List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!

How did you rate our trade period? (sponsored by Daemon)

Just pinning this, as per previous years. Thanks as always to Lore.

Final trade/FA period results
Out:
  • Charlie Spargo
  • Judd McVee
  • Christian Petracca
  • Clayton Oliver
  • Picks 28, 42 and 61
  • Melbourne Second-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Third-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2026)
  • Melbourne Fourth-Rounder (2027)
In:
  • Jack Steele
  • Changkuoth Jiath
  • Brody Mihocek
  • Max Heath
  • Oscar Berry (Rookie)
  • Picks 7, 8, 37 and 71 (2025)
  • GC First-Rounder (2026)
  • GWS Third-Rounder (2026)
  • GC Third-Rounder (2027)

It's possible. But his dad is the list manager. I can't see him putting in a lot of incentives and conditions in his son's contract, he surely can't be that big of a campaigner!
That aspect of it is such an awkward look for the club. Especially given Saints veered away from the guy they had been courting for a good while.

What is the realistic play for 7 and 8 if there’s no appetite to move the picks as has been stated? Dovaston and any of the more dynamic kids (Grlj, Cumming, Phillipou etc.)? Who is the next up in mind in the event that Grlj, and Cumming are off the board? Do you go for Sharp even though you’ve just brought Steele in? Or do you go for a Farrow, Phillipou etc. who has a lot more to their game but will likely start off a flank?

I wouldn't agree with another inside mid but I can definitely see us picking Sharp if the other guys you mentioned are gone. Don't take any offense at people telling you we won't pick a KPP either, it is true we won't but it's a bit of a myth about Melbourne that has become gospel.

Yeah nah mate no need to worry, I’m very open to being wrong and used to people coming and chatting hogwash re the eagles so would never take offense to being told to shut up.

I’d have thought with the idea of moving some of these guys like Rivers, Windsor, Pickett into midfield roles that the play would be strengthening HB and HF options (as someone who doesn’t watch Melbourne). Hence I suppose a lot of links to going Dov and Farrow. But then again you can’t count out the impact in the middle of losing Trac and Clarry so Sharp stands out as a day 1 contributor to try and lift the side and avoid bottoming out. Will be interesting. I’d have assumed CDT would be of major interest to Melbourne given his ability to come in probably (no offence meant by this) be the best forward at the club from day 1? I don’t know the ins and outs but it seems from the outside that there’s been a bit of revolving door in that forward line of guys that haven’t quite hit their stride? I like what I saw from Kentfield in the late VFL season (he is melbournes boy yes??)

bit of a rough spot for top quality mids is all. I haven’t watched too much Melbourne but my main thought would’ve been everything other than mid. Is there an appetite to shoot for Robey as a Trac replacement then? I don’t really see much elite talent in this class outside of the top 3
Why are you interested in trading out of top 3 if you don’t see much elite talent outside of it?

Yeah nah mate no need to worry, I’m very open to being wrong and used to people coming and chatting hogwash re the eagles so would never take offense to being told to shut up.

I’d have thought with the idea of moving some of these guys like Rivers, Windsor, Pickett into midfield roles that the play would be strengthening HB and HF options (as someone who doesn’t watch Melbourne). Hence I suppose a lot of links to going Dov and Farrow. But then again you can’t count out the impact in the middle of losing Trac and Clarry so Sharp stands out as a day 1 contributor to try and lift the side and avoid bottoming out. Will be interesting. I’d have assumed CDT would be of major interest to Melbourne given his ability to come in probably (no offence meant by this) be the best forward at the club from day 1? I don’t know the ins and outs but it seems from the outside that there’s been a bit of revolving door in that forward line of guys that haven’t quite hit their stride? I like what I saw from Kentfield in the late VFL season (he is melbournes boy yes??)
If you’re talking about where he is from then nope, he is from WA

I've got no issue with us drafting those guys FWIW, just not talls. I get you want us to trade up for CDT (As I've seen a few Eagles say lol) but it just wouldn't make sense.

Why are you interested in trading out of top 3 if you don’t see much elite talent outside of it?
My personal opinion is that there’s no truly elite talent in the draft. The closest are in the top 3, but CDT especially doesn’t help us at all, I just think we’d be best positioned letting someone else trade up for him and picking on needs.

