Hampden Football League Season 2016

Over the pre-season people r tipping Warrnambool to go on a slide, or won't be premiership material. I know 1st round they got beaten by North by 10 goals. The week before i've witnessed that Warrnambool are still an awesome side. Gradually their side is building. When you got a forward line of Graham, Cowling and Rowan who is back to good form, they are hard to beat. With a new ruckman, great midfielders who run hard and deliver the ball well to their forwards, this team is in great form. Around the ground they love to run and spread. I just got this gut feeling that Warrnambool can win this year's premiership. I know North have been the form side this year, but it's only May, and premierships are won in September. That is when Warrnambool are at their best. It doesn't pay to underestimate nor write Warrnambool off. In case u r wondering, I don't barrack for Warrnambool either.

I
Over the pre-season people r tipping Warrnambool to go on a slide, or won't be premiership material. I know 1st round they got beaten by North by 10 goals. The week before i've witnessed that Warrnambool are still an awesome side. Gradually their side is building. When you got a forward line of Graham, Cowling and Rowan who is back to good form, they are hard to beat. With a new ruckman, great midfielders who run hard and deliver the ball well to their forwards, this team is in great form. Around the ground they love to run and spread. I just got this gut feeling that Warrnambool can win this year's premiership. I know North have been the form side this year, but it's only May, and premierships are won in September. That is when Warrnambool are at their best. It doesn't pay to underestimate nor write Warrnambool off. In case u r wondering, I don't barrack for Warrnambool either.
I agree that wbool will be by the end of the season the best side in the Comp, koroit and north will be close but koroit have a few very good quality players to come back still.
North seem to have taken another step tho this year and I think Taggert and a few solid shut down back men have really helped that. Plus their juniors are starting to get some games under their belts. Be interesting to see how they go come finals. Long way yet.
Very disappointed with port fairy! And I feel for Camperdown they could have made it a lot more interesting, but seems like the top three won't be challenged much by the rest of the Comp

wowwee we are going to get pumped this weekend! The interleague side is probably the weakest side I've seen.
Are players just not into it as much anymore or is there just not as many high quality players running around ?
Few inclusions are very questionable to. D mooney and Harrington, Mclaren looking after his own there, good players but interleague worthy?

wowwee we are going to get pumped this weekend! The interleague side is probably the weakest side I've seen.
Are players just not into it as much anymore or is there just not as many high quality players running around ?
Few inclusions are very questionable to. D mooney and Harrington, Mclaren looking after his own there, good players but interleague worthy?
On paper the forward line looked weak. If u have to get your specialist ruckmen when having a rest, to go down the forward line, that's not a good sign. I think if Warrnambool's fc best side played the hampden interleague side from the other day minus the W"bool guys (still replace them with the next best avail), Warrnambool would win. The result from last Saturday's game was still good comparing to the last time, we played the Oven's + Murray.

Yesterday I saw Koroit take on South W'bool. First half Koroit were killing Souths. Koroit are not that quick or play flashy/slick footy, there more of a side that have big bodies were they win contested footy, they work real hard were they run and spread well. They work that hard with numbers, you would think they have 2 or 3 extra guys on the field. Their disposal skills and marking are very precise, and don't make many errors. They also have a good spread of goal kickers and can kick 45-50 metre goals. With a alot of experienced players in the side they just play smart football and r well coached. That's how I see it anyway. A real solid steady workhorse side. When u got a mobile ruckman in Jeremy Hausler who wins his ruck contests, and takes a lot of grabs around the ground, it helps 2. In the second half, Souths nearly matched Koroit because they worked alot harder, rather then throw in the towel. Souths are still a promising young side, but do need more experience and bigger bodies. Still not having enough talls to kick goals. They do have pace.

How good is the evenness of this season? Really after the top 3 any of the next 7 sides can beat each other. South are 2 games clear but they only just beat second bottom side Portland by 7 points I believe and that was on their home track. It's going to be a very interesting second half of the season. Anybody want to have a stab at how it's going to finish up?

