Player Watch #7: Zane Duursma - staying at North in 2026

I love players that can hit low driven passes and kick goals off one step from 50. Thats getting it done. He just needs cabbages in the team to **** off. He doesn’t feel wanted and the kangas think they’re better off with Zurhaar and Darling over him. Funny because i’d kick both of them to the VFL for Zane

Word. ;)

I'm guilty of welcoming Simpkin back, and he put a bit of egg on my face when he went overseas again. There might technically be nothing wrong with it but I dunno, after that whole shemozzle, wouldn't you keep a low profile?

Anyhoo, my point boils down to the fact that Simpkin looks like he gives far more of a shit than Duursma on the field. That's pretty much all Duursma needs to change, but of course the stories of enigmatic talents who take things easy/get distracted easily are varied and many. Even though I'm critical of him, I'll be extremely disappointed if he ends up at Essendon, and make no mistake, they're the main potential saboteurs

They'll pay overs to bring one of their favourite sons back to Tulla. It'll only be a short Uber from training to the Qantas Lounge. He'll be fine.

We'll take our 2027 R2 and move on.

Where do these types fit into modern teams really?
There’s not many getting games and the guys with Zane’s body type are elite runners that get up the wings and/or play wing. Any other medium forwards playing are elite power beasts like Rayner, Humphrey, Lalor, Stringer.

Of the teams that played finals - who has a player remotely similar to Zane in a medium forwards role?
Hawks had none. drafted Nairn who is an elite runner and will aim to play wing or mid long term.
Adelaide had none.
Gold Coast had none.
Freo had none.
Brisbane had ah chee, who pinch hit on the wing.
Geelong played Martin, who didn’t shoot the lights out, while Henry got dropped.
Collingwood doesn’t have anyone like him other than Hoskin-Elliott who didn’t play this year.

The only player I can think of in recent memory who has impacted winning was Fritsch who played as a full forward really for a team with bugger all key forwards.

Zane can play footy, he has the talent as we’ve all said. But you can’t just play a guy like Zane unless he has made enough gains in the areas he lacks.

If he’s a half forward, he doesn’t apply enough pressure.
If he’s a wingman, he’s not a good enough runner.
If he’s an inside mid, his craft isn’t there yet and he’s not strong enough - while the other two weaknesses still apply.

In the long term, you’d hope he becomes a mid in the Heeney or Fyfe mould who is aerially dominant and rushes forward to create mismatches. But he will need hard work and about 4 preseasons before that happens, which is why the trade talk can be frustrating, he needs time and we need to be able to give it to him without the worry of playing him for the sake of it.

In the short term, I’m not sure what the plan is or if he can contribute to winning footy games right now, because he hasn’t yet, and there’s no reason to suggest he would. Either we build up his midfield game now in the 2s (in my opinion) or pigeonhole him into the forward line in the 1s where he won’t contribute to winning and add to the unbalanced forward line as is, where he’ll probably kick some goals but offer nothing the other way.

There’s not many getting games and the guys with Zane’s body type are elite runners that get up the wings and/or play wing. Any other medium forwards playing are elite power beasts like Rayner, Humphrey, Lalor, Stringer.

Of the teams that played finals - who has a player remotely similar to Zane in a medium forwards role?
Hawks had none. drafted Nairn who is an elite runner and will aim to play wing or mid long term.
Adelaide had none.
Gold Coast had none.
Freo had none.
Geelong played Martin, who didn’t shoot the lights out, while Henry got dropped.
Collingwood doesn’t have anyone like him other than Hoskin-Elliott who didn’t play this year.

The only player I can think of in recent memory who has impacted winning was Fritsch who played as a full forward really for a team with bugger all key forwards.

Zane can play footy, he has the talent as we’ve all said. But you can’t just play a guy like Zane unless he has made enough gains in the areas he lacks.

If he’s an inside mid, his craft isn’t there yet and he’s not strong enough - while the other two weaknesses still apply.

