List Mgmt. 2025 Trade & List Management Thread - Part II [Spargo ✅ Maley->Adelaide✅]

Player/Picks​
Original Team​
Receiving Team​
FA /Trade?​
Compo​
Tom De KoningCarltonSt KildaRFARound One selection (currently #10)
Jack SilvagniCarltonSt KildaUFAEnd of First Round selection (currently #22)
Jacob WehrGWSPort AdelaideUFANo Compo
Sam DraperEssendonBrisbaneUFAEnd of First Round selection (currently #21)
Charlie SpargoMelbourneNorth MelbourneUFAEnd of Round Two selection (currently pick #42)
James WorpelHawthornGeelongRFAEnd of Round Two selection (currently #43)
Liam ReidyFremantleCarltonTradeCARL:Liam Reidy,R3(54),R4 (72) FRE: R3(51), R4(69)
Malcolm Rosas JnrGold CoastSydneyTradeGC: R3(52), R4(70)
SYD: Malcolm Rosas Jnr, R3(63)
Sam FlandersGold CoastSt KildaTradeGC: R1(7)
STK: Sam Flanders
Judd McVeeMelbourneFremantleTradeMELB: R1(23)
FRE: Judd McVee
Brandon StarcevichBrisbaneWest CoastTradeWC: Brandon Starcevich, R1(12), R2(33), R3(52)
BRIS: R1(16) R1(22),R3(44),R3(50)
FRE: R1(19), R2(23),R3(46)
Oscar AllenWest CoastBrisbaneRFARound one selection (currently #2)
Liam RyanWest CoastSt KildaTradeWC: 2026 R2 Pick(Tied to STK)
STK:
Liam Ryan, 2027 R3 Pick(tied to WCE)
Max HeathSt KildaMelbourneTradeSTK: 2027 R4 Pick(tied to Melb)
MEL: Max Heath
Brody MihocekCollingwoodMelbourneTradeMEL: Brody Mihocek, R4(71)
COL: R3(61), 2026 R3 selection (tied to Melbourne)
Ben AinsworthGold CoastCarltonTradeCARL: Ben Ainsworth
GC: R2(29) via Port
Corey DurdinCarltonPort AdelaideTradePORT: Corey Durdin, 2026 R2(tied to Carlton)
CARL: R4(67)(via Port)
Campbell ChesserWest CoastCarltonTradeWC: R2(41)
CARL: Campbell Chesser
Tylar YoungRichmondWest CoastTradeWC: Tylar Young
RIC: R2(38)
Pick SwapGWSWestern BulldogsTradeWB: R1(14) & R2(37)
GWS: R1(12)
Will BrodieFremantlePort AdelaideTradePORT: Will Brodie
FRE: R6(103)
Pick SwapCollingwoodBrisbaneTradeCOL: R3 (45,56)
BRIS: R3(59), 2026 R3 Pick(Tied to Melbourne)
Connor BudarickGold CoastWestern BulldogsTradeWB: Connor Budarick, R4 (70)
GC: R2(37)
Jayden LaverdeEssendonGWSDFANo Compo
Brayden FioriniGold CoastEssendonTradeESS: Brayden Fiorini
GC: 2026 R3 pick (tied to Essendon)
Ollie FlorentSydneyCarltonTradeSYD: 2026 R3 (tied to Carl)
CARL: Ollie Florent
Changkuoth JiathHawthornMelbourneTradeMEL:Changkuoth Jiath
HAW: R3 (42), 2026 R4 (tied to Melb)
Jai SerongHawthornSydneyTradeSYD: Jai Serong, 2026 R4(Tied to Hawthorn
HAW: 2026 R3 pick(tied to Syd)
Pick SwapHawthornCarltonTradeCARL: R1(9), R2(31), R2(42), R3(43)
HAW: R1(10), R1 (22)
Finnbar MaleyNorth MelbourneAdelaideTradeNTH: R3(57), 2026 R4(tied to Adelaide)
ADE: Finnbar Maley, R4(64)
Jamarra Ugle-HaganWestern BulldogsGold CoastTradeGC: Jamarra Ugle-Hagan
WB: R6(74)
Jack BullerSydneyCollingwoodTradeCOLL: Jack Buller , 2026 F4 (tied to Syd)
SYD: 2026 R3(tied to Coll)
Jack SteeleSt KildaMelbourneTradeMEL: Jack Steele
STK: 2027 R3 Pick
Clayton OliverMelbourneGWSTradeGWS: Clayton Oliver
MEL: 2027 R3 Pick (tied to GWS)
Patrick RetschkoGeelongRichmondTradeRICH: Patrick Retshcko
GEEL: R6 (99)
Christian PetraccaMelbourneGold CoastTradeMEL: R1(7,8) 2026 R1(tied to GC), R2 (37), 2027 R3(tied to Gold Coast)
GC:
Christian Petracca, R2 (24,28), 2026 R2 pick(tied to Melbourne)
Charlie CurnowCarltonSydneyTradeCARL: Will Hayward, R1, 2026 R1, 2027 R1(tied to Sydney)
SYD: Charlie Curnow. R2(31), (42), 2027 R2 pick(Tied to Carlton)

