Best small forwards to play the game?

PowerfulPies2023

Oct 5, 2023
In my time Phil Matera and Mark Le Cras are some of the best. Brett Allison and Lindsay Thomas from North. Milne from the Saints and Farmer from Freo and Melbourne. Darren Jarman from hawks and Crows. Nick Davis was useful.

Who else?

Nathan Brown
Mercuri
Bewick
Daicos smallish at least to me back then lol. 6ft not so small.

In my time it's Milne, Betts clearly top 2.

After that Farmer was good but really peaked at the Dees before being only 'above average' at the Dockers.

Phil Matera in his heyday was also elite but from my memory really struggled with a good opponent and in finals.

These guys were pure small forwards - didn't play anywhere else unlike some others i.e. Daicos

Charlie Cameron

Toby Greene has been pretty handy in recent times

Betts hands down the best small forward ever, his 2017 season is the highest peak of a small forward I’ve ever seen. He kicked 75 goals in that season alone, he fulfilled both the eye test and stats test, ridiculous footballer and to think he came from the rookie draft as well.

Cyril Rioli is another one that is very special and didn’t need a lot of disposals to hurt you, I think Pickett, Cameron, Greene (top 3 ever) and Rankine in todays game are very special and will be considered all time greats. Really like Zac Bailey too. Oh I’ve forgotten Luke Breust, he’s in my top 3 ever.

I didn’t get to see the likes of Milne, Farmer, Bewick, but seeing highlights of their games you could easily see how they would standout in todays games.

Betts hands down the best small forward ever, his 2017 season is the highest peak of a small forward I’ve ever seen. He kicked 75 goals in that season alone, he fulfilled both the eye test and stats test, ridiculous footballer and to think he came from the rookie draft as well.

Cyril Rioli is another one that is very special and didn’t need a lot of disposals to hurt you, I think Pickett, Cameron, Greene (top 3 ever) and Rankine in todays game are very special and will be considered all time greats. Really like Zac Bailey too. Oh I’ve forgotten Luke Breust, he’s in my top 3 ever.

I didn’t get to see the likes of Milne, Farmer, Bewick, but seeing highlights of their games you could easily see how they would standout in todays games.
Good post. How I forgot Breust I'll never know seeing as though I was thinking how good he was before.

is this just another last twenty years poll again? Or is it since AFL started in 1990? or is it all time?

Last 20 years: Betts probably but Cyril had to be close
Since 1990: Daicos Snr......wetting oneself over Betts kicking 75 in a season, Daicos got 97 in a Premiership year.
All time: He wins just about everything.....Lethal. 9th most goals of all time....as a 5'9" player! Led the Hawks goalkicking heaps of times.

is this just another last twenty years poll again? Or is it since AFL started in 1990? or is it all time?

Last 20 years: Betts probably but Cyril had to be close
Since 1990: Daicos Snr......wetting oneself over Betts kicking 75 in a season, Daicos got 97 in a Premiership year.
All time: He wins just about everything.....Lethal. 9th most goals of all time....as a 5'9" player! Led the Hawks goalkicking heaps of times.
As purely a small forward, not factoring in the work up the the ground by the more midfield hybrid types, I’d throw Jack Titus in as a contender for all time best.
5’8 tall and only 66kg. Kicked 970 goals - 7th all time.

If lethal is all time number one (which I can see the solid argument for obviously) then there’s a strong argument for Kevin Bartlett to be right near the top of the list also.
778 goals - 15th all time and smaller than lethal. He ripped finals series’ apart, kicking bags.

D Jarman
E betts
T Greene
Farmer
Daicos
Cameron
Rankine
Brown
Bartlett
Matthews
Matera
Milne
Burns
Elliot
B Pearce
Le cras
Bewick
R gray
Williams
Allison
Mercuri
Bruce lidner
O laughlin
Hudson

Every team has one sooner or later, they clearly need to know how to finish and these guys do that

Andy Krakouer (R.I.P), was so naturally gifted and talented and Matthew Richardson said he was the best pack crumber he played with and one of the best pack crumbers he had seen. Not quick in terms of leg speed but quick around goal, he hardly went to ground and his ball handling skills were awesome - almost like picking the ball off the ground like there was a handle on the ball and he was hanging onto the handle plus his reading of the ball off the packs was a joy to watch. He loved selling the candy too and was very good at it.