In the long term, you’d hope he becomes a mid in the Heeney or Fyfe mould who is aerially dominant and rushes forward to create mismatches. But he will need hard work and about 4 preseasons before that happens, which is why the trade talk can be frustrating, he needs time and we need to be able to give it to him without the worry of playing him for the sake of it.

In the short term, I’m not sure what the plan is or if he can contribute to winning footy games right now, because he hasn’t yet, and there’s no reason to suggest he would. Either we build up his midfield game now in the 2s (in my opinion) or pigeonhole him into the forward line in the 1s where he won’t contribute to winning and add to the unbalanced forward line as is, where he’ll probably kick some goals but offer nothing the other way.

As a forward Duurs has more than enough potential to play a similar role to Hawks leading goal kicker Gunston and or (if he bulks up) Brisbane leading goal kicker Morris.

Once he fills out he’ll end up somewhere in between those two, but there is plenty of scope for him to find a role at AFL level imo.

Biggest issue for us is we already have two medium marking forwards in Curtis and Zurhaar playing those roles. Playing another throws out the balance even more.

He desperately needs to take a note out of his brother Xavier’s book and become a transition running machine. Zane has all the talent to be one of the most damaging goal kicking wingman in the comp, he’d have a huge point of difference with his marking and height.

We have better forward options than him. The best thing we can do for him IMO is give him a clear plan e.g. wing initially with a possibility to transition inside in a couple of years if he adds enough power. Give him detailed fitness/endurance targets he must hit to get a go in the 23 at wing. Stop moving him around, make it simple, make it clear, see if he will work hard enough to make it happen.

just a reminder, he only "moved around" bc he was shit. but otherwise you're absolutely right. needs development targets and needs to hit them.

These are some really good points.

If you watch BGZs junior highlights, which is reasonably relevant I'd have thought, he strikes me as a slightly quicker, better Mark version of a young James Hird. With ridiculous finishing skills... inc 40+ meter bananas and all sorts of other wizardry.

Just a wonderful POD if we can get him fit and right.

The way I see him now is a bit like GArch when he was smoking and not interested in an AFL career as a young man, it wasn't until 1993 that Arch got a bit serious.

Guess how old he was then? Turned 20 in March 1993.

Or even weirder is that Carey (the GOAT) started his career with 5 goalless games. Had a shoulder injury, wasn't really Wayne until 1991. Age? 20.

Feel familiar?

Carey was/is 1cm taller than Zane.

just a reminder, he only "moved around" bc he was shit. but otherwise you're absolutely right. needs development targets and needs to hit them.

Underdone for AFL football, not shit. That's reserved for:

Simpkins
Daniels
Tuckers
Stephen
Payne probably
Others

Who despite ridiculous fitness, are still crap.

You can add Logue in 2025 (who despite coming back from ACL, was Shit).

Again, it's ok if you think he's no good, but if he has a good year and wants out, we'll be paid handsomely and we move on.

Think it’s very unlikely he will recommit this year regardless of his performance so hopefully he can have as good a year as possible to maximise trade capital.

Lose that last GC and we have Harley Reid and Colby.

Talk about sliding doors.
I dont agree. I think it matters on his own performance, how he is used and how the team ultimately travels.

If North (I dont like doing this) Just miss finals or even make the 10th spot. And all his other rumoured suitors fluff it and fail, I think he will stay, it actually would be a very tough decision to leave. However, if we stink and we keep trying to make him a midfielder he is out the door. 100%

He needs to be playing, dont care if he isnt fit. He needs a forwards position and he is the future PLAY THE KID

Think it’s very unlikely he will recommit this year regardless of his performance so hopefully he can have as good a year as possible to maximise trade capital.

Luckily one of those situations where it is in all parties interests for Zane to have a great year either way. He kills it, stays, we all happy. He kills it, leaves - he gets a fat juicy second contract as an up and coming gun and we make hay with an unexpected bonus high pick.

I dont agree. I think it matters on his own performance, how he is used and how the team ultimately travels.

