Training Preseason Training Thread - 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

The below is the OG faux training report from nearly 9 years ago - often imitated but never surpassed

In the absence of Keys I went down for a trundle this morning to check them out on return. Just a few random notes I took down...

• A lot of running work again, clearly a focus even in the heat.
  • Duggan looked on and was hitting targets left and right. Set for a huge 2017.
  • Giles went up against Vardy in the ruck contests and I'd say that Giles has the inside running at the moment.
  • Mitchell looked a class above the other midfielders bar Priddis. Just knew how to find the footy and wouldn't miss a target all session. Shuey was very quiet and seemed to be taking direction from Mitchell. Doesn't bode well for his captaincy credentials, maybe he doesn't want the gig?
  • Won't say too much about it in case I was just reading too much into it, but Rioli looked as though he'd enjoyed the Christmas break a bit too much. A few of the coaches pulled him aside and they were having quite an animated conversation before Rioli was sent to do laps for the rest of the session. Good news for Le Cras, I suppose.
  • Sheed kicked on his right foot for 80% of the session, I reckon. Nice to see players working on their non-preferred so readily.
  • Petrie looked like he was doing a great job 'coaching' the younger forwards in between the drills. Darling in particular seemed to be following him around.
  • Gee Venables has some skills. He mainly jogged laps before spending the last half hour or so on set shots - curled a few beauties from behind the boundary line at the end for a bit of fun. Hardly saw him miss a kick.
  • What interested me the most was that McGovern split his time between the defenders and the forwards, could be seeing a swingman role in 2017. He was his usual dominant self down back in some match simulation drills before going head-to-head with Mackenzie in a forward role.
  • Bayok is very fast - Cripps was in most of the drills with him and couldn't keep up.
  • Nelson is pale as buggery and still doesn't really have the body shape you'd expect of an AFL player.
  • There was a big bloke who pulled up next to me and I could have sworn it was Suma, but I'm sure I was wrong...
  • Masto was the player picked to kick the goal at the end today and nailed it. Celebrations were huge.
  • No sign of Cole, Parto or Hill. Couldn't tell you why.

Will upload pics later if I have time. Let me know if you have any questions!

You might wonder why I’ve put this up and stickied it

Because this is the standard all copies should be measured against and it’s a reminder of how high the bar was set

And to hopefully discourage sequels.

If you want to have a crack in my absence, go ahead but if it doesn’t equal the standard set (as judged by me), then expect

• A one week threadban for a first offence
• A two week threadban for a second offence
• A one year threadban for a third offence

Actual training reports, minus discussion, can become found here:

In the reports from last Friday’s match sim the “A” team had 3 tall forwards plus both Edward’s and Young in defence which would have left a lack of KPDs on the “B” team to cover 3 KPFs. May have been something similar today leaving a back flanker to cover talls due to lack of a better match-up

Another long session today that again was dominated by matchsim work with three separate blocks separated by some skill drills. The third and final period of matchsim wound up about 11.30 and was capped off by a 15-20min block of repeat sprints for just under 30 players. As usual I don’t know what time they actually started but the first matchsim started as I arrived at 9.40

The first year players didn’t compete in the final third or matchsim nor did any of them do the final running block

For the first time this preseason some of the WAFL topups made up the numbers in matchsim with at least four taking part. Judging by the numbers worn, Darby McCarthy and Andreis Mercer were definitely two of them along with (I think) Tom Edwards-Baldwin and Tyler Mouritz- but I’m less certain on those two

Whatever, Garrison Kenh and Koby LeCras did was before I arrived as all I saw was them run a lap or two. Didn’t see them come on late in matchsim as reported by Splinters - probably because they would have been at the opposite end to where I was watching from

Players of note from today - qualified by the fact that some players are easier to identify than others which will skew my opinion/observations. (It’s not a good viewing spot and my eyesight at distance is a bit shit especially with glasses that probably need an upgrade. So I rely a bit on distance characteristics like a noticeable haircut, running style, kicking action etc with lefties slightly easier to spot. Players close to the action are especially hard to pick up clearly given the density of players around the ball)

