List Mgmt. 2026 AFL Draft

It’s farcical these “academies”. For kids raised on footy, they should never ever be part of academies. Son of an AFL player? What a joke the system is
Not really

Whilst it appears this way we need to look at it as a glass half full
They are chocka block full with talented kids that wont get games and get disgruntled and will be looking to get out as they always do.

We are stocking up on talent now and using our high end picks and once we improve in 2 years time and kids at GC want games then we can poach them for 20 cents in the dollar.

Or their better players like Humphreys , Rowell etc become free agents

We need to ask the AFL for some compensation, thats 2 years in a row now our 1st picks will get pushed down the order because of these rules.

Not good enough
I calculated from pick 2 3 where we should have been picking and ending up at 7 8 we lost points value equivalent to pick 6 (for all the people who don't want to compare via points its just a good reference to see how costly it is)

I think our midfield is done. If anything we need ruck talent. Maybe Arki for a medium forward. But I doubt he’s ours next year. He’ll be a E-girl for sure
Hope not

I dont believe our midfield is done and need another 1-2 multi positional players looking beyond Tarant/Hopper/Prestia/Ross
Lalor - Smillie - Hotton - Cumming and hopefully McAuliffe & Campbell

Ruck im not fussed about and just grab a competent Ruck from another club after they have gone 60-70% into developing them. Nic Madden is a player i hope we are talking to as he fits perfectly

Hope not

I dont believe our midfield is done and need another 1-2 multi positional players looking beyond Tarant/Hopper/Prestia/Ross
Lalor - Smillie - Hotton - Cumming and hopefully McAuliffe & Campbell

Ruck im not fussed about and just grab a competent Ruck from another club after they have gone 60-70% into developing them. Nic Madden is a player i hope we are talking to as he fits perfectly

Hotton, Lalor, Smil, Grlj, mcauliffe & Cumming is 6 mids that we have.
Didn’t think we would need more.
But I suppose you could add Armstrong.
Arki butler could play in the middle if needed.

I just love how our club is not swayed by media or emotion. Think for themselves. If you like a kid, then you take him. If Blair was at Norf last year they would have taken Tauru at 2 last year.
Exactly.

Put the feelers out there we were into Sully, nah.
Put it out there that Leon Kickett was our man, nah.
Put it out there that X. Taylor was our man, Nah.
Only accidental slip was the flight to Mildura to wrap up Cumming which was found out and you can see Rhy wanted to keep that under wraps too.

We won’t know for a few years how this draft class turns out but you got to be proud of the way we operate.

Hotton, Lalor, Smil, Grlj, mcauliffe & Cumming is 6 mids that we have.
Didn’t think we would need more.
But I suppose you could add Armstrong.
Arki butler could play in the middle if needed.
Hotton isn’t a pure mid. Will spend a lot of time forward. Ditto Lalor (not sure he has the hamstrings to be a full time mid). Smillie I have genuinely put a line through. Won’t make it. Bust. Grlj is a back flanker. KMac won’t make it - VFL player. Cumming is a hybrid.

We need at least two more star mids.

Hotton isn’t a pure mid. Will spend a lot of time forward. Ditto Lalor (not sure he has the hamstrings to be a full time mid). Smillie I have genuinely put a line through. Won’t make it. Bust. Grlj is a back flanker. KMac won’t make it - VFL player. Cumming is a hybrid.

Motivation Cheer GIF by Team Kennedy

You’ve put the line through a kid who hasn’t even had a chance yet. That’s pretty average

Gee you’re a flog. How you’ve come to any of those conclusions is baffling.

I’m really interested to see what the final changes to the bidding system looks like in 2026. We could be in a sweet spot if it works out that blues/Port need pick 2 or 3 to match bids, they would have to give overs to get close:

Eg Tigers trade pick 2 for blues R1, Sydney R1, a few second rounders in 2026 and even R1 picks into 2027.

We could walk away with 2 first rounders plus Armstrong, 2 second rounders or picks into 2027

Or we keep pick 2 and take Walker if they don’t pay up.

Russell Westbrook What GIF

I just love how our club is not swayed by media or emotion. Think for themselves. If you like a kid, then you take him. If Blair was at Norf last year they would have taken Tauru at 2 last year.

I reckon our club likes to drink its own bath water. Last year's draft depth a player talent has over inflated their egos.

I think our midfield is done. If anything we need ruck talent. Maybe Arki for a medium forward. But I doubt he’s ours next year. He’ll be a E-girl for sure

Your presuming that every player picked now is going to make it. Also our midfield is hardly done. We need wings they are considered part of the midfield.

Yeah well, I’m talking about our centre bounce. We have one injured wing, Judson. Hopefully the knee holds up. He could be a Lachie Whitfield type. But I’m suprised we didn’t grab a winger in the draft tbh. Maybe that’s what there planning to do in the near future with free agency.

I'm just massively annoyed so I'm pretty negative right now. We did pick a wing Mr pick 99. Club is keen to turn him into a success story so they can tell us how smart they all are.
Sometimes the best thing to do is not to out think it and pick best available.
The club can't honestly tell me these players picked were best available.

I'm just massively annoyed so I'm pretty negative right now. We did pick a wing Mr pick 99. Club is keen to turn him into a success story so they can tell us how smart they all are.

Who’s mr pick 99
Never mind it’s that guy that Geelong didn’t want aye?

We could of used Louis as a winger… imagine his elite footy iq put to good use on the opposite side of the wing as Judson and feedING to jonty and Armstrong

Cumming was best available.

And Grlj was a couple picks behind consensus best available, but undoubtedly is the best fit for our list.

North picking best available has turned out brilliantly hasn't it. We are building a team.

List Mgmt. 2026 AFL Draft