Fixture 2026 Fixture

This is how I would schedule opening round.

Thursday7pmGold CoastvCollingwoodCarrara
Friday7pmBrisbane LionsvGeelongGabba
Saturday1pmNorth MelbournevRichmondHobart
Saturday4pmFremantlevCarltonOptus
Saturday7pmSydneyvWestern BulldogsSCG
Saturday8pmPort AdelaidevEssendonAO
Sunday1pmAdelaidevMelbourneAO
Sunday4pmGreater Western SydneyvHawthornGiants
Sunday7pmWest CoastvSt KildaOptus

That's the Victorian teams travelling based on ladder position to NSW/QLD, WA, and SA in that order.

With the focus on the NSW/QLD games being in the prime time Ch.7 slots.

The last two (North and Richmond playing at Marvel).

edit. Changing the North game from Marvel to Hobart.
North won’t be playing in Hobart in Round 1

The 2026 Fixture won't be out for a while and not sure of there will be an opening round or not but apparently someone posted on line a draft of Round 1 already that the Afl are considering. Draft below Seems to be look about right. Will be interesting how the Afl structure the whole year considering the criticism they got for the fixture in the back half of the year.
Proposed Round 1 -
Thu night Carl v Rich - Mcg
Fri night Haw v Coll - Mcg
Sat Geel v Gws - Geelong
Sat Twight Syd v West Coast- SCG
Sat Night Bris v Ade - Gabba
Sat Night Melb v Ess - Mcg
Sun Port v Nth - AO
Sun St Kilda v WB - Marvel
Sun twighlight Freo v Gold Coast - Optus
Freo v GC should be an arvo slot

Only interested in Gather Round.

This season was an absolute botch. Very little for neutral fans to enjoy.
Carlton vs West Coast at AO while the Dogs vs Brisbane was shunted to Norwood was ridiculous.

Port vs Hawthorn was lazy booking as well.

Carlton vs West Coast at AO while the Dogs vs Brisbane was shunted to Norwood was ridiculous.

A lot more eagles and blues fans traveled to Adelaide for it than lions and dogs fans and I suspect when they made the gather round fixture six months in advance they were banking on that. I went to both of those matches (left at 3qt at the eagles v blues to get to Norwood)

I can tell you there were much more eagles and blues shirts and hats etc around the city over that weekend than lions and dogs.

I agree in terms of the merit of the two sides playing that they probably should've been swapped but its more about how many people they can expect to attract to a match that determines where they play, particularly as I doubt anyone suspected both the eagles and blues would be so poor when they actually made the fixture.

A lot more eagles and blues fans traveled to Adelaide for it than lions and dogs fans and I suspect when they made the gather round fixture six months in advance they were banking on that. I went to both of those matches (left at 3qt at the eagles v blues to get to Norwood)

I can tell you there were much more eagles and blues shirts and hats etc around the city over that weekend than lions and dogs.

I agree in terms of the merit of the two sides playing that they probably should've been swapped but its more about how many people they can expect to attract to a match that determines where they play, particularly as I doubt anyone suspected both the eagles and blues would be so poor when they actually made the fixture.

Gather Round is promoted on the idea that everybody is involved and fans attends multiple games.

I'm actually quite confident that if the venues had been swapped, more neutrals would have attended the Dogs vs Lions game and the attendance would have been higher than what the Blues/Eagles ultimately saw.

Here's how I'd book it:

R1:
Thursday Night:

Brisbane v Geelong - Gabba

Friday Night:
Sydney v Collingwood - SCG

Saturday Arvo
Port Adelaide v Carlton - AO
North v Hawthorn - Hobart

Saturday Night
West Coast v Richmond - Optus
GC v Essendon - GC Stadium

Sunday:
Adelaide v St Kilda - AO
GWS v Bulldogs - Giants Stadium
Fremantle v Melbourne - Optus

R2 -
Thursday Night

Carlton v Richmond - MCG

Friday Night
Collingwood v Geelong - MCG

Saturday Arvo
Melbourne v North - MCG
PA v WCE - AO

Saturday Night
StK v Bulldogs - Marvel
Syd v BL - SCG

Sunday
GWS v GC - Giants Stadium
Essendon v Hawthorn - MCG
Freo v Adel - Optus

Gives the AFL their big kick off in the northern states, with those 4 games on national FTA with 7.

Carlton and Richmond still get the opening game back home in Vic with every Vic team back for a huge rivalry style round 2 in Melbourne.

Rekon it would be pretty awesome.

EDIT: I also think all the state derby games should be played in the final round of the season as well.

Lions v Suns
Swans v Giants
Crows v Power
Eagles v Dockers
Collingwood v Carlton
Essendon v North
Hawthorn v Richmond
St Kilda v Bulldogs
Melbourne v Geelong

Set it up so that teams don't have to travel before finals. With the rivals playing there's no real incentive to rest players or 'take it easy' so there's a reason for fans to turn up.

When Tassie come in then the lowest ranked Vic team from the previous year would travel down there.
Genuinely don't understand why the AFL would cut it's biggest market out of the first round of the year.

They know Vic based fans will turn up, no matter what.

The AFL clearly want to spend the next few years pumping up the QLD/NSW markets. The fixture is a big part of that.

My contention is that we can give those teams the FTA games for week one but still give SA, WA & Tassie fans a taste.

Then all the Vic clubs are back in Vic for what would essentially be a mini Gather Round.

They know Vic based fans will turn up, no matter what.

The AFL clearly want to spend the next few years pumping up the QLD/NSW markets. The fixture is a big part of that.

My contention is that we can give those teams the FTA games for week one but still give SA, WA & Tassie fans a taste.

