Streaming The sudden realisation streaming is a rip off

Streaming Television

We need to get AFL across to ESPN.

Haven’t bothered with Kayo - too many complaints from friends etc. In-laws have Foxtel so I just pop over for games I can’t see live or FTA.
Kayo is great for Formula 1 and the only competitive enjoyment I get in sport since 2019

Pathetic yes

But if it wasnt for Max and now Oscar idk where I would be

In no particular order I stream the following..
Kayo: Will probably cancel for a few months now in the off season. Can't justify the $40 per month price tag.
Disney +: Will keep, always return to it. Plus, it has Pixar.
Paramount: Got it for A Gentleman in Moscow but will probably delete.
HBO Max: A new addition, due to The Pitt. Will keep, has some good stuff.
Doc Play: It's relatively cheap and if it has a good doco every month that's value for money.
Apple TV: Only got it as it had re-runs of F Troop. Turns out you have to pay extra for F Troop! Now cancelled.
Binge: Not sure what we got it for. Will probably cancel.
Stan: Got it for Breaking Bad/Better call Saul. Not much else as far as I can see. Will probably cancel.
Dog TV: Supposed to calm dogs when your not around. Doesn't work, will cancel.
Calm Radio: I like the Hi Res videos and yacht rock channel. Keeper.
Netflix: Still on the must have list, but only just. Quality goes down as prices go up.
Amazon Prime: Was going to cancel but it has lifted it's game recently. I only discovered it has Northern Exposure. Keeper.

Funnily enough the one I like a lot is Tubi. Has some real obscure stuff that I like watching. Batman the Movie from 1939 is a ripper. Batman just cannot get a fair fight with that stupid cape getting in the way..

Have a few services, Netflix, Disney+, Amazon Prime, Shudder, Paramount+, and Mubi. All are on annual (except Netflix, and the ad-free fee for Prime), and while I don't watch everyday, I do use each often enough to cover the cost. Basically, I rationalise it by comparing it to the DVD days. I figure out how many DVDs I would have got with the price of the subscription, and if I watch more than that equivalent then it's worth it.

Would actually use HBO Max and Apple TV+ a lot if i had them, but am too time poor to commit to anything more right now (though HBO's annual fee is not exactly prohibitive).

I got rid of all that a few years ago. Have an IPTV provider that I find pretty amazing. Over 30,000 movies and 12,000 series. Live channels from around the world. NHL, NFL packages and any pay-per view. Can even get most AFL games through some random channels. Went from paying about $170 a month for cable and other services to $7.

Kayo: Will probably cancel for a few months now in the off season. Can't justify the $40 per month price tag.

Ditto. I always sign up to Kayo when the first Carlton game of the season isn't on FTA, usually round 2 or 3. I then cancel it in the first week of August on the grounds that if Carlton make the finals - stop snickering! - all finals games are FTA anyway.

Disney +: Will keep, always return to it. Plus, it has Pixar.
Paramount: Got it for A Gentleman in Moscow but will probably delete.
HBO Max: A new addition, due to The Pitt. Will keep, has some good stuff.
Doc Play: It's relatively cheap and if it has a good doco every month that's value for money.
Apple TV: Only got it as it had re-runs of F Troop. Turns out you have to pay extra for F Troop! Now cancelled.
Binge: Not sure what we got it for. Will probably cancel.
Stan: Got it for Breaking Bad/Better call Saul. Not much else as far as I can see. Will probably cancel.
Dog TV: Supposed to calm dogs when your not around. Doesn't work, will cancel.
Calm Radio: I like the Hi Res videos and yacht rock channel. Keeper.
Netflix: Still on the must have list, but only just. Quality goes down as prices go up.
Amazon Prime: Was going to cancel but it has lifted it's game recently. I only discovered it has Northern Exposure. Keeper.

