Rumour Bluemour Discussion XLI

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Kind of not true

Harry kicked 49 goals next to Charlie in 2024; Charlie kicked 57
ll Harry needs to do is mongrel up and keep his feet - hasnt hit his best possible form yethaving some class around him will help - for every great thing curnow does- he doesnt when it really matters.

Im hoping its butters

Carlton out curnow, pick 10, 11, future first Sydney future first geelong, future first 2027 carlton

Carlton in hayward, Butters, future first Collingwood, future 2nd Sydney

Sydney out Hayward, rowbottom, Buller, pick 11, future first, future 2nd, Collingwood future first.

Sydney in Charlie curnow

Collingwood out future 1st

Collingwood in rowbottom, Buller

Geelong out pick 19, future 1st, Carlton pick 10

Geelong in Rowan marshal

Stk out marshal

Stk in Carlton pick 10

Port Adelaide out butters

Port Adelaide in Sydney pick 11,future first Sydney, future first geelong 2027 future 1st carlton

Would have to be some later picks flying around aswell and I know rowbottom dosnt want to go but if I'm carlton this is what I'm asking Sydney to make happen lol

Time to go to bed

This is year 1 over for the mini reset. Another year next year where we hopefully get another top line mid, another key forward to reset the youth balance, Walker and a free agent.

Austin (who recognised and started the list refresh last off season, Wright and co have done a good job considering we were faced with losing TDK for mediocre compo, JSOS and Curnow plus an unbalanced list with holes everywhere.

Feels like we are setting ourselves for 2027, 2028.

Sorry to intrude on your board but the thing I can't get over in the reporting is the suggestion that if Hayward and Florent are in the deal then the swans will clear $1.2m in salary cap space (which reading between the lines it sounds like is required for them to fit Charlie in).

Why would Carlton have to pay most of that money if the draft pick return is just two first round picks? If the swans want/need to clear the cap space, then they should be giving you additional draft capital 🤷‍♂️ Otherwise they should be paying a substantial amount.

Will Ashcroft just signed a big extension. I assume a million a year?

If Brisbane trade him to Carlton, I'd expect Carlton to get draft picks to compensate us for clearing your salary cap ;)

This is year 1 over for the mini reset. Another year next year where we hopefully get another top line mid, another key forward to reset the youth balance, Walker and a free agent.

Austin (who recognised and started the list refresh last off season, Wright and co have done a good job considering we were faced with losing TDK for mediocre compo, JSOS and Curnow plus an unbalanced list with holes everywhere.

Feels like we are setting ourselves for 2027, 2028.
I’m amazed by the level of optimism by so many in this forum. The reality is if we lose Charlie, we are one injury/health issue to Harry away from a bottom 4 finish.

Yep. We need to build depth.

People need to realise what those picks and Hayward actually does for us.

Focus on the whole result of trade period.

Lose an unmotivated, entitled sook from the forward line.

Bring in two reliable forwards and it reshapes our whole forward line dynamic. Hayward is certainly one of those, Ainsworth being the other.

Florent off hb is better than Boyd, or a green Billy Wilson/Carroll/Charleston.

The pick 11 can be combined with 10 to improve our draft hand.

I think it'll end up being for 6 + 21 from Essendon in all likelihood. I'd rather be able to get Humphrey or if not possible, then try and get a F1 from North or Demons, but I doubt that happens either.

But with pick 6, we're looking at drafting Grjl, Robey, Lindsay...

21 + 22 means we can match a bid for Dean at pick 7 (after 10% discount) all likelihood though, he's going to be bid on at pick 14 from the Dogs.

The F1 helps us secure Walker.

It really does open up a lot of opportunities to improve our list by quite a bit going forward...
Hayward plays taller than he is. Like Moir. I reckon Moir having Hayward around is going to help him immensely. Ainsworth is going to make Motts work for his spot. If we retain F. Young and White, we have a couple of good backups who can be on the rookie list for a couple more years.

