Analysis 2025 Draft watch

Gut feel tells me pass on Dean and use 9 & 11.
Is Dean better than combination of Dovaston & Sharp?
Jimmae is just stating an inconvenient truth and embracing the discomfort that the list management can not be based on sentimentality
Your right - we've got enough elite key defenders already.

Harry Dean is not rated a top 3 in anyone's books. For him to be taken in this range would be purely tactical.

I'm sensing some whispers are getting out to the likes of Twomey etc that WCE are still undecided on Dean so that pick 9 can be shaken loose. And weirdly there is probably some chatter around Ison being taken in the top 20.

Walking away with Dean & Ison is fantastic but only a few weeks ago we were also talking Lindsay or Dovaston. Particularly after grabbing pick 9 in the Curnow Trade.

I would hope Austin doesn't get spooked by the whispers. If a realistic bid comes around 7 or 8 then we have no need to trade down for later picks and instead grab Dovaston potentially with a slightly downgraded pick in the teens.

Harry Dean is not rated a top 3 in anyone's books. For him to be taken in this range would be purely tactical.

I'm sensing some whispers are getting out to the likes of Twomey etc that WCE are still undecided on Dean so that pick 9 can be shaken loose. And weirdly there is probably some chatter around Ison being taken in the top 20.

Walking away with Dean & Ison is fantastic but only a few weeks ago we were also talking Lindsay or Dovaston. Particularly after grabbing pick 9 in the Curnow Trade.

I would hope Austin doesn't get spooked by the whispers. If a realistic bid comes around 7 or 8 then we have no need to trade down for later picks and instead grab Dovaston potentially with a slightly downgraded pick in the teens.
This 100%.

I reckon the Carlton 'trade rumours' have come out to show WC no matter what the 9&10 aren't going to be absorbed, they go to other clubs meaning their 13 won't come in.

Austin has been very good in this space and unlike year gone by as a list management team they are great at keeping the ace up the sleeve pretty quiet, or at least not allowing the full details out if the bag.

If Dean is bid on at 2 or 3, we can bypass and will most likely get two of Gril, Doverston and Lindsey. Then Ison later on.

I don’t think anyone is saying that Dean and Ison are not going to be great pick ups - I think the point is most want us to able engineer another pick in the top 10 to 15 as well as Dean and ISON.

Happens every year. No matter what we do people want more.

We have got Hayward, Reidy, Florent, Ainsworth, Chesser and a heap of first round picks plus others. We will get Dean & Ison (both highly rated) in a weak draft and will probably pick up two more players via rookie or SSP that we need. We have so many under 21s, we don't need more at the moment

We will get Jagga in (like a new draftee), have a whole new development program supporting a group of young kids that is as deep and as good as any in the AFL

It is Jagga, Wilson, Carroll, HOF, HOK, Charleson, Cowan, Campo twins, Moir, Lord etc that we should be excited about. They now have 2 -3 pre seasons under them and with new development and depth should start to shine.

We have cut out the cultural issues and are setting new standards

We now have picks for Walker next year (likely No.1 pick) plus a heap more to do whatever we need. This on top of 2 first rounders in 2027. This on top of a Salary Cap with heaps of room.

If you had offered me this at end of September I would have jumped at it and run

Happens every year. No matter what we do people want more.

We have got Hayward, Reidy, Florent, Ainsworth, Chesser and a heap of first round picks plus others. We will get Dean & Ison (both highly rated) in a weak draft and will probably pick up two more players via rooke or SSP that we need. We have so many under 21s we don't need more at the moment

We will get Jagga in (like a new draftee), have a whole new development program supporting a group of young kids that is as deep and as good as any in the AFL

We have cut out the cultural issues and are setting new standards

We now have picks for Walker next year (likely No.1 pick) plus a heap more to do whatever we need. This on top of 2 first rounders in 2027. This on top of a Salary Cap with heaps of room.

If you had offered me this at end of September I would have jumped at it and run
We need to think like a professional football team though and not allow emotion to get involved.

I'm hoping our bid matching is reflective of where we place Dean on our board (with the 10% discount in mind), there are also other factors involved as in what are our option available at 9 and 11.

Walker is a different beast to Dean in what I have seen... (No expert).

At the end of the day I trust Austin.

