List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
We didn't get rid of Jack Steele

The club looked at things and decided he wouldn't necessarily be best 22 next year (as you alluded to) and out of respect to him for his service to the club, were honest enough to tell Jack we'd help facilitate a trade if he wanted to look at other options.

That's the option he took.
I reckon if floggoliver didn’t get to GWS he stays as well. But the exodus at Melbourne is a great opportunity for a leader of his calibre.

I think he made a smart decision. Emotional and heart wrenching, but smart.

Old Damo was ropable last year when we got band 1 compo for Battle as well, but he certainly didn't have any problems with Ben McKay getting band 1.
I reckon he is as dumb as his glasses are thick, and they are some very thick glasses
Barrett is still harping on about free agency compensation but he’s been quiet about the compensation St Kilda received for Josh Battle.

It might have something to do with Battle being AA this year. Criticising St Kilda for getting pick 8 when the player they lost was AA the next year isn’t a smart look. Sort of demolishes his argument.

Indeed, Barrett was reminded about that a few weeks ago when he was banging on about FA compensation on Footy Classified in relation to Oscar Allen. When the Josh battle compensation was raised by another panelist he went rather quiet.

Damien Barrett is a hack. He hasn’t broken a major football story in many years. He sits in the stalls, giving opinions which are influenced by his biases.

But in reality, he’s irrelevant. Nothing Barrett says makes any difference. Nobody takes any notice. He is not, and will never be, an agenda setter.

Never played. Never involved. Never achieved anything. But has access to a microphone and air time. Stealing a living as a self appointed expert.

He’s irrelevant. An ageing man yelling at passing clouds.

Ignore him.

Jack has really dropped off and struggled in the last few years. We have more and more big bodied kids ready for midfield minutes.

I think it’s somewhat obvious he wasn’t a Ross favourite nor was Jack a Ross disciple. That’s also okay, but it shouldn’t really surprise anyone that this is the outcome. He wasn’t part of the long term future and scored an extra year on his contract to go play footy without anyone threatening his position in the side at Melbourne
Agree. The interesting thing that is getting lost Stav too though is the "line coaches". Did any of Boris, Harves, Bolton, Goddard, Lenny et al go into bat hard for Steeley to stay? I suspect not as reckon he'd still be here, especially if Boris had. I reckon this was a whole of club decision so easy just to blame it on Ross but as he'd say himself get out of the kitchen if you don't want the heat.

Hill and wood contracted until 2027 aren’t they?

Dow Carroll Howard Butler Keeler Said O’Connell Stocker (only takes 1 year deals so has to be included) all under pressure for me.

Dodson, Wilson & Caminiti out of contract and ones to watch now that there is genuine depth and competition for spots.

Marshall revisit a trade again?
Sharman will attract plenty of interest too

Even more absurd is how easy he has been on North Melbourne during this trade period. They did absolutely stuff all, stuck in a no man's land that will only get worse once Tassie hits, and Damo says nothing...

Anyway, I'm kinda loving the haters. Bring it.
His sliding doors for them was about Jy Simpkin being retained (AGAINST HIS WILL DAMO) and it was soft as baby shit.

I do seem to recall he was ****ing stoked about Charlie Spargo though, cause hes a real needle mover.

Even more absurd is how easy he has been on North Melbourne during this trade period. They did absolutely stuff all, stuck in a no man's land that will only get worse once Tassie hits, and Damo says nothing...

Anyway, I'm kinda loving the haters. Bring it.
North Melbourne is now irrelevant. Never seen or heard.

They are not doing anything to lift themselves out of the mire. Conservatively drafting mids, never trading, never making a splash.

It’s sad. In fact, it’s rather pathetic.

At least have a go. Make an effort.

Here's a list of Best 22 players which weren't available (or consistently available) to us this year, but will be in 2026:
  • Max King
  • Liam Henry
  • Dougal Howard
  • Mattaes Phillipou
  • Tom De Koning
  • Jack Silvagni
  • Paddy Dow
  • Liam Ryan
  • Sam Flanders.

Ignoring all remaining players, any Draftees, and any natural development they may have- the additions above will have to net us +4 goals in attack and -2 goals in defence.

If we improve by a +6 goals net we are a Top 6 team. Exciting times for the Saints! Just get the list fit!!

It kind of is his role now no? He’s just inconsistent
Mitchito is inconsistent?

I reckon he's one player who can be relied on every week to bust his gut. That doesn't always translate to a great game stats & influence on the game wise but let's not forget the role he has been asked to play.

Hopefully he's free to be the half forward wrecking ball in 2026 & not the sole long option down the line.

Barrett is still harping on about free agency compensation but he’s been quiet about the compensation St Kilda received for Josh Battle.

