Votes: 0 0.0%
  • X.Taylor&

Votes: 1 0.6%
  • Farrow & Grlj

Votes: 1 0.6%

Just on the whole bidding system and how 'unfair' it is. I'd just like to point out that for the Suns to be able to match the bids they had for Uwland Patterson Murray & Addinsall, they traded out the likes of Lukosius Atkins Flanders Ainsworth Fiorini & Budarick to allow them to acquire the picks they needed to match those bids, so it's not like they aren't losing talent to acquire talent. The Lions gave up Starcevich to gain the picks they needed to get Annable, while Carlton were only in position to match Dean because they opted to let TDK depart for a compo pick and traded out Curnow for multiple R1 picks that will allow them to also match Walker next year.

So to say that the system is broken is IMO the wrong take. It's not ideal that a side that finished 2nd last ended up with the 7th best player in the draft on rankings, but the clubs that got in before us to pick up players didn't get them for free, they paid a hefty price to do so.

The system would be broken if those clubs were able to keep all those players they lost and then still land the top end talents, but they haven't and it's not much different to us last year losing a heap of experienced talent that allowed us to acquire the extra 6 R1 talents that we did last year and the extra R1 talent that we got this year.

Our father sons won't be top 5 picks FFS, that's my point. These top kids should not be pushing clubs right at the bottom of the ladder back further who desperately need talent down the pecking order even further, the fact that clubs can do it is an absolute rort. Academies are no different.

Free agency compo the same, if you have a player leave then bad luck, you just have freed up some salary cap space. Top teams shouldn't be allowed to poach players as unrestricted free agents, it should always be restricted giving the losing team an option to match and force a trade.
Could not agree more with the bolded part. Get rid of free agency compensation, clubs have the player for 6+ years, and if they cannot convince them to stay, stiff sh!t

Not missing your point,your missing mine. System is getting tightened up next year and if one of our boys get bid on in the later part of the first round it will be tough for us to match, particularly if they are both in that range we probably won't get both.
So after we get shafted by a shit system this year, ee then get shafted by an improved one next year.
The good news is, Carlton are getting shafted the most. The proposed new system is a maximum of 2 x bids to match, and removal of 10% discount. It'll work really well.

So for example, if Walker is bid on at #1, that's 3,000 x points. So if Carlton finish 10th and have pick-9, that's 1,355 points. They'd need to secure pick-6 (1,659 points) in addition to their pick-9 in order to get Walker. So they'd need to give up a F1 and F2 for that pick-6, or trade out a quality player etc...

This year, with the 10% discount etc...they could've matched Walker at #1 for pick 9, pick-21 and pick-24. Next year it'll be options like:

1.pick-6 and pick-9.
2.pick-4 and pick-13

and so on.....

Yes, they still get rights to the player, but it's gonna cost clubs big time from next year onwards.

The impact won't be as great for players bid on a bit later, as the points difference between later picks is much lower than at the pointy end.

Robey's time for 20m sprint was 3.2s ... by comparison Tim Taranto ran 3.0s at TAC Cup testing day in his draft year

On raw stats, Robey will be the equivalent of an eight-year gelded maiden trying to knock off his elusive first win at the Woolamai or Yea picnics in five years' time.

Taranto would be flat out beating my grandmother in a foot race, and she's sadly been deceased for 20 years.

Robey's time for 20m sprint was 3.2s ... by comparison Tim Taranto ran 3.0s at TAC Cup testing day in his draft year
He plays quicker than that though. However, he's a very straight line player. Doesn't have the agility of someone like Grjl.

Just on the whole bidding system and how 'unfair' it is. I'd just like to point out that for the Suns to be able to match the bids they had for Uwland Patterson Murray & Addinsall, they traded out the likes of Lukosius Atkins Flanders Ainsworth Fiorini & Budarick to allow them to acquire the picks they needed to match those bids, so it's not like they aren't losing talent to acquire talent. The Lions gave up Starcevich to gain the picks they needed to get Annable, while Carlton were only in position to match Dean because they opted to let TDK depart for a compo pick and traded out Curnow for multiple R1 picks that will allow them to also match Walker next year.

So to say that the system is broken is IMO the wrong take. It's not ideal that a side that finished 2nd last ended up with the 7th best player in the draft on rankings, but the clubs that got in before us to pick up players didn't get them for free, they paid a hefty price to do so.

The system would be broken if those clubs were able to keep all those players they lost and then still land the top end talents, but they haven't and it's not much different to us last year losing a heap of experienced talent that allowed us to acquire the extra 6 R1 talents that we did last year and the extra R1 talent that we got this year.
Nah system is broken as gcs just let go talent they have seen and get in new high rated talent that could and probably will be even better.
Tigers can't do this as WE DONT HAVE A TALENT FACTORY AVAILABLE-SO IN ESSENCE UNFAIR.
3 OF TOP 6 WENT TO PREMIERS AND FINALIST AND ALL 3 LOOK SPECTACULAR.

People using Gold Coast as the problem are barking up the wrong tree. They get an academy and try to develop elite players when they'd normally choose other sports - Patterson would 100% be playinh Rugby League if not for the academy.

Nobody gives a rats about the academies for a decade...as GC don't get any elite players from it. Then when they finally do after investing 10+ years, coaching, resources etc..... people get upset and think it's a rort. So we only accept and applaud the academies when they don't achieve what they were set out to do.

Now NGA is different and is BS.....players who have been in the elite junior pathways from birth getting gifted to clubs because a parent was born overseas etc... now that's absolute BS.

