List Mgmt. Draft thread - 2025 (remaining picks: 29, 34)

Live draft hand
R1: 1 (Duursma), 4 (CDT), 19 (Lindsay)
R2: 29, 34
RD: 1

Draft picks pre-draft
R1: 1, 2, 13
R2: 34, 41
RD: 1

List spots available
Main list: 2 (includes Duursma, CDT, Lindsay)
Cat A Rookie list: 1 (expecting Robertson, Macrae and Schoenberg to join as SSP signings)
Cat B Rookie list: 1

Draft order

Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)

Rookie Me Central 2025 Draft Guide

Matthew Clarke on Gettable 17/11

Cal Twomey’s Phantom Draft

Last edited by a moderator:
Apart from being a flog, what's the actual knock on Greeves other than his cruising speed?

I'd take a 191cm bull accumulator with slick hands, good overhead ability, scoreboard impact and tendency to stand up in big moments over Tylah Williams every day of the week.

He's sharp lite, and I don't hate that with pick 29
He doesn’t have a defensive bone in his body and he seems to prefer being on the end of handball chains rather than being the one who starts them, so he’s not quite Sharp lite.

With that being said, I wouldn’t be against taking a flyer on him. His form this year was pretty excellent.

Apart from being a flog, what's the actual knock on Greeves other than his cruising speed?

I'd take a 191cm bull accumulator with slick hands, good overhead ability, scoreboard impact and tendency to stand up in big moments over Tylah Williams every day of the week.

There is a reason why he is sliding, no speed, no agility, no endurance... no thanks.

I feel like we have a few of his type on our list already...Hough, Allan, Hutchinson, Hall, Robertson etc

Not complete like-for-like, but close enough.

Lack of a defensive side to his game in a big knock on him, plus the cruising speed as you say is sub standard.

If we decide to go a mid then BOB is the one we should be picking, he has these three traits, that I like:

Good foot speed.
Good foot skills.
And one that you will be able to relate to ;), he has a bit of campaigner about the way he goes about things.

**** me. Was coming around while reading about him till got to this

"There was plenty of preseason conjecture surrounding the midfielder’s potential Next Generation Academy (NGA) ties to Hawthorn, although the Hawks were denied priority access to the likely first round draftee. Ironically, Greeves supports arguably their fiercest rival, Geelong. His great-great-uncle is Edward ‘Carji’ Greeves, whom the Cats’ best and fairest award is named after. He was a two-time premiership player and Brownlow Medallist in his time at Kardinia Park."

So he's a blonde with a headband and he's related to Geelong royalty. Good luck keeping him.

Lack of a defensive side to his game in a big knock on him, plus the cruising speed as you say is sub standard.

If we decide to go a mid then BOB is the one we should be picking, he has these three traits, that I like:

Good foot speed.
Good foot skills.
And one that you will be able to relate to ;), he has a bit of campaigner about the way he goes about things.
I feel like an idiot. Who is Bob?

The pick swap was clearly a mistake based on reaction but in getting Lindsay we’ve managed to salvage something out of the mistake

Yes, and people can still justifiably be annoyed with our recruitment team for sed mistake.

It was blatant. Whether they "did the math wrong" or did the math correctly yet completely misread Fold Coasts desire to match, it's still a fail from the draft team.

Take Lindsay out of it entirely, I think everyone on here rates the bloke and that selection ✅ It doesn't change that we all witnessed a clear error and amateur list management unfolding.

Yes, and people can still justifiably be annoyed with our recruitment team for sed mistake.

It was blatant. Whether they "did the math wrong" or did the math correctly yet completely misread Fold Coasts desire to match, it's still a fail from the draft team.

Take Lindsay out of it entirely, I think everyone on here rates the bloke and that selection ✅ It doesn't change that we all witnessed a clear error and amateur list management unfolding.

Yeah I can agree with that

I agree we made a massive error refusing to recognise the need to rebuild earlier. We should have traded out some players for picks in the 2019 - 2023 period.

But what about the fact that Gold Coast have 4 players rated in the top 17 of the draft in their academy in the first place (and therefore are eligible for the points based system where there is a massive discount on the draft capital needed to draft the player)? They must have a much bigger catchment pool than other clubs and are also not limited to aboriginal and non - Australian born kids like we and the other non - Northern clubs are. They can take any kid who is good enough that is in their zone, i presume. Thats a big advantage.
If you want to see how far Footy in Queensland has come and especially the Gold Coast the Southport sharks are about to launch into a 500 million dollar redevelopment of their facilities including a 21000 seat oval for their vfl team. They dwarf any wafl club in finances and are the most competitive non aligned side in the vfl…

The suns academy will just keep getting stronger

Attachments

• IMG_5045.jpeg
    IMG_5045.jpeg
    537.8 KB · Views: 16

If you want to see how far Footy in Queensland has come and especially the Gold Coast the Southport sharks are about to launch into a 500 million dollar redevelopment of their facilities including a 21000 seat oval for their vfl team. They dwarf any wafl club in finances and are the most competitive non aligned side in the vfl…

The suns academy will just keep getting stronger
The services club makes a fortune off gambling at their venues but at least they're putting money into their football team.

The Eagles were anticipated to take only four players at the draft – and they’ve already secured Willem Duursma (Pick 1), Cooper Duff-Tytler (Pick 4) and Josh Lindsay (Pick 19). Would the Eagles, anticipating a Williams bid just after Pick 29, trade back then match on him as their fourth selection? The other option would be, after missing out on Jai Murray and Beau Addinsall, to take a midfielder like Eastern Ranges’ Ollie Greeves, or one of the two top WA midfielders left in the pool: Fred Rodriguez or Sam Swadling.

West Coast also has ties to Koby Evans (NGA), Wes Walley (NGA) and Charlie Banfield (father-son), with the club to wait on whether they attract a national draft bid or slide through as rookies. The Eagles, as part of their AFL assistance package, have received an extra four rookie list spots for the next three seasons.

I feel like an idiot. Who is Bob?
What About Bob Time GIF

I personally reckon Lindsay looks way better than Addinsall in the highlights I've watched so am pretty excited to have him in the team.

It's the same tired posters who complain about everything looking for things to be upset about. The Saints will rise up this year. They've been gifted an amazing fixture. Channel 7 is making a documentary about them. The script has been written for their fairy tale season.

Call me a foolish optimist if you want, but melting over a pick that could potentially be as low as 45 instead of focusing on how exciting it is to have a really fantastic new player seems like such a waste of time.

Now we can enjoy watching the Saints rise up the ladder as we don't have to death ride them anymore. God knows their long suffering fans deserve some success.
In terms of position you are correct. Lindsay is a much better HBF than Addinsall is a midfielder.

There is a reason why he is sliding, no speed, no agility, no endurance... no thanks.
Exactly why we should throw a dart. Was top handful of the best performed player in the country this year.
How good could he be if we patched a few areas and got his endurance base right.

I still don't understand the reasoning behind 4 picks in the ND and don't think anyone has explained it? Does that mean we could take 5 extra rookies instead?

Coz we've used up all our regular list spots and only have rookie list spots left - where we can move academy and F/S if they go undrafted tonight without the need to use a pick. Hence the dismay about not moving Cripps to the rookie list allowing us more flexibility.

(Correct me if I'm wrong draft poindexters)