Lore
Moderator ❀
- Dec 14, 2015
- AFL Club
- Essendon
- #10,220
There we go, that's the clip:

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
We literally offered more wtf do you mean?
That old chest nut "He's 30 years old"You asked who their replacements will likely be and they are. Forgetting the obvious that there are still 3 drafts until the 2028 season.
Considering Hawthorn almost beat Brisbane at the end of 2025 which would of had them third, whilst still playing off in a prelim, I’d say it isn’t that big of a gap.
JUH will be lucky to play AFL next year.
Day returns for Hawthorn, full preseason to Dear for the first time, Lewis aswell. Weddle, Mackenzie, Scrimshaw, and Butler ontop of the mentioned players will have big pre seasons leading into 2026 where a lot of them missed significant time in 2025. That’s improvement, ontop of natural development.
What happens in regards to drafts is a wait and see.
Hawthorn refused to pay four firsts and a second for a 30 year old Merrett. Which is just simply unbelievably stupid to even consider that an option for a trade.
He promised Merrett that the hawks would pay more then 4 first round picks for him did he?Hawthorn f....d around all week. They then placed time deadlines on the club and threatened to withdraw picks.
All this after the coach promised the world to a 250 game / 6 x B&F winning club captain.
And you didn't get it done. In fact, you got very little done as far as improving your list goes.
Swaggered into trade week like a gunslinger and slinked out with your tail between your legs. How embarrassing.
Mate the only reason you can afford trac is because the afl is paying the deal. 17 other clubs would’ve walked from the Merrett dealThis will hurt the Hawks for the immediate future. You assured Zach & his manager you would get the deal done. That means whatever it takes.
Just as the Swans & Suns have just done.
It surely has to cause future doubt for high profile players nominating the Hawks while the current recruiting team is in control?
DGB was talented had his limitations of development“DGB is great and will be a main stay for the next decade. Kossie, Lewis, Jeka, Callow etc all 23 and under.”
How many are still there?
Nope I don’t, there’s plenty of development for all clubs. In the way you’ve described however, Hawthorn have little and the rest have heaps. It’s an interesting angle to draw to.I think you severely underestimate how much more natural development the teams around the Hawks have.
Even taking away GC/Bris, Freo and GWS both added best 22 players, are younger and in the case of GWS (and Gc) have a bunch of untried first rounders.
A club wanting to keep their best player and captain who's under contract is being arrogant? lolsHow many times do you need to be told. Merrett approached the Hawks.
I know it hurts that your captain wants out.
The arrogant grub here is Welsh - knocking back a deal which would genuinely fast track the club’s rebuild, and keeping a contracted 30yo who doesn’t want to be there.
No other way to spin it - it’s complete insanity.
Hawthorn f....d around all week. They then placed time deadlines on the club and threatened to withdraw picks.
All this after the coach promised the world to a 250 game / 6 x B&F winning club captain.
And you didn't get it done. In fact, you got very little done as far as improving your list goes.
Swaggered into trade week like a gunslinger and slinked out with your tail between your legs. How embarrassing.
Right, so your talent identification wasn’t good enough to pick up said limitations then but is now?DGB was talented had his limitations of development
Kosi showed plenty and then stagnated
Lewis has dealt with injuries consistently but has shown to be at a high level when fit
Jeka was ultra talented but lacked a lot of the same things as DGB aswell as work ethic
Don’t know what you’re getting at but talent isn’t what has defined say DGB and Jekas “careers” it was other aspects, like their work ethic or limitations (physical like strength, aerobic base etc).
Oh how cute you believe him. I’m sure both Amon and Impey do too but according to some are done by 33 despite being in career best form, and half backs.That old chest nut "He's 30 years old"
He's not your normal 30 year old player said he wants to play till he's 35 and I believe him. Bloke is the ultimate pro in keeping him self fit and hungry hardly get injured he's missed more games through suspension
Mate the only reason you can afford trac is because the afl is paying the deal. 17 other clubs would’ve walked from the Merrett deal
With regard to DGB - not our fault West Australians are complete flogs“DGB is great and will be a main stay for the next decade. Kossie, Lewis, Jeka, Callow etc all 23 and under.”
How many are still there?
So your ruling yourself out of a move to the hawks, damn we lost another oneThis will hurt the Hawks for the immediate future. You assured Zach & his manager you would get the deal done. That means whatever it takes.
Just as the Swans & Suns have just done.
It surely has to cause future doubt for high profile players nominating the Hawks while the current recruiting team is in control?
Yes, Gold Coast have double digit top 10 picks from the last 4 years including this one to make/improve their team.Nope I don’t, there’s plenty of development for all clubs. In the way you’ve described however, Hawthorn have little and the rest have heaps. It’s an interesting angle to draw to.
Hawthorn aren’t desperate to blow up their future for Merrett no.A club wanting to keep their best player and captain who's under contract is being arrogant? lols
If the Hawks offered their 2027 first the deal would have gone through in the last few minutes but i guess you weren't that desperate for Zac in the end
And the only reason you could afford to trade out those players is because you had another 2 top 5 academy kids coming this year, the only reason you had those picks to trade tonight is due to the leg up the northern clubs get every single year which allows you to get gun kids in year on year for **** all.We traded out multiple players to afford Trac, and met the Dees demands to ensure the trade would be successful. This will hurt the Hawks trade rep in the short term.
Sam Walsh?Knock Knock..who's there
Not Sam Mitchell...
We were trying to see if any players actually wanted to go to Essendon.Hawks waited till Monday 36 hours before deadline to make an offer why couldn't they presented that offer last week? would have given them a week or so to try and convince a player to be part of a trade even if they want to come to Essendon trade them to another club for more draft picks.
Hawks ****ed up they knew he wasn't going to be cheap
I actually think we were, and we almost did but Walsh came in with the save.Hawthorn aren’t desperate to blow up their future for Merrett no.
10 (2025, F1 (2026), F1 (2027) 1st 22 (2025), and F2 is just unfathomably high and purely laughable.
Oh god here we go.We traded out multiple players to afford Trac, and met the Dees demands to ensure the trade would be successful. This will hurt the Hawks trade rep in the short term.