Zac Merrett - requests a trade to Hawthorn
Jy Simpkin - Pies have registered interest in Jy
Rowan Marshall - requested a trade to Geelong
Devon Robertson - requests a trade to West Coast
Callum Ah Chee - requests a trade to Adelaide
Buku Khamis - requests a trade to Carlton
Wade Derksen - requests a trade to a Victorian Club

More than quirky - you could not get more evidence of incompetent list management over an extended period of time than the NMFC taking 2 picks in the ND after taking all of Charlie Spargo in the trading period and having no pick in the top 20 in the upcoming draft.

List management has been that bad for that long it is now in the....we don't know what our objectives are or our strategy is however we'll just see how it goes and hope no one notices.....
I am happy with us not doing too much this year, we've got lots of kids already and this doesn't look like a great draft to bring many in. We also have a heap of fringe types OOC of contract next year and need to keep our future picks to replace quite a lot. It looks like we are finally being sensible, or it did until we decided to offer up a couple of years' worth of picks for Curnow. WTF? Are we incapable of having a plan and sticking to it?

No enlarges ego. I simply call out the horseshit posted by fools such as yourself. Mr does not care but cares enough to post a take on where our former first in the 2025 draft will end up in order. Mr simply presumes what another poster’s intentions are when they are too stupid to work them out. Go ram another snickers up your arse and caress that “enlarged” prostate of yours. :stern look
Mate do you use the AI chatty botty thing to sharpen up your posts? If so I reckon it’s working for you, if it’s your own work then I suggest your hire out your services on a server, you’d make a Monty! (In bit coin payments only 😉

I've been reading about Wade Derkson so much the last few years, I think I know the bloke.

Then I find out he hasn't even cracked it for a game yet. And that GWS delisted him and picked up a potato like Leverde....
me too - I caught the 2nds game against Giants at Arden street (must have been last year?) and came away thinking what's all the fuss about

Well turn's 29 before a ball is kicked in anger for season 2026, and firstly focusing on Lord Cunrow, his career imo isn't top shelf. 9 seasons 50 plus goals 3 times. Besides 2022-2024 not much to write home about.

Not sure who we're signaling, for mine it reeks of desperation as in people concerned for their jobs. But yes we agree we've told Whitlock he's moving forward and then attempt to pull this stunt.

I'm a big believer in latter draft rounds holding the key to success, all clubs normally get one first rounder per year.
Hardeman, Curtis, hopefully Goater and George can continue on their current trajectory or have some luck and spend more time on the ground than the medical room.

We wouldn't have McKercher, Wardlaw or Sheezel had we not had early picks. I'm not a draft watcher but sheesh we traded our pick 4 this year ( yes a 2 for 1 deal) and we could end up big winners. Time will tell.

So the last few seasons looked like this

2022 10 wins 12th
2023 10 wins 14th
2024 8 wins 15th
2025 9 wins 13th

So no first rounder in seasons 2025, 26 & 27, should in my book equal a public execution for all involved. As per the above I think we need to win 9/10 games in 2026 or it's time for change. The last few seasons 9 wins will probably equate to a top 6 pick.

I wouldn't swap pick 6 for Lord Curnow, let alone everything else we offered. Just my opinion of course :)
Agree with your points re Curnow. There's a chance he could have a 50+ goal season, but he's on the decline.
I didn't like trading the F1 when weren't going to be out of the bottom 4 last year, but happy to have Matt.
I'd much rather have had the opportunity to either draft one or split to get two of Xavier Taylor, Farrow, Dovaston, Robey or Schubert in the top 12. But pick 4 could well be Mattlock and another good tall with 25.

