Training Saints preseason 2026

Sincs and Higgins are both A-graders. Hall should be B-grade. JSOS when fit is B-grade or arguably A-grade (which is how highly Gubby & Ross rate him). Flanders exclusion is probably understandable but he is at least B grade when playing full time mid

I reckon Hall is a better player than Higgins. He hasn't done it long enough yet but he had an A grade season.

TDK could easily become A grade with the ruck rule changes. Flanders had an elite year 2 years ago. If he can get back to that he could easily move into that category.

Windhager's late season was getting pretty close to A grade potential too. JSOS had a very good start to last season and looked A grade but he probably over all is a B- over his career. He reminds me of Mason Wood who can play A grade footy in patches.

King obviously if he ever gets fit. Macrae and Marshall have both been A grade but probably not going get back there now with others pushing up underneath.

'Tauru is more of a guy with one exceptional trait. His spoiling is as good as anyone in footy and he should get better and better at it. His kicking and decision making are still a work in progress. It will be interesting to see who ends up better long term. The guy with one exceptional talent or the all rounder.
His marking is very good too. As is his closing speed to spoil or mark where he gets to contests that many cannot.

But yes agree that he needs to work on his kicking both in terms of where he kicks it. As well as how how kicks it.

I reckon Hall is a better player than Higgins. He hasn't done it long enough yet but he had an A grade season.

TDK could easily become A grade with the ruck rule changes. Flanders had an elite year 2 years ago. If he can get back to that he could easily move into that category.

Windhager's late season was getting pretty close to A grade potential too. JSOS had a very good start to last season and looked A grade but he probably over all is a B- over his career. He reminds me of Mason Wood who can play A grade footy in patches.

King obviously if he ever gets fit. Macrae and Marshall have both been A grade but probably not going get back there now with others pushing up underneath.
I think Hall's glimpses have been more impressive than Higgins' best moments but consistency is ultimately what makes a player and 46 goals in a szn by a small forward in a non-finals team is amongst the best in the comp

The article was focused on proven quality rather than potential so although I agree with your points on TDK & Flanders it makes sense why they were left out. I'm still not the biggest fan of Windy - I think his ceiling is just a solid midfield enabler - but hopefully his output can eventually match his work ethic

I'm basing my judgement of JSOS purely on his performances in defence which were ELITE elite. Not too fussed about what he did as a fwd or as a ruck bc that's not where he will play next yr

Hopefully next yr our A-grade list is something like NWM, Sincs, Wilkie, Hall, King, TDK, JSOS, Higgins. Pou, Wilson B grade. Trav Tauru Box Garcia on the brink of breaking out. Sounds realistic theoretically and would be super handy

It’s a fair take, but the degree of difficulty of being a stay at home Small forward I don’t think a lot of people realise it’s the hardest gig in the AFL, Higgins consistency over a period of years makes him a better player when you line them both up (Hall has a very big upside)anyone who can continues to improve their goal kicking year after year with scoreboard impact deserves to be in the conversation of one of the best small forwards in the AFL and then to say Hall is a better player (which I respect your opinion)says once again how underrated Jack Higgins is!

Re Trav. I see why people have their concerns but also I think we see what we want to see. The expectations these days is if you don’t light it up year one … it’s over. Expectation for high draft picks is even more exaggerated.

Trav is still picking up the pace.

It took Pou , Windy 2-3 years before really getting used to the speed. It takes time. Imo despite the number of senior games he played he basically had no continuity often being the sub or having low TOG. Sure he made mistakes. Look to his VFL form.

He has elite SERIOUDLY elite handballing.
His marking is above average for his size.
He will learn to use his run and carry and he developed his midfield game.

That’s before you account for competitiveness and attitude which is second to none.

Let’s just give him
A chance pls.
I haven’t been following along. Are people actually worrying about Trav after one year in the system?

We have been killing it in the draft. What makes people think Trav will be any different?

Keep backing in our coaching group to get the best of our players and trust the process.

After our trade period this season I have become fully emotionally invested again. Since Ross arrived I decided to sit back and trust the process.

They haven’t given me any reason not to trust the club and I will keep believing that until otherwise.

I haven’t been following along. Are people actually worrying about Trav after one year in the system?

We have been killing it in the draft. What makes people think Trav will be any different?

Keep backing in our coaching group to get the best of our players and trust the process.

After our trade period this season I have become fully emotionally invested again. Since Ross arrived I decided to sit back and trust the process.

They haven’t given me any reason not to trust the club and I will keep believing that until otherwise.
I see Trav’s development to be similar to Goddard’s.

He may take a little bit longer to grow into his frame and reach his potential but he could be one of the best of a very good bunch.

Patience grasshoppers!

