Research Photos - anyone got a clue

Here is a report from the Hobart Mercury of 5 October 1929 at page 16 which names most of the team that played in Tasmania in 1929 save 3 changes to the 1929 premiership team.
http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article29136068

Also the Mercury of 4 October 1929 names some players.

http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article29135965

Some Collingwood club officials are named in this report of 12 October 1929 from the Examiner at page 3
http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article51625179

A full report of the game with the full named Collingwood team for the game is in the Mercury of 7 October 1929
http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article29136204

And a list of Collingwood players AND officials who went on tour from the Examiner of 11 October 1929

http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article51624946

Even better, a contemporary Collingwood team picture from the Examiner of 30 September 1929 with the Collingwood players named prior to the October game.
http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article51622532

That should help.

Thanks for that, the photo was owned by my grandfather who was in it and was on the wall of his office in all the pubs he owned across Melbourne and country Victoria, he passed away in the 1970's, my father passed it on to me but had no idea where and when it was taken, i tracked down its location to a pub in Hobart ( kingston Beach) that was demolished many years ago.

We all assumed it was a pub in Melbourne at a CFC function

http://www.brhg.org.au/brhg/Then_&_Now.html

Australasian%20Hotel%20c%201920_1.jpg

If google did not exist i doubt whether we would have found out where it was taken

Thanks for that, the photo was owned by my grandfather who was in it and was on the wall of his office in all the pubs he owned across Melbourne and country Victoria, he passed away in the 1970's, my father passed it on to me but had no idea where and when it was taken, i tracked down its location to a pub in Hobart ( kingston Beach) that was demolished many years ago.

If google did not exist i doubt whether we would have found out where it was taken
You should also be able to get names to the faces of you have a list of all the officials and players who went on the tour.

And Collingwood may also be interested.

Could be, what does surprise me is the lack of scarves, jumpers etc on the spectators.

I remember another thread or post from someone who was talking about when footy jumpers etc became mass produced for sale etc.

I had a Collingwood one as a kid in the 1970's ( yes i am old :))

But probably a few years before that your grandmother used to knit it etc.

Could be, what does surprise me is the lack of scarves, jumpers etc on the spectators.

I remember another thread or post from someone who was talking about when footy jumpers etc became mass produced for sale etc.

I had a Collingwood one as a kid in the 1970's ( yes i am old :))

But probably a few years before that your grandmother used to knit it etc.
Mine did :$

I also looked at the clothes. Don't forget many worked Saturday morning and attended the games from work.

Mine did :$

I also looked at the clothes. Don't forget many worked Saturday morning and attended the games from work.
Indeed the full day off on Saturday is of relatively recent origin.

Certainly the dress indicates 1950 at best, and not early 1900s-notice the casual type of suit combination and the lack of a hat, which are both are more common earlier in the century.

Also the what I presume are ambulance service uniforms - or even police suggest a at best 1950's feel.

Also look at the MCG itself which suggest some age- but is of itself, less indicative.

A possibility- Carlton v Collingwood 1938 GF

Cf Sporting Globe 24 September 1938

http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-page20732054

Notice the reference to the ambulance service.

Indeed the full day off on Saturday is of relatively recent origin.

Certainly the dress indicates 1950 at best, and not early 1900s-notice the casual type of suit combination and the lack of a hat, which are both are more common earlier in the century.

Also the what I presume are ambulance service uniforms - or even police suggest a at best 1950's feel.

Also look at the MCG itself which suggest some age- but is of itself, less indicative.

A possibility- Carlton v Collingwood 1938 GF

Cf Sporting Globe 24 September 1938

http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-page20732054

Notice the reference to the ambulance service.

1930's is possible, i am thinking 40's or early 50's.

I reckon it is not a player on the stretcher but someone crushed or injured.

vlcsnap-00019_Crowd_at_1938_Grand_Final_(note_the_goal_umpire)_1_16_35.jpg

photo of 1938 GF - look at the hats, compared to lack of hats in above photos.

vlcsnap-00022_Crowd_1938_Grand_Final.jpg

http://www.boylesfootballphotos.net.au/Reference_+1938+VFL+Grand+Final

The 1956 grand final probably.....Demons v Maggies,record crowd,bookings were introduced as a result,when the gates were pushed down.I was present.

Definitely not discounting it.

Look at the top more faded photo and a bloke is wearing a modern looking suit with quite wide lapels ( he is standing at the front on the right - looks about 25ish and a couple of kids are below him)

That suit jacket looks reasonably modern to me, so i tend to think it is the 1950's

The blokes in the dark coats and hats all look like Jock McHale clones

Definitely not discounting it.

Look at the top more faded photo and a bloke is wearing a modern looking suit with quite wide lapels ( he is standing at the front on the right - looks about 25ish and a couple of kids are below him)

That suit jacket looks reasonably modern to me, so i tend to think it is the 1950's

The blokes in the dark coats and hats all look like Jock McHale clones
In front of the white coat? Has an Elvis look about him doesn't he. So after 1954/56

s-l1600.jpg

Top photo on the right, ( third man from the right) standing in front of a bloke with what looks like glasses Buddy Holly wore who looks to be sucking on a durry

Sort of looks like a grey suit jacket to me.

Kid kneeling just inside the boundary line is on his left

That bloke looks like he has on a fairly modern jacket, well to me it does - could be wrong :)

I've assumed that all photos belong to the same game, but they might not have been.
Good pickup. The theme looks to be Boundary Crowds. The small one looks 20s/30s. The Ambo one could be late 40s and the other one mid50s

How does that sound?

Good pickup. The theme looks to be Boundary Crowds. The small one looks 20s/30s. The Ambo one could be late 40s and the other one mid50s

How does that sound?
One may be that Carlton GF. Looking at the photo with the players in it, who would they be.

s-l1600.jpg

Anyone have a clue and an opinion on this, doesn't look like Vic Park to me and i don't recognise the players.

*** Taken at Brunswick ground - probably is Brunswick FC i imagine.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/COLLINGWOOD...hash=item1e7867e416:m:m89T_8QkoCslXct4nVqo1Ug

This photo is in the official Collingwood collection and we believe (based on players in the photo matched to selected players for that round and photo matching from Collingwood Forever and our archive collection) is from Rd 8 v Richmond, June 14 1924 at punt Road Oval. It is a postcard from a series done at the time which included several VFL teams (some with Mulga Fred), horse racing and boxing. Mulga Fred was a prominent Buckjump rider and stockwhip exponent who performed at rodeos and town shows in the country before doing several years in the city at larger events. Affected by alcohol in his latter years, he was killed when hit by a train after stumbling on the platform in 1948.

Back Row:
Syd Coventry, Bob Makeham, Jim Lawn, George Clayden, Joe Poulter, Laurie Murphy, Billy Pardon, George Beasley.
Middle Row:
Reynolds Webb, Eric utensil, Gordon Coventry, Harry Saunders, Leo Wescott, Ernie Wilson.
Front Row:
Harry Chesswas, Mulga Fred, Reg Baker, Fred Mutch, Jim Shanahan

Garlic Muncher, who was your grandfather that played for Collingwood, and have you been able to identify all the other people in the photo? I may be able to help.

Found this hanging in the Cobram Hotel. Muckatah folded in 1938 I believe.
20180113_134456-2268x3024-1134x1512.jpg