CARLTON SALARY CAP

Many other players like Callaghan turned down big offers from StK.
This is the point that so many SOS obsessed Carlton supporters don't seem to get.
They think SOS targeted Carlton players out some sense of revenge...
He targeted Carlton players because that's the only club that a club that hasn't impacted finals in any meaningful way for 15 years can extract good players from.
It would be a worry for most supporter bases, but not one that lives in the delusion that they "balanced" their list by losing some of its best players and replacing them with role players and the promise of draftees.

Who said you were wrong?
Context isn't argument.
Context had nothing to do with it though, it might help the Saints this coming season and it might not.

That is the difference between modern day AFL Carlton and VFL powerhouse Carlton.

VFL powerhouse Carlton would offer big $$ to attract star players to come play for them with the expectation they would continue to be successful.

I am not sure how that works in TDK’s case.

Many other players like Callaghan turned down big offers from StK.

Different people do different things. I am beyond shocked.

Context had nothing to do with it though, it might help the Saints this coming season and it might not.
Drafting players well for the past four seasons has undoubtedly helped St Kilda. Recruiting players from other clubs who are better than those that played in our starting 18 in 2025 will definitely help St Kilda.
Better players make better football teams.

And this all happened while we won the same number of games as Carlton in 2025.
That's the context.

This is the point that so many SOS obsessed Carlton supporters don't seem to get.
They think SOS targeted Carlton players out some sense of revenge...
He targeted Carlton players because that's the only club that a club that hasn't impacted finals in any meaningful way for 15 years can extract good players from.
It would be a worry for most supporter bases, but not one that lives in the delusion that they "balanced" their list by losing some of its best players and replacing them with role players and the promise of draftees.
Not a worry at all, enjoy Silvagnis 10 games a year and DeKoning isn't even the best ruckmen at St Kilda and the 3 role players we brought in have all played over 180 games, I'll take that anyday.

Drafting players well for the past four seasons has undoubtedly helped St Kilda. Recruiting players from other clubs who are better than those that played in our starting 18 in 2025 will definitely help St Kilda.
Better players make better football teams.

And this all happened while we won the same number of games as Carlton in 2025.
That's the context.
The ladder is context mate simple as that, we finished ahead of you and did so the 3 years prior.

Not a worry at all, enjoy Silvagnis 10 games a year and DeKoning isn't even the best ruckmen at St Kilda and the 3 role players we brought in have all played over 180 games, I'll take that anyday.
Players usually improve a heap from game 181 onwards so the trajectory should be awesome from the three of them. Upwards and onwards.
And, while your concerns for St Kilda are touching you should probably spend some time pondering how players you don't rate, who've joined a club you don't rate both finished top ten in your b&f. What does that tell you?

I am not sure how that works in TDK’s case.
That is the point, modern day AFL Carlton are not a successful club.
Different people do different things. I am beyond shocked.
Yep, some players take unders to stay at a club in the hope they will have future success.

Players usually improve a heap from game 181 onwards so the trajectory should be awesome from the three of them. Upwards and onwards.
And, while your concerns for St Kilda are touching you should probably spend some time pondering how players you don't rate, who've joined a club you don't rate both finished top ten in your b&f. What does that tell you?
You do realise Jack Sivagni is only a role player and is 28 years old as well?

Okay. Don't understand the word "context". No worries, English can be hard if you don't grow up with it.
You're all over the place mate, my original post was Carlton have been better than St Kilda the last four years and you've tried to take it everywhere so just move on.

I already agreed you were right.
It's not "all over the place" to put context around last seasons results. It just conversation. Don't engage if you can't do it.

That is the point, modern day AFL Carlton are not a successful club.

Yep, some players take unders to stay at a club in the hope they will have future success.

I am not sure using a 22 year old as an example is proving anything. Callaghan has four years at $1 million to go with GWS.

Clubs will be falling over themselves to sign him as a FA at the end of 2029 for close to $2 million a year when the salary cap continues to increase. Player and manager did the right thing.

TDK is 26 and was a FA for the last time. Both players situations were different.

I already agreed you were right.
It's not "all over the place" to put context around last seasons results. It just conversation. Don't engage if you can't do it.
You best not engage when a post offends you mate even when the facts are right, things might change next season and that will be another matter but don't get narky and sook it up.

Offends? Narky? Sook?
I said you were right. And provided context around the state of the lists that produced the results.
I'm beginning to see how Collingwood supporters play you off a break every morning.

I am not sure using a 22 year old as an example is proving anything. Callaghan has four years at $1 million to go with GWS.

Clubs will be falling over themselves to sign him as a FA at the end of 2029 for close to $2 million a year when the salary cap continues to increase. Player and manager did the right thing.

TDK is 26 and was a FA for the last time. Both players situations were different.
StKilda also unsuccessfully pursued DeGoey, LDU with big contract offers.

Back in VFL era, it was Carlton who would seek out and attract talent with big $$ offers.

Offends? Narky? Sook?
I said you were right. And provided context around the state of the lists that produced the results.
I'm beginning to see how Collingwood supporters play you off a break every morning.
Why did you feel the need to give me context of the lists? My statement was about the last 4 years not the next 4.

Screenshot_20260104_173421_DuckDuckGo.jpg
The first post addresses the last four years. Then there's this thing called conversation, where people expand on an idea or provide what they perceive to be reasoning around the idea.
You've already received the pat on the head for being "correct" and nobody disputed your statement.
But you're carrying on as if people did.
I think it's a You problem.

The proof is still there mate, Carlton was better than St Kilda the last 4 years i don't give a stuff about your young talent or the ex Carlton players that's another conversation, fact is you didn't like what i said and tried to take my post somewhere else.

"Somewhere else" "didn't like what I said"
Jeez. Nobody argued your fact.
I hope you reveled in the last four years of finishing above the 2022-2025 St Kilda juggernaut. 🤣

StKilda also unsuccessfully pursued DeGoey, LDU with big contract offers.

Back in VFL era, it was Carlton who would seek out and attract talent with big $$ offers.

And both players were either on very similar money to what St Kilda offered (JDG) or about to get a huge contract at his original club ($1.3 million a year - LDU).

JDG won a flag with Collingwood and North have a good young list. I can see why both players rejected St Kilda’s advances.

TDK has instantly just become a top 2 highest paid player in the competition. It’s not surprising he chose the money and good on him.

And both players were either on very similar money to what St Kilda offered (JDG) or about to get a huge contract at his original club ($1.3 million a year - LDU).

JDG won a flag with Collingwood and North have a good young list. I can see why both players rejected St Kilda’s advances.

TDK has instantly just become a top 2 highest paid player in the competition. It’s not surprising he chose the money and good on him.
Correct, no reason for TDK to stay at Carlton.