Fox Footy Phantom draft Monday morning …

As to Eagles, they are said to genuinely want Harry Dean at Pick 3 (of the Phantom):

“In the mix/trade watch: This is why Carlton has moved out of Picks 9 and 11, for the Dean bid is set to come a lot earlier than the Blues had hoped. Yet the Eagles genuinely want Dean as he is no doubt the type of player that would fill a list need, so they’ll ask the Blues to pay up. While it’s meant the Blues have had to move quickly in recent days to find more draft points from other clubs, sources spoken to by foxfooty.com.au believe the Eagles’ move is justified, with Dean ranked at the pointy end of many club draft boards. This all means Cooper Duff-Tytler will now likely wait another pick before being officially drafted.“

Ison at Pick 22 in predicted first round of 29.

It’s an interesting question. Where do we actually draw the line?

Pick 1 for Dean? Pick 2? What happens if a club throws out a bid at 15 for Ison? Do we get bent over again?

9+11 is a great draft hand that would land us two really decent talents. I would prefer to take Dean even if at slight overs, Ison I’m neither here nor there on, but some of the rumours of high bids are getting ridiculous. We wouldn’t be the first club to say no to another taking the piss. I don’t care what anyone says, Dean isn’t a top 3 or even 5 kid in this crop, Ison might just sneak into the top 30, seems like we’re getting taken for a ride.
If you have multiple clubs right at the top of the draft intimating they will bid then he’s obviously rated very highly in this draft class.
Just because you want to get an absolute bargain shouldn’t detract from the fact he’s a key piece that we have complete access to and very highly rated.
Let’s just celebrate that instead of being a Debbie downer.

We need to think like a professional football team though and not allow emotion to get involved.

I'm hoping our bid matching is reflective of where we place Dean on our board (with the 10% discount in mind), there are also other factors involved as in what are our option available at 9 and 11.

My opinion as we have been extremely professional this off season. Lots of positives

With Dean jumping up ranking this year I am not sure what more we could do? We have committed to him. Pick 9 would like be gone as would 11. We now likley have options in place depending upon bids

If he is not bid before 9 then great but that is unlikely. If he is bid anymore inside Top 8 we will have options to maximse some more picks

I just don't see what more we could have done. If we turn 9 & 11 into Dean, Ison and a F1 or early F2 and some extras that is as good as we could hope IMO

This year was about adding depth. We have done that while still carrying between 14-16 players under 21. That is a lot. We don't need more. If we did we would be way too unbalanced

If you have multiple clubs right at the top of the draft intimating they will bid then he’s obviously rated very highly in this draft class.
Just because you want to get an absolute bargain shouldn’t detract from the fact he’s a key piece that we have complete access to and very highly rated.
Let’s just celebrate that instead of being a Debbie downer.
It's not important where WC rate Dean,what is important is where Carlton rate him.

My opinion as we have been extremely professional this off season. Lots of positives

With Dean jumping up ranking this year I am not sure what more we could do? We have committed to him. Pick 9 would like be gone as would 11. We now likley have options in place depending upon bids

If he is not bid before 9 then great but that is unlikely. If he is bid anymore inside Top 8 we will have options to maximse some more picks

I just don't see what more we could have done. If we turn 9 & 11 into Dean, Ison and a F1 or early F2 and some extras that is as good as we could hope IMO

This year was about adding depth. We have done that while still carrying between 14-16 players under 21. That is a lot. We don't need more. If we did we would be way too unbalanced
Not disagreeing at all, just hoping that Austin and co have a line for Dean where they won't overpay. But if they rate him best in the draft then any bid is a bargain.

I'm purely coming at the discussion that we stay true to our own rankings, because what may be left could still be very good business.

A lot of people seem to think AFL trading is like one of those reddit things where someone starts with a ham sandwich and trades their way somehow to a four bedroom house.

That with pick 9 and 11 we should (INSERT CLEVER TRADES HERE) and presto, now we've got Dean, Ison, Pick 3, Pick 15 and Harley Reid.

But of course the list management team are clearly too incompetent to even think about trying that.

A lot of people seem to think AFL trading is like one of those reddit things where someone starts with a ham sandwich and trades their way somehow to a four bedroom house.

That with pick 9 and 11 we should (INSERT CLEVER TRADES HERE) and presto, now we've got Dean, Ison, Pick 3, Pick 15 and Harley Reid.

But of course the list management team are clearly too incompetent to even think about trying that.
Who is suggesting anything like that?

Analysis 2025 Draft watch