List Mgmt. 2025 Trade & List Management Thread - Part II [Spargo ✅ Maley->Adelaide✅]

Player/Picks​
Original Team​
Receiving Team​
FA /Trade?​
Compo​
Tom De KoningCarltonSt KildaRFARound One selection (currently #10)
Jack SilvagniCarltonSt KildaUFAEnd of First Round selection (currently #22)
Jacob WehrGWSPort AdelaideUFANo Compo
Sam DraperEssendonBrisbaneUFAEnd of First Round selection (currently #21)
Charlie SpargoMelbourneNorth MelbourneUFAEnd of Round Two selection (currently pick #42)
James WorpelHawthornGeelongRFAEnd of Round Two selection (currently #43)
Liam ReidyFremantleCarltonTradeCARL:Liam Reidy,R3(54),R4 (72) FRE: R3(51), R4(69)
Malcolm Rosas JnrGold CoastSydneyTradeGC: R3(52), R4(70)
SYD: Malcolm Rosas Jnr, R3(63)
Sam FlandersGold CoastSt KildaTradeGC: R1(7)
STK: Sam Flanders
Judd McVeeMelbourneFremantleTradeMELB: R1(23)
FRE: Judd McVee
Brandon StarcevichBrisbaneWest CoastTradeWC: Brandon Starcevich, R1(12), R2(33), R3(52)
BRIS: R1(16) R1(22),R3(44),R3(50)
FRE: R1(19), R2(23),R3(46)
Oscar AllenWest CoastBrisbaneRFARound one selection (currently #2)
Liam RyanWest CoastSt KildaTradeWC: 2026 R2 Pick(Tied to STK)
STK:
Liam Ryan, 2027 R3 Pick(tied to WCE)
Max HeathSt KildaMelbourneTradeSTK: 2027 R4 Pick(tied to Melb)
MEL: Max Heath
Brody MihocekCollingwoodMelbourneTradeMEL: Brody Mihocek, R4(71)
COL: R3(61), 2026 R3 selection (tied to Melbourne)
Ben AinsworthGold CoastCarltonTradeCARL: Ben Ainsworth
GC: R2(29) via Port
Corey DurdinCarltonPort AdelaideTradePORT: Corey Durdin, 2026 R2(tied to Carlton)
CARL: R4(67)(via Port)
Campbell ChesserWest CoastCarltonTradeWC: R2(41)
CARL: Campbell Chesser
Tylar YoungRichmondWest CoastTradeWC: Tylar Young
RIC: R2(38)
Pick SwapGWSWestern BulldogsTradeWB: R1(14) & R2(37)
GWS: R1(12)
Will BrodieFremantlePort AdelaideTradePORT: Will Brodie
FRE: R6(103)
Pick SwapCollingwoodBrisbaneTradeCOL: R3 (45,56)
BRIS: R3(59), 2026 R3 Pick(Tied to Melbourne)
Connor BudarickGold CoastWestern BulldogsTradeWB: Connor Budarick, R4 (70)
GC: R2(37)
Jayden LaverdeEssendonGWSDFANo Compo
Brayden FioriniGold CoastEssendonTradeESS: Brayden Fiorini
GC: 2026 R3 pick (tied to Essendon)
Ollie FlorentSydneyCarltonTradeSYD: 2026 R3 (tied to Carl)
CARL: Ollie Florent
Changkuoth JiathHawthornMelbourneTradeMEL:Changkuoth Jiath
HAW: R3 (42), 2026 R4 (tied to Melb)
Jai SerongHawthornSydneyTradeSYD: Jai Serong, 2026 R4(Tied to Hawthorn
HAW: 2026 R3 pick(tied to Syd)
Pick SwapHawthornCarltonTradeCARL: R1(9), R2(31), R2(42), R3(43)
HAW: R1(10), R1 (22)
Finnbar MaleyNorth MelbourneAdelaideTradeNTH: R3(57), 2026 R4(tied to Adelaide)
ADE: Finnbar Maley, R4(64)
Jamarra Ugle-HaganWestern BulldogsGold CoastTradeGC: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan
WB: R6(74)
Jack BullerSydneyCollingwoodTradeCOLL: Jack Buller , 2026 F4 (tied to Syd)
SYD: 2026 R3(tied to Coll)
Jack SteeleSt KildaMelbourneTradeMEL: Jack Steele
STK: 2027 R3 Pick
Clayton OliverMelbourneGWSTradeGWS: Clayton Oliver
MEL: 2027 R3 Pick (tied to GWS)
Patrick RetschkoGeelongRichmondTradeRICH: Patrick Retshcko
GEEL: R6 (99)
Christian PetraccaMelbourneGold CoastTradeMEL: R1(7,8) 2026 R1(tied to GC), R2 (37), 2027 R3(tied to Gold Coast)
GC:
Christian Petracca, R2 (24,28), 2026 R2 pick(tied to Melbourne)
Charlie CurnowCarltonSydneyTradeCARL: Will Hayward, R1, 2026 R1, 2027 R1(tied to Sydney)
SYD: Charlie Curnow. R2(31), (42), 2027 R2 pick(Tied to Carlton)