I understand what you mean but it's a bit disappointing that there are really only 3 sides competing for the gf.
The other two sides that will eventually make up the top 5 come finals will be only there to make up numbers. It would be great if we could have a change from watching koroit vs wbool. So I'd rather see north make it.
Apart from that these close games are great to watch, I just hope a few of these sides can either take the next step or recruit a few next year so we can have a bit of a mix up at the top of the ladder

Well well well.... Warrnambool and Koroit the two powerhouses of the league both knocked off on their home turf by a couple of young fast sides.
One offs do you think or are cracks beginning to show?

Well well well.... Warrnambool and Koroit the two powerhouses of the league both knocked off on their home turf by a couple of young fast sides.
One offs do you think or are cracks beginning to show?
Wbool and Koroit will be there at the business end of the season. Great to see the Tigers having another win after so many close losses this season. Lets hope they can crack on and push for the top five.

I watched North v South other day, and it occured to me why there is a gap between Souths and the top 3. South's pace is no problem. It's to do with experience and bigger bodies, what the top 3 sides have. South have go so many young promising players, but the side is not big enough. I noticed that one on one contests at ground level and in the air, North wins most of the time. Souths try hard in the contests, but they just get brushed off, as North guys are stronger. I notice North are good at taking strong marks and read the flight of the ball well. Also quite a few of them can kick goals. North and Koroit do have alot of similarities. What happened to W'bool and Koroit are probably just a once off. September is where they will shine, even though North are the form side at present. Congratulations to Cobden and Portland for claiming the big scalps, esp on their home turf. Both clubs had their best wins in many years. I'm not the best footy observer, but if anyone got anything to add, or correct me on, just go for it. I just saying how I see it. When it comes to pure class and skill, I still think Warrnambool are the best.

The return of a couple of very handy ex tiger youngsters is a boost to Portland with Jay Moody resigning with the tiges, apparently he wasn't enjoying his footy in the GFL. Also Jake Edwards has returned from playing with Melbourne Uni, although I believe he will play about 4 games in succession then play intermittently after that.
Both excellent players, Moody kicked 50 goals last year and got picked in the hampden league team of the year.
Jake was fourth in the league best and fairest last season.

It should be an interesting game at Hanlon Park this Sat, The young Tigers taking on the young Roosters. Portland at their best r a very good side, but their is a big difference between their good days and bad days. This match can be unpredictable. I think Portalnd will win, because it's Portland's home game, and Moody and Edwards are back in. Can Portland make sure they put the covers over the cricket pitch during the week? Each year the ground is perfect but the pitch is muddy and the ball becomes heavy, dark and slippery. Not good from the spectators point of view.
Yes your right beachboy3, the centre wicket area does get very muddy. Dunno who will win this one, both sides are good young sides, but with big Levi and craney still out I think south will probably win. But having said that Portland with moody and Edwards back are a better looking side who can play some very good football but can also leave you shaking your head as well. Should be a good game.

Great win by Portland Tigers against South Wbool. Good to see they finished off a side with a strong last qtr. Ground in great condition. Going to be interesting to see who fills 4 th and 5 th spots this year.

I'd say Camperdown then Port Fairy will finish 4th and 5th. Portland might just miss out. It's pretty tight anyway. I thought today the match will either be close, or Portland win comfortably, due to home ground advantage, and the return of Edwards and Moody. There is a huge difference between Portland's good days and bad days. Today Portland were hot! If they kicked straighter, the margin would of even been more. In the 3rd quarter, we noticed in the crowd, once that South guy missed an easy set shot for goal, the team shortly just dropped their bundle, and looked flattened. If that was a goal, it would of gone back to 2 goals diff, instead a turnover happened, then it became 4 goals diff. Then Portland just went bang, bang, bang for the rest of the game. I did hear Portland have got some exciting projects coming up, such as new goal posts, lights, and upgraded netball facilities. The centre pitch has been fixed and looks good, and the rest of the ground is brilliant. Congratulations, Portland! When i left after the game, i went for a drive along the scenic road, which runs along the coast of Portland, and I thought it looked magnificent.

