Banter RDT CXCII - TDDS

The Ford Raptors are probably just the current equivalent of the Falcon ute. i.e. filling that vacuum in the market.
Aren’t they a full off road spec’d version of ranger? Heck reckon those old falcons would have had a bigger bed.

Like i find it funny how popular big utes are here and yet a good chunk of users don’t use it for intended purposes.

Bit hypocritical of me cause I drive an suv while not using it to its full capacity but It’s my old my old vehicle tho

Aren’t they a full off road spec’d version of ranger? Heck reckon those old falcons would have had a bigger bed.

Like i find it funny how popular big utes are here and yet a good chunk of users don’t use it for intended purposes.

Bit hypocritical of me cause I drive an suv while not using it to its full capacity but It’s my old my old vehicle tho
All Rangers are off road vehicles to the best of my knowledge. I think the Raptor is the more souped-up version though. In a previous era, its owners would've bought the Falcon ute, is what I'm getting at.

But yeah, I hate seeing 4WDs never get taken off road. My neighbour owns a Pajero and he proudly proclaimed he has NEVER taken it off road. My cousin has a 200 series Landcruiser and he refuses to use it off road in case he scratches it. Why even buy it then?

All Rangers are off road vehicles to the best of my knowledge. I think the Raptor is the more souped-up version though. In a previous era, its owners would've bought the Falcon ute, is what I'm getting at.

But yeah, I hate seeing 4WDs never get taken off road. My neighbour owns a Pajero and he proudly proclaimed he has NEVER taken it off road. My cousin has a 200 series Landcruiser and he refuses to use it off road in case he scratches it. Why even buy it then?
Yeah my old mans the same. Used to go off road when we was younger but he did a complete 180 as he got older. One of his buddies is hell rich and went and bought an ineos when it came out and sold it not long after cause he didn’t find it comfortable for daily driving and he had no plans for taking it off road. Which is worse than buying a Land Cruiser 200/300 as it comes from the factory ready for all that stuff.

I mean it’s for that reason Why we see more and big suvs that aren’t 4wds drives anymore.

Yeah my old mans the same. Used to go off road when we was younger but he did a complete 180 as he got older. One of his buddies is hell rich and went and bought an ineos when it came out and sold it not long after cause he didn’t find it comfortable for daily driving and he had no plans for taking it off road. Which is worse than buying a Land Cruiser 200/300 as it comes from the factory ready for all that stuff.

I mean it’s for that reason Why we see more and big suvs that aren’t 4wds drives anymore.
Just buy a Kia Sportage or something, hey. Who buys an Ineos as a daily drive? Lol. I would love one but can't currently justify it because I work full time and have kids. Had I the time and money though, they would be awesome to take touring.

Or you can find an Audi/bmw/merc suv for a similar price with the all the luxuries they need.

I love how people buy these huge American utes through their business, thinking that they're exempt from FBT. Often they're not designed to carry a tonne, so they're not eligible for the exemption 🥴

I deal a lot with similar situations like this through my work - the price tag on Rams and Silverado "trucks" is just ridiculous, then to see their load capacity (calm down Vish) and it's just hilarious. Then these guys get the GVM upgraded and find out they need a truck licence to drive them and try and change it back. You could get a shitty Rodeo that can carry and pull more than those things that are nothing more than new wave bogan penis mobiles.

The Ford Raptors are probably just the current equivalent of the Falcon ute. i.e. filling that vacuum in the market.

The explosion of 4WDs and utes directly coincides with the end of the manufacturing of Commodores and Falcons and bogans needed a place to pour their money. Not saying all owners of either are bogans but you get what I'm saying.

My Dad recently bought a Raptor. He’s owned a few 70’s/80’s F100/F150’s though, and I think he really wanted a new F-150 but couldn’t justify it.

It’s a nice car, and it’s very him, but I can’t see the point if you’re not going to use it for its intended purpose,( which is at 120km/h flogging it up a dirt road).

Do Raptors come in a diesel variant? I only seem to spot and hear the awful sounding twin turbo petrol model. That alone leads me to believe they're more mall crawlers than touring off roaders.

If they didn't sound like a broken vacuum cleaner I'd be keen on one.

Do Raptors come in a diesel variant? I only seem to spot and hear the awful sounding twin turbo petrol model. That alone leads me to believe they're more mall crawlers than touring off roaders.

The twin turbo petrol is the main part of what makes it a Raptor.

Probably Wildtrak with the diesel is the top spec for that?

You could ask a Ranger owner but odds on they would assault you.

The twin turbo petrol is the main part of what makes it a Raptor.

Probably Wildtrak with the diesel is the top spec for that?

You could ask a Ranger owner but odds on they would assault you.

Thought so. So really to do any touring you're going to want a Ranger. If you want to fang it at powerlines or the odd Lano trip I guess you can get away with a Raptor. Or more like buy the Raptor because it's the punchier version of a Ranger and then drive it like a Falcon ute

The PX3 Raptor ran the 2.0 bi-turbo diesel. The new model only comes in a Petrol V6 though.

A lot of people think the new Raptor is some off road beast when it really isn't.