It might have something to do with Battle being AA this year. Criticising St Kilda for getting pick 8 when the player they lost was AA the next year isn’t a smart look. Sort of demolishes his argument.

Indeed, Barrett was reminded about that a few weeks ago when he was banging on about FA compensation on Footy Classified in relation to Oscar Allen. When the Josh battle compensation was raised by another panelist he went rather quiet.

Damien Barrett is a hack. He hasn’t broken a major football story in many years. He sits in the stalls, giving opinions which are influenced by his biases.

But in reality, he’s irrelevant. Nothing Barrett says makes any difference. Nobody takes any notice. He is not, and will never be, an agenda setter.

Never played. Never involved. Never achieved anything. But has access to a microphone and air time. Stealing a living as a self appointed expert.

He’s irrelevant. An ageing man yelling at passing clouds.

Ignore him.
His view on free agency compensation is ridiculous. The compensation is one of the few aspects of the entire system that favours poor teams over good teams.

Man.. I don’t have the heart to see Steele going as a positive. It’s funny, I don’t think I’d be this upset if NAS had left but that is exactly the mindset shift that has to happen right now. No space for sentimentality, only for improvement and success. Can’t hold onto loveable characters if they aren’t apart of that success and it sucks.
Yeah im sure Richmond regret trading Deledio and Buldogs fully regret trading Griffin as well

On Steele, its been a couple of days, Im still of the same mindset about it.

Im fine with trading him, i can live with it for a shitful 3rd rounder but if were holding his salary (any of it) then its a poor decision.

I get hes probably depth, i understand all the reasons for trading him (noting i was never against it) but if were gonna offload him for a half eaten sanga and a warm fanta then we needed all his salary gone, otherwise id rather we kept him.

I will say I am loving how salty oppo fans are in refusing to give us credit for this trade period. We've added TDK, Silvagni, Flanders and Ryan for the price of pick 7 in a weak draft and a future second. Whilst keeping RoMa. Setting aside my personal feelings on the Steele trade. Those four players objectively make us hugely better on paper, and yet we've got barely any credit from opposition fans and the media. Must be doing something right.

Here's a list of Best 22 players which weren't available (or consistently available) to us this year, but will be in 2026:
  • Max King
  • Liam Henry
  • Dougal Howard
  • Mattaes Phillipou
  • Tom De Koning
  • Jack Silvagni
  • Paddy Dow
  • Liam Ryan
  • Sam Flanders.

Ignoring all remaining players, any Draftees, and any natural development they may have- the additions above will have to net us +4 goals in attack and -2 goals in defence.

If we improve by a +6 goals net we are a Top 6 team. Exciting times for the Saints! Just get the list fit!!
Really nice and logical way of putting it, lets ****ing goooo

Mitchito is inconsistent?

I reckon he's one player who can be relied on every week to bust his gut. That doesn't always translate to a great game stats & influence on the game wise but let's not forget the role he has been asked to play.

Hopefully he's free to be the half forward wrecking ball in 2026 & not the sole long option down the line.
With King back, Marshall down there at times and maybe Caminiti, Owens will be a nightmare match up for opposition teams. He'll get to play on opponents his own size for a change.

His view on free agency compensation is ridiculous. The compensation is one of the few aspects of the entire system that favours poor teams over good teams.
Honestly the AFL were always going to be forced into accepting some form free agency and any free agency model winds up benefitting successful clubs, most sports wind up with dynasty clubs even with equalisation policies. Even the NRL which doesnt have a draft has had a long run of Storm, Panthers, Manly etc being the big clubs.

The compo is literally the only thing that helps the smaller less succesful clubs and granted its probably not always gonna get it 100% right but its way better than nothing
I will say I am loving how salty oppo fans are in refusing to give us credit for this trade period. We've added TDK, Silvagni, Flanders and Ryan for the price of pick 7 in a weak draft and a future second. Whilst keeping RoMa. Setting aside my personal feelings on the Steele trade. Those four players objectively make us hugely better on paper, and yet we've got barely any credit from opposition fans and the media. Must be doing something right.
Yeh weve traded/FAd for need and improving the drafted and developed base. I probably have some queries about chemistry and getting everyone complimenting each other but on paper (which is where trading is done) this list looks vastly improved from a team that looked a low end top 8 side for the last few weeks of the year.

Even better was despite losing 60% of their spine because no one believes in the club direction. He managed to spin Carton’s trade period as a win 😂.

I hate to say it but I tend to agree with him. There is no doubt they will dip as a result of the loss of talent, but I think they have made the calls to rebound quickly. They have shown they cant win it with the list they had and were always losing the big 3 so they have done the best they could in the circumstances.