If North (I dont like doing this) Just miss finals or even make the 10th spot. And all his other rumoured suitors fluff it and fail, I think he will stay, it actually would be a very tough decision to leave. However, if we stink and we keep trying to make him a midfielder he is out the door. 100%

He needs to be playing, dont care if he isnt fit. He needs a forwards position and he is the future PLAY THE KID
Not sure why he deserves a selection night handjob?

He had the weapons, it's on him to show the other qualities to demand a spot.

Exactly so.

He will get given leeway in games and expected to have ups and downs - he still has to demand a spot to start with unless he is planning on just waiting for an injury to open the door for him.

Because we are playing a 45 year old in a spot that should be his. We are shit, you play the forwards and let them learn. The future is not Darling and he doesn’t move the needle for W’s

LOL.

We're better off shelling out for the selection Night gobbies afforded Daniels, Stephen, Simpkins et al?!

DY is right, that's what we have to do, I reckon. Just play him, sink or swim. And I'd be into him about being the shittest Duursma in the AFL, call him Jasmin's Brother just before he runs out. That sort of shit!

Let's see what he can do.

Adelaide had none.
Gold Coast had none.
Freo had none.

I think they need to play him where he can get a game, then transition him once he’s a bit more established at the level.

These are some really good points.

If you watch BGZs junior highlights, which is reasonably relevant I'd have thought, he strikes me as a slightly quicker, better Mark version of a young James Hird. With ridiculous finishing skills... inc 40+ meter bananas and all sorts of other wizardry.

Just a wonderful POD if we can get him fit and right.

The way I see him now is a bit like GArch when he was smoking and not interested in an AFL career as a young man, it wasn't until 1993 that Arch got a bit serious.

Guess how old he was then? Turned 20 in March 1993.

Or even weirder is that Carey (the GOAT) started his career with 5 goalless games. Had a shoulder injury, wasn't really Wayne until 1991. Age? 20.

Feel familiar?

Carey was/is 1cm taller than Zane.

Underdone for AFL football, not shit. That's reserved for:

Simpkins
Daniels
Tuckers
Stephen
Payne probably
Others

Who despite ridiculous fitness, are still crap.

You can add Logue in 2025 (who despite coming back from ACL, was Shit).

Again, it's ok if you think he's no good, but if he has a good year and wants out, we'll be paid handsomely and we move on.

Cal Twomey had BGZ as the best contested mark of his draft class

Why? Do you know him or something? Or are you just following the BF narrative that’s hanging around him?

The thing is he has zero ability to do it one vs one.

He can jump into and over a pack. But he couldn’t do it in a wrestle

Not yet anyway. Maybe he never will, that’s ok we have Larks and Trembath and he can use their defenders as step ladders. Better to have a dynamic multi faceted forward line.

The thing is he has zero ability to do it one vs one.

He can jump into and over a pack. But he couldn’t do it in a wrestle
Managing shoulders and being as thin as a stick will cause that. He will have the physique and smarts to be an excellent one on one player

I’m not saying he doesn’t have value or potential to add to our forward line. But I’ve just never seen him beat an opponent one vs one unless it’s on a lead

Luckily one of those situations where it is in all parties interests for Zane to have a great year either way. He kills it, stays, we all happy. He kills it, leaves - he gets a fat juicy second contract as an up and coming gun and we make hay with an unexpected bonus high pick.
If he does leave, it may turn out to be the best year for us to have it happen with decent talls in the draft which could sort us out longterm if we end up with 2 or even 3 more good decent talls developing - which is timely given the Tassie entrance.

Hansen and Wells were high picks. I feel like they given a bit more time and patience to develop, despite concerns with laconic Lachie, it was more an understanding that big fellas take time to develop.
yeah they were, but we were also a lot higher up the ladder then too, not the need to pump games into kids, and obviously more competition for spots. Daresay most high end draft picks are much better prepared these days to walk straight into an AFL team thanks to the development pathways. I just think everyone needs to be patient with Zane, himself included.

Player Watch #7: Zane Duursma - staying at North in 2026