List Mgmt. Draft thread - 2025 (remaining picks: 29, 34)

Live draft hand
R1: 1 (Duursma), 4 (CDT), 19 (Lindsay)
R2: 29, 34
RD: 1

Draft picks pre-draft
R1: 1, 2, 13
R2: 34, 41
RD: 1

List spots available
Main list: 2 (includes Duursma, CDT, Lindsay)
Cat A Rookie list: 1 (expecting Robertson, Macrae and Schoenberg to join as SSP signings)
Cat B Rookie list: 1

Draft order

Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)

Rookie Me Central 2025 Draft Guide

Matthew Clarke on Gettable 17/11

Cal Twomey’s Phantom Draft

Last edited by a moderator:
If anyone wants to be TRULY informed, tune in to my Extra Late Mail - 4:30PM EST Friday 21st November for the last draft scoops and rumours! 🔍

I know we have goofed a bit, but I genuinely can't understand how AFL list sizes aren't bigger. Surely with injuries/ concussion and developing the game and young talent it makes sense.

Remember when people once again tried to say an interstate kid was a flight risk based on absolutely nothing?

Meanwhile Willem’s doing cartwheels about the prospect of joining us.

Can not wait to see this kid in the #4.

I'm more pumped about this kid coming in than I was about Harley. All that 'they're not gonna pick him' 'he's a flight risk' 'he doesn't wanna go to Perth' stuff really killed the buzz for me in the lead up.

People's obsession of fixing this right this instant is a bit bizarre, when we all know it's far better to get the tall players earlier in the rebuild, which which is realistically in it's proper 2nd year as we have basically an entire new footy department with a completely different vision from the old mob.

Ignoring a better talent to draft mids right now for 'needs' just doesn't seem smart.

Sure, if there wasn't much difference between CDT and the next grouping of mids then yeah, taking mids would be fine but it seems, from public feedback from recruiters and draft watchers at least, that CDT is a cut above the next group.

This is also ignoring the fact that Duursma is a mid himself and the best player in the draft.
We likely have three top 5 picks to bring in an elite talent before we start to rise up the ladder and picks start to carry more risk and become more fringe in our line up. At least one of those players has to be a mid. Duursma is not a mid. He could be a mid. But he'll be outside and behind the ball for a while with no guarantee that he'll become a long term mid (his marking ability could see him better used inside the arcs rather than between them).

CDT I understand as he is a unicorn and we won't see someone like that for several more years.

Our key roles to fill now are inside and outside mids, KPD and small and medium forwards. Inside mids you get at the top of the draft, outside mids you can get a bit later, and other roles can come anywhere, usually lower in the draft.

I understand that we are likely taking Duursma and CDT but that means we have to take an elite mid next year. Ideally, we would be getting Sharp this year with a Dovaston or Thredgold, as the best players (available) in their roles, and filling the remainder of the roles next year.

If Duursma and CDT become midfielders in time, that's awesome, but we can't simply take the best players with every pick and hope they become what we want them to be. Don't get me wrong, there's a world where they become great midfielders, but there's also a world where, like Ginbey, they become very good in another role and we're still searching for proper midfielders with lower picks. Our strategy has to be balanced.

I know we have goofed a bit, but I genuinely can't understand how AFL list sizes aren't bigger. Surely with injuries/ concussion and developing the game and young talent it makes sense.
Reduced by 2 spots during covid to reduce costs (for the poor clubs?), was never restored, now not happening with the Tassie team coming in soon...

Why would we do that?
To watch the melts on this board.

In all seriousness, I was joking, but if we want to guarrantee all three of him, Evans, and Banfield, thats the only way to do it (more likely slide back a few places in exchange for a pick next year and then do that).

Not saying I would do that. I'd be annoyed if we did.

I hope we trade pick 2(or pick someone else with it)... I don't doubt CDT will be a good player... But he's going to be stuck in the WAFL for about 2 years before he builds up his body.

Its a poor selection for where our list is at... Select the best mids with pick one and two.. and then maybe look at a tall at pick 13
Not sure if you have taken a look at CDT but he is very well put together for a 200cm 17/18 year old. He is no lanky rake of a kid. Reckon he will play about 10 games for us next year if we pick him.

Duursma is not a mid. He could be a mid.
Duursma is a mid. Played it his entire junior career other than this year. He himself said earlier in the year he was moved out to show recruiters his versatility around the ground.

I don't know who's been spreading info that he's not a mid but for whatever reason, people on this board seem convinced he's not a midfielder despite him saying he is himself.

Harley's also a mid.

In 2-3 years time, our starting midfield will contain 2x #1 draft picks as mids and potentially a #2 draft pick as ruck.

Not sure if you have taken a look at CDT but he is very well put together for a 200cm 17/18 year old. He is no lanky rake of a kid. Reckon he will play about 10 games for us next year if we pick him.

If hes fit, he will play most games IMO

We likely have three top 5 picks to bring in an elite talent before we start to rise up the ladder and picks start to carry more risk and become more fringe in our line up. At least one of those players has to be a mid. Duursma is not a mid. He could be a mid. But he'll be outside and behind the ball for a while with no guarantee that he'll become a long term mid (his marking ability could see him better used inside the arcs rather than between them).
Duursma is a mid
CDT I understand as he is a unicorn and we won't see someone like that for several more years.