They will get garuanteed picks in the draft - Harry Dean & Jack Ison plus Im guessing they will look for another key forward and are well positioned in next years draft. Cody Walker will go close to being the best player in the 2026 draft. Plus they will get Jagga Smith, Newman, Cerra, McGovern and others back next year.

The addition of Hayward, Florent, Ainsworth, Chesser (all quick) and Reidy (back up ruckman) will all add something. If Ainsworth and Hayward add 3 goals a game that nearly covers the loss of Curnow. Florent will fill the running half back role and Chesser a wing or an outside mid role.

Going to be interesting to see what happens with the forward line over the course of the season. As it stands I would say Marshall King Sharman and Owens are starting in the 1s as talls, with Caminiti and Keeler in the twos.
In a hypothetical world if Keeler comes back with an extra 7-8kg of muscle and another pre season of run in the legs and is taking the piss out of the VFL, who gets dropped for him? Retaining Marshall is going to force one or both of Caminiti and Keeler to seek other opportunities I think.

Loving how salty they are but frustrated that Mackie isn't being held accountable at all.

He can literally only get deals done for free agents and uncontracted players. The uncontracted players issue is only because he leaves it til the last minute as a take it or leave it option.

Steele trade is fine, I was surprised at the pick and expected better. But out of him and Marshall, Steele had the bigger contract and was about to be overtaken by the U24 midfielders.

The media are being subtly critical of us but mainly still giving us top ratings. Its a strange outlook, regular programming is to be critical of us so they seem torn.

If we are going to be a good to very good team this year we need players to go past Macrae this year. Started last year as an AA smokey and ended with a whimper. Won't be shocked if he finds himself in the VFL this year.
We need someone to breakout unexpectedly. Like Hall did for us this year.

We certainly need Travaglia, Boxshall, Tauru, Collard and Dodson to take another step.

And we also need Keeler, Wilson, Garcia and Phillipou to continue their growth and entrench themselves in the best 22.

But we need one of our fringe players to put it all together and make us a better balanced team.

O’Connell and Hastie maybe the two best candidates to put together an irresistible breakout year.

One of Dilena’s more interesting comments was how the club has closely observed and is looking to emulate a US sports model of concentrating cash on the elite talent on the list, meaning paying very modest amounts to the role players and depth players.

Will be interesting to see the implications. Will this place us in a stronger position to target big fish?
Will it make it harder for us to recruit? Or retain depth players?

Going to be interesting to see what happens with the forward line over the course of the season. As it stands I would say Marshall King Sharman and Owens are starting in the 1s as talls, with Caminiti and Keeler in the twos.
In a hypothetical world if Keeler comes back with an extra 7-8kg of muscle and another pre season of run in the legs and is taking the piss out of the VFL, who gets dropped for him? Retaining Marshall is going to force one or both of Caminiti and Keeler to seek other opportunities I think.
Love Keels, but he's mainly on the list based on potential. This season is probably make or break for him.

I'd be really comfortable letting (the still contracted) Marshall go next year for the same price we were offered this year, which would keep opportunities open for those talls if they are good enough.

Then you look at Aleer, there was no way he was going to be starting 23.... it would've made us a laughing stock.

I hate to say it but I tend to agree with him. There is no doubt they will dip as a result of the loss of talent, but I think they have made the calls to rebound quickly.

They will get garuanteed picks in the draft - Harry Dean & Jack Ison plus Im guessing they will look for another key forward and are well positioned in next years draft. Cody Walker will go close to being the best player in the 2026 draft. Plus they will get Jagga Smith, Newman, Cerra, McGovern and others back next year.

The addition of Hayward, Florent, Ainsworth, Chesser (all quick) and Reidy (back up ruckman) will all add something. If Ainsworth and Hayward add 3 goals a game that nearly covers the loss of Curnow. Florent will fill the running half back role and Chesser a wing or an outside mid role.
I think theyve adressed the issue they had which was being top heavy with stars and not enough depth and fill but it doesnt guarantee much.

Plus you offset that Cripps is getting older (and nearly going backwards now) Haynes is 34, Hollands who looked promising is gone, McKay might get the yips again and some of the players youve mentioned (Cerra in particular) still look ****ing average.

I think theyve made the right decisions but theyre a long way from knowing what theyve got

We need someone to breakout unexpectedly. Like Hall did for us this year.

We certainly need Travaglia, Boxshall, Tauru, Collard and Dodson to take another step.

And we also need Keeler, Wilson, Garcia and Phillipou to continue their growth and entrench themselves in the best 22.

But we need one of our fringe players to put it all together and make us a better balanced team.

O’Connell and Hastie maybe the two best candidates to put together an irresistible breakout year.
I've got a good feeling about Hugo this year for some reason. Love his attitude and he seems really determined.
Lets not forget Wilson had a massive down year as well, expect that to get better

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V