Then all the Vic clubs are back in Vic for what would essentially be a mini Gather Round.
I could understand the concept of opening round focussing on the northern markets but to do a full round that simply excludes Victoria seems a little pointless.

Just do a normal round 1 but give home games and prime time spots to the QLD/NSW teams. Why would you bother cutting out Victoria just to give extra games to other traditional footy states?

I agree with this.
Having the one of the matches of the round in Dogs V Brisbane at Norwood while having an absolute bore fest in Carlton V WC on at 'centre court' on the same afternoon was just plain silly by the AFL.

Is there a rule that states that Essendon and Carlton have to play at AO in Gather Round? Genuine question.

And my team Melbourne have no business playing at AO next year, after playing there in 2023, 2024 and 2025 Gather Rounds.

Going to have a stab at round 0/opening round:

Thursday night - Brisbane V Geelong
Friday night - Sydney V Western Bulldogs
Saturday - Gold Coast V Melbourne (Petracca factor)
Saturday night - GWS V Hawthorn
Sunday twilight - St Kilda V Collingwood (MCG)

I could understand the concept of opening round focussing on the northern markets but to do a full round that simply excludes Victoria seems a little pointless.

Just do a normal round 1 but give home games and prime time spots to the QLD/NSW teams. Why would you bother cutting out Victoria just to give extra games to other traditional footy states?

If you look at participation rates then technically NSW and QLD are more heartland/traditional than WA and SA these days 😂

The idea is that Vic fans will be rabid and turn up for round 2 in huge numbers.

Get everyone out and about for the first week and then blow the G up with multiple big games in the same round.

Just made an mockup gather round fixture since I can’t sleep so would love your opinions

Thursday 9th April:
Adelaide vs Collingwood at the Adelaide Oval at 7:10PM:

Friday 10th April:
Melbourne vs North Melbourne at Norwood Oval at 4:10PM:

Port Adelaide vs Carlton at the Adelaide Oval at 7:40PM:

Saturday 11th April:
St Kilda vs Fremantle at Barossa Park at 12:50PM:

Sydney vs Western Bulldogs at the Adelaide Oval at 3:45PM:

Brisbane vs Hawthorn at the Adelaide Oval at 7:40PM:

Sunday 12th April:
Gold Coast vs West Coast at Barossa Park at 12:10PM:

GWS vs Richmond at Norwood Oval at 3:15PM:

Geelong vs Essendon at the Adelaide Oval at 7:10PM:

Bringing back the Friday afternoon Norwood game because four games on the Saturday really made no sense and then hopefully if you want to try and attend all the games it’s more possible. You are welcome AFL content creators.

Don’t know how you can be the reigning premiers and not get scheduled to play at the Adelaide Oval during Gather Round but surely after going back to back Brisbane will finally play at the Adelaide Oval instead of gold old Norwood. Surely!?

That last game I got stumped on since knowing the AFL and the South Australia Government they will absolutely try and find a blockbuster to put on that last game timeslot so I thought Geelong vs Essendon could be a good fit since two big fan bases who don’t like each other but I don’t know I have no idea what else they could put there.

I swear if the AFL don’t have Crows vs Pies as the first game after what happened this year with Port vs Hawks I’ll lose it. Rankine will be back and after all the stuff that happened during that late season game this year you would expect the AFL to maximise the money going their way. Yes they played the qualifying final against each other but you absolutely cash in now wouldn’t you!?

Richmond fans I’m sorry I tried finding a way for you to get a game at Adelaide Oval but I couldn’t find a way sorry tigers. At least if this was real you’ll pack out Norwood with yellow and black since I can’t remember seeing any Giants fans.

Just made an mockup gather round fixture since I can’t sleep so would love your opinions

Thursday 9th April:

Friday 10th April:

Saturday 11th April:

Sunday 12th April:

Bringing back the Friday afternoon Norwood game because four games on the Saturday really made no sense and then hopefully if you want to try and attend all the games it’s more possible. You are welcome AFL content creators.

Don’t know how you can be the reigning premiers and not get scheduled to play at the Adelaide Oval during Gather Round but surely after going back to back Brisbane will finally play at the Adelaide Oval instead of gold old Norwood. Surely!?

That last game I got stumped on since knowing the AFL and the South Australia Government they will absolutely try and find a blockbuster to put on that last game timeslot so I thought Geelong vs Essendon could be a good fit since two big fan bases who don’t like each other but I don’t know I have no idea what else they could put there.

I swear if the AFL don’t have Crows vs Pies as the first game after what happened this year with Port vs Hawks I’ll lose it. Rankine will be back and after all the stuff that happened during that late season game this year you would expect the AFL to maximise the money going their way. Yes they played the qualifying final against each other but you absolutely cash in now wouldn’t you!?

Richmond fans I’m sorry I tried finding a way for you to get a game at Adelaide Oval but I couldn’t find a way sorry tigers. At least if this was real you’ll pack out Norwood with yellow and black since I can’t remember seeing any Giants fans.
Good effort mate.
I wonder if this is the year that Carlton and/or Essendon get shunted to Norwood?
You correctly have Melbourne playing their first Gather Round game away from AO.

Like a Pies v Saints game first up at the MCG finally Pies home game say Saturday night.

For Pies like at least the first 2 rounds at the MCG.

And cop the Marvel games early on as well.

Gather rounds the first interstate trip for the Pies.

Round 24 like Collingwood play essendon MCG friday night game

Thursday 9th April:

Friday 10th April:

Saturday 11th April:

Sunday 12th April:

Freo will get an AO game this year.

We we're at Barossa last year and West Coast at AO, that will most likely flip this year as has been the trend in the previous three versions of Gather Round.

Fixture 2026 Fixture