Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2017 Draft Almanac

Hey knightmare just curious who do you think the roos will take with pick 4?
Really hard to tell how the top 3 will play out.
We need a genuine midfielder as of late we seem to have got a lot of half forward/half back types.

Cheers

On E6853 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hey Knightmare

We've had an unsubstantiated rumour on the Port boards that we're keen on Jackson Ross, and in keeping with the silly season - I'm running with it for all its worth.

I've not found much on him other than that he is an outstanding athletic prospect with a tennis background (covers the ground very well - which Hinkley will love), and is a 192cm stringbean, goalkicking wingman/HFF, something we desperately need.

What I'm curious about:
- is he an athlete first, footballer second? We don't tend to do too well with those types. We need footballers.
- how is his kicking, both in general play and for goal? We need someone who can spot up the odd target, other than Polec :)

Cheers.

GF 15 deep as opposed to SD 10 deep?

There must be plenty of Falcons you rate highly who didn't get combine invites......and Dragons you don't rate who did.

This will be a battle of the Dragons team defence and calculated ball movement in space versus Falcons ability to win inside football and surge it forward.

Similar to the contrasting playing styles of the 2016 finale too.

There are players on both sides who I rate that weren't invited to the combine, and players on both sides with invites that I don't rate.

Hey KM,

Thoughts on Port Melbourne's Ash Krakauer being drafted this year? Elite skills and decision-making. Would be perfect for a team looking for a Caleb Daniel-type midfielder who's clean around the stoppages. He was very impressive today in the VFL Grand Final against quality opposition. Also, I believe he's part of St Kilda's Next Gen Academy. He must have a few clubs interested for a potential rookie pick.

Cheers

Unlikely to be picked and I'm not as hyped about his VFL Grand Final performance. I didn't notice much of him - though without being a focus of mine.

He has spent much of the year in the Development League and is more someone who I hope finds more of the footy in the VFL first before being someone I'd look at.

The difference with Krakauer and Caleb Daniel is you had Daniel through the u18 champs averaging 20 disposals in short quarters with a kicking efficiency of I think it was 82% or something astounding along those lines. And he'll run all day. At 167cm, that's why coming into the AFL he has been able to make that transition, because his game is that special. Krakauer while he's a good user and sound decision maker and does have game, he isn't special like Daniel which makes life for those small outside types hard.

Anastasio of the smaller players was the one to impress me on the day - his run was terrific for Port Melbourne. He, Dwyer, Nahas. Those guys were the three to play AFL grade or near AFL grade footy for Port Melbourne. With Shai Bolton for Richmond with that first quarter flat out special with a clear, strong AFL future ahead of him.

Hey KM,
Been watching Sam Walsh this year and thought he has been pretty consistent but tonights game he showed up and grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck. I thought it was a great effort even though I didnt see much of him in the last. But comparing Walsh to LDU in his underage year Sam Walsh is easily 2 times the player IMO. What do you think? With lots of KPP players going early next year some team is going to get a bargin with this lad.

Walsh's numbers were good, but I didn't love his game as much as I find myself loving his games normally. Numbers strong on paper, provided some bursts with his pace at times but impact and ball use not as strong as I have come to expect. Just being such a great midfielder, it's the standard I have to hold him to. Still a strong performance, but that's more just me comparing him to what I'm accustomed to seeing.

As for Walsh v LDU. LDU wasn't so dominant last year. He showed promise, but it was really the start of the year in those games v VFL opposition where he took off and really made clear that he is a top end mid.
Walsh, not unlike Worpel last year, not that they have similar games, but like with Worpel, he already was a year out seriously good, and Walsh similarly has that game slightly sooner.

Walsh and LDU are such different players. It's like comparing Josh Kelly with Patrick Dangerfield. Walsh has that inside/outside balance, not yet the skills of Kelly, but he'll win it inside or play an outside running role, cover the ground and accelerate when he gets it. LDU has that Dangerfield-like game, but doesn't have that game changing impact every week or as often.

I'd want to see where Walsh is a year from now in his development to determine whether he will be better or worse than an LDU or Dow. For me it's even money. Walsh is certainly more advanced for his age than they were at the same stage, but LDU, Dow, Rayner. Those guys I feel have greater upside.

All that said, Walsh looks like a great selection for 2018.

Hey knightmare, who would be your top 5 small forwards and top 5 midfielders for this years draft?

For your classic forward pockets:
1. Jack Higgins (top 10 choice)
2. Brent Daniels (2nd-3rd round choice)
3. Liam Ryan (mature age)
4. Dylan Moore (2nd-3rd round choice)
5. Gryan Miers (late pick) - earns a position on the list after that Grand Final performance.

