Rumour Bluemour Discussion XLI

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Couldn't agree more. His leadership, footy IQ, toughness and kicking ability coming out of defence.

Pending what happens with Tassie, we need to groom Cowan in that role or find another half back general/distributor.
I’m a born and bred Tasmanian. But I’m from the south end of the state. People don’t understand Tasmanian parochialism around here (and in fairness, it is unusual).

But as a boy from the northwest, I reckon Cowan’s emotional attachment may well be closer to his boyhood AFL team than it is to a Hobart-based side. I’m personally of the view he is more likely to stay than go.

Im a big fan of the direction of the club this off season and back the decisions we are making list composition wise.

We have been too top heavy, superstar focused, lacking depth, cohesion and consistency. In modern footy, you need a team working together playing their role with some stars mixed in. We haven't had that. Way too reliant on the "big 5".

Charlie is a lovely, carefree guy. Playing for a struggling big Victorian club is obviously a bit much for him. I'm not sure how serious he takes his footy. I've loved watching him play but also happy to let him go to start fresh.

Sydney have traditionally had a great system and their players have done remarkably well in recent years at Carlton in Hewett and Newman. I'd back in Hayward and Florent to add depth and play important roles in the side.

I’m a born and bred Tasmanian. But I’m from the south end of the state. People don’t understand Tasmanian parochialism around here (and in fairness, it is unusual).

But as a boy from the northwest, I reckon Cowan’s emotional attachment may well be closer to his boyhood AFL team than it is to a Hobart-based side. I’m personally of the view he is more likely to stay than go.
North v South is the equivalent to us v Collingwood. I'd be surprised if he left to head to Slowbart. Money talks though.

Bloody southerners

I’m personally going to be excited if Charlie happens for pick 11 + F1 + Hayward + Florent.
We'll get a better offer than that by both suitors before trade period ends.
It's a salary dump for the Swans and even Geelong could still trump (sorry for the term) it.

If Curnow ends up at Sydney, lock in silverware for the blues next season.
Buddy Franklin goes from Hawthorn to Sydney - Hawks win the Premiership Cup
Tony Lockett goes from St Kilda to Sydney - Saints win the Ansett Cup

Bring back the Wizard Cup!!

Pretty sure we won it and the wooden spoon in the same year.

Where is the Barassi line in Tas?

to all the miserable souls out there complaining that we are getting unders for Charlie, have a look at the Jeremy Cameron trade.

Geelong gave up picks 13, 15, 20 and GOT BACK 2 second round picks.

Fresh off a Coleman and the clubs 9 time leading goal kicker. Much younger than Charlie as well.

Imo if we get hayward and 2 picks for him thats an absolute win and more than any club has ever gotten from a player.

Anyone hear the caller on Trade Radio (his name was Bill I think) questioning how no official offer has been put forward - yet there are names being mentioned? And those names mentioned just happen to be managed by the same manager as Charlie. Sam Edmund was largely silent, while Kane said how it isn’t a good look. Suggesting the media are getting all their info from a certain management stable, rather than from the clubs

That particular manager is a concern.

I'm not one for posturing or needing to 'win' trades but the reality is we simply need to be asking these clubs to do more if they want Charlie.

"Butter wouldn't melt in my mouth" Mackie offering three first round picks without actually trying to do any hard work to convert one of the picks into a top 10 selection for us, Sydney supposedly offering a player that they have permanently banished to the VFL (who is on best 22 money) as part of the package... Not good enough.

They need to sacrifice something and weaken their team in one area, in order to bring Curnow in.

MOAR pls

to all the miserable souls out there complaining that we are getting unders for Charlie, have a look at the Jeremy Cameron trade.

Fresh off a Coleman and the clubs 9 time leading goal kicker. Much younger than Charlie as well.

Imo if we get hayward and 2 picks for him thats an absolute win and more than any club has ever gotten from a player.

Not much younger, Cameron was 27.

Gotta love the AFL headline article though... "Cats cave" because they have a "historic three first rounds picks" completely ignoring how late those first rounders were: 13 + 15 + 20... and the two 2nd rounders they got back as you mentioned...

If we actually get florent, what an embarrassment this club is. Not only are we getting a player sydney dont want its also a salary dump for sydney. We are giving the one of the best frwds in the comp and taking on a duds massive salary. I can only hope Wright and davies arnt that dumb. I would much rather a player like datolli with hayward and 2 firsts. Thats what we should be asking for at a minimum. Hes cheaper and much more upside. If we get florent he'll come on big wages and effect us trying to go for a big name next year

Where to start?

• Cameron was a free agent, not under contract
  • He was 27 (only a year younger than Charlie)
  • kicked only 24 goals in 17 games the season he left, while being the highest paid player in the comp
  • had only won one Coleman medal (in 2019)

Where to start?

• Cameron was a free agent, not under contract
  • He was 27 (only a year younger than Charlie)
  • kicked only 24 goals in 17 games the season he left, while being the highest paid player in the comp
  • had only won one Coleman medal (in 2019)

GWS matched the bid... so Geelong had to stump up... I've been through this so many times, had Geelong not satisfied GWS, Cameron would have stayed because there was no chance he was going to enter the draft...

Rumour Bluemour Discussion XLI