick above 40, But hey, I'm sure Wright, Davies and Austin have ideas.

When Charlie lines up against Weiters and us in 2026, he better bring his **** mouthguard and his big boy pants. Will cop it from the crowd and his former teammates.
You will be absolutely kidding yourself if you expect our playing group to actually show some fight when we vs sydney.
It will be all laughs and a 6 goal loss followed by a few hugs after the siren goes

If Curnow ends up at Sydney, lock in silverware for the blues next season.
Buddy Franklin goes from Hawthorn to Sydney - Hawks win the Premiership Cup
Tony Lockett goes from St Kilda to Sydney - Saints win the Ansett Cup
Clubs that pick up a genuine gun full forward have a weirdly high rate of making the grand final by comparison to any other position or metric… like… it’s over 50%….

Kennedy, Gunston, Boyd, Daniher, Jeremy Cameron etc etc

Dixon was one of the few that didn’t. So Carlton vs Sydney grand final then.

Money... he saw TDK departing for serious dollars and decided that, after completing the front ended part of his contract, he wants more money. I think that he and his manager thought they could bluff the club into re-negotiating his contract, but the club said "yeah nah mate, **** ya" and now he has the hump with the club for a situation he instigated.

He's probably gone to Shitney and said "my contract is for a million a year, I'll come and play for you and take a paycut to 750k/year". The media has played it up that he'll take a paycut to go and play for another club, but the fact is that he wants more money for the next 4 seasons.

So... he can **** right off with that bullshit.
Thanks for the response mate … i thought it was money but just wanted some clarification if anything else was at play

Does he have 3 or 4 surgeries in this year too?

I'm keeping him and giving him a Mulligan.

This deal we cop two crap long contracts and a couple of picks. We'll get Harry Dean regardless and we will find a way to get Cody too. Short memories, Charlie is a gun.

If you get a non-committed Curnow in 2026, he essentially becomes a 100kg paperweight in the forward line, and the best offer after that will be a third round pick + Aaron Francis

Clubs that pick up a genuine gun full forward have a weirdly high rate of making the grand final by comparison to any other position or metric… like… it’s over 50%….

Kennedy, Gunston, Boyd, Daniher, Jeremy Cameron etc etc

Dixon was one of the few that didn’t. So Carlton vs Sydney grand final then.
Bring back the Wizard Cup! (just in case)

If you get a non-committed Curnow in 2026, he essentially becomes a 100kg paperweight in the forward line, and the best offer after that will be a third round pick + Aaron Francis
I don't believe we would. I'd be hoping for a surgery free, fit Charlie.

We can get top end draft talent in without giving up Charlie.

Unless a Humphrey or the like come onto the table I'm keeping him and worst case he can sook it up. Don't need to be handing Sydney a premiership because Charlie has hurt a few people's feelings.

You will be absolutely kidding yourself if you expect our playing group to actually show some fight when we vs sydney.
It will be all laughs and a 6 goal loss followed by a few hugs after the siren goes
If it were 2025, I'd agree with you. But I have a feeling that Captain Walshy will have them fighting tooth and nail and ready to go in 2026. While i dont expect miracles, I expect a different and more united team next year.

Rumour Bluemour Discussion XLI