Training 2026 Pre Season & Training Reports

Imagine melting over the unconfirmed positional change of a 20 gamer moving 35meters up the field, in the middle of December....
Yes, the club have proven themselves to be ultra reliable with such matters and have never caused aspersions to be cast on their judgement. That's why we sit at the mighty heights of.... 16th with a slow midget once again apparently assigned to the main distribution role. Thanks for clearing that up mate
Yeah, this^

Imagine trusting the club to make the right positional changes based on the best interest of our younger players over underperforming senior players brought in on big contracts...

Plenty on here really need to check out and take a break.

Stop giving a shit about whats happening week to week in pre season.

It literally counts for nothing.

We play the Pies in Ballarat in 4 months time or so. Judge the muppets then.

Everything else between now and then is bullshit. The video and interviews and quote grabs and all of it.

Bugger that s**t I’m panicking. Now I haven’t read every post or every page, and only trying to connect dots as to who everyone is talking about. But are we really trialling Caleb Daniel’s as the second ruck?

F*** me this club is going backwards. I wasn’t on the ‘game has gone past Clarko’ gang, but I think I am now. What is going on.

And why isn’t Comben forward over pre-season. We drafted him as a forward.

Media isn't under the soft cap, so we're at a financial disadvantage with it across the board - I don't know but it's probably 10% of someone's role or a passion project for someone to make the videos. Unlikely we'll reach Richmond/Blues/Collingwood heights with it but none the less I agree we need to be pushing and differentiating. Would think there's opportunity for a more grass roots influencer type approach to it at low cost - can't be approaching things like big revenue teams when we simply will never be one.
Reckon this is the go, they will never have the money of other clubs to invest in this. Getting passionate supporters on board and involved where they don't necessarily need to pay them but those supporters might be able to monetise some of the off shoots might be workable.

I suspect this is what the club is actually doing with people like Marnie Cohen and possibly a few of the Roo based podcasters who seems to have good access to players and officials. Marnie posts really good content on her own site which benefits the club as well.

I don't get the hyperdefensiveness of the media team.

They probably are underresourced but the output is pretty lean, to put it diplomatically.

The draftee highlights were about 40 seconds and left you scratching your head why we drafted them. You had to go to excellent content from channels like noobermensch excellent https://youtube.com/@footystuffyt?si=UVgEHPmuBR1bJg9v to see properly constructed vision of our new players.
Agree. I still think the media team can lift their game and produce more content and longer videos.
Heath and Rob just did a very good job. It wouldn't surprise me if we lost some staff due to the overly negative feedback they probably received the last 6 years, but whoever is there should still able to produce videos for both teams.
If it's about costs, you could outsource it with some NMFC social media and youtube fan channels to do videos.
The Tigers recruiter Rhys Gieschen went on the Tigerscast channel before and after the national draft for example.

Plenty on here really need to check out and take a break.

Stop giving a shit about whats happening week to week in pre season.

It literally counts for nothing.

We play the Pies in Ballarat in 4 months time or so. Judge the muppets then.

Everything else between now and then is bullshit. The video and interviews and quote grabs and all of it.
But I like the bulls**t 🥺

We do need our wings to do a better job of pushing back defensively and actually being useful.

Stephens pushes back but can't impact much, physically.
Scott was our most recent best. The new rules probably need four wings just to keep up

We do need our wings to do a better job of pushing back defensively and actually being useful.

Stephens pushes back but can't impact much, physically.
All works in tandem with half forwards.

Cam mooney on Sen was saying half forwards and small forwards do the most running on the ground now to chop up space, defend and then create on transition.

Understandable why we’ve targeted a few more running types

I don't get the hyperdefensiveness of the media team.

They probably are underresourced but the output is pretty lean, to put it diplomatically.

The draftee highlights were about 40 seconds and left you scratching your head why we drafted them. You had to go to excellent content from channels like noobermensch excellent https://youtube.com/@footystuffyt?si=UVgEHPmuBR1bJg9v to see properly constructed vision of our new players.
Just to branch off this - I'd highly recommend everyone check out the GC Suns IG and follow along.

They are doing some amazing stuff in terms of output of media over their pre-season. I'm enjoying following along just as a footy fan.

Just to branch off this - I'd highly recommend everyone check out the GC Suns IG and follow along.

They are doing some amazing stuff in terms of output of media over their pre-season. I'm enjoying following along just as a footy fan.

The upside: they put out great material.

The downside: it's about the GC Suns. Probably not peaking my interest overly.

Getting parking at Ballarat is a bitch, I can see it now 35 degrees driving an hour and a half, walking 6ks just to get in the ground ( if it’s not full) and cooking on the outer, that’s what I remember about Ballarat that time of year.

Looking forward to it 😳

Getting parking at Ballarat is a bitch, I can see it now 35 degrees driving an hour and a half, walking 6ks just to get in the ground ( if it’s not full) and cooking on the outer, that’s what I remember about Ballarat what time of year.

Looking forward to it 😳

Just watch it at home mate

Agreed.

It's such a pity the central oval wasn't workable. A train ride and 15min stroll to a game, maybe a beer or two on the way there or back would be noice. (Much better for the local community / small businesses as well than a ground in the boonies).

Getting parking at Ballarat is a bitch, I can see it now 35 degrees driving an hour and a half, walking 6ks just to get in the ground ( if it’s not full) and cooking on the outer, that’s what I remember about Ballarat what time of year.

Looking forward to it 😳

I remember a similar feeling when we played the Pies in Wagga Wagga a few years back, not fun. Would do it again though.

40 Degrees that day, not great for anything. Took my shade shelter early and some AFL bloke said “ you can’t bring that in”. I said GAGF and kept walking. Spent the next 3 hrs at the pub and back in time for the bounce. 🍺🍺

Training 2026 Pre Season & Training Reports