Training 2026 Pre Season & Training Reports

His will go down as a wasted career unless he snags a flag. Has everything but the feverish desire to win (and an effective kicking style going inside 50). I've gone easy on him because he was surrounded by basket cases and managed to break out during probably the club's most nightmarish year in ninety years, but with the external factors changing, his internal assessment of things is apparently remaining the same. I imagine he sums it up in words similar to 'take it easy; she'll be right.' It would also explain why he often fades out in last quarters
He's grown up in the McDonald/simpkin area where players seemingly cared more about their offseason trips vs their performances on field.
There's an argument to trading him when his contract was up, but as Norths best player at the time, I think the club wanted to keep him.

His will go down as a wasted career unless he snags a flag. Has everything but the feverish desire to win (and an effective kicking style going inside 50). I've gone easy on him because he was surrounded by basket cases and managed to break out during probably the club's most nightmarish year in ninety years, but with the external factors changing, his internal assessment of things is apparently remaining the same. I imagine he sums it up in words similar to 'take it easy; she'll be right.' It would also explain why he often fades out in last quarters
His laconic approach may be why he slid, just a bit, in the draft.

Still, rather him than Paddie Dow.

If he had Brayshaws defensive intent… Look out!

His laconic approach may be why he slid, just a bit, in the draft.

Still, rather him than Paddie Dow.

If he had Brayshaws defensive intent… Look out!
He is an explosive unit so will never win a 2km time trial. He will win us games. Kicked some points this year that if they were goals would be on season highlights. Really using his line breaking speed more and as we get better this guy will too.
He is ready to explode

He's 27 next year. The man ain't changing his ways
I heard he has been doing some Jiu-Jitsu training and grappling and has had a big few months in the gym. The fact he doesn't look like he's taking it seriously at training maybe just an impression.

He is an explosive unit so will never win a 2km time trial. He will win us games. Kicked some points this year that if they were goals would be on season highlights. Really using his line breaking speed more and as we get better this guy will too.
He is ready to explode
Yes. He’s all off those things. I reckon he’s a great player and am stoked he’s at Nth.

But I think we can all acknowledge that he’s not as competitive and consistent as he could be. If he added those elements to his game - he’d be one of the best in the league.

He’s been ready to explode for years. Time to deliver.

Yes. He’s all off those things. I reckon he’s a great player and am stoked he’s at Nth.

But I think we can all acknowledge that he’s not as competitive and consistent as he could be. If he added those elements to his game - he’d be one of the best in the league.

Agreed, I think as this season will be the year we start to win more he will stand out more

Just doesn’t have the innate desire to fight tooth and nail for every touch ala Wardlaw and doesn’t have the luxury of sitting off packs farming the footy. Or being loved by the umpires to receive dubious free kicks.

What he does have is elite agility, acceleration, size and the ability to break multiple tackles and move the ball from a contest into the open.

Another year into the peripheral blokes in the side will help shoulder the load he has had to take for the last four years.

I heard he has been doing some Jiu-Jitsu training and grappling and has had a big few months in the gym. The fact he doesn't look like he's taking it seriously at training maybe just an impression.
It hasn't been an impression for the last five preseasons, it's just been reality. Forgive me if I'm still a bit sceptical, even though that's pleasant (alleged) news to hear

He is ready to explode
He was ready to explode at the end of 2022. This talk about him as if he's a young gun primed to break out is so irritating. He's 26 now and has given off more of a strained phhht. When we thought he was that guy, he wasn't. Colby and Sheezel could be that guy(s). I don't reckon Luke is

Just doesn’t have the innate desire to fight tooth and nail for every touch ala Wardlaw and doesn’t have the luxury of sitting off packs farming the footy. Or being loved by the umpires to receive dubious free kicks.

What he does have is elite agility, acceleration, size and the ability to break multiple tackles and move the ball from a contest into the open.

Another year into the peripheral blokes in the side will help shoulder the load he has had to take for the last four years.
This entirely. Can't build a house with 1 brick

Could build a house for ants.
Confused What Is This GIF

Matt Whitlock now looking more like a man than the boy of 12 months ago.

Has he grown any taller?

He was ready to explode at the end of 2022. This talk about him as if he's a young gun primed to break out is so irritating. He's 26 now and has given off more of a strained phhht. When we thought he was that guy, he wasn't. Colby and Sheezel could be that guy(s). I don't reckon Luke is
He's been pretty bloody good over the last few seasons. A small improvement (looks to have body wise) would point to better output. As the young guns take some of the focus it could only help him not being held onto all the time as well.

He'll be super handy support when those other two step up

Training 2026 Pre Season & Training Reports