Recommitted Rowan Marshall [OOC 2027] - Requested Trade to Geelong, didn't get done

It's funny that he would say something like that.
I'm sure we are all awaiting with baited breath on Port's thoughts on the trade :tearsofjoy:

Look at how Port and Freo got the deal done on Will Brodie...no fuss.

Geelong should look to emulate this - make a fair offer and teams will take it.

Fair enough, hand on heart I didn't realise Holmes was that young. Bit of a Saints nuffie here! He's already been great for the Cats, If you see him improving again, then happy days.

Smith's already very good as well, but I reckon he's reached his ceiling until he matures a bit which he's sure to do at Geelong if he stays put.

I guess Worpel and Bruhn count as improvements, great to see that Geelong aren't panicking: sign of great club management.

Marshall is not a great tap ruck but he's great around the ground, completely different to what I remember of Stanley (though I haven't watched him much since his grand final sprint in our colours ;-) I can see him making a big difference in Chris Scott's side. Better midfielders around him should remove his instinct to blindly belt it out of stoppage. I can see him working well with Blicavs, another player i greatly admire.

Yes, Rowan is in the autumn of his career but but he's a good fit for a club challenging right now, which we aren't and you are. I am divided on his cultural impact at St Kilda, he's been a bit of a beacon, but at times as a leader I've found him a little complacent personally, which may be unfair, but he's been part of a farly passive senior group for a while. He's a pretty positive easy going fella which is good, but we needed more than that. Ah well.

The Saints are finally moving on from this senior group as culture setters, which is part of the reason he's got a foot out the door. I think he'll be a better fit coming into another club as just another player and let the stronger club culture take care of that side.

He gave us a few really good years, should have really won a B&F in 2019. 2025 wasn't great for him, he didn’t have a pre-season due to a fairly serious bone injury (don’t recall which one - pelvis?). If his body holds out he should easily give you 3 more years of good service.

I will be happy enough to see him win stuff with the Cats. Let's hope Ebenezer Mackie comes to the party on Wednesday, it would be a shame for us to spoil this trade period by letting our one-time "prospect" go so cheaply.

Great summary, i think all parties want this to work as long as everyone is on the same page. Mack is known for getting deals done so i doubt he'll be sitting on his hands if something hasn't already been locked in.

Saints could benefit from our draft capital to utilise in trade. Cats can benefit from getting Rowan closer to Home and playing in his preferred role as starting Ruck.

Every trade involving Geelong always on the last day. Their dogs to deal with.

You do realise the League push trades out to deadline day to bring in viewers and pump up DEADLINE DAY right?
That's why nothing happens in the days prior to the deadline. Everything gets pushed to the Wednesday just "conveniently"

Last year Mackie was scrolling on Instagram for an hour looking bored while the boys outside were claiming the deal for Bailey Smith wasn't gonna get done and that talks had "stalled" and it "wouldn't go through" which brought a lot of hilarity to the Cats board as a grown man is just casually feet up not having a care in the World while media blokes are presenting it as the biggest panic stations ever:tearsofjoy:
He wouldn't be sitting there scrolling his phone as list manager if there was a deal to be done and talks had "broken down" as they had claimed. And yet the trade went through...

No doubt in my mind most deals are done before the deadline day but AFL gets the clubs to hold off announcing to release the details right on or just before the deadline.

Draws more eyes to the product and gets people talking about footy when the footy isn't happening.
The AFL is a business, they have incentive to bring in drama like a reality tv show.

Otherwise they could do it all in a day or so lol

You do realise the League push trades out to deadline day to bring in viewers and pump up DEADLINE DAY right?
....and they always choose Geelong?

That's why nothing happens in the days prior to the deadline. Everything gets pushed to the Wednesday just "conveniently"

Last year Mackie was scrolling on Instagram for an hour looking bored while the boys outside were claiming the deal wasn't gonna get done and that talks had "stalled" and it "wouldn't go through" which brought a lot of hilarity to the Cats board :tearsofjoy:
He wouldn't be sitting there scrolling his phone as list manager if there was a deal to be done and talks had "broken down" as they had claimed.

No doubt in my mind most deals are done before the deadline day but AFL gets the clubs to hold off announcing to release the details right on or just before the deadline.

Draws more eyes to the product and gets people talking about footy when the footy isn't happening.
The AFL is a business, they have incentive to bring in drama.