I'd agree on keeping our 26' R1 as it's likely a top 6 pick and I like a few of the key forwards and small/half fwds.
The option to split it to take two kids in R1 could be considered, depending on what happens with McCartney.
The only reason to trade the 26 R1' would be to get Blues 9 or 11 to get one of the above players imo.
You could even do something where we get the Blues (Swans) 26' R1 back to stay in R1.
There's the potential of getting draft capital in 26' or 27' for any of Jy, Zane or Powell, though I suspect Tom gets extended until end of 28' to take him to free agency, especially given the Simpkin situation.
That of course doesn't mean he explores options this year or is traded before hitting FA.

I would prefer to move a 27' Tassie pick for Blues 9 or 11 if we are considering moving a F1, but those picks may not have much interest, apart from teams that may have F/S and NGA players in 27'.
Given 15th to 13th in 27' will have even picks 8/10/12/14, I think the benefit of bringing a good kid in the top 11 in two years earlier that fills a need for us right now is worth consideration.
I don't think we'll necessarily be targeting best available in 26 & 27, unless we lose a few midfielders.

I am happy with us not doing too much this year, we've got lots of kids already and this doesn't look like a great draft to bring many in. We also have a heap of fringe types OOC of contract next year and need to keep our future picks to replace quite a lot. It looks like we are finally being sensible, or it did until we decided to offer up a couple of years' worth of picks for Curnow. WTF? Are we incapable of having a plan and sticking to it?
Always the FOMO from our supporters to get into trade week but like you, l'm glad we didn't do anything stupid!! Trading F1 should be a lesson to all that it's a massive gamble and your first pick needs to be valued more especially when you finish bottom 4.

Unless we shoot up next year, it's about Clarko and the coaches to get some sort of defensive system that we can hang our hats on.

Do you take a punt on the likes of Luamon Lual, Xavier Ivisic or Arie Schoenmaker in rookie spots...how many open spots have we got left?

I think Brayden George needs to play seniors because this will be year 4 and we have not seen him debut yet...that is a lot of patience on a midfielder/forward!! No difference with CCJ either, earn your spot or delist/trade.

I'd still like to take three picks in this draft as there a quite a lot who could go end of 26', OOC and contracted.
Should still be a good player left at pick 46 that would fill a need.
But wouldn't mind drafting deeper next year and taking 4-6 picks, as it may be a deeper and better crop.

A bit hard to rip up a contract and hold Jy to one
Jy had half his contract still ongoing, there are a few candidates ending 2026… but I get the optics for those involved 👍

A bit hard to rip up a contract and hold Jy to one
I guess the difference is it is payment for service from the club side. If enough compensation had been offered for Jy he’d be gone. Player 2026 payment is already agreed and defined. Can also earn additional money somewhere else on top.

Can I get a refresh on this story?

I guess the difference is it is payment for service from the club side. If enough compensation had been offered for Jy he’d be gone. Player 2026 payment is already agreed and defined. Can also earn additional money somewhere else on top.
that would be the small amount of leverage you could use to reduce the payout asuming both parties agreed and probobly the sort of deal that was cut to sleevo and polec. , alternatively you could just pay the whole wage out, sure your cap would take a hit but we are struggling to pay the min TPP so i doubt that would be an issue,

The bigger issue is it sets a precedent, who woulnt take a deal when you get your last years salary paid in full and didnt have to rock up,
i suspect the other players would frown on that ?

I've been reading about Wade Derkson so much the last few years, I think I know the bloke.

Then I find out he hasn't even cracked it for a game yet. And that GWS delisted him and picked up a potato like Leverde....
In fairness they only committed to Laverde as cover because Aleer told them he was leaving.

Derksen became the collateral damage once there was a u-turn with Aleer.

Jed Walter from the Suns is who we should be working on and making a big $ offer for at seasons end.
Dropped late in the season, and the suns must be pushing cap space after signing Petracca.
I’d much prefer we use our first round picks to trade for a 20 year old key forward, rather than a 30 year old key forward like Curnow.
Dollars are less relevant than wins at this stage.

You are very easily triggered. You do provide good melts though. :amused look
LOL. Check out this fool with attempted put down buzz words like “easily triggered” and “good melts”. You are simply too stupid to realise I’m playing yah on a break. Idiot! :stern look

Mate do you use the AI chatty botty thing to sharpen up your posts? If so I reckon it’s working for you, if it’s your own work then I suggest your hire out your services on a server, you’d make a Monty! (In bit coin payments only 😉
I assume that AI wouldn’t misspell “Enlarged” dan. Do yah think that Old Mate will “soon get it”? :stern look

List Mgmt. 2025 Trade & List Management Thread - Part II [Spargo ✅ Maley->Adelaide✅]