Funnily enough the one I like a lot is Tubi. Has some real obscure stuff that I like watching. Batman the Movie from 1939 is a ripper. Batman just cannot get a fair fight with that stupid cape getting in the way..
Fmd, Apple has F Troop?! I'm signing up again over the Xmas holidays and smashing through them 😊

I would ditch Disney+ for their piss weak dragging of Jimmy Kimmel, but then I remembered I'm pirating it anyway 🤣

You've got a good selection of stuff in there BH.

I got rid of all that a few years ago. Have an IPTV provider that I find pretty amazing. Over 30,000 movies and 12,000 series. Live channels from around the world. NHL, NFL packages and any pay-per view. Can even get most AFL games through some random channels. Went from paying about $170 a month for cable and other services to $7.

Yes, I've got one too that costs me $180 pa / $15 pm. I've got Kayo/Binge that I pay $15 pm for as a package. Now that the footy has finished (I guess it really finished last week as far as them televising live), I might give the next couple of F1 GPs a go and if it's reliable and a good quality, I'll give Kayo/Binge the boot.

Just totalling them up now, I have :

IPTV - 15pm
Kayo/Binge - 15pm
Netflix - 21pm
YouTube - 40pm
Spotify - 24pm
BritBox - 4pm

$119 per month, that's around Foxtel Platinum range.

YouTube and Spotify will be staying, they're non-negotiable.

If I cull Kayo/Binge it comes down to $104pm

I might have a look around and see if I can find an electricity/gas retailer that includes Netflix in their packages if their prices are right. I'd happily dump Netflix and move from one platform to the other, but I'll get grief from the rest of the family.

We should be signing up, binging, then unsubscribing. Instead we just keep the payment ticking over and throw our money down the drain while we wait for something we might like.
I hate streaming companies and most of the offerings, but if I could limit the money spent to times of heavy use, it's money better spent.

Yeah I’m more or less doing this now, not watching a lot of tv currently. Ditched Netflix for the first time ever recently when I couldn’t find anything on it to watch.

Picked up Max for House of the Dragon and working thru other stuff now.

Netflix with ads was a good saving, they hardly ever came on. Will no doubt get worse tho. ****ing ads!!!

Why pay $40 per month for Youtube when you can get it free with no ads? And Spotify can be $14 per month not $24.

Spotify is the Family Premium with 6 people on it, including 4 in my direct household.

Where is YT free with no ads? I tried to get everyone onto YT music since it comes with YT Premium but the stubborn buggers wouldn't change.

Spotify is the Family Premium with 6 people on it, including 4 in my direct household.

Where is YT free with no ads? I tried to get everyone onto YT music since it comes with YT Premium but the stubborn buggers wouldn't change.

That's good value for Spotify then.

Firefox browser with an ad block such as AdGuard means you don't get any ads on Youtube (execpt the content creator inserted ones).

Kayo just offered me $1 for 1 month to resubscribe.

I reckon cancellation numbers were pretty big with footy season ending, so there trying to make October numbers look more respectable.

Binge offered me $4.95 a month for one year last week

Still nothing on there I watch

They simply need to get the EPL back if they want summer content to sell.

Omg Jimmy…I am feeling sick coming into these last Races of the F1 season…

Excited Lets Go GIF by OKX

The only subscription platform I pay for is Spotify. It's been auto debiting from my acc for a while now and I use it everyday and only have just noticed it's now $22 for premium. Crazy it was $12 a few years ago.

Yeah they are taking the piss with the constant price increases and advertising as well in some cases. I simply refuse to pay for a service & then have to sit through ads. If their aim is to force people toward more piracy then they are doing a fantastic job.

Prime is a shadow of its former self. It used to be the best service there was because their movie library was massive. But I'm now considering cancelling cos I realized I just haven't really watched much of it in months.

Probably watch more of Paramount on Prime

Their repackaging of other streamers within the l
Platform is sickening

“Here we have this! But it’s on….”

😵‍💫🤮😵‍💫

Streaming The sudden realisation streaming is a rip off