Season 2016

A few blow outs today with the exception of the Upwey game. Sounds like it was on at Healesville early although score line looked a bit one way traffic after qrt time. Good to see the Alex boys roll the river pigs.

Great to see how even the league is at the moment, especially div 2 where there is a 4 way tie for first. Going to be an interesting run to finals

With no dominate team in 2nd division it isn't a good sign for the team who eventually will be promoted. We have seen in the past even a team that has dominated 2nd division come up the following year and not be competitive at all and gone straight back down

Think youngatheart might not be as young as we think as the reference to "he's a gun" may warrant a visit to the optometrist. Both the Darwin boys had no impact on the game at all and if I was at Healesville I think the best part of these fly in recruits would be them flying out given the return on investment!!

Please refrain from further comments regarding any alleged incident. If you have information you would like to share, please do so through the correct channels via the league.

As this alleged incident is subject to investigations, no further comment will be accepted

Was going to ask last night if this forum was still moderated by someone. People writing whatever they like, chucking any old name out there, hiding behind names etc.

I'm still spewing on the flogs who said we sooked about the umpiring at Wandin a few weeks back. Both teams on the end of dodgy ones, same as every week. The only dissapointing things that day were that we lost, and there was one peanut in the crowd behind the goals at the top end, and he really was a peanut. I know he's been dealt with, great work by the Doggies.

It's not a free for all on here, there's bucket loads of great things to write about each week, how bout we do that and leave the gutter scraps attitude to Damian Barrett & Hutchy !!!

With no dominate team in 2nd division it isn't a good sign for the team who eventually will be promoted. We have seen in the past even a team that has dominated 2nd division come up the following year and not be competitive at all and gone straight back down
Not sure this correct, Olinda, Belgrave and Healesville are all recently promoted sides that have done well in Division 1. Emerald and Yarra Glen have both had 2 cracks at it since 2011 and have had a good try and a bad one each. There is a fair gap between the divisions, it just needs a promoted side to recruit well rather than lose more than they pick up. (which happened to both these teams in recent/current year)

2012 Belgrave didn't lose a game in second division came up and were really good

2013 Healesville also didn't lose a game and came up and were quite serviceable the following year..
Both teams were the DOMINANT team in second division in their retrospective year

However in 2014 Yarra glen didn't even finish top in second division. Lost 2 games and drew in another, and ended up winning the grand final. They then got promoted to 1st division and only won 2 games and then got relegated straight away. ( twice in 4 yrs)

2015 emerald lost 2 games in second division and we can all see where they are at now

In the last 31 games a promoted second division club are a combined 2 wins 29 losses in 1st division with that gap set to widen even more as this season nears its end.

The gap between 1st division and 2nd division is growing and this year a team will win 2nd division with the worse losing record in recent memory where's KEIKO? ( YG on top has already 4 losses)..
This is not an indication of teams in 2nd division bridging the gap on 1st division.

2012 Belgrave didn't lose a game in second division came up and were really good

2013 Healesville also didn't lose a game and came up and were quite serviceable the following year..
Both teams were the DOMINANT team in second division in their retrospective year

However in 2014 Yarra glen didn't even finish top in second division. Lost 2 games and drew in another, and ended up winning the grand final. They then got promoted to 1st division and only won 2 games and then got relegated straight away. ( twice in 4 yrs)

2015 emerald lost 2 games in second division and we can all see where they are at now

In the last 31 games a promoted second division club are a combined 2 wins 29 losses in 1st division with that gap set to widen even more as this season nears its end.

The gap between 1st division and 2nd division is growing and this year a team will win 2nd division with the worse losing record in recent memory where's KEIKO? ( YG on top has already 4 losses)..
This is not an indication of teams in 2nd division bridging the gap on 1st division.

Wow, this is the most interesting entry on this thread. Why does the happen?, There is a cancer in country footy and it's now in metro. The more you pay the more silverware you have in the cupboard. Take. ED2 last year, the semi final result, 30 goals to one. and Doncaster claim the flag with 4 ex AFL players in the spine. That's a truck. Load of chook raffles for clubs who operate on the base strings. And the points system is totally floored, cars, house payments and the old job that you don't show is yearly. No issue with lads earning a fair wage for their toil, but what happens when one club has more to give. The players move on.