I think Hall's glimpses have been more impressive than Higgins' best moments but consistency is ultimately what makes a player and 46 goals in a szn by a small forward in a non-finals team is amongst the best in the comp

The article was focused on proven quality rather than potential so although I agree with your points on TDK & Flanders it makes sense why they were left out. I'm still not the biggest fan of Windy - I think his ceiling is just a solid midfield enabler - but hopefully his output can eventually match his work ethic

I'm basing my judgement of JSOS purely on his performances in defence which were ELITE elite. Not too fussed about what he did as a fwd or as a ruck bc that's not where he will play next yr

Hopefully next yr our A-grade list is something like NWM, Sincs, Wilkie, Hall, King, TDK, JSOS, Higgins. Pou, Wilson B grade. Trav Tauru Box Garcia on the brink of breaking out. Sounds realistic theoretically and would be super handy

Hall had Higgins covered for everything apart from goals where he averages 1 goal a game to Higgo's 2. Playing as a high half forward and must have been extremely high for setting up goals, inside 50s and general score assists.

I think Hall would be close to the best high half forward in footy or at least in the conversation. When he went into the centre he looked a class above too.

Garcia looks very likely to step up quickly as does Wilson. Owens and Windhager are both at the right age and experience to move fast into a higher bracket.

It’s a fair take, but the degree of difficulty of being a stay at home Small forward I don’t think a lot of people realise it’s the hardest gig in the AFL, Higgins consistency over a period of years makes him a better player when you line them both up (Hall has a very big upside)anyone who can continues to improve their goal kicking year after year with scoreboard impact deserves to be in the conversation of one of the best small forwards in the AFL and then to say Hall is a better player (which I respect your opinion)says once again how underrated Jack Higgins is!

High HF is probably even harder, we haven't had someone to kick inside 50 for years. Hall has so many tricks and ways to stay effective in game. Probably spends more time on ball next season and has the potential to be elite IMO.

And I love Higgo but probably have him as a B+

Hi All, speaking with someone this morning who was VERY confident JSOS has reinjured his groin and could miss several months. Hope this is wrong, so for any of those track watchers would be keen to know if there’s any truth to this.
Looks like my mail was pretty good sadly, hope JSOS is ok. I know it’s only early December, but recurring injuries aren’t great.

Hall had Higgins covered for everything apart from goals where he averages 1 goal a game to Higgo's 2. Playing as a high half forward and must have been extremely high for setting up goals, inside 50s and general score assists.

I think Hall would be close to the best high half forward in footy or at least in the conversation. When he went into the centre he looked a class above too.

Garcia looks very likely to step up quickly as does Wilson. Owens and Windhager are both at the right age and experience to move fast into a higher bracket.
Hall was awesome but he’s only done it for one season as a mature ager. We need a bigger sample size to put him above Higgins who has been doing this for years now IMO.

A few Carlscum mates of mine are trying to hang crap on JSOS's groin issue ... saying they are shot .... but I think its more sour grapes from their side .... here's hoping anyway

Also on the subject of Walsh ... I have held this back however I had a direct conversation with him a month or so back and mentioned to him about coming to the Saints at thr end of next year ... his reaction was a bit of nervous laugh and followed by .... nah nah I am with the Blues ..... he then mentioned that his best mate was with the Saints (Dow) and I said that gave him even more reason to switch across ... cue .... another nervous laugh .... seriously I got the feeling that he is probably likely to stay at the Blues as he could be line to get big pay day out of them with a few gone now and that they will have cap space ... very nice guy was more than happy to have a chat and ask questions back my way.

If our young midfield come on this year then there will be no need for an aging / injury prone Walsh and we would be better off chasing some x-factor like the B Bear

The Trav discussion is interesting. I think the fact that he generally looks a bit untidy makes it harder to warm to him. His arms flap about a lot and his kicking can let him down at times . Has a lot of good traits though and I think he will play a lot of games.

I remember it took me a very long time to warm to Jarryn Geary - and I wasn’t alone. But ultimately he became a club captain late in his career through sheer determination and work rate. I can see a lot of similarities in Trav.

Trav for me tracks like a right footed Gilbert .... hard at it ... runs straight lines ... good above the head with those longish arms ..... but a messy kick and tends to go long ..... lots of 1%ers and can win own ball

Gilbert never transitioned to play mid but was a solid intercepting half back and could sneak forward occasionally and snag a goal

Just need to keep Trav away from mature looking school girls

His marking is very good too. As is his closing speed to spoil or mark where he gets to contests that many cannot.

But yes needs agree that he needs to work on his kicking both in terms of where he kicks it. As well as how how kicks it.
it's almost as if he'd be better utilised forward, where he only has one thing to aim at, rather than turning it over crabbing it on the defensive 50.. but hey what do I know

Training Saints preseason 2026