Otherwise they could do it all in a day or so lol

Ahh geez, don’t tell me we’ll get a crap draw from HQ again as punishment for not following rules by getting all trades done on Day 1….

....and they always choose Geelong?

No lol? Cats have gotten deals done prior to trade deadline plenty of times for role players....it's always the more high profile ones that go to deadline day. You notice that right...

Just a hilarious quote from a truly terrible journalist. If the "other club" isn't Geelong, who tf cares about what they think?

God I'm just DESPERATE to get Fremantle's take on whether Marshall ends up a Cat.

You're gonna love this one :tearsofjoy:

Marshall will be playing vfl by the end of the year if he stays

Now we're at the point of repeating earlier posts over and over I'll put a little spin on mine.

Contracted Marshall at St Kilda, ignoring Max King doubts and Mitch Owens being the other CHF choice. (which reminds me, I was watching AFLW yesterday, Kennedy from Carlton had an amazing ball drop).

Best Case: Riley Thilthorpe
Mid Case: Full season Charlie Dixon
Worst Case: Better than pick 24 in this draft

and Mitch Owens becomes a high impact bull midfielder.

Thumbs up from Gerard

Holmes and Smith are too old to get any better. Marshall though is the perfect age to start his career fresh in the most difficult role on the field apparently
No issues with smiths ability on the field, but surely your club’s leadership would be telling him pretty shortly that he needs to pull his head with the off field distractions he brings
Think i reiterated that the other day.
It's not Saints fans being a pain in here. Most have been genuinely respectful and have actually engaged in discourse,
It just seems it's Geelong threads that always have "nEutRaLs" (anything but that) that are lurkers who have an unhinged or irrational level of hatred for anything Geelong that they just "want to see Geelong get reamed" to the point they start making nonsensical posts.

Old mate saying Cats who finished a game out of Minor Premiers and made a Grand Final need Marshall to be the difference between making or breaking our 2026 season like we didn't just make a Grand Final with Blicavs and the corpse of Stanley playing Ruck is just pure hilarity.

Brisbane are far above everyone, that's not just a Geelong problem.
Lions have roughly 9 players who can rotate on ball and not look lost or out of their depth.
That's insane level of talent all in one side.

There's a reason they've gone back to back and would be rightly favourites to win a third.
Us gaining Marshall is not going to make up the talent gap here no matter how good the bloke is (and he is good), it just gives us a better shot of not playing a decomposing corpse of a man that needs to be realistic and head off to his farm and stay there...and i love the bloke (THAT'S PREMIERSHIP RUCKMAN RHYS STANLEY) but it's about that time.
Brisbane just improved there ruck division considerably with the Draper signing, so to say Geelong not signing Marshall will not have a sufficient impact on future games between them is a hard thing to get your head around and not accurate

No issues with smiths ability on the field, but surely your club’s leadership would be telling him pretty shortly that he needs to pull his head with the off field distractions he brings

Brisbane just improved there ruck division considerably with the Draper signing, so to say Geelong not signing Marshall will not have a sufficient impact on future games between them is a hard thing to get your head around and not accurate

You misread what i said. I said the gap isn't the Ruck position, it's the midfielder position.
We don't have a genuine contested ball winning mid.
We have two great outside runners in Dash bros, a contested defensive bull in Atkins, a pretty decent contested player in Worpel and then a bunch of taggers or blokes who don't play midfield as their actual position.

Our forward line is elite, our backline is pretty good but our midfield is our weakest link and has been since 2022 Premiership year.

We genuinely lack a guy who can win footy from the inside and has class. Brisbane have about 4 of those types of players at their disposal...the difference is stark.

It's pretty obvious with the Harley Reid and Zak Butters interest this year what Geelong is chasing.
Marshall solves a problem, but that is not THE difference between the two sides.

even ex Geelong royalty the big moondog understands just how much his former club needs this deal to go down

I don't think anyone is saying Marshall wouldn't be important to us?

What we are saying is if Cats could get a Zak Butters or Finn Callaghan or a Sam Walsh they'd do it in a heartbeat over Marshall.
Marshall would be a great addition, Butters would be an elite addition.
One need is much much much more pressing than the other.

A want is someone like Curnow, we already have an elite forward line (easily our strongest position), it would be surplus to requirements and cost us losing something just to bring him in...and it would probably throw out cohesion.

You can have more than one need and still be able to differentiate the level of need of the two.