Mac Point Stadium! - "Tas Says Yes!"

What kind of stadium do you want?

I wanna come and visit sometime in 2028-onwards.

Nominate your favourite fish and chipperies, non wood fired pizzerias and ice creameries please.

And I’ll be hanging out for a Mercury.

Whoever said that stuff to Harriss about his Father, should hang their heads in shame. No matter what side of the debate you sit on, there is no place for such comments.
Terrible that, good on him for how he handled it and approves it.

I wanna come and visit sometime in 2028-onwards.

Nominate your favourite fish and chipperies, non wood fired pizzerias and ice creameries please.

And I’ll be hanging out for a Mercury.

Georgetown Seafood factory outlets chippy, godly fresh cooked seafood for around $20 pp. Ice cream has to be Van Diemen's Land Creamery in Elizabeth town (if you come over on the ferry it's on the way from Devonport to Launceston). Northen bias acknowledged.

Well done everyone. Good things never come easy and we earned it.

Our supporters do fought tooth and nail for this club and I'll see you all in the cheer squad.

This club is made of the right stuff and we've proved it before stepping onto the field.
Want a tassie badge? Well earned this that’s for sure.

I know that you were the one really pushing for a Tasmanian team here on BF for years ... seemingly a lone voice in the wilderness, and copping a lot of shi opposition (like me - it took me years to be convinced). You deserve to feel proud of your contribution over the years.
madmug wasn't totally alone in his advocacy for a Tasmanian team......... :)

After this torturous process, I still can't allow myself to totally let go emotionally and celebrate - I think I am going to have to wait until I see the sod being turned and the stadium being built before that happens.

But I'm nevertheless allowing some genuine joy to seep through into my soul.

At this point, more so than ever, anyone in such staunch opposition and vowing to cause a big ruckus in it proceeding is literally advocating to kill a team, along with a whole host of hopes and dreams, not to mention the impact it will have for the local hospitality etc etc.

I find it pretty offensive and just plain yucky.

The majority have spoken and it's time to move on and make the best of it.

At this point, more so than ever, anyone in such staunch opposition and vowing to cause a big ruckus in it proceeding is literally advocating to kill a team, along with a whole host of hopes and dreams, not to mention the impact it will have for the local hospitality etc etc.

Don't worry the outrage police have short memories and move on quickly to the next niggle.

And the vocal minority find out no one is listening. Bliss.

I actually think this whole circus has been good for the club. They made us earn it and we wont forget.
Also make Passion for Club even more with this fight for a Stadium

Apologies to you and any others I've missed. It's just that madmug stood out the most to me - his pugnacious style of posting both annoyed me yet also earned my respect at the same time,
and even, in time, admiration.

I would think/hope a significant chunk of the anti crowd will drop off and accept reality at this point. There'll always be the extreme but they'll increasingly be a noisy minority we can ignore you'd think.

How exciting is next season going to be watching the Tasmania Devils run out in the VFL? Even that I havent fully let sink in yet until the stadium issue is resolved, it's possible that if the stadium failed at the point they would even take the VFL team away. But now we can be confident next year the VFL team will be running out and some future AFL listed players will be in that team.

When you have to fight for something you believe in for so long, when it appears you've finally got there, its a surreal feeling. Many of us started to believe in 1990 when at North Hobart Oval a Tassie team beat a Vic team in a state of origin game. We pushed hard in 2000 with a stadium proposal. Then that corrupt K%^t Demetriou stabbed us in the heart in 2009. I joined BF in 2009 & started my social media 'crusade'. I think I might soon crack a can of Cascade Pale Ale. The drink of Uni students & alcoholics. We're about to finally gain our rightful place in the national competition to which we've given so much & got so little in return. I'm Overwhelmed with relief more than anything else at the moment. Its about our kids & future generations. Not so much for us grey haired old boomers now!!!!!
Well done mate, you more than anyone here on BF deserves this. You've been fighting the good fight here for a long time. Celebrate away. :heart:

A Tasmanian AFL team will be the culmination of my involvement in, and love for Tassie footy. Which started in the late 60s, playing footy at primary school in Mowbray and going to York Park each North home game to watch the mighty Robins play.

I've been in Sydney for a long time, but my love of Tassie has never waned - although this whole ****fight over the stadium has tested my love for the state, I'll admit, because it's made me feel both embarrassed and ashamed to see the place descend into such juvenile and unnecessary (imo) chaos over something that I feel should have always been straightforward.

Anyway, a team will see my Tassie football journey come full circle and I hope that my health holds to see that first game.

When you have been passionate about something for so long, it's hard to explain what the fulfillment of that passion feels like - I am sure that madmug knows what I am talking about in that regard.

Well with Harriss over the line I'm off to the pub lol. Too hot to wear the Devils beanie but maybe it's a sign that this is the first warm day we've had in weeks 😅
If you are after some heat, I've got a couple of upcoming 40 degree days here in Penrith I can send your way...............

Certainly not! I just took the high road to argument (& pigheadedness :D) against those who I thought didn't really understand the situation, nor the possibilities. I fully understand the fight we've had, both here in the Parliament & at AFL house. But fighting for what you honestly believe, win or lose, makes the fight worthwhile. This 'victory' isn't about 'I told you so', its about the fact we've finally got to the start of the work to get this puppy up & running!!!!:p
Always remember, 2 heads are better than 1!!!!:cool:

Mac Point Stadium! - "Tas Says Yes!"