Five best mids: (all first round choices and in the case of those first four, possible top five choices)
1. Rayner (combo mid/fwd)
2. LDU
3. Dow
4. Cerra
5. Fogarty (I like as a mid but can play key forward or anywhere other than ruck)

Coffield looks like being a Bob Murphy type. Shares similar pace & agility. I wouldn't be surprised if he's considered in 4-8 range. Pies & Saints would be having a keen look

Thoughts Knightmare ?

Really nice user of the footy like Bob also.

A possible choice for a number of clubs in the 5-15 range.

Hey knightmare just curious who do you think the roos will take with pick 4?
Really hard to tell how the top 3 will play out.
We need a genuine midfielder as of late we seem to have got a lot of half forward/half back types.

Cheers

Best guess early days is Jaidyn Stephenson. With a view to add outside speed and athleticism. Good mid or medium forward.

Hey mate, if you could take one out of Spargo and Bonar, who would you take?

Making me pick between two guys I don't have all that much interest in taking.

Spargo is a probable second round choice. Bonar maybe around the third round mark.

Spargo is productive and quick. I just don't love his game - skills, finish on goal and execution under pressure let him down. He's one I'd let another team draft and personally view as more worth a rookie selection if really down on the draft.

Bonar is more a speculative pick, but someone who may with his physical profile and athleticism come on. So he'd probably be my choice, but again he's another I'm not all that excited by, with none of his performances this season really grabbing me.

Hey Knightmare

We've had an unsubstantiated rumour on the Port boards that we're keen on Jackson Ross, and in keeping with the silly season - I'm running with it for all its worth.

I've not found much on him other than that he is an outstanding athletic prospect with a tennis background (covers the ground very well - which Hinkley will love), and is a 192cm stringbean, goalkicking wingman/HFF, something we desperately need.

What I'm curious about:
- is he an athlete first, footballer second? We don't tend to do too well with those types. We need footballers.
- how is his kicking, both in general play and for goal? We need someone who can spot up the odd target, other than Polec :)

Cheers.

For some background. Ross was a top tennis junior. He plays forward and can push up the wings. Could develop into any number of positions. He has an impressive game overall. Strong mark (genuine contested marking threat and good aerially) but also very clean at ground level. He is lightly built, but will win some contested ball. Has a couple of five goal hauls up forward.

To answer your questions more directly.
Ross is athletic but he also has AFL talent. There are flaws. He tends to favour kicking often to handballing. But that combination of overhead and ground ball capabilities along with athleticism give him a chance to develop.

As for skills. He has penetration on his kick out to 55m. Reluctant handballer, favouring kicking mostly, particularly earlier in the season. He's a fine kick both in general play and on goal without it being a strength.

For some background. Ross was a top tennis junior. He plays forward and can push up the wings. Could develop into any number of positions. He has an impressive game overall. Strong mark (genuine contested marking threat and good aerially) but also very clean at ground level. He is lightly built, but will win some contested ball. Has a couple of five goal hauls up forward.

To answer your questions more directly.
Ross is athletic but he also has AFL talent. There are flaws. He tends to favour kicking often to handballing. But that combination of overhead and ground ball capabilities along with athleticism give him a chance to develop.

As for skills. He has penetration on his kick out to 55m. Reluctant handballer, favouring kicking mostly, particularly earlier in the season. He's a fine kick both in general play and on goal without it being a strength.

Ross played school footy with Constable. I think he's a similar player to Chook save for more outside run and less inside grunt. Ross should go in the 3rd/4th round IMO.

Making me pick between two guys I don't have all that much interest in taking.

Spargo is a probable second round choice. Bonar maybe around the third round mark.

Spargo is productive and quick. I just don't love his game - skills, finish on goal and execution under pressure let him down. He's one I'd let another team draft and personally view as more worth a rookie selection if really down on the draft.

Bonar is more a speculative pick, but someone who may with his physical profile and athleticism come on. So he'd probably be my choice, but again he's another I'm not all that excited by, with none of his performances this season really grabbing me.

No worries. Trying to think who is a chance to be a great midfielder/sml forward at the 25-30 pick range

There are players on both sides who I rate that weren't invited to the combine, and players on both sides with invites that I don't rate.

Unlikely to be picked and I'm not as hyped about his VFL Grand Final performance. I didn't notice much of him - though without being a focus of mine.

He has spent much of the year in the Development League and is more someone who I hope finds more of the footy in the VFL first before being someone I'd look at.

The difference with Krakauer and Caleb Daniel is you had Daniel through the u18 champs averaging 20 disposals in short quarters with a kicking efficiency of I think it was 82% or something astounding along those lines. And he'll run all day. At 167cm, that's why coming into the AFL he has been able to make that transition, because his game is that special. Krakauer while he's a good user and sound decision maker and does have game, he isn't special like Daniel which makes life for those small outside types hard.