Zac Merrett - requests a trade to Hawthorn
Jy Simpkin - Pies have registered interest in Jy
Rowan Marshall - requested a trade to Geelong
Devon Robertson - requests a trade to West Coast
Callum Ah Chee - requests a trade to Adelaide
Buku Khamis - requests a trade to Carlton
Wade Derksen - requests a trade to a Victorian Club

IMO the biggest concern for our club at the moment is players not being anywhere remotely near sure about what their short term, medium and long term roles are in our side.
That's because our depth was tested towards the latter part of the season. Not to mention our lacklustre list management.

Just hope we get some luck next year.

The Curnow play reeks of irony for me.

One of my biggest bugbears in the last 6 years was how the Club completely botched Ben Brown's exit and smashed his trade value in the process.

We got something like Pick 28 for him but for Curnow we were happy to handover multiple first rounders.

Compare the pair at the same time of their careers. BBB was 28, had kicked 287 goals in 130 games at an average of 2.21 per game.

Curnow (will be) 29 and has kicked 313 goals in 149 games at the lesser average of 2.10 per game.

They both had kicked more than 50 goals in 3 consecutive years - Curnow came away with two Coleman medals but in one of those - 2022 - had the same haul as Brown did 2019.

In terms of the most important statistic of all for a KPF, kicking scores, barely a difference.

Granted Brown carried a knee in his last year with us, and he never reached the same heights at Melbourne, but we clearly got massive unders when compared to what Carlton got for Curnow purely based on output.
But, but, but…Brown was a vegan and people at the club didn’t like it once when he and his wife didn’t clap for a disgraced domestic abuser…

Have been thinking about the free swing at Ellijah Hollands over the trade period. Coming at this from the following angle.

1. Fully fit and clear of mind would immediately be in our best 22 and top 10 Syd Barker easily.
2. Every young player deserves a 2nd chance when they stuff up and make poor decisions off the field.

Before he did his ACL, some had him going in the top 3 of his draft year. He went at #7 and manages 14 games in 3 years. The first red flag here is that if he was playing good footy and was a great clubman, he would normally be offered an extension at the 2 year mark. He is guaranteed 3 years as a 1st round pick. Gold Coast don’t do that and are happy for him to be traded for not much at all.

SUNS send: Elijah Hollands, Pick 28, 2024 fourth-round pick (tied to Gold Coast)

SUNS receive: Pick 26, 2024 third-round pick (tied to Essendon)

He plays great footy in that first year. I am not sure if he was on a 2 year with triggers for a 3rd, or he was given 3 years from the get go. In any case it unravels this year. Stated issues on the mental side and self medication with drinking. Any modern club treats this stuff really seriously, like any professional organization should. See Harry McKay who has time away as well mid season.

This is the 2nd red flag as he was being offered support and had two separate times to take leave and sort out these issues.

Leading into the Exit interviews, Voss and Co have clearly had enough of him with a full year left to run on his contract. We are happy for you and your manager to explore options outside of the club. The same club your brother plays at who displays the attitude we want in the team.

In the trade period none of the 17 (18 incl Tassie VFL) have a swing at him. If they did, it was very hush hush. That’s the 3rd red flag here and a sign that the free hit is just not worth taking.

As Kano said it’s frustrating you have these obscenely talented players who just can’t put all the pieces together to be professional and make a career out of it.

Hey kk, now that is a very good question. The answer can be identified by a lot on here that know our list inside out and can see with what we've got and what we actually need. If we don't trade into the first round, I know what Brady said but we are not giving our cards away so lets just wait and see, then options are aplenty.

The first thing before we start is to know how many picks we are going to use, we are going to find out the answer to that question very soon. Whether its two picks or three, a key forward has to be one of those picks, or if its say three picks we may get a player that has slipped down the order and we may rate him highly so its never a set & forget plan of attack, and get get a player we believe wont be there at our next pick so we draft him and with our last pick we get our key forward who was always going to be there at our last pick.

So, 2 picks in the national draft, namely pick 25, a running defender/wingman, pick 26, a key forward and of course we pick up a player we delisted for other pick, for our official three picks.
For the three pick scenario it might look like this, 25, a running defender/wingman, pick 26, a key forward, and our last pick a ruckman, we've gone down the path of experienced ruckmen in Free & Teakle so maybe we draft our own boy just like we did with Taylor.:)
Just remembered we have CCJ on the list, so that may/may not be an interesting point.:think:

Have been thinking about the free swing at Ellijah Hollands over the trade period. Coming at this from the following angle.