Emerald haven't been terrible this year they might not have won a game but Atleast we haven't had 120 point drubbings like Yarra glen in past year

IMO there should not be any promotion/ relegation this year
Super tight div 2 most weeks there's a few surprise wins

Emerald did loose a couple of quality players over last few years
Taylor, Livermore and Simpson which didn't help
Plus a fairy young side and strong juniors they won't be far off being more competitive
Belgrave is the major worry not far off being back to where they were 2009ish

Emerald haven't been terrible this year they might not have won a game but Atleast we haven't had 120 point drubbings like Yarra glen in past year

Plus a fairy young side and strong juniors they won't be far off being more competitive

Emerald Juniors and Seniors don't get along so it's irrelevant. Terrible culture at Bomber Land.

If emerald don't win any one of their remaining games this year they will be the first team in 6 years to fail to win a game in 1st division. You think they deserve not to be relegated?

Looking back on past years spooners
I'm way off the mark ha ha
ATM emerald has a terrible % only 4% more then Yarra glen and can expect to slide a bit before end season

Say they are relegated and win another flag easily and who ever comes up will be so out Of their depth In div 1 it will be ugly
Would it be better to leave as is?

Will Thornton go again after a tough season?
Make 1st div a 9 team comp with a couple of bye rounds?

Travel wise 1st div is perfect ATM
2nd div is even and anyone's

I think ur years are out slightly...... emerald won div 2 in 2011 after losing only 1 or 2 games for the year. they went up to div 1 in 2012 and altho finished at the lower end of the ladder they actually missed both finals and relegation by 1 game. for memory we needed to win to stay up which we did, however if we had've lost and Healesville had won we would have been relegated. we won tho and were 4 pts (and prob %) out of the finals. was a super tight year.....

Don't think my years are slightly out at all

Wow, this is the most interesting entry on this thread. Why does the happen?, There is a cancer in country footy and it's now in metro. The more you pay the more silverware you have in the cupboard. Take. ED2 last year, the semi final result, 30 goals to one. and Doncaster claim the flag with 4 ex AFL players in the spine. That's a truck. Load of chook raffles for clubs who operate on the base strings. And the points system is totally floored, cars, house payments and the old job that you don't show is yearly. No issue with lads earning a fair wage for their toil, but what happens when one club has more to give. The players move on.

The points system will start to bite next year but will only succeed with a meaningful salary cap. Many will claim clubs will do under the table deals but if administered well through the AFL, it will only take one club and one player to get caught and clobbered for it to start to work. There will always be top sides and hopeless bottom sides, what we need is stop clubs spending unsustainable amounts and players getting paid more than they are worth. The even 2nd division gives some hope that the points system is already working as some teams are right on the limit and can't buy in any more players. At least we are now trying and have the EFL and other leagues on board. It will take a few years to find out if it will work. Hopefully our current crop of volunteers are still around to start enjoying their footy.

Well for one reason form in winning 3 of the last 5 but in them games a loss to warby and another sub par performance against another team outside the 5 in monbulk. Wandin and Healesville are the two sides

But you are right we will know more after this week where they are at. Wandin had a few 'A' graders out the last time these teams met and with the performance they dished out that day they would be looking to make amends.

after the fallout between Wandin and Healesville, Olinda have firmed in my book to take out the flag....

I don't believe the top 5 is as safe as everyone might think.
This weekend looms as a very important week for two teams in upwey & monbulk. If upwey was to lose to a inform warburton team and monbulk then inturn beats Belgrave it then sets up a mouth watering matchup the following week. monbulk v upwey at monbulk and a win to monbulk would then equal both teams on points at equal 5th on the ladder then the remaining 4 games both teams have 2 very winnable games

good call "Red Door" If Wandin beat Upwey this week and Monbulk get up, they are in the 5, I thought the 5 was safe but now I'm thinking Monbulk are in way better % as well.

Heard the same,will get his flag at Olinda this year, family ties too strong Marcus to end up back at Lilydale. Win Win...

Fantastic to see the club announce the re-signing of both Brendan Donovan (coach) and Marcus Hottes for the 2017 season already. So incredibly impressed with how both these boys operate, and two better human beings you won't meet !!!

Is that the same Marcus who was guaranteed to be going to Lilydale next year?
The very same one?

Wow.. What a reversal... Those who proclaimed him as gone must surely shoot their sources now

Sad to see Marcus stay at Olinda actually ,his Mum does an awesome job at Lilydale and the LFC have done well this season after being relegated from EFL D1 last season.

Be as sad as you want.
As far as family goes, Ron's already part of the furniture up here, and Marcus' partner Ash continues to be the best player in our netball comp IMO so no tears up this way !