Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

Didn't know they made them in Japan. Are most of the cheaper ones Korean?
Yeah the Professional line are from Japan. The mid-tier Electromatic line used to be made in Korea but I think these days those and the lower level Streamliners are made in China. They still have a custom shop in the USA but they are very expensive.

Edit: Forgot to mention the Historic Series from the 2000's, they were some nice gits made in Korea too.

I'd like one of those double cut away sparkle jets. Something subtle. Not a big fan of semi acoustics generally these days. What are the modern Gretschs like in build quality and soundwise?

For some reason you can get away with more with a Gretsch I reckon. Their sparkle guitars are dope.

I have a Gretsch Brian Setzer Smoke model (6120) that was built a few years ago that is absolutely fantastic in every way. Like, it's perfect mate.

Have you checked out the new Synchromatic line? Meant to fit in between the Professional line from Japan and the Electromatics. They include a White Falcon, a Black Falcon and a take on the 6120...

Haven't seen or played one but I've read some good reviews. I think they're roughly $2k.

I have mate. I think they're a cool option.

I'm lusting after a black Falcon Jr with Power'tron pickups

Haha! I was looking at that on Facebook today. Love it.
Haggle him down to two and a half and as long as you don't break it it'll always be worth at least that 😀
For some reason you can get away with more with a Gretsch I reckon. Their sparkle guitars are dope.

I have a Gretsch Brian Setzer Smoke model (6120) that was built a few years ago that is absolutely fantastic in every way. Like, it's perfect mate.
Ahh the Smoke, have lusted after that one since it came out! 😃 A fantastic model. Does that mean you'd be looking at a Jet with Dynasonics or T-Armonds instead of the Filtertron variations?

Really love Powertron pickups by the way, I have a set in a semi hollow. Just a little more push than Filtertrons but still clean up really nicely.

Haggle him down to two and a half and as long as you don't break it it'll always be worth at least that 😀

Ahh the Smoke, have lusted after that one since it came out! 😃 A fantastic model. Does that mean you'd be looking at a Jet with Dynasonics or T-Armonds instead of the Filtertron variations?

I had a Jet with T-Armonds. 😰

But I'm an idiot.

It was this model.

I had trouble with intonation, but I should have modded it instead of selling it.

I've always wanted a Gretsch with Powertrons.

Time for some hard hitting topics.

I call it a Chicken Parmy

Some call it a Chicken Parma

I was watching an episode of Beard Meats Food and in England they call it a Chicken Parmo.

If you want to watch a man eat ridiculous amounts of food in a quick time and you’ve never watched him check out Beard Meats Food on YouTube.

I'd like one of those double cut away sparkle jets. Something subtle. Not a big fan of semi acoustics generally these days. What are the modern Gretschs like in build quality and soundwise?
Japanese made Duo Jets are brilliant.
Faultless.
And they're cheap second hand on gumtree if you are patient. Under 2.5K with a bit of haggle.

Time for some hard hitting topics.

I call it a Chicken Parmy

Some call it a Chicken Parma

I was watching an episode of Beard Meats Food and in England they call it a Chicken Parmo.

If you want to watch a man eat ridiculous amounts of food in a quick time and you’ve never watched him check out Beard Meats Food on YouTube.
He’s pretty amusing, in a similar vein Joel Hansen can eat prodigious amounts of food whilst chatting and not being too disgusting.

He’s been ill lately, woke up with half his face paralysed Ramsay hunt I think. He has years worth on YouTube.

It’s a chicken Parma, and to save time it’s a potato cake, scallop is a shellfish.

He’s pretty amusing, in a similar vein Joel Hansen can eat prodigious amounts of food whilst chatting and not being too disgusting.

He’s been ill lately, woke up with half his face paralysed Ramsay hunt I think. He has years worth on YouTube.

It’s a chicken Parma, and to save time it’s a potato cake, scallop is a shellfish.
You say tomato, I say tomato.

I had a Jet with T-Armonds. 😰

But I'm an idiot.

It was this model.

I had trouble with intonation, but I should have modded it instead of selling it.

I've always wanted a Gretsch with Powertrons.

If you are into hot-rodding guitars this is a good buy. Price of a second hand bigsby alone. https://www.facebook.com/share/1AUqy6qYjz/

You guys inspired me to do a heap of shitty guitar repairs today. I replaced a busted potentiometer and a new jack plug on another guitar. I'm pretty happy with it. I reckon my soldering was neater than the guitar tech that I used last time.

I'm addicted to soldering now. I want to buy a pedal kit and give it a go. Does anyone have a Klon Centaur or a copy? Are they any good. You can get kits that look alright.

I’m from Tassie so yep 100% potato cake.

I offered him 2.5 but he knocked it back. Wants 2750 cash.

I think I'll pass and wait for the lust to subside.

I really don't need another guitar. I've been pretty good this year. Bloody Gretsch guitars though.... they call to me.

Discussion The Random Discussion Thread