• Waterman was dominant albeit he was being picked up by Allan at stages and Bazzo at others
• Baker I only saw running laps but he looked comfortable enough as he did so
• Yeo played a small burst through midfield in the second block of matchsim. Had an influence when he played but early isn’t at full match fitness yet as I suspect he’s on a carefully managed build towards R1. Anything we get from him this year I’ll consider a bonus and I doubt it’ll be a rebirth of 2024 Yeo
• Hewett played in the less dominant team midfield but had a strong hitout nonetheless
• Reid was again very influential and also spent significant periods as the deepest forward. If he is going to be playing down there regularly though, he needs to look for his teammates a bit more - has a tendency to take unrealistic snaps that don’t even get close. Fortunately when he plays midfield he’s more willing to look to share the ball
• Like Hewett, Kelly played for the “B” team midfield and also had a good hitout. Expect to see him in the R1 side at this stage
• Long played as a half forward and did a couple of nice things further confirming him sitting out training last Monday was precautionary/load management
• Duggan’s demise is likely to be further away than some might think. Was very attacking off HB and involved in numerous scoring/attacking chains. Conducts himself around the group the way you’d expect from a captain also
• Another solid hitout from Owies
• Graham spent more time in the midfield today and was very productive
• We might get used to the sight of Tom McCarthy having a ping at goal as he runs through the 50m arc if today was any guide. Had at least 3-4 shots as he got a the end of a scoring chain - kicked 2 and hit the post with another.
• Didn’t see Hough out there today but that could be my lack of competent eyesight
• As reported by Splinters, CDT spent some time in the ruck today. Against Flynn early but also Jack Williams who had a more extended run there today as well with Flynn playing some minutes as a forward. Looked okay in there and is firming as a R1 option imo
• Archer Reid provides a good presence up forward and took one strong contested mark in particular
• Flynn is marking quite strongly around the ground
• Also as reported, Bo Allan played as a defender - provides something unique when rebounding from defence with his pace but his 1 on 1 defending needs work (acknowledging that playing against the likes of Waterman and Harley is a big ask)
• Nice to see Tom Gross getting some decent midfield minutes and having an impact when doing so. Don’t think he played the last period of matchsim or do the end of session running so they’re still being a little conservative with his training loads
• Jack Williams looks a bit more mobile than prior years
• Shanahan took one nice mark on the lead but I think there needs to be some work building chemistry between he and Waternan as he’s going under the radar a little at the moment
• Robertson spent time on the wing today - he continues to be one player I find hard to spot so he might be having more impact that I’m noticing.
• Dewar found a lot of the ball today out of HB underlining the depth we have in that position
• Newton again pushed up into the midfield and was also a threat up forward kicking the first two goals - one from a clever crumb and the other from a mark. (He was being picked up by one of the top-ups at the time which needs to be acknowledged)

The overall standard was a step up from last Monday with more clean passages of play and speed of ball movement

And Bo takes the lead in the post-Christmas break delisting race for again not being played where someone thinks is his ideal position in a training drill.

Bit of mayo put on it and clearly not on the potential delist pile.

imo not ideal for a team with a lot of gaps to have him moved around a bit after what was a not ideal first year from injury/sickness and coach mismanagement. A long way to go to see where he fits for now an in the future.

Starcevich, Baker, Cole and (I think) Hough weren’t playing today which may well explain why Allan was being used as a defender.

Is it possible that Bo has grown since his draft year?

Also what is the current status of our KPD? We're they all out there today?

Our KPDs are Edwards, Young, Brock, Bazzo and arguably Ginbey. All are fit and all played today

With Barnett and Bailey Williams still in the rehab group it’s our KPF/ruck stocks that are a little skinny at the moment. We’ve got Waterman and Shanahan playing as the main two forwards with Flynn, Reid, J Williams and CDT rotating through the two ruck spots and other KPF spots

The overall standard was a step up from last Monday with more clean passages of play and speed of ball movement
Proud Of You Yes GIF

That was a good watch, some logistics involved. The art session was funny, Bob Ross eat your heart out!
Harley's deadpan "Who wants to see my background? You like it?" with the quiet "Lovely mate" reply from somewhere made me laugh for some reason.

And Harley's reply when asked what it depicted - "they're goalposts and that's me kicking a goal....as always!" That's one very focused midfielder!

For those who have been down to training,how is Jack Williams pre-season been tracking along?

He’s been solid without being a standout

Looks fitter and is covering the ground better than prior years

Primarily is being used as a KPF with occasional stints in the ruck. Appears to be behind Waterman and Shanahan as a stay at home forward and behind Archer Reid as second ruck

If Barnett and the other Williams can’t get themselves fit for R1 of WAFL, then Jack might find himself leading the ruck for the Beagles. More likely one, if not both, of them are ready to play which would give him a chance to press him claims as the main forward target in the WAFL

I'm just hoping we stay fit and the guys keep working hard at this point.

There are so many players who have potential and are playing for their futures this year. Would love to see a good handful take their game to the next level in 2026.

Any word on how Bazzo is looking?

He is one played I'd love to see grow and secure in a key defence position this year.

He’s been solid without being a standout

Looks fitter and is covering the ground better than prior years

Primarily is being used as a KPF with occasional stints in the ruck. Appears to be behind Waterman and Shanahan as a stay at home forward and behind Archer Reid as second ruck

If Barnett and the other Williams can’t get themselves fit for R1 of WAFL, then Jack might find himself leading the ruck for the Beagles. More likely one, if not both, of them are ready to play which would give him a chance to press him claims as the main forward target in the WAFL

Thanks Keys,i appreciate your reply,pleased to hear hes looking fitter,because last year he really was carrying a heap of weight.

Maybe could be trade bait at rhe end of the year,i do think hes a handy player,but starting to be overtaken by Reid,Shanahan etc.