Toast Tasmania Officially Entering the Competition :tasmania:

Will be a raging success.
Judgement is out on that one. I can't believe there are posters here complaining about a stadium when in reality there's no sound business case for a Tassie team at all and Tasmanians should be eternally grateful that all it took was a new stadium with a roof built mostly from taxes paid by mainland residents.

Wouldn't have any issue if Tassie economy was relatively healthy and they had a significant percentage of their young population not absconding to greener pastures in the mainland the moment they turned 18. If your average young Tassie citizen doesn't wanna live in Tassie, good luck convincing wealthy young athletes who are used the night life of one of the most cosmopolitan cities in the Southern Hemisphere to do so.

Tasmanians should be thankful they are in a position to have an AFL team at all. I still don't understand how the Tassie team will be viable in the long term as any decent player would be itching to move to the mainland (depending where they're from they'll go to Victoria, SA or WA) as the earliest opportunity so yeah basically a glorified feeder club.

That's not mentioning the economic side of things as Tasmania has been regressing in terms of population for decades and their economy being stagnant, if not going backwards in the same period as well. If GC and the Giants struggle to keep footy talent long term to this day, Tassie has essentially no chance whatsoever. Even top tier Tassie players wanna live and play in Melbourne.
I think maybe the various studies and research that has been done might be a bit more accurate than a random punter who incorrectly reckons Tasmania's population has been regressing for decades.

Judgement is out on that one. I can't believe there are posters here complaining about a stadium when in reality there's no sound business case for a Tassie team at all and Tasmanians should be eternally grateful that all it took was a new stadium with a roof built mostly from taxes paid by mainland residents.

Wouldn't have any issue if Tassie economy was relatively healthy and they had a significant percentage of their young population not absconding to greener pastures in the mainland the moment they turned 18. If your average young Tassie citizen doesn't wanna live in Tassie, good luck convincing wealthy young athletes who are used the night life of one of the most cosmopolitan cities in the Southern Hemisphere to do so.
There's a small and vibrant music /art scene but if youre a bit of a bogan and just want to do coke and party with beautiful young girls Salamanca market might get a bit boring imo

Do you think the average Tasmanian was asked if they wanted to spend $1.5B on a stadium for this purpose before the bid was submitted?

And given how it's dividing the Tasmanian community, couldn't the AFL go "hey, sure, you said that, but really, you can't afford it, your team can play at Bellerive, where we've played AFL games for the last 20 years"?
Whilst I agree they shouldn't be spending the money they can't afford, I have to clarify that Bellerive is a cesspit.

York Park is way better but neither stadium should be hosting night games. It gets to -2 at 7pm sometimes

The runthrough render of the stadium suggests that its open under the stands? There is a roof, but its just open air between the tiers so its going to be just as cold and windy as without it wont it? Would the dome cause some weirdness in the wind direction too?

Just seems a bit odd to not close it all up.

I think maybe the various studies and research that has been done might be a bit more accurate than a random punter who incorrectly reckons Tasmania's population has been regressing for decades.
They have? I think it's more due to the romanticism of having a club from a traditional footy state and an emotional guilt trip and manipulation from Tasmanians (many living outside Tasmania lol) claiming that they deserve a team than any actual sound business analysis.

This is what Google AI returned:

Key drivers of growth
    • International migration:
      This is the primary driver of population growth, as net overseas migration has been consistently positive since the September quarter of 2021.
    • Interstate migration:
      Tasmania is currently experiencing a net interstate migration outflow, meaning more people are leaving for other states than are arriving from them.
    • Natural increase:
      The number of births minus deaths, known as natural increase, has been decreasing due to a declining fertility rate and an ageing population. It is projected to become negative in the early 2030s.

It's no secret that a significant amount of Tassie born young adults end up leaving the island.

If Tassie can succeed good on them but I think they have an uphill battle convincing any genuinely talented young player to stay long term in Tasmania when they can play in Melbourne along with the opportunity to sign lucrative financial deals in a large mainland city. Many posters in this thread can attest to that, revealing that they themselves are former Tasmanians currently living in the mainland or elsewhere.

The runthrough render of the stadium suggests that its open under the stands? There is a roof, but its just open air between the tiers so its going to be just as cold and windy as without it wont it? Would the dome cause some weirdness in the wind direction too?

There has to be a small gap to, primarily, let enough air in to allow the grass to grow.

If you leave the doors open to your house, the roof and four walls are still going to greatly minimise the wind sweeping through.

Show us on the doll where Tasmania hurt you

Classy, making jokes at the expense of child abuse.

Tasmania hasn't hurt me, I just don't think they meet the financial and demographic criteria to be granted one at the moment. Maybe in 50 to 100 years when their young population isn't prone to leaving to the mainland and grown substantially to a million, then a club could be financially viable and sustainable there in the long term.

At the moment I think it is been set up to act more or less as a glorified feeder club, and potentially perform worse financially and on-field than small clubs like North. Would be happy to be proven wrong but we shall see I guess.

They have? I think it's more due to the romanticism of having a club from a traditional footy state and an emotional guilt trip and manipulation from Tasmanians (many living outside Tasmania lol) claiming that they deserve a team than any actual sound business analysis.

