He's just a ****ing useless campaigner and he's not even very bright
'Cause the stupid ****in' w***er, forgot me ****in' Sharp

Hey Matty Clarke you campaigner, where the **** is Sharp
I’ve looked at all these other spuds and there’s no one that I like
I wrote you a ****ing letter and posted about it twice
You dopey ****ing Richmond fart, you forgot my ****ing Sharp
A Quick Ai rendition: https://suno.com/s/blQP3cSnulhqYb5g
It's funny how it interrupted the lyrics XD

Missed this thread due to time difference....

Any chance we can post all the biggest melts in one thread to save trawling through 130 pages?

There's at least 12 on every page; all killer no filler tonight.

Not really?

If he says the strategy was to take 5 18yos in the ND and that's what we did, then it makes sense why we didn't make extra list spots.

If you haven't already, go and listen to Jamie Maddocks interview in the media thread. It's a clear development initiative to not bring in too many kids at once.

You can't just keep opening up list spots for more draft picks. You have to make a plan and stick to it and sometimes that requires making hard and unpopular choices.

You don't have to agree with the plan but it's what they are clearly intending to do moving forward.

Anything he says after the fact is media management.

I'm sure Maddocks doesn't want too many mouths to feed but list balance by player type, and raw talent are our big issues. Delaying an inevitable delisting a year or two isn't going to help us avoid the 2026 spoon.

We've left a lot of list churn ahead of the 2027 draft.

Here's hoping Sammy Allen and Tylah save the day. Stuffed the Evans and Banfield opportunities.
Just been reading up on Allen - has been out with a knee injury which was why he slid however apparently has a load of talent so we may all be eating humble pie with time.

I'm stoked with the clubs moves. Picked up the top 2, had a shy at the stumps with the GC NGA boys and walk away with laser left foot Lindsey, a high talent and aerobic jet in Allen and our highest rated NGA kid.

With our 4th and 5th picks, I'd have taken Swadling and Curtin if we could have engineered it, but it didn't happen, and my opinion is irrelevant anyway. I'm not going to turn into a pillar of salt and hate on the club because the outcome wasn't what I wanted.

I'm spewing Barnett is on the list over Koby or Banfield, absolutely inexcusable decision, especially after drafting CDT. Barnett is deadwood on our list next year, when we could of had a high potential player in Koby. If he turns out to be the next Rayner/Bailey.... ffs.

Any of Frod, Onley, Kickett, BOB or NHH in the rookie draft please.
Makes me sick that we've let this happen. It's inexcusable and no amount of defending of the decisions we've made will make it right.
I hope both boys become superstars, and both the club and their doubters regret not having them on the list.

If Drew Banfield wasn't a thing, would we care as much about not having this player on our list?

In light of the Addinsall stuff last night, I thought it would be interesting to list the guys he'll be fighting for a spot in the midfield/side with
  • Matt Rowell
  • Noah Anderson
  • Touk Miller
  • Bailey Humphrey
  • Christian Petracca
  • Alex Davies
  • Leo Lombard
  • Jake Rogers
  • Will Graham
That's 9 high quality mids / highly rated draft picks

Oh wait, I forgot the two top 5 picks from this year who are gun midfielders
  • Zeke Uwland
  • Dylan Patterson
That's 11 now. 12 if we include Jai Murray, another mid, who was taken one pick ahead of Addinsall

Not hard to see why WC thought GC might let him go.

Will be interesting to see what does happen with all those midfielders. Some will for sure get squeezed out - Humphrey an obvious one
Yes but then they get some firsts for the exiting talent and reload on bids. It’s a great system the league has built for them.

If you just told me the names we drafted and nothing else, I would be over the moon.

We are a sucker for punishment and like to do things the hard way more than what a professional unit should but the end result for the second year in a row is a massive plus!

I'd still hope Pykie, Woosh and co still ruthlessly question some of the decisions made this year but very happy with the five drafted!

Walter?

Gives us a 3-prong fwd line of Waterman, Walter and Shanahan, with CDT and Reid as the ruck combo. 5 on the bench helps carry the extra tall also.

Forget Walter and pursue Axel hard next year. Best ruck prospect and best prospect from WA since NicNat.

Missed this thread due to time difference....

Any chance we can post all the biggest melts in one thread to save trawling through 130 pages?

That would reduce it to around 120 pages

If Drew Banfield wasn't a thing, would we care as much about not having this player on our list?
There's a few that have watched him a lot that are quiet high on him regardless of his surname.

Regardless I think most are pissed that we could have gotten a bargain late for minimal cost in terms of price required in draft capital and price required to create the opportunity.

Anything he says after the fact is media management.

Or maybe he's just telling the truth?

You can pick and choose what you want to believe though, that's up to you.

I'm sure Maddocks doesn't want too many mouths to feed but list balance by player type, and raw talent are our big issues. Delaying an inevitable delisting a year or two isn't going to help us avoid the 2026 spoon.

