Votes: 3 30.0%
  • Brant Colledge

Votes: 1 10.0%
  • Jonathan Giles

Votes: 2 20.0%

Not for 4+ weeks. I reckon you'd have to leave it on the cake for 2 months to reintroduce off flavours and even then there has been testing proving its fine. Feels like one of those old brew myths
Well this could improve my beer for sure.
I haven't brewed for a while but when I did I didn't leave it on the cake unless I was lazy or went away.
Cheers lads :thumbsu:

I agree with what you're saying but isnt there a point where everything turns south from having the beer sitting on the yeast cake too long.

YEe autolysis can become a problem but generally in a temp controlled environment this would be at least 6-8 weeks before becoming a problem. As mentioned by Dan, 4 weeks is a good reference point with plenty of latitude for error. 10-14 days is generally a good guide for fermentation of an average strength beer with good yeast health. Full attenuation in 4-7 days with a further 6-7 days for clean up (ales). Lagers probably a week longer as they tend to be slower at the lower temps, often require a D rest and should be gradually lowered rather than crashed.

Autolysis is when yeast cells start dying and live yeast cells start eating them throwing very nasty vegemite/meaty flavours. I have experienced it once when unbeknownst to me, I had the heat turned on my stir plate when culturing yeast. It only took a few days for the horrible taste and aroma to become evident and it doesn't get better with time. Could not work out how it had happened in such a short amount of time until the next time I went to culture some yeast and noticed the heater was on and it all clicked.

Saison #2 Belgian Cherry-RyePA :D

Dropping down the strength and adding some spice while maintaining a similar colour to my first one

20171011_210147.jpg

cherry ryePA

Original Gravity (OG): 1.056 (°P): 13.8
Final Gravity (FG): 1.011 (°P): 2.8
Alcohol (ABV): 5.87 %
Colour (SRM): 14.6 (EBC): 28.8
Bitterness (IBU): 47.2 (Tinseth)

86.02% American - Pale 2-Row
10.75% American - Rye
3.23% Belgian - Chocolate

0.6 g/L Magnum (15% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
1.1 g/L Centennial (10% Alpha) @ 20 Minutes (Boil)
1.1 g/L Amarillo (8.6% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil)
1.1 g/L El Dorado (15.7% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil)

Single step Infusion at 66°C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 60 Minutes

Fermented at 23°C with Belle Saison Yeast

Recipe Generated with Brewer's Friend

Any beer related recommendations for the following?

Amsterdam
Lisbon
Berlin

I'm in Europe for a couple more weeks. The craft brewers in Amsterdam love their strong af bocks

And gunstons

I have never been to Europe but I'll get you some must visit locations from a mate if there are any. You into sours?

Got married and requested leave for a honeymoon there. Was told no as boss had leave booked same time haha.

Mate will hmu with good spots tomorrow. He asked if you want good Amsterdam Cafe locations too? #420
Yeah hit me up - there's loads here but they all seem pretty lame/touristy. Only have one more night here but could be a good way to pass the rest of the trade period

"AMSTERDAM"
- Hoppy Days (AMAZING pasta aswell.)
- Delirium Cafe Amsterdam
- BeerTemple
- Craft & Draft
- Browerij 't IJ
Coffeeshops =
- Abraxas (this place is exceptional & across the road from BeerTemple too, so burn one off & then go drink some crafts)
- Dutch Flowers
- Amnesia
The Amsterdam Smart Shops sell truffles (shrooms) & some gnarly legal highs too if he's that way inclined. There's heaps in the Red Light District.

"BERLIN"
- Stone Brewery Berlin (its on the outskirts in an industrial area but a train drops you right outside. HIGHLY recommend the trip, this place is mind blowing .
- KASCHK - coffee & craft beer specialists, open real earlier too if you need to get AM lit.
- Lemke Braurie
- Monterey
- Rag & Bone
- Hofbrau Haus

"AMSTERDAM"
- Hoppy Days (AMAZING pasta aswell.)
- Delirium Cafe Amsterdam
- BeerTemple
- Craft & Draft
- Browerij 't IJ
Coffeeshops =
- Abraxas (this place is exceptional & across the road from BeerTemple too, so burn one off & then go drink some crafts)
- Dutch Flowers
- Amnesia
The Amsterdam Smart Shops sell truffles (shrooms) & some gnarly legal highs too if he's that way inclined. There's heaps in the Red Light District.

"BERLIN"
- Stone Brewery Berlin (its on the outskirts in an industrial area but a train drops you right outside. HIGHLY recommend the trip, this place is mind blowing .
- KASCHK - coffee & craft beer specialists, open real earlier too if you need to get AM lit.
- Lemke Braurie
- Monterey
- Rag & Bone
- Hofbrau Haus
Thanks mate. Won't have enough time for anything else in Amsterdam but will def check out those options in Berlin

God what have I got myself into?

Been trying to get some kind of shopping list together. It just grows and grows.
Recently saving up empty bottles ready to re-fill. But kegging just looks far superior to bottling in every way.
So kind of talked the wife into kegs. Her main comment was does that mean we can throw out all those bloody bottles? Yes was the answer and she was happy. Win #1.

She has also been banging on about never having enough freezer space. So talked her into getting another 2nd hand fridge for kegging. She seemed happy with that. Win #2.

Only thing is bar fridge I have is a little small for a proper fermenter. It would be ideal to fit 2 kegs in it. I would much rather use that for kegs and then ferment in the bigger fridge. But then would the freezer work correctly if the fridge was hooked up on a temp controller set at like 18 degrees? I am just assuming the freezer part will not turn and run correctly?

God what have I got myself into?

Been trying to get some kind of shopping list together. It just grows and grows.
Recently saving up empty bottles ready to re-fill. But kegging just looks far superior to bottling in every way.
So kind of talked the wife into kegs. Her main comment was does that mean we can throw out all those bloody bottles? Yes was the answer and she was happy. Win #1.

She has also been banging on about never having enough freezer space. So talked her into getting another 2nd hand fridge for kegging. She seemed happy with that. Win #2.

Only thing is bar fridge I have is a little small for a proper fermenter. It would be ideal to fit 2 kegs in it. I would much rather use that for kegs and then ferment in the bigger fridge. But then would the freezer work correctly if the fridge was hooked up on a temp controller set at like 18 degrees? I am just assuming the freezer part will not turn and run correctly?

The temp controller is just like a power point - it turns on and off to keep at your desired temp. So basically the entire unit will turn on/off altogether, you wouldn't be able to run the fridge and freezer separately on the same unit.

Yeh as I thought, just was hoping there may be some way around that. Hmm back to the drawing board. Now I have mentioned extra freezer space to her I can't go back on my word!

Also feel your pain with the shopping list. I got reeled in big time coz of my expenditure and have had to slow down majorly.

I'm a real all or nothing guy and can get carried away with buying/preparing stuff but the wife understands the need for hobbies and that she'll be drinking the beer too.

Will be picking up the steel for the stand tomorrow, that's probably second last of the big purchases beside the 3rd household fridge then there should only be a few hundred dollars of bits and pieces left to get. So probably February before I get a chance to actually brew. *s sake.