I reckon that Florent is good, but Carroll long term has more upside. He's definitely an improvement over Boyd. Billy is going to spend the year spelling Saad next year. And we'll get to see a couple of games from Charleson just to see what he's like at AFL level... because he looks great at VFL level.

One thing that I love about Harry, is that if Charlie isn't in the forward line, he works with the mids and the half forwards by making long leads into space and running at the ball carrier. If Charlie is there, everyone is looking for him and kicking it long to him. Everyone who is whinging is whinging about losing a dual Coleman medalist... they need to remember that Harry won his Coleman while Charlie was out injured from falling down the stairs or something stupid like that.

Without Charlie in the side, our forward line actually looked functional, and adding Hayward and Ainsworth in there is going to improve us no end.

Looks like both boards will have some regrets if the touted deal comes off (Hayward/Florent/11 +F1), maybe a sign it’s just about right. Hope they’re players you need and the Mackay / Hayward combo can gel. Be cheering those lads no matter what.
I'm more interested in the Hayward/Moir combo gelling. If those two can work together, they'll tear defences apart. Harry is the icing if they gel.

Take the name out of it and that's what we're looking at here. A bloke who tried hard but rarely impacted up forward, moved back and looked pretty handy. But with the added factor of this time round, the one we lost was also very very injury prone.

Jack will play some very good footy over the next few years. He'll also miss games. He'll also get towelled up and concede bags of goals from time to time.
Take the name out of it and it's possible that he would have been told to explore his FA options 2 years ago. And we would have only gotten a band 3 for him.

2025: Curnow, McKay, Fogarty, Evans, Motlop, White, Williams, F. Young

2026: McKay, Kemp, Hayward, Ainsworth, Williams, Motlop, Moir, Evans

Look at the difference. It’s mobile, dynamic, has players who can pinch hit in the middle of the ground or even off a wing if a mid needs a 2-3 min rest. I wouldn’t have thought this was a chance for the forward line to look like this start of the trade period

Like what we’ve done with the forward line - if we do add Hayward.

Feel we are still missing another pacey half back.

Ideally Wilson steps up but don’t see him picking up 15-20 touches a game yet and breaking lines.

If there’s something available in the draft before the Dean bid I hope we move up.

We are trading our best forward for a pick before the one we already have and a pick we have to give up (along with another 1st round pick) for one player.

So we are effectively trading Curnow and 2 x 1st rounders for Walker and pick 10 this year.

If anyone offered you that at the start of the year, when would you have stopped laughing?

Florent + Hayward contracts > Curnow contract. Until 2029. How are we saving any salary cap?
We are trading one of our best forwards... remember that Harry won a Coleman as well before Charlie came back from injury.

2025: Curnow, McKay, Fogarty, Evans, Motlop, White, Williams, F. Young

2026: McKay, Kemp, Hayward, Ainsworth, Williams, Motlop, Moir, Evans

Look at the difference. It’s mobile, dynamic, has players who can pinch hit in the middle of the ground or even off a wing if a mid needs a 2-3 min rest. I wouldn’t have thought this was a chance for the forward line to look like this start of the trade period
2026: Mackay, Kemp, Khamis, Hayward, Moir, Ainsworth, Williams, Motlop, Evans

Edit: and Josh Fraser will have his work cut out making it gell...

Gee, there's a tonne of available organic growth before mixing in the likes of Ainsworth, Chesser, Haywood, Jagga etc.

Newy and Kemp... a fit Walsh and a Cerra with more zip in his legs....

Breakout year for Moir... 40 goals +

Plus, I still staunchly believe they've got a big fish coming in....

Top 8 comfortably, top 4 with luck...
Now there’s the attitude I’m on board with.
Even put my money where our mouths are.

Attachments

• IMG_9814.jpeg
    IMG_9814.jpeg
    81.3 KB · Views: 123

Rumour Bluemour Discussion XLI