Anastasio of the smaller players was the one to impress me on the day - his run was terrific for Port Melbourne. He, Dwyer, Nahas. Those guys were the three to play AFL grade or near AFL grade footy for Port Melbourne. With Shai Bolton for Richmond with that first quarter flat out special with a clear, strong AFL future ahead of him.

Anastasio and Viojo-Rainbow stood out for mine. Fantastic game.

Red? He had a horrendous first half, as did Nahas. Eli Templeton has been the man all year for the Borough and was massive all day for them

Knight what are your thoughts on bailey smith for next years draft?

Played well down ball. Ball use good-very good. Involved. Pressured well. Strong in the contest. He's one to watch for next year and while not in first round calculations at the moment, he looks like a mid draft choice with the scope to push higher with continued development next year.

Ross played school footy with Constable. I think he's a similar player to Chook save for more outside run and less inside grunt. Ross should go in the 3rd/4th round IMO.

I don't see any similarity. Constable is a slow inside/outside mid with great skills and vision. Ross doesn't other than being a taller type bare any resemblance in gamestyle or ability. They're strengths are very contrasting I would have said.

Hey Knightmare, just wondering how does Jack Higgins compare to Ben Ainsworth from last year as a player? Cheers.

Similar quality. Higgins the better and more productive mid. Ainsworth up forward is more of an aerial specialist and special with his overhead marking. Ainsworth is the more explosive and probably becomes the more damaging forward overall if he develops as expected. Higgins for skills and ground level stuff the better of the two.

Both can have similarly strong careers. They just offer slightly different things.

Red? He had a horrendous first half, as did Nahas. Eli Templeton has been the man all year for the Borough and was massive all day for them

Templeton was also solid. Anastasio's second half was in my view Port Melbourne's best.

Walsh's numbers were good, but I didn't love his game as much as I find myself loving his games normally. Numbers strong on paper, provided some bursts with his pace at times but impact and ball use not as strong as I have come to expect. Just being such a great midfielder, it's the standard I have to hold him to. Still a strong performance, but that's more just me comparing him to what I'm accustomed to seeing.

What I noticed a few times was he had to kick over the opposition to a teammate & his kicks didn't have the length and dragons marked the kicks.

Does he lack kicking distance?

What I noticed a few times was he had to kick over the opposition to a teammate & his kicks didn't have the length and dragons marked the kicks.

Does he lack kicking distance?

His penetration would be around 50m.

So just to clarify, as a midfielder where does Higgins fit? Much after your top 5?

I most like Higgins as a small forward. I like him as a small forward who can push through the mids.

As a mid only, I rate Higgins behind Rayner, Dow, LDU, Cerra, Fogarty, A.Brayshaw, Worpel, Clark and Parish. Clubs by contrast will rate Higgins as a mid behind only Rayner, Dow, LDU and maybe Cerra.

I most like Higgins as a small forward. I like him as a small forward who can push through the mids.

As a mid only, I rate Higgins behind Rayner, Dow, LDU, Cerra, Fogarty, A.Brayshaw, Worpel, Clark and Parish. Clubs by contrast will rate Higgins as a mid behind only Rayner, Dow, LDU and maybe Cerra.

Knightmare do clubs start playing Ducks and Drakes now? hearing a couple of clubs testing boys individually behind closed doors?

Knightmare, do you think Darcy Moore will ever develop into a 1st kpf? To me it looks like he'll always be a 2nd kpf and in the case that he is viewed as a 2nd kpf would drafting Brander or Balta fill that 1st kpf role or would we have to look elsewhere e.g. Lynch?

I know you didn't ask me but it does seem like Darcy Moore is more suited to that 2nd key forward role. Same Reid like from Sydney.
But I think with some more help around him he's capable or being a 50-70 a year goal kicker

I know you didn't ask me but it does seem like Darcy Moore is more suited to that 2nd key forward role. Same Reid like from Sydney.
But I think with some more help around him he's capable or being a 50-70 a year goal kicker

Yeah I'm hoping he has a similar trajectory to daniher where he had a few years without much help and then around the age of 23-24 he breaks out

Looked liked he could have had a similar trajectory except I remember Daniher performing better in his third season without help as opposed to Darcy. Biggest problem I saw in the games I watched is that he gets emotional (nothing wrong with that) but lets it get to him rather then converting it into x factor. Hopefully just a maturity thing.

I'm really high on him though, definitely think he will mature into a 40-60 goal a year forward but absolutely needs help the same way Daniher got Hooker this year/last year.

Knighta what are your thoughts on Darcy Lang? Apparently a chance to be part of the Ablett trade.

Sent from my MHA-L09 using Tapatalk