2007 BigFooty Phantom Draft - November 2nd Kick Off.

U already are :p LOL

Interesting bet that one, Maric has reasons why he could slide as well. But ill back Maric to go be4 McGinnity any day of the week :D:D
Pfff...

TBH i think West Coast will select both of them with McGinnity at 20 and Maric at 22.

Heres the write up....

Pick 34 - GEELONG select - CHRIS KANGARS - 1 August 1989, 193cm,84kg. Vic Country/Geelong/Geelong Amateurs

A rangy, athletic player who has impressed as a one on one defender to date, and had a solid, if unspectacular champs. Has the added advantage of being able to play tall or small. Also a local boy which is something that always appeals to us.

Still has physical development left in him and he will need some work on his kicking and decision making, but is a player who is willing to work hard and do what it takes to make things happen. Showed steady improvent at TAC level all year, and learning the caper in the presence of some of the best rebounding defenders in the comp such as Harley, Scarlett and Milburn should give him all the help he needs to become a KP defender at this level.

Kangars sounds like Shannon Watt.

Guys - Happy to say that I am up. But I need a ruling on the DeBoer information Megladon posted before I can take my pick.

What is the ruling? In? Or OUT?

I thought this might happen yesterday (he was near the top of my list) and as no-one else has picked him...

OK. No DeBoer.

Pick 35: Western Bulldogs select Jackson Hall 187cm 76kg Gippsland Power

Tall, quick, bottom-aged, won the B&F in a good side this year. His kicking does worry me on occasion - not because he is a poor kick, but just that it seems to be either sublime or abysmal...He is a good mark, a terrific runner - a 6 foot 2 inch midfielder who I guess is the prototypical modern footballer.

As a few people have posted, he seems to have a fair bit of 'footy character' as well. Playing with Vic Country, he was a pretty good contributor across the three matches, and had a real dip when Gippsland where falling away late in the season.

I had hoped/expected to get Hall at pick 43, but with DeBoer unavailable was simply not prepared to run the chance of missing out on Hall as well.

Hehe yer,thats it mate - mocks are mocks, chance to throw some players up but absolutely not reveal your true thoughts. I'm treating this like the real business, and I rekon I've pissed a few ppl off lol but ahh well...goes both ways, espec with Essendon's picks!!

Not a bad kid is he (Whitecross) :thumbsu:

Sorry Thunderstruck. Very happy to get both Myers and Dangerfield. I thought others would be circling those two pretty keenly.

#36 Carlton Mitchell Farmer - Calder Cannons

I must say that I am amazed Mitch has fallen this far. I almost feel like I am missing something with this kid, although I don't know what it is. Perhaps his height is an issue, but at 180cm, I don't see this as a problem.

Mitchell will bring to Carlton something that we are really missing - someone that can play all over the ground. He could play that BP role, and play on guys like Davey, Farmer and Lovett, play in midfield as a run with type player, or play an offensive game in their, or play up forward, and give Eddie Betts a "chop out".

Also, he is Mr. Intensity. Gives his all, will go in and win the hard ball, and he is also a good linkman when playing through the midfield as well. I also think that he could play some AFL footy next year.

#36 Carlton Mitchell Farmer - Calder Cannons

I must say that I am amazed Mitch has fallen this far. I almost feel like I am missing something with this kid, although I don't know what it is. Perhaps his height is an issue, but at 180cm, I don't see this as a problem.

Mitchell will bring to Carlton something that we are really missing - someone that can play all over the ground. He could play that BP role, and play on guys like Davey, Farmer and Lovett, play in midfield as a run with type player, or play an offensive game in their, or play up forward, and give Eddie Betts a "chop out".

Also, he is Mr. Intensity. Gives his all, will go in and win the hard ball, and he is also a good linkman when playing through the midfield as well. I also think that he could play some AFL footy next year.
you got your man HBF, and he is a Carlton supporter so will be very happy to be picked up by the Blues and yes is the blonde dynamo for VM

Very happy to get Mitch b2010.
As I said, I just cannot understand how he slipped this far. I even asked a couple of other draft watchers if I was missing anything in relation to Mitch. I reckon i've seen Calder maybe 8 times this year, and apart from his last game or 2, when he was sick, he has been ultra impressive this year.

Very happy to get Mitch b2010.
As I said, I just cannot understand how he slipped this far. I even asked a couple of other draft watchers if I was missing anything in relation to Mitch. I reckon i've seen Calder maybe 8 times this year, and apart from his last game or 2, when he was sick, he has been ultra impressive this year.
It's not that you're missing anything - He ticks all the boxes. The problem with that is that A) it leaves little room for improvement and, B) ultimately he doesn't really excel at anything.

I'd be surprised if he fell much further, and not really all that surprised if he did go higher, but at the same time, I'm not surprised that any of the guys taken have been taken ahead of Farmer.