Was a great win by the Tigers today, Portland did play real good footy today, when they are on they are good to watch. Jay moody 10 goals in his first two games back is a good start. Craney and big Levi are both due back next game after the bye, also Zac Telfer must be due back as well.
I knew about the lights and netball upgrade but hadn't heard about the goal post (about time with the goal posts I say)

Is it true that the Turlands have quit wbool?
Not being from warrnambool I can't help you with any rumours about the Turlands, but I did notice they weren't playing seniors on Saturday. Maybe someone else might have some news on them?
I thought Portland had a tough run home as well, playing North, Koroit and Warrnambool in the next 6 weeks or so, but we are playing them all at home. Having said that looking at the draw all the sides competing for 3rd,4th and 5th have tough draws as there arnt many easy games this season.
Portland have been playing some good footy but have lost Crane for the season and Jake Edwards plays his last game this Saturday. Should be an interesting end to the season.

I watched Cobden play Souths yesterday. Cobden on their good days (just like Portland) can beat anyone. If Cobden and Portland did not lose these close games early on, they could of been in the 5 or thereabouts. Comp is that even, the league supporters and board must be excited. Cobden like the last few years, are a fast paced side. Their forwards are fast on the lead, just like the rest of the team. Their smaller guys are not lightly built either. I was with this guy who's new to the area, has started supporting Souths. He said he didn't enjoy the match itself, but he said it was worth the trip to watch Levi Dare. Levi might not ever compete in the Stawell gift, but he's would have to be the best and smartest ruckman in our comp, over the last so many years. He gives his midfielders first use of the ball, uses his body strength well, starts from the side at centre bounces, waits for his opponent go first, then he nudges him out and wins the tap outs. He signals to his midfielders in advance 2. Around the ground he moves to the right spots at the right time. He knows how to save his energy. He can take alot of marks and kick goals 2. To beat him, u must put a hard tag on him with someone who is quicker. Also do not kick the ball in his area, 2 many kick it in his area. He just marks everything. Next year his brother Joe could be back at Cobden.

Very good win by Portland yesterday. They have a tough last three games playing Warrnambool at home then Port Fairy away then finally Koroit at home. They will have to win at least one of them.
Cobden have an equally tough run home so it's going to be exciting to see who makes it.

Very good win by Portland yesterday. They have a tough last three games playing Warrnambool at home then Port Fairy away then finally Koroit at home. They will have to win at least one of them.
Cobden have an equally tough run home so it's going to be exciting to see who makes it.
Up 2 8 teams are still in the running of making the finals. Cobden and Portland are abit unpredictable. There is a big difference between their good days and bad days. On their good days they can just about beat anyone. After the top 3, I think Port Fairy and Cobden will make up the top 5. I watched Port Fairy yesterday against my Roosters. Port Fairy's VFL recruits in Nicholson, Holmer, Rudolph and Phelps are absolute champs. Port Fairy are quick and classy. Roosters will end up finishing 7th or 8th which is disappointing. They were really good until the last month. Portland might just miss out on the finals due to the tough draw. If Portland can get more consistant, they would be in the finals. Portland can win on their road games. Terang has really underperformed, even though their list is not 2 bad. Hamilton are just not competitive which is disappointing. This year the comp has been very even. If Koroit can get their Rebel players back, they will be a good chance for the flag. North at this stage are favourites. The netball is even 2, and i tip Camperdown to beat Port Fairy on Grand Final day. Next 8 weeks should be very exciting, and i will see you all at the footy. Cheers!