This is what Google AI returned:

Key drivers of growth
    • International migration:
      This is the primary driver of population growth, as net overseas migration has been consistently positive since the September quarter of 2021.
    • Interstate migration:
      Tasmania is currently experiencing a net interstate migration outflow, meaning more people are leaving for other states than are arriving from them.
    • Natural increase:
      The number of births minus deaths, known as natural increase, has been decreasing due to a declining fertility rate and an ageing population. It is projected to become negative in the early 2030s.

It's no secret that a significant amount of Tassie born young adults end up leaving the island.

If Tassie can succeed good on them but I think they have an uphill battle convincing any genuinely talented young player to stay long term in Tasmania when they can play in Melbourne along with the opportunity to sign lucrative financial deals in a large mainland city. Many posters in this thread can attest to that, revealing that they themselves are former Tasmanians currently living in the mainland or elsewhere.
Dude man up and admit you were wrong, even just quietly slinking away is less cringe AI slop like this to try and explain why up is down. Their population has grown over the past few decades, it has not 'regressed'. Everything else is irrelevant. You were wrong, and it shows how much effort you have put into your opinion.

There has to be a small gap to, primarily, let enough air in to allow the grass to grow.

If you leave the doors open to your house, the roof and four walls are still going to greatly minimise the wind sweeping through.
makes sense if it effects the surface, but I don't think the house analogy is apt as my doors don't span the length of all four walls, and if it did then it wouldn't do much to stop the wind lol.

Dude man up and admit you were wrong, even just quietly slinking away is less cringe AI slop like this to try and explain why up is down. Their population has grown over the past few decades, it has not 'regressed'. Everything else is irrelevant. You were wrong, and it shows how much effort you have put into your opinion.
I've casually glanced at statistics in news articles over the past 20 years or so that the Tassie population has 'grown' (more like propped up) ever so slightly (the lowest in the country by far) by foreign migration with a significant portion of the young native born population eventually leaving.

It's why it's taken this long for Tassie to get a team and or else the AFL would have granted the island one back in the 90s. The only reason they're getting one now is because of all the years of lobbying and heart strings being pulled from influential Tassie born former AFL players, Tasmanians and the Tasmania government, not because it makes financial sense.

It is a risk but one the AFL is prepared to take I guess and we shall see how it all pans out.

Well Geelong is a shizenhole (I know, I've lived there) and is getting worse and worse, your mob seems to convince a lot of people to move there.

It's why it's taken this long for Tassie to get a team and or else the AFL would have granted the island one back in the 90s.

It's never happened because Tas couldn't offer anything of value to broadcast rights deals.

The only reason they're getting one now is because of all the years of lobbying and heart strings being pulled from influential Tassie born former AFL players, Tasmanians and the Tasmania government, not because it makes financial sense.

Yeh, nah, trying to humanise AFL house is like trying to humanise the CIA. Only when a clean stadium they could make money off, that some other bugger paid to build, did they give the thumbs up. That's why it all came down to the stadium, it was the only reason the team is happening in the first place.

Should be a mainboard thread.
We're coming for you mainlanders, the premiership is ours!
DEVILSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!
:tasmania:
Way overdue and regardless of what some people say the majority wanted it. 👍

Tasmanians should be thankful they are in a position to have an AFL team at all. I still don't understand how the Tassie team will be viable in the long term as any decent player would be itching to move to the mainland (depending where they're from they'll go to Victoria, SA or WA) as the earliest opportunity so yeah basically a glorified feeder club.

That's not mentioning the economic side of things as Tasmania has been regressing in terms of population for decades and their economy being stagnant, if not going backwards in the same period as well. If GC and the Giants struggle to keep footy talent long term to this day, Tassie has essentially no chance whatsoever. Even top tier Tassie players wanna live and play in Melbourne.

I think you underestimate how attractive Tassie and being Hobart based will be for many players. Sure, some will prefer warmer places, some will prefer livelier places, some will love the vibe of a smaller place where they will be big fish in a smaller pond. In Brisbane, Gold Coast and Sydney the players, except a couple of stars are nobodies - that lack of recognition and respect is one reason why players leave. That will not be the case in Tassie. (I note that you didn't mention anyone wanting to go to QLD or NSW).

Do not underestimate the pull of playing top tier sport and being really important to the community where you live. I think the Devils will retain players well - once they have got them and have any level of success.

I think it will need a lot of ventilation to avoid getting too hot in summer, without that it could be a bit too much of a greenhouse - so I guess that's maybe why that openness is there. The engineering to make that work with the wind speeds and directions is going to be a challenge when the fine details are being put together.

Classy, making jokes at the expense of child abuse.

Tasmania hasn't hurt me, I just don't think they meet the financial and demographic criteria to be granted one at the moment. Maybe in 50 to 100 years when their young population isn't prone to leaving to the mainland and grown substantially to a million, then a club could be financially viable and sustainable there in the long term.

At the moment I think it is been set up to act more or less as a glorified feeder club, and potentially perform worse financially and on-field than small clubs like North. Would be happy to be proven wrong but we shall see I guess.

Tassis is not analogous to North. North are surrounded by other big clubs, Tassie will have its market to itself in a football orientated market.
The closest comparison is Geelong where the strong local support in a football dominated area means the team has consistent strong support. As you say, I guess we will see.

Toast Tasmania Officially Entering the Competition :tasmania: