Bigman’s Training Reports

Sid looks less of a kid already. Expecting big things in 2026 from him.

Curtin looks like we finally have that beast mid. Harley who?

We have a real core of talent and hardness in that middle age group. We have some generational talent at the top end too.

Can we get what we need to round out this group from Pedlar, Taylor, Berry, Cook, Edwards, Ryan, Dowling and Bond? Or do we hang onto the experience too long and miss a trick?

Cotton, Marsh, Ludowyke, Welsh … maybe there is a cameo in there? More likely they are the future, but why not?

Huge year for the club. Do we improve and embrace change - or do we think we are the bomb and just need a little tinker around the edges? I know what my pessimism infected Crows supporter brain is screaming!! BUT it’s preseason, I’m going to ignore that and look forward to Bigman’s reports and the 2026 season instead!

I think a cameo from Marsh is plausible. Comes in and plays half forward and gets it a dozen times, hitting almost all his targets and slotting a goal. The others wouldn’t be near selection discussion next year I’d reckon.

So what other club has he signed with?
Last year he was included as the one of the open age players. Not sure who Blake Drury, Madgen or Ned Atkinson play for if not selected either.

General SANFL rules overview

Ahead of the 2025 season, the South Australian Football Commission introduced new rules and regulations to player access for the AFL clubs in the SANFL competition.

The new rules allowed Adelaide and Port Adelaide, to list up to four players aged over 21 from SANFL clubs, or from interstate competitions such as the VFL, WAFL or AFL.

Adelaide has three open aged players - SANFL Captain Jack Madgen, interstate recruit Blake Drury, and previously listed AFL player Kieran Strachan.

In addition to mature aged players, the AFL club has been permitted to sign up to six SANFL players under the new Talent Development List.

Ned Atkinson is Adelaide’s only Talent Development player this season.

Last year he was included as the one of the open age players. Not sure who Blake Drury, Madgen or Ned Atkinson play for if not selected either.

General SANFL rules overview

Ahead of the 2025 season, the South Australian Football Commission introduced new rules and regulations to player access for the AFL clubs in the SANFL competition.

The new rules allowed Adelaide and Port Adelaide, to list up to four players aged over 21 from SANFL clubs, or from interstate competitions such as the VFL, WAFL or AFL.

Adelaide has three open aged players - SANFL Captain Jack Madgen, interstate recruit Blake Drury, and previously listed AFL player Kieran Strachan.

In addition to mature aged players, the AFL club has been permitted to sign up to six SANFL players under the new Talent Development List.

Ned Atkinson is Adelaide’s only Talent Development player this season.

I don’t care about the rules, obviously it’s allowed, I’m talking about the structure. We have an AFL listed ruck that needs lots of minutes. We have tall forwards that need minutes - Murray, Ludowyke, Marsh, Welsh and Maley. Where is he going to play week in and week out? Add him into the forward line and there’s 6 spots taken up. What about rotating mids, what about about mids playing forward to develop for when they get a crack in the 1s.

It’s irrelevant what status he is, it’s his being selected at all that matters. Now, if he’s a top up that’s mostly playing at another club until needed, no worries. But is that happening?

I don’t care about the rules, obviously it’s allowed, I’m talking about the structure. We have an AFL listed ruck that needs lots of minutes. We have tall forwards that need minutes - Murray, Ludowyke, Marsh, Welsh and Maley. Where is he going to play week in and week out? Add him into the forward line and there’s 6 spots taken up. What about rotating mids, what about about mids playing forward to develop for when they get a crack in the 1s.

It’s irrelevant what status he is, it’s his being selected at all that matters. Now, if he’s a top up that’s mostly playing at another line until needed, no worries. But is that happening?
Yeh so he wont play unless needed. We dont want another situation where ROB is injured and McAndrew is needed in the AFL and we have no SANFL ruck. Like in 2018 when we recruited that Tassie ruck halfway through the SANFL season.

Im sure he will have a cub that he plays for when not required for SANFL. As im sure Drury does.

Yeh so he wont play unless needed. We dont want another situation where ROB is injured and McAndrew is needed in the AFL and we have no SANFL ruck. Like in 2018 when we recruited that Tassie ruck halfway through the SANFL season.

Im sure he will have a cub that he plays for when not required for SANFL. As im sure Drury does.
Perhaps he’s signed with Port Noarlunga, they seem to have a very flexible salary cap 🙄.

Tom McGuane , an overlooked father son from Collingwood set to train with us. Any intel ? Was he expected to go in the draft?

It’s irrelevant what status he is, it’s his being selected at all that matters. Now, if he’s a top up that’s mostly playing at another line until needed, no worries. But is that happening?

Sounds like the dude is describing a Daniel Jackson situation, where he works at the club and pulls the boots on when needed.