I've got no issue with us drafting those guys FWIW, just not talls. I get you want us to trade up for CDT (As I've seen a few Eagles say lol) but it just wouldn't make sense.
I suppose, would expect Melb to be aggressive after hitting the draft the last few years the main reason for the CDT chatter I think. For me at least

My personal opinion is that there’s no truly elite talent in the draft. The closest are in the top 3, but CDT especially doesn’t help us at all, I just think we’d be best positioned letting someone else trade up for him and picking on needs.
What does West Coast need?

Just don’t pick CDT and pick the need.

What does West Coast need?

Just don’t pick CDT and pick the need.
Ground ball & contested mids, if sticking at 2 I’d probably want Robey, Sharp, Cumming in that order. Makes more sense to try and trade down however since Robey the only one in that range. I wouldn’t have any issue taking Sharp at 2 but a lot of other eagles fans disagree. They push the BPA at the top of the draft agenda, which is silly since that’s what Duursma is.

The other massive need is a small forward. More so pressure than an actual goal kicker as we’ve got Shanahan in for a big year and Waterman returning. Would love Talor Byrne or LS-Pickett. Would be huge if Dov slid to us but can’t see it happening.

I suppose, would expect Melb to be aggressive after hitting the draft the last few years the main reason for the CDT chatter I think. For me at least

We have been aggressive but you also have to remember we've let so much experience go in the past couple years and that'll continue for the next 2-3 seasons. This isn't the draft to randomly trade up for someone when you have a list like ours.

Are a lot of your main contributors still on the older side? Obviously Gawn but are the likes of Viney, Salem etc. completely over the hill you reckon? Or still got a few good years left. From an outside view the likes of Rivers, Pickett, Windsor, Langford, Lindsay especially seems like a really good core that can platform a finals push within a few years

Gawn/Viney/Steele will all be best 22 next year and are on the way out - May/McDonald/Melksham are relevant veterans that will likely be done end of next year also.

Love Dove and Farrow combo.

Farrow can play down back in Mcvees role and move into midfield once Steele/Viney are cooked.

Dove is a no brainer with Pickett in midfield and Spargo gone.

Would complement our side well. Maybe take CDT if he slides somehow.

We can always go for an inside bull with one of our 2 2026 first rounders.

Love Dove and Farrow combo.

Farrow can play down back in Mcvees role and move into midfield once Steele/Viney are cooked.

Dove is a no brainer with Pickett in midfield and Spargo gone.

Would complement our side well. Maybe take CDT if he slides somehow.

We can always go for an inside bull with one of our 2 2026 first rounders.
Farrow can't play lockdown defender like McVee. no-one on our list can other than AMW.

I don't like the look of farrow. Not overly quick and looks like a sweeper. If we had to choose an interstate kid, I'd much prefer Cumming.

Farrow can't play lockdown defender like McVee. no-one on our list can other than AMW.
Where does this notion AMW is a lock down defender come from?

I’ve seen more of him play than most given I watch almost all Casey games.

AMW was a guy who was a very sporadic forward who got switched into the backline in 2024. He used his pace to run off and receive plenty of the ball, and wasn’t great with his disposal.

I also don’t recall him doing much genuine defending or locking down.

I’d be happy to be proved wrong but for mine AMW is one of these players who due to being injured and not showing what he really is grows an unwarranted reputation.

He’s still very much in the less likely to make it than make it category IMO.

Edit: fixing typos

Where does this notion AMW is a lock down defender come from?

I’ve seen more of him play than most given I watch almost all Casey games.

AMW was a guy who was a very sporadic forward who got switched into the backline in 2024. He used his pace to run off and receive plenty of the ball, and wasn’t great with his disposal.

I also don’t recall him doing much genuine defending or locking down.

I’d be happy to be proved wrong but for mine AMW is one of these players who due to being injured and not showing what he really is grows an unwarranted reputation.

He’s still very much in the less likely to make it than make it category IMO.

Edit: fixing typos
I think he looked OK at AFL level, It was disappointing that we couldn't get more of a look at him in 2025. I think he has shown more potential than Brown and Woewodin but nothing special, certainly not as a lock down defender. This year is definitely make or break for him.
Still think we should try Sparrow in the back pocket role. Who else we got? He's having 0 impact playing his current role.
Potentially, he seems like he would work hard defensively. He does seem like he has good attributes to be a handy forward ie can take a grab and has a decent kick. He just gets lost too much so perhaps defense might be easier for him to stay in games.

List Mgmt. 2025 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – everything must go!