But academies that are helping secure guys like Heeney and Patterson who would otherwise be playing Rugby League - that's something to applaud - admittedly the bid matching rules hasn't been done well, but they are fixing that next year and so long as the NGA rules are tightened all should be fine.

Let's not forget GC have played 1 x finals series in 16-years...and in that time have lost to other clubs a gazillion quality players: Prestia, Caddy, Lynch, May, Bennell, Ablett, O'Meara, Martin, Wright, Saad, Ah Chee, Ainsworth, Scrimshaw, Bowes, Lukoscius, Rankine, Flanders, Budarick, Hollands.....and up until the last 2-years, no quality players have wanted to go there either.

And in future years will no doubt lose the likes of Humphrey, King, Lombard or others when the salary cap squeeze is on...

I'm glad they are getting their sh*t together and if we can't win flags, then GC and GWS are top of my list to win them until we are ready, so good luck to them.

The more I review the Grjl pick, the more convinced I am we've got a beauty:

Speed = massive tick
Endurance = massive tick
Courage / Hardness = massive tick
Precision Kicking = tick
Long Kicking = tick
Workrate = massive tick
Tackling / Defensive pressure = massive tick
Leadership = massive tick
Mongrel = massive tick
Agility = massive tick
Overhead marking = adequate (not really relevant for his size)
Footy IQ = not sure?
Handballing = not sure?
Decision making = not sure?

If his footy IQ and decision making is at least good, how can he not establish himself as a gun?

What are people worried he's missing?

So are you happy with what we did Bob? With two more to be added tonight, with some decent talent still available, I reckon we’re going to come out of this draft well.

Yes delighted. Grilj is someone I wanted since August. He just presents so well and his unique blend of speed and endurance makes him something special. Also his character. He’s tough and has a will to win and drive to succeed. Those guys don’t fail. Cumming was a great selection and speaking to a few clubs he’s one that was ranked very high. Again, character and his will to succeed you can see what Richmond are doing and not just mouthing the words Richmond men, but delivering them.

Add to that draft class last year, competitors, driven individuals, clubs in a great place. The added bonus of these two is power athletic profiles.

Did you forget they gave away the Flanders & Lukosius picks for Petracca? lmao

Come on, the system is a joke and it's getting changed because its a joke.

Real speed is break-away speed. Robey doesn't have that. He's fast when he finally gets going but why then, at AFL level, he will get caught or have his disposal pressured at the very least. Players like Lalor, Cummings, Gryll, Hotton and Smilie 🤞have that burst, which is another reason we chose them, not Robey.
Isn't that what I said?

I see where you're coming from but how did the suns acquire those players in the first place? They were given the capital to get better players allowing them to trade those players out to begin with and you're also forgetting a lot of those names you've mentioned were actually used to get Petracca. The system is broken, but its fixable, I'm not saying we completely gut it, i see what the AFL is trying to do but its heavily tainted at one end of the draft. If you finish 2nd last your first pick should not be 7th. If you finish bottom your 2nd round pick should not be pick 30 in an 18 team comp.

You won't convince me otherwise.

He's not slow. Takes a bit to wind up but when he does he's quick.

With Lalor and Smillie similar types we probably saw it as overcapitalising in one area at the expense of a much greater need ('from the gun' speed and agility combined with all-day endurance).
Over 20m he is slow. The mean average for AFL footballers is between 2.98 -3.13s - quicker than 2.98 is elite - slower is below average. Robey recorded best of 4 times at 3.18s. Facts say that Robey is slow.

Yes delighted. Grilj is someone I wanted since August. He just presents so well and his unique blend of speed and endurance makes him something special. Also his character. He’s tough and has a will to win and drive to succeed. Those guys don’t fail. Cumming was a great selection and speaking to a few clubs he’s one that was ranked very high. Again, character and his will to succeed you can see what Richmond are doing and not just mouthing the words Richmond men, but delivering them.

Add to that draft class last year, competitors, driven individuals, clubs in a great place. The added bonus of these two is power athletic profiles.
Glad to hear you’re happy with selections based on the contacts you have. We also have young Kellaway and another draftee to add tonight, exciting times. Can see us taking Kickett with the draft selection 31 we hold. A classy and quick small forward is a team need in my opinion.

We lost 3 of our top 5 in the 2024 B&F to get picks 7, 12, 14 and 21.

None of the players GC lost finished even in the top ten of their B&F this year, and they end up with picks 2, 5, 17 and 18.

Don't try to say they're similar. It's not even close.

It's like if we traded out Graham, Ross, Mansell and Young to get the same return as last year.*
*exaggeration

Over 20m he is slow. The mean average for AFL footballers is between 2.98 -3.13s - quicker than 2.98 is elite - slower is below average. Robey recorded best of 4 times at 3.18s. Facts say that Robey is slow.

3.118 actually which places him within your average range. Not to mention the other mitigating factors on the day. He’s not slow

Glad to hear you’re happy with selections based on the contacts you have. We also have young Kellaway and another draftee to add tonight, exciting times. Can see us taking Kickett with the draft selection 31 we hold. A classy and quick small forward is a team need in my opinion.

Im not 100% sure we will match Kellaway if bid comes and we are needing points. Thats up in the air. But im hopeful we can add him.

Rh’s comment of getting our man no matter what the other clubs do tends to lean into a Kickett type but **** we’ve done a lot of work on Phillipou I can’t see us passing him if he’s there. Would shock me.

List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - Draft Analysis