Tom McGuane , an overlooked father son from Collingwood set to train with us. Any intel ? Was he expected to go in the draft?
Mick wrote a pretty impassioned piece on his son in the lead up to the draft

Just using him as an example of what draft wannabes go through, how all encompassing the focus is and how it can all come crashing down in a moment

Will try to find it

Edit - here it is.

Mick wrote a pretty impassioned piece on his son in the lead up to the draft

Just using him as an example of what draft wannabes go through, how all encompassing the focus is and how it can all come crashing down in a moment

Will try to find it

Edit - here it is.

I’m glad you put this on here - read it myself yesterday.

They get talked about on here like meat at the butchers. They are human and not one recruiter knows with certainty who will succeed and who won’t. Lachie Neale 177cm and taken at pick 58!!!

That same draft big stars like Dom Tyson went at 3 and Buntine at 5. Who would you prefer?

I’m glad you put this on here - read it myself yesterday.

They get talked about on here like meat at the butchers. They are human and not one recruiter knows with certainty who will succeed and who won’t. Lachie Neale 177cm and taken at pick 58!!!

That same draft big stars like Dom Tyson went at 3 and Buntine at 5. Who would you prefer?
What's certain is that McGuane's (and Foot's) motivation would be high. They will bust their buns at every single session.

I wonder - meat at the butchers analogy again - if this is in part why clubs add train on players, even if they have no intention of ever drafting them? Add some intensity to trainings, a few players who will treat the first training in November as a Grand Final in terms of effort

What's certain is that McGuane's (and Foot's) motivation would be high. They will bust their buns at every single session.

I wonder - meat at the butchers analogy again - if this is in part why clubs add train on players, even if they have no intention of ever drafting them? Add some intensity to trainings, a few players who will treat the first training in November as a Grand Final in terms of effort
There is the cost to a club of a spot on their list. The crows were pretty hot on keeping a spot open so you think they want someone to bite it off.

This lad finished just outside top 10 for the 20m sprint and the 2km run so he has a bit of go in him.

There is the cost to a club of a spot on their list. The crows were pretty hot on keeping a spot open so you think they want someone to bite it off.

This lad finished just outside top 10 for the 20m sprint and the 2km run so he has a bit of go in him.
Exactly, I read posts from people that had obviously never actually seen Tom MCGuanne play that he was slow, mediocre skills etc. Well whilst he wouldn't be my first choice as our No.1 train on player he is actually quite quick and agile with great running power and well above average skill by both hand and foot....and can find the football in bunches.
I also read on here that he played some VFL and did no good, well do they actually understand most U18's that get to play some VFL from the Coates Talent League play as the 23rd player and most have very limited time on ground off the interchange bench so unless you watched the game that comment is not genuine..178cm is just nigh of the old Collingwood 6 footer so hardly a midget....1cm shorter than Jake Soligo at draft time.

Maybe give the lad a chance to see what he's got before roasting him.

So what club is he signed up to to play with until he’s needed? Or will he just be coming in off training fitness and form? Surely if you’re saying this, you’d know which club he’s at. Ex AFL players signing is always news.

Sounds like the dude is describing a Daniel Jackson situation, where he works at the club and pulls the boots on when needed.

I think that’s ok when you’re one of a handful of small forwards, but surely if he’s going to be leading our ruck in the absence of McAndrew, you’d want his match fitness high end.

I suppose it’s only the SANFL and as long as he isn’t a mainstay, if he comes in off no games and blows up by quarter time, it probably doesn’t really matter.

I think that’s ok when you’re one of a handful of small forwards, but surely if he’s going to be leading our ruck in the absence of McAndrew, you’d want his match fitness high end.

I suppose it’s only the SANFL and as long as he isn’t a mainstay, if he comes in off no games and blows up by quarter time, it probably doesn’t really matter.

No idea how it's going to work, part time, full time or break glass option.

I wouldn't be playing him if McAndrew is available. McAndrew can be backed up by Borlase/Maley.

From Rookie Me Central back in 2013.

"Merrett doesn’t have the size to be an inside midfielder or the skills, although his strong core does give him something to work with"

He weighed in at 73kg in his draft year. You just don't know how they may mature over time. Sholl hasn't put on weight but macguane might put on enough to be a player.

Exactly, I read posts from people that had obviously never actually seen Tom MCGuanne play that he was slow, mediocre skills etc. Well whilst he wouldn't be my first choice as our No.1 train on player he is actually quite quick and agile with great running power and well above average skill by both hand and foot....and can find the football in bunches.
I also read on here that he played some VFL and did no good, well do they actually understand most U18's that get to play some VFL from the Coates Talent League play as the 23rd player and most have very limited time on ground off the interchange bench so unless you watched the game that comment is not genuine..178cm is just nigh of the old Collingwood 6 footer so hardly a midget....1cm shorter than Jake Soligo at draft time.

Maybe give the lad a chance to see what he's got before roasting him.
Who would you have gone for to invite to train?

Bigman’s Training Reports