Looks like the top 5 is just about in place even though there is one round to go before the finals. North, Koroit, W'bool, Port Fairy and Camp'down. I did tip all those 5 to be in finals this year, but didn't tip North to be on top. North were ahead of the comp most of the year, but lately their form has dropped off. The top 3 is even now, it's hard to tip who will win the flag. If Port Fairy had a double chance, they would of been as much chance as the others. Koroit might have 3 Rebel players back for the finals, if Ballarat don't go to far in the finals. This would really make them flag contenders. Should be an exciting finals series this year. Cobden and Portland were in ripper form in the second half of the season, but they left their run 2 late, and that's why they won't be in the finals this year.

I would say any of the top 4 can win it on their day. I would rate them in this order
Koroit (with all their stars back look hard to beat)
North
Port Fairy
Warrnambool

Howdy Footy Folks! Been a while between posts and good to see there is still some action on here! Been reading up on the Hampden League through the Warrny Standard and chatting to some of the followers i know well. Seems as though it has been a pretty even year with North Warrnambool taking a commanding stand against the competition but dropping a couple of games late suggesting a long season may be catching up.
Im officially back in the area again after completing my contract in Ballarat and back here to take up my old position in the building industry! Just in time to watch my Blues go about yet another finals comp, albeit a little less as dominant by looks of it. Koroit look like they may be the surprise packet regaining some talent at the right end of the season. My feeling is tho i think North Warrnambool have the most scoring power and best defensive pack in it, this could be their year in all grades of football, credit to them all seems to be falling into place.

Couple of RUMOURS to kick off the return to the posting:

Rory Taggert has been approached by Warrnambool to be playing coach in 2017 for a very handy sum of money also. North Warrny have also offered the top job to him for 2017.

Paul Dirago at TM has been very busy on the phones to a number of former team mates and is likely to lure a couple for 2017. TM have been happy with his progress with a young side and they could easily rise quickly with a couple of quality players added.

Koroit have thrown a lot of interest towards Jason Rowan to be playing coach in 2017, Jason has apparently said he is happy to sit and talk after finals has finished as his contract at Wbool finishes this season.

South Warrny have likely added Werribee listed player James Hussey for next season, along with former talented South player Matthew McVilly who is resuming his football career after a spell.

Thats about it for now footy folk! Great to be home!

Howdy Footy Folks! Been a while between posts and good to see there is still some action on here! Been reading up on the Hampden League through the Warrny Standard and chatting to some of the followers i know well. Seems as though it has been a pretty even year with North Warrnambool taking a commanding stand against the competition but dropping a couple of games late suggesting a long season may be catching up.
Im officially back in the area again after completing my contract in Ballarat and back here to take up my old position in the building industry! Just in time to watch my Blues go about yet another finals comp, albeit a little less as dominant by looks of it. Koroit look like they may be the surprise packet regaining some talent at the right end of the season. My feeling is tho i think North Warrnambool have the most scoring power and best defensive pack in it, this could be their year in all grades of football, credit to them all seems to be falling into place.

Couple of RUMOURS to kick off the return to the posting:

Rory Taggert has been approached by Warrnambool to be playing coach in 2017 for a very handy sum of money also. North Warrny have also offered the top job to him for 2017.

Paul Dirago at TM has been very busy on the phones to a number of former team mates and is likely to lure a couple for 2017. TM have been happy with his progress with a young side and they could easily rise quickly with a couple of quality players added.

Koroit have thrown a lot of interest towards Jason Rowan to be playing coach in 2017, Jason has apparently said he is happy to sit and talk after finals has finished as his contract at Wbool finishes this season.

South Warrny have likely added Werribee listed player James Hussey for next season, along with former talented South player Matthew McVilly who is resuming his football career after a spell.

Thats about it for now footy folk! Great to be home!
Welcome back HampdenMAD! U were certainly a big miss during the year, and we haven't hardly had any footy news on this page for the last few months. I been trying to keep things going by giving my predictions, and commenting on some teams and players. But I'm no expert! How you get your footy news is extraordinary, and 95 percent of the time plus, it's spot on. I'm sure everyone will look forward to all your future posts. Cheers, mate!