1. Fully fit and clear of mind would immediately be in our best 22 and top 10 Syd Barker easily.
2. Every young player deserves a 2nd chance when they stuff up and make poor decisions off the field.

Before he did his ACL, some had him going in the top 3 of his draft year. He went at #7 and manages 14 games in 3 years. The first red flag here is that if he was playing good footy and was a great clubman, he would normally be offered an extension at the 2 year mark. He is guaranteed 3 years as a 1st round pick. Gold Coast don’t do that and are happy for him to be traded for not much at all.

SUNS send: Elijah Hollands, Pick 28, 2024 fourth-round pick (tied to Gold Coast)

SUNS receive: Pick 26, 2024 third-round pick (tied to Essendon)

He plays great footy in that first year. I am not sure if he was on a 2 year with triggers for a 3rd, or he was given 3 years from the get go. In any case it unravels this year. Stated issues on the mental side and self medication with drinking. Any modern club treats this stuff really seriously, like any professional organization should. See Harry McKay who has time away as well mid season.

This is the 2nd red flag as he was being offered support and had two separate times to take leave and sort out these issues.

Leading into the Exit interviews, Voss and Co have clearly had enough of him with a full year left to run on his contract. We are happy for you and your manager to explore options outside of the club. The same club your brother plays at who displays the attitude we want in the team.

In the trade period none of the 17 (18 incl Tassie VFL) have a swing at him. If they did, it was very hush hush. That’s the 3rd red flag here and a sign that the free hit is just not worth taking.

As Kano said it’s frustrating you have these obscenely talented players who just can’t put all the pieces together to be professional and make a career out of it.
FWIW the three year rule came in two years after he was drafted.

Just remembered we have CCJ on the list, so that may/may not be an interesting point.:think:
yeah but we've lost Teakle, Finnbar, and Dawson.....2 fwd/rucks, plus key defender...have 4 small/med similar size players left on our list uncontracted, and question marks over CCJ having never really cemented a spot and then being injured. Can't rely on JD to pinch hit in the ruck much longer. Would think we'd have to be looking at a fwd/ruck, draft or DFA (Lemmey perhaps).

VFL yes but no to AFL
If he doesn't get onto an AFL list now, I don't see it being likely he'll jump on a VFL list. His strengths are known, as well as his weaknesses in terms of the speed of AFL. Not likely he can 'fix' or turn around in the VFL to give himself another shot.

He is perfectly placed to move to the local leagues and make good money for a long time. Like his old man, his game is perfectly suited to dominating a slower game for a long time to come.

yeah but we've lost Teakle, Finnbar, and Dawson.....2 fwd/rucks, plus key defender...have 4 small/med similar size players left on our list uncontracted, and question marks over CCJ having never really cemented a spot and then being injured. Can't rely on JD to pinch hit in the ruck much longer. Would think we'd have to be looking at a fwd/ruck, draft or DFA (Lemmey perhaps).
We might think Goad is ready to pitch hit now there's the 5th bench spot.

Tom Mitchell worth a look or..?

Nice to be the odd one out here.

I reckon he's worth a look on the right terms. 1 year deal on base salary with incentives and only gets a game in the AFL on form, plus would have to be prepared to play/mentor at VFL level when not up to AFL form.

If he is over his injury problems, then he should still be good enough to make a real impact in the AFL, in my opinion. Might help us win a game or two extra. More than anything next year, we need to win a lot more games to demonstrate progress and he could possibly make some difference.

Exiled in London it is a major effort for me to keep track of the more peripheral opportunities to improve our list. For those who follow more closely than I can do you see any opportunities for us to improve via e.g. the Rookie draft given our somnolent free agency/trade and a supposedly weak national draft with no R1 pick?

Nice to be the odd one out here.

I reckon he's worth a look on the right terms. 1 year deal on base salary with incentives and only gets a game in the AFL on form, plus would have to be prepared to play/mentor at VFL level when not up to AFL form.

If he is over his injury problems, then he should still be good enough to make a real impact in the AFL, in my opinion. Might help us win a game or two extra. More than anything next year, we need to win a lot more games to demonstrate progress and he could possibly make some difference.
He’s way too slow to have any impact now - I’d be appalled if we listed or played him ahead of any of the midfielders now on our list, including WilPhill. I like the coaching idea, but his playing days are over.

Let’s have Mitchell, Daniel and Philips in the one team. Exiting from full back with a chain of their best kicks will take 8 to get into the forward line. Exciting times ahead.

Exiled in London it is a major effort for me to keep track of the more peripheral opportunities to improve our list. For those who follow more closely than I can do you see any opportunities for us to improve via e.g. the Rookie draft given our somnolent free agency/trade and a supposedly weak national draft with no R1 pick?
Liked for your vocabulary

List Mgmt. 2025 Trade & List Management Thread - Part II [Spargo ✅ Maley->Adelaide✅]