Not much raw talent left late in a weak draft. Considering not all that many players make it from the mid 2nd round onwards, the odds are fairly low anyone we picked would've had a solid AFL career.

We've left a lot of list churn ahead of the 2027 draft.

We have 8 players left on the main list who were there in 2021. I daresay probably 4 of those will be gone next year(Cole, Williams x2, Cripps) either due to delistment, retirement, or opportunity elsewhere.

What kind of list churn do you actually want, considering in the past 4 draft and trade periods we've almost turned over the entire list?

At some point, you have to actually see if who you've brought in over that time is up to it. We're already at the point where the blokes entering their 4th and 5th seasons could be off the list next year(Long, Johnston, Bazzo, Barnett) without even cutting into our senior players. At some point, you have to slow down and start making more difficult choices, not continuously churning through kids who may take a few years to show they belong at the level.

Some of the melts about the NGA's/Banfield have been completely absurd. No one would care about Banfield if he wasn't Drew's son.

Wish him all the best and if he has Drew's toughness and team first ethic he will fit nicely in a Ross Lyon team, but other than that, who cares move on.

I'm spewing Barnett is on the list over Koby or Banfield, absolutely inexcusable decision, especially after drafting CDT. Barnett is deadwood on our list next year, when we could of had a high potential player in Koby. If he turns out to be the next Rayner/Bailey.... ffs.

Hang on so pick 23 Barnett in the 22 draft, a high talent mobile 6 foot 8 ruck, should be jogged on so we can pick up Banfield, an ok 3rd round midfielder? Have faith in Harry's development. If and I mean if he figures it out and makes use of his talent he'll have a bigger impact for this club than Banfield.

Some of the melts in here have been absolute all-timers. Fair to say, we’ve probably done our mate random260 pretty proud. One thing we cannot question - we’re an incredibly passionate bunch, whether you agree with the next person or not. At the end of the day, we all want the club to do the absolute best it can. But also, don’t let it consume you. I love footy more than almost anything, but perspective is pretty important I reckon.

Time will tell around the decisions that have been made, but one thing’s for sure. There are a few kids I cannot wait to see pull on the blue and gold in the very near future!!

We did bid on two players before CDT. If one team blinked we wouldn't have CDT.
Or if a good deal happened we might not have CDT.

Or maybe he's just telling the truth?

You can pick and choose what you want to believe though, that's up to you.

Not much raw talent left late in a weak draft. Considering not all that many players make it from the mid 2nd round onwards, the odds are fairly low anyone we picked would've had a solid AFL career.

We have 8 players left on the main list who were there in 2021. I daresay probably 4 of those will be gone next year(Cole, Williams x2, Cripps) either due to delistment, retirement, or opportunity elsewhere.

What kind of list churn do you actually want, considering in the past 4 draft and trade periods we've almost turned over the entire list?

At some point, you have to actually see if who you've brought in over that time is up to it. We're already at the point where the blokes entering their 4th and 5th seasons could be off the list next year(Long, Johnston, Bazzo, Barnett) without even cutting into our senior players. At some point, you have to slow down and start making more difficult choices, not continuously churning through kids who may take a few years to show they belong at the level.

Clarke has at this stage proven error prone. I'll be discounting everything he says.

You've answered your own question with the majority of the names you've listed being plausibly below the grade required (there are a lot more candidates). The churn will only slow once we raise the floor on list and turn around on field.

I hope for the best and that Mini turns around on field performance quickly, but that's just a hope at this stage.

Forget Walter and pursue Axel hard next year. Best ruck prospect and best prospect from WA since NicNat.
He’s in the 2027 draft isn’t he? If he continues on this trajectory, he’s probably a lock for Tassie unfortunately, although that’s the best team for him to go to in terms of our chances of luring him home.

Hang on so pick 23 Barnett in the 22 draft, a high talent mobile 6 foot 8 ruck, should be jogged on so we can pick up Banfield, an ok 3rd round midfielder? Have faith in Harry's development. If and I mean if he figures it out and makes use of his talent he'll have a bigger impact for this club than Banfield.

Rucks take time, sure - but he’s showing very little signs so far in terms of competitiveness that will make for anything near an AFL standard option

People are critical of our handling of our academy/father son should look that we were not the only one's to not commit to their players.

The Bombers traded up to get Sharp which meant they couldn't match for Sweid who Fremantle picked up.
They were able to get El Achkar with pick 53

Sydney didn't match a bid for Carmichael at 21 who went to the doggies.
They went 42 for Cootee and 49 for King one of their academy kids.

Brisbane didn't match Prindable at 32 but instead went Evans at 38 and Hayes at 44.

Also Magpies didn't pick Mcguane. Richmond didn't pick Kellaway (maybe they get rookied)

We are not the only ones to make seemingly harsh calls.
Those clubs didn’t match because of the cost of matching
That wasn’t the issue for us

Game Day The 2025 Draft Day Thread