2025 Draft Thread

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

šŸ˜‚ oh… a certain club & President was correct

I wonder if the media will call him a sook and say they shouldn’t be so crap, then they wouldn’t have to rely on draft picks. And anyway, the northern clubs deserve a couple of freebies before the 17th side.

Yeah but its growing the game according to all the northern nuffies and totally not a self serving system to get a leg up over the rest of the competition.
And at the same time the AFL is hell bent on bankrupting Tasmania rather than helping them get the AFL team they should have had for the last 10 years.

Would love to get JPou, just for the vibes around the club. Rekon him and MPou would be a pair of shit stirrers in the heat ways possible.

Also have to laugh at the Suns walking away with FOUR players later night, even after trading away picks 6+7 for Petracca.

What a ****ing joke...

Ok first round done and dusted, tonight the important stuff gets done!

I wanna hear predictions of who we end up with tonight please 🤨
Seem to be interested in Charlie Banfield & Zane Peucker.
Fincher seems 50/50 that we match bid on him.
Sam Allen may have interest from us.
Jev Pou
I want Liam Hetherton or Archie Ludowjke or Louis Emmett

Carlton has pick 28, 34 & 44 tonight with only wanting to get Jack Ison after the bid comes in. Wonder if we can offer up something and get another player before the Fincher bid.

Considering all the bad talk about this draft there is still plenty of talent on the board of interest.
Greeves
Archie Ludowyke
Noah Hibbins Hargreaves
JPou
Hetherton
Allan

You forum experts kept telling me this was a weak, pathetic draft.

These footy media experts are telling me that every kid selected thus far is a future superstar, and no doubt those to come will be even better.

I think one group of experts is telling fibs šŸ¤”
since i fell into the habit of reading every post on the list management and pre season threads & going back to the first posts from when the draft started on this thread(this will be the third year),one thing is painfully clear to me every year,that is that every draft class is a pile of shxx

some like last years gets elevated later,but they all start out as crap,its a throwaway line

as for the footy media,they are like Molly on countdown back in the day,there is no such thing as a bad song/player

so im saying both groups,watch with baited breath to see if this years draft class gets an elevation here at some point

since i fell into the habit of reading every post on the list management and pre season threads & going back to the first posts from when the draft started on this thread(this will be the third year),one thing is painfully clear to me every year,that is that every draft class is a pile of shxx

some like last years gets elevated later,but they all start out as crap,its a throwaway line

as for the footy media,they are like Molly on countdown back in the day,there is no such thing as a bad song/player

so im saying both groups,watch with baited breath to see if this years draft class gets an elevation here at some point
You forget that next year is always a super draft.

Dont like Geelong fc
But you gotta admire their recruiting team.
Reckon Harley Barker will be a good one.
They take risks that seem to pay off
Think they will look at Sam Allen, Tom Blamires & Kye Fincher with their pick 33

No dramas on Ned, but the better offer for Roma was F1 and the pick that is currently at p.33
Think it was the other way around.. it is 2025 first (pick 24 Harley Barker) and 2026 second (should be around 40s mark). Distinctly remember Geelong didn't want to give up 2026 F1 which we asked for. So we said no to 2025 pick 24 and 2026 pick 40 which is fine by me.. We would have taken 2025 second (33) + 2026 first (around 15)

On the draft: I actually really like Essendon's haul. If they have their development sorted this could be the draft that actually gets them going after the Cox, Reid, Perkins car crash.
They got lucky with a midfield heavy draft and got a true mid (Sharp), a forward/mid hybrid (Robey) and a hb/mid hybrid (Farrow). Sounded a bit like our 2013 draft where we drafted a true mid (Dunstan), a forward/mid (Billings) and hb/mid (Acres). Looking at their under 18s highlights, think Essendon's 3 will turn out much better than ours. :(

Carlton has pick 28, 34 & 44 tonight with only wanting to get Jack Ison after the bid comes in. Wonder if we can offer up something and get another player before the Fincher bid.

Considering all the bad talk about this draft there is still plenty of talent on the board of interest.
Greeves
Archie Ludowyke
Noah Hibbins Hargreaves
JPou
Hetherton
Allan
Would give our 2027 first (highly compromised draft due to Tassie compo?) for pick 28, 34. (we got 2 extra 2027 third rounds anyway due to the Ryans and Steele trade). So we end up with pick 28, 34, 38. Should be able to pick up J Philipou (mid), A Ludowyke (tall forward), K Fincher (hb/mid).

It's almost like our "weak, sooking, whinging, loser" President was actually dead right and probably deserves some vindication from the AFL media...
I love the Dogs media and fans saying ā€œthey’re only saying that because they don’t have any father sonsā€. Well, no shit. No interest like self interest, just like you defending it because you’ve paid for half your list with late third rounders.

By the time you have the northern clubs teaming everyone, the Dogs and Pies getting gun FSs for not much, the AFL changing rules every two seconds so that one club gets a pick 1 for boiled lollies and others completely miss out on academy guys (seriously, if it was on our watch that JUH occurred, we would be pilloried for months in the medYa, ā€œkulchaā€), the big clubs reaming the comp for free agents - it doesn’t leave many fighting it out for scraps and permanent half way house, mid table mediocrity.

Would give our 2027 first (highly compromised draft due to Tassie compo?) for pick 28, 34. (we got 2 extra 2027 third rounds anyway due to the Ryans and Steele trade). So we end up with pick 28, 34, 38. Should be able to pick up J Philipou (mid), A Ludowyke (tall forward), K Fincher (hb/mid).
Agree with that but I think we have committed to taking Ronnie with a pick in the draft so we will only get 1 other pick as well as Fincher?

Would love to get JPou, just for the vibes around the club. Rekon him and MPou would be a pair of shit stirrers in the heat ways possible.

Also have to laugh at the Suns walking away with FOUR players later night, even after trading away picks 6+7 for Petracca.

What a ****ing joke...
bosnov-67.gif

I do love every fan that defends their club like it’s that or lethal injection. ā€œSmart decision not to match considering we would have gone into points deficit next yearā€. Well, yes, that makes sense - but what about actually getting the points ready in the first place? Paid for Sharp with 3 second rounders, he wasn’t free. Could have moved in another late pick. I guess they may also be proved right if he’s no good. But they’ve had a million picks up their sleeve. We may well do the same and bypass Fincher, so some of this applies, but at least we didn’t have the picks to start with (aware that I’m bordering on defending the club like my first sentence 🤣🤌).

Ive considered that for both Eagles and Carltons picks. The issue is that whilst we'd get JPou at 28 theres no guarantee Archie will survive another 6 spots, then if we want Fincher and he's bid on in between the two picks we'd lose the second one.

Better off trying to get say, 28 off Carlton with an F2 coming back or something that we can use to trade back in - assuming we set the deal up with someone else before we get the F2.

Well, if Ison, WC’s Williams, Max King or McCarthy aren’t bid prior to their club’s next picks (which aren’t far away in most cases), then we might not move too much further. Hopefully 34, 35, and 38 will go, at the least. We say it every year, but given the lack of depth this year, it’s hard to see any from that group of sliders lasting to 35.

2025 Draft Thread