Bendigo FL discussion 2025

Are you trying to claim AFL Vic has handed them cash? You have got to be kidding. Absolutely cannot be true.
Save your time.

Most on here have been made to look foolish with their comments on how Broadford couldn't possibly get a side on the park so the only possible answer is some AFL Vic led conspiracy to give them a leg up.

Couldn't possibly be the hard work of the club.

Save your time.

Most on here have been made to look foolish with their comments on how Broadford couldn't possibly get a side on the park so the only possible answer is some AFL Vic led conspiracy to give them a leg up.

Couldn't possibly be the hard work of the club.
Thats a cop out to every club on the bottom half of the ladder, that have no hope of playing finals, get 46 points, same salary as every other club.

The coach and star signing would be getting on cash only found in the mallee from clubs owning crops. Yet you tell us that its from bingo where the funds come from. If thats the case, why didnt they spend like this before they went into recession?

Thats a cop out to every club on the bottom half of the ladder, that have no hope of playing finals, get 46 points, same salary as every other club.

The coach and star signing would be getting on cash only found in the mallee from clubs owning crops. Yet you tell us that its from bingo where the funds come from. If thats the case, why didnt they spend like this before they went into recession?
I mean they’ve been in recession for 2 years yes?

If they take in sponsorship and have zero football outgoings they could have banked that money as well as fundraisers that have continued.

Who knows really, could be risking everything and go completely broke as well.

Plenty of ways really

Well for starters Trent, my understanding is they've only just started running the bingo whilst in recess.

If AFL Vic is bank rolling them, finding them coaches and players, why didnt they get up this season? Why'd they make them sit out again? Why aren't they finding them multiple gun players?

Gotta be some amazingly well-patronised Bingo hall at Broadford.
Ol' Joan Kirner introduced pokies to pubs and clubs in Victoria in 1992 at a time when, according to the Victorian Responsible Gaming Foundation (VRGF), 20 per cent of adults in the state bet on Bingo.
That number was less than 3 per cent of Victorians by 2014 and has declined even further.
Can't be all that profitable, surely.
If it is, pity Broadford, Jacinta and her thieves will soon be pocketing the proceeds under the guise of another levy or tax.

Well for starters Trent, my understanding is they've only just started running the bingo whilst in recess.

If AFL Vic is bank rolling them, finding them coaches and players, why didnt they get up this season? Why'd they make them sit out again? Why aren't they finding them multiple gun players?
The last team that came back were a club with a farming background and spent big in cycles, corowa. I cant ever recall broady spending huge. Im not any sponsor is still sponsoring a club for seniors in recession, as they arent getting functions etc or players using their services.

Its good to see them on the up, but they have now got more advantages than kangaroo flat, Tatura in the gv, Wodonga raiders in the o&m, more than maryborough did, north shore and Lara. Even Castlemaine, in 2019, I would have walked into the centre of their senior side, they've done it the hard way and hopefully next year they are a top 3 side.

Some of those clubs above must be in disbelief at the 60 points and salary, maybe afl vic need a rule if you miss senior finals for 5 years in a row you get 60 points.

The last team that came back were a club with a farming background and spent big in cycles, corowa. I cant ever recall broady spending huge. Im not any sponsor is still sponsoring a club for seniors in recession, as they arent getting functions etc or players using their services.

Its good to see them on the up, but they have now got more advantages than kangaroo flat, Tatura in the gv, Wodonga raiders in the o&m, more than maryborough did, north shore and Lara. Even Castlemaine, in 2019, I would have walked into the centre of their senior side, they've done it the hard way and hopefully next year they are a top 3 side.

Some of those clubs above must be in disbelief at the 60 points and salary, maybe afl vic need a rule if you miss senior finals for 5 years in a row you get 60 points.
Why didnt you answer my questions?

Wasn't last season too short of a time frame, once they missed truslove as coach
But AFL Vic surely had a plan b? They've got all this spare cash and influence, they could've found anyone.
I find it amazing weve got an afl central vic employee on here
Who is it? Or is this the part where you start accusing me of being a board member again because you cant answer what I'm saying.

AFL Vic dont give a shit about country footy Trent. We've watched them kill many clubs and leagues without giving a shit. Its why its so amusing your arguing they've bent over backwards to save one club.

But AFL Vic surely had a plan b? They've got all this spare cash and influence, they could've found anyone.

Who is it? Or is this the part where you start accusing me of being a board member again because you cant answer what I'm saying.

AFL Vic dont give a shit about country footy Trent. We've watched them kill many clubs and leagues without giving a shit. Its why its so amusing your arguing they've bent over backwards to save one club.
One only has to look at your history of posts to work out whats going on

AFL Vic did find them a coach,was told straight from his mouth that he landed old mate Thompson after many knock backs, Lenny Hayes being one.
The money in the end was too good to resist.
Lets see how it all plays out now.

AFL Vic did find them a coach,was told straight from his mouth that he landed old mate Thompson after many knock backs, Lenny Hayes being one.
Let’s see how it all plays out now.
Surely there was no influence to get him the coaching job at assumption college.
So they can be funnelling new kids into Broadford under the guise of play for Broadford and I can get you into the senior assumption team.
No way that’s a conflict of interest.
🤣
Put the tin foil hat on🤣

I’d think it would be a stretch to think the AFL are helping save a club given they have shown zero interest in however many other clubs and leagues that have bitten the dust
Kyneton made good money when they were in recess years ago

I’d think it would be a stretch to think the AFL are helping save a club given they have shown zero interest in however many other clubs and leagues that have bitten the dust
Kyneton made good money when they were in recess years ago
The only way out of this doomloop if you are anchored down the bottom is to perhaps go into recess for 12 months and come back with some hope.

Lets see how it all plays out now.
Not what I heard from the club but if I'm wrong thats fine.

With the recent signing of younger blokes around the area it will be interesting to see if Sandhurst get raided.
3 teams in the grand final for the second year in a row.
U18’s back to back premiers be interesting to see how much senior exposure they get in the next year or two.

Means bugger all in terms of football but had my daughter over at Macedon tonight for U19 netball try outs and if the entire Gisborne Rookies U17 haven’t turned up and trialled, at a minimum 6-7 have.

Common theme as to why …
Wouldn’t be worried. Gisborne have re-signed basically every senior and under-17 and senior netballer from last year bar one A-grader (who’ll likely be back) and the odd pregnancy.
Their 17s had a lot of bottom agers last year.
Competition is pretty fierce for spots, especially bringing in some top level recruits.

Bendigo FL discussion 2025