Our key roles to fill now are inside and outside mids, KPD and small and medium forwards. Inside mids you get at the top of the draft, outside mids you can get a bit later, and other roles can come anywhere, usually lower in the draft.

I understand that we are likely taking Duursma and CDT but that means we have to take an elite mid next year. Ideally, we would be getting Sharp this year with a Dovaston or Thredgold, as the best players (available) in their roles, and filling the remainder of the roles next year.

If Duursma and CDT become midfielders in time, that's awesome, but we can't simply take the best players with every pick and hope they become what we want them to be. Don't get me wrong, there's a world where they become great midfielders, but there's also a world where, like Ginbey, they become very good in another role and we're still searching for proper midfielders with lower picks. Our strategy has to be balanced.
Duursma being a mid makes the responding to the rest kind of pointless

From reports, looks like Archer's playing ruck/forward also, so I imagine he and CDT will swap in and out if they're both in the side.

People's obsession of fixing this right this instant is a bit bizarre, when we all know it's far better to get the tall players earlier in the rebuild, which which is realistically in it's proper 2nd year as we have basically an entire new footy department with a completely different vision from the old mob.

Ignoring a better talent to draft mids right now for 'needs' just doesn't seem smart.

Sure, if there wasn't much difference between CDT and the next grouping of mids then yeah, taking mids would be fine but it seems, from public feedback from recruiters and draft watchers at least, that CDT is a cut above the next group.

This is also ignoring the fact that Duursma is a mid himself and the best player in the draft.
That's your opinion though... Mine is that I rate Sharp and his production over the last couple of years higher than the perceived upside of CDT.

I feel that specifically sharp learning from yeo... And alongside Harley is better than CDT competing in the ruck in his first couple of years against guys like xerri and nankervis

The Bombers could keep going and offer 3/4 and a F2 for 2 if they wanted to guarantee CDT.
If they are as desperate for CDT as reported then sliding one spot is ideal to give us first choice of the rest. Robey at pick 3 or 4 with an F2 plus some steak knives, sign me up.

Duursma is a mid. Played it his entire junior career other than this year. He himself said earlier in the year he was moved out to show recruiters his versatility around the ground.

I don't know who's been spreading info that he's not a mid but for whatever reason, people on this board seem convinced he's not a midfielder despite him saying he is himself.

Harley's also a mid.

In 2-3 years time, our starting midfield will contain 2x #1 draft picks as mids and potentially a #2 draft pick as ruck.
There's plenty of vision of Duursma. He's going to be a decent player. I just don't know if it will be as a mid at AFL level. I see a lot of parallels with Ginbey who we tried as a mid before he dominated in a position he was more suited to.

Duursma is a mid

Duursma being a mid makes the responding to the rest kind of pointless
I hope you're right. I don't share your confidence.

Don't look at AFLW list sizes. 🫣

(not to diminish your point, which is valid)

That's your opinion though... Mine is that I rate Sharp and his production over the last couple of years higher than the perceived upside of CDT.

I feel that specifically sharp learning from yeo... And alongside Harley is better than CDT competing in the ruck in his first couple of years against guys like xerri and nankervis

I mean, it's not really my opinion. Just look at all the phantoms. Clearly club recruiters think exactly the same way. You don't grab solid B+ graders at pick 1/2. You pick the players with the highest perceived upside and if they bust, so be it, but no recruiter is going to pick a solid citizen over someone who has elite attributes and could be a superstar.

It's exactly why Robey's bolted so far up the draft order despite not having anywhere near as good a pre-draft resume as Sharp.

That's just how recruiters think.

Also, CDT won't be going against big rucks, like Clarke said, wherever he ends up he'll most likely start as a forward.

Not following the club on Insta and now this……. Burgers are better CDT
tenor.gif

Asking Sharp to learn from Yeo is the equivalent to asking Flynn to learn from Naitanui from an athleticism standpoint.

I hope you're right. I don't share your confidence.
Hes a mid who has versatility, a mid who can play half back/wing/whatever.
Hes not Ginbey who was a defender until his U18 year where he played mid, hes the complete opposite.

As has been said many times, he only moved around roles to show his versatility.

He will be a CBA mid for us in a couple years time for sure

There's plenty of vision of Duursma. He's going to be a decent player. I just don't know if it will be as a mid at AFL level. I see a lot of parallels with Ginbey who we tried as a mid before he dominated in a position he was more suited to.

There's big difference between Ginbey and Duursma.

Whilst Ginbey actually made AA as a mid in his draft year, he didn't play that role in juniors and most likely got the nod due to his superior size and athleticism, which allowed him to bully smaller kids. He mostly played as a defender in juniors though and played defence for Peel.

Duursma's the opposite. Played as a mid/fwd as a junior and was only moved around this year, as he himself stated in an earlier interview, as the coaches and clubs wanted to see him around the ground.

He had a game early in the season where he played midfield and went 36 + 2 or something like that, he was then moved to other parts of the ground and played as a utility for the most part.

One of the avid draft watchers on the D&T board said it was actually West Coast who requested his coaches to move him around the ground to see how he'd adapt to other roles.

We've clearly had interest for a long time.