Training Preseason Training Thread - 2026

The below is the OG faux training report from nearly 9 years ago - often imitated but never surpassed

In the absence of Keys I went down for a trundle this morning to check them out on return. Just a few random notes I took down...

• A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
  • Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2017.
  • Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
  • Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
  • Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
  • Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
  • Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.
  • Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
  • What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2017. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
  • Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
  • Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
  • There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
  • Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
  • No sign of Cole, Parto or Hill. Couldn't tell you why.

Will upload pics later if I have time. Let me know if you have any questions!

You might wonder why I’ve put this up and stickied it

Because this is the standard all copies should be measured against and it’s a reminder of how high the bar was set

And to hopefully discourage sequels.

If you want to have a crack in my absence, go ahead but if it doesn’t equal the standard set (as judged by me), then expect

• A one week threadban for a first offence
• A two week threadban for a second offence
• A one year threadban for a third offence

Actual training reports, minus discussion, can become found here:

You asked you got it.. Suma has made an appearance and Harley is already looking unfit as cooper Connelly looked in better nick in a photo and the first Harley is leaving at the end of 2026 prediction.

Oh wow i had to listen.

SO he a photo of Connolly and Harley in Big Bash tops... he can somehow tell Connolly is fitter?

Jako & Suma both known idiots, we move on. Duursma and CDT both clearly at least in consideration for an early season call up.

Love how Jako is like if they don’t get picked he’s justified in saying they aren’t physically developed enough and if they do we’ve got bigger problems in calling them up before they are ready. Either way he finds a reason to stick the boot in - flog

'I've been down to training and the size of those guys and how they look, they look miles off, or West Coast are in a deeper hole than I thought'
What a stupid comment, seems misinformed really. There's a range of other new players available, not just the top 2 picks, let alone growth/improvement from last season's players. Just dumb, but no surprise.

Are they driving back to vic? Ending training 9 days before chrissy is a bit too much
Tomorrow is the last day teams are allowed to train under the CBA based on previous posts in here. Sounds like they went absolutely ballistic on Monday for one last massive session in the heat, so they’re probably done for the year.

Are they driving back to vic? Ending training 9 days before chrissy is a bit too much

Tomorrow is the last day teams are allowed to train under the CBA based on previous posts in here. Sounds like they went absolutely ballistic on Monday for one last massive session in the heat, so they’re probably done for the year.

The CBA stipulates a mandatory 3 week break over Christmas/New Year

Whether it was today or Monday they finished for the year is less important than when they return. The first Wednesday in January is 7/1 so you’d expect/hope they are back then or Friday (9/1) at the latest

FWIW, the next open training session on the website is January 14

Jako & Suma both known idiots, we move on. Duursma and CDT both clearly at least in consideration for an early season call up.

Love how Jako is like if they don’t get picked he’s justified in saying they aren’t physically developed enough and if they do we’ve got bigger problems in calling them up before they are ready. Either way he finds a reason to stick the boot in - flog
If those guys picked a side based on how players looked physically that team probably wouldn't win a game. They haven't moved on from what footy was like 30 years ago. Players now are a lot more lean and there's more focus on burst speed and endurance running, neither of which require the ability to bench press a house.

You asked you got it.. Suma has made an appearance and Harley is already looking unfit as cooper Connelly looked in better nick in a photo and the first Harley is leaving at the end of 2026 prediction.

**** me Suma is a big dumb oaf. Jacko nipping at his heels for a spot on the flog podium too.

Even if they are both just earning a living, I find making a career post-footy out of pot-shotting the club that you bled for to be a contemptible choice. There are plenty of things you can do post-football that actually help young players, lift them up and support them. This is doing the opposite.

Wow, so if that's it then I might have to go and have some updates on the main board with the Richmond and North are way ahead of eagles and Sheezel and Wardlaw are better than Reid threads.
Makes for some funny reading.
You could also treat yourself to Richmond medical reports being the main news article on afl.com.au, if you like.

Was listening to 6PR Wide World of Sport tonight with Mark Readings and Jako was on tonight and he doesn't seem to think either CDT or Duursma will play round 1. 'I've been down to training and the size of those guys and how they look, they look miles off, or West Coast are in a deeper hole than I thought'

Is Jako turning into the new Summa or something? The f*ck?

Presumably we didn't pick CDT and Duursma to play rd 1.

I for one, wouldn't be super disappointed if they only get a couple of AFL games each next year provided that they are super competitive at WAFL level, develop and help lead our Beagles into playing finals.

Same goes for all our newbies drafted.

Missing No Brain GIF by CyberKongz Official

Sums up those two knuckleheads

**** me Suma is a big dumb oaf. Jacko nipping at his heels for a spot on the flog podium too.

Even if they are both just earning a living, I find making a career post-footy out of pot-shotting the club that you bled for to be a contemptible choice. There are plenty of things you can do post-football that actually help young players, lift them up and support them. This is doing the opposite.
It's always surprising to me that anyone listens to either and/or takes them seriously.

Its interesting in a recent back chat ep schofield said harley seems to have outgrown his teenageness, The acne is gone voice is deeper, he is more muscular. Id noticed he's also had an attitude change and is talking about becoming a future leader

There's such a Nick Daicos stereotype that's expected of top draftees - bloke is the most uninteresting, boring android, I literally cannot imagine the guy would have any tastes in music, food, fun in general.

Then others who aren't robots but have the talent to be in the spotlight have to play the role or they'll get 100 dumb articles about them.

Have actually found it really refreshing that Harley's come in and been an actual teenager. Kudos to him after all the Vic media air strikes that have been launched. Will make it all the sweeter when he's dominating.

Agree with you he's growing out of it but he's still only 20 and probably more professional than I am in my late 20s. Will be totally fine with him taking his time in developing all the positive Daicos traits if it means he retains more of the positive Harley traits - think that'll give him a higher peak when he's 25-27 and make him a way more inspiring player to run out alongside.

(Not saying this to disagree with you, just my thoughts on the balance. Nice to see he's trending upwards but still don't care about him winning any time trials).

There's such a Nick Daicos stereotype that's expected of top draftees - bloke is the most uninteresting, boring android, I literally cannot imagine the guy would have any tastes in music, food, fun in general.

Then others who aren't robots but have the talent to be in the spotlight have to play the role or they'll get 100 dumb articles about them.

Have actually found it really refreshing that Harley's come in and been an actual teenager. Kudos to him after all the Vic media air strikes that have been launched. Will make it all the sweeter when he's dominating.

Agree with you he's growing out of it but he's still only 20 and probably more professional than I am in my late 20s. Will be totally fine with him taking his time in developing all the positive Daicos traits if it means he retains more of the positive Harley traits - think that'll give him a higher peak when he's 25-27 and make him a way more inspiring player to run out alongside.

(Not saying this to disagree with you, just my thoughts on the balance. Nice to see he's trending upwards but still don't care about him winning any time trials).
I know what you mean, compare 18 y.o harley to willem and its polar opposites. some kids just take a while

Was listening to 6PR Wide World of Sport tonight with Mark Readings and Jako was on tonight and he doesn't seem to think either CDT or Duursma will play round 1. 'I've been down to training and the size of those guys and how they look, they look miles off, or West Coast are in a deeper hole than I thought'

Is Jako turning into the new Summa or something? The f*ck?

ok so if either of them play in round 1 i assume Jako will get on the radio and admit he got it wrong, right?

Training Preseason Training Thread - 2026