Other great small forwards that come to mind initially: Eddie Betts, Stephen Milne, Jeff Farmer, Phil Matera, Leon Davis and Cyril Rioli.

If you have a small forward averaging at least 1 goal per game then they are doing their job - it's not an easy position to play but when they are up and running they can add an extra level of scoreboard pressure which is an added nightmare for opposition teams.

There are more names of course too. Plus, a shout out to Jamie Elliot who has had a pretty consistent year despite having a lot of injuries, it was great to see him have an outstanding 2025 season.

D Jarman
E betts
T Greene
Farmer
Daicos
Cameron
Rankine
Brown
Bartlett
Matthews
Matera
Milne
Burns
Elliot
B Pearce
Le cras
Bewick
R gray
Williams
Allison
Mercuri
Bruce lidner
O laughlin
Hudson

Every team has one sooner or later, they clearly need to know how to finish and these guys do that
I suppose this is an intentional Cyril Rioli troll, but even so it’s a bit sad.

Averaged 1.5 goals, 1 goal assist, and 4.5 tackles per game. 4xpremiership player and Norm Smith winner. One of the greatest natural talents the game will ever see, and a fantastic team player who took defensive pressure to new heights.

I suppose this is an intentional Cyril Rioli troll, but even so it’s a bit sad.

Averaged 1.5 goals, 1 goal assist, and 4.5 tackles per game. 4xpremiership player and Norm Smith winner. One of the greatest natural talents the game will ever see, and a fantastic team player who took defensive pressure to new heights.
Just reckon Jarman and Matthew’s were better than Rioli

Yep agreed, Krak was super special...such a pity his star shone so briefly.

At Collingwood it shone briefly and he was delisted too early. But he played more at Richmond, just a shame that he played in a period at Richmond that struggled - lack of finals footy.

Andy Krakouer (R.I.P), was so naturally gifted and talented and Matthew Richardson said he was the best pack crumber he played with and one of the best pack crumbers he had seen. Not quick in terms of leg speed but quick around goal, he hardly went to ground and his ball handling skills were awesome - almost like picking the ball off the ground like there was a handle on the ball and he was hanging onto the handle plus his reading of the ball off the packs was a joy to watch. He loved selling the candy too and was very good at it.

Other great small forwards that come to mind initially: Eddie Betts, Stephen Milne, Jeff Farmer, Phil Matera, Leon Davis and Cyril Rioli.

If you have a small forward averaging at least 1 goal per game then they are doing their job - it's not an easy position to play but when they are up and running they can add an extra level of scoreboard pressure which is an added nightmare for opposition teams.

There are more names of course too. Plus, a shout out to Jamie Elliot who has had a pretty consistent year despite having a lot of injuries, it was great to see him have an outstanding 2025 season.

One for the Richmond supporters:

....and one for the Collingwood supporters:

In my time Phil Matera and Mark Les Cras are some of the best. Brett Allison and Lindsay Thomas from North. Milne from the Saints and Farmer from Freo and Melbourne. Darren Jarman from hawks and Crows. Nick Davis was useful.

Who else?

What AFL rules got altered because of old mate Lindsay? I think there were at least 2 - 3.

In my time it's Milne, Betts clearly top 2.

After that Farmer was good but really peaked at the Dees before being only 'above average' at the Dockers.

Phil Matera in his heyday was also elite but from my memory really struggled with a good opponent and in finals.

These guys were pure small forwards - didn't play anywhere else unlike some others i.e. Daicos
I didn't mind Jeff the wizard Farmer at the dockers.

But to say he was "above average", Well.... I disagree. He was inconsistent which I will agree with.

Still remember his 2nd half of that 2006 season. We won 9 in a row late in that season we went from 6 wins and 7 losses mid table to 15 wins and 7 losses ending up 3rd

Jeff Farmer kicked like 34 goals in that 9 games winning streak. Kicked 55 goals that season

Best small forwards to play the game?