Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

How many cricket games would have to be moved for one pre-season game? Takes weeks preparing a wicket.

Agree about the concern about Twin Ovals parking etc but if NHO is unsuitable(which is an issue in itself), it is the best oval left without ruining another sports season. I really liked it when been there in previous years.

Exactly, no possible way to play it at KGV at that time of year.

Interesting that UTAS will be out of action for the second half of next season including all finals, will North play some home matches next door at Invermay park or cram as many home matches in the 1st half as possible?

How many cricket games would have to be moved for one pre-season game? Takes weeks preparing a wicket.

Agree about the concern about Twin Ovals parking etc but if NHO is unsuitable(which is an issue in itself), it is the best oval left without ruining another sports season. I really liked it when been there in previous years.

I guess its about the best use of resources. Just looking at the cricket roster & assuming the JLT preseason game will be mid February, they may lose 2 grade games. That doesn't seem too bad. Especially if it would lead to a better crowd using better facilities & the cricket club were to get some remuneration to move those games to other grounds.
But it'll never happen. I just hope the weather is ok & people are happy to walk to get to the ground in Kingston.

I guess its about the best use of resources. Just looking at the cricket roster & assuming the JLT preseason game will be mid February, they may lose 2 grade games. That doesn't seem too bad. Especially if it would lead to a better crowd using better facilities & the cricket club were to get some remuneration to move those games to other grounds.
But it'll never happen. I just hope the weather is ok & people are happy to walk to get to the ground in Kingston.

You reckon AFL clubs will want to play on a ground that's had a square of cricket pitches on it? Glenorchy have 1s and 2s playing on that ground, there isn't that many turf pitch ovals going around to just move them.

They play cricket on a home & away basis. I'm sure they could rearrange the Roster to accommodate for that.

It won't happen anyway so its a non issue.

They play cricket on a home & away basis. I'm sure they could rearrange the Roster to accommodate for that.

It won't happen anyway so its a non issue.

Yeah, 1s one week and 2s the next and then there is finals, it wont and cant happen mate.

Well I think it can, changing rosters isn't that hard. KGV is a far better facility than KTO. But it won't happen so it matters not.

Well, it'd mean an end to the season of cricket there and would take a few weeks before hand to prepare, AFL clubs are not going to play on a rock hard square, its why they now have drop in pitches at the major venues, it would potentially cost them 6 weeks of cricket.

All the best to Aaron Cornelius and his new postion as Southport Sharks senior assistant Coach, Thanks for the 2016 Premiership Cup.

Yes. Good luck. Its a pity we lose yet another quality coach. Why do the AFL do this to us?. At the very least they should make it possible for us to attract some AFL quality coaching ability. That is the very least they should be doing. Its at least the one way to help our football maintain or even improve its quality. Sucking money & players out of us is one thing but at least give us some chance to stay relevant by enabling some quality coaching to be maintained here.
At times it appears they are actually trying to kill AR football here.

Yes. Good luck. Its a pity we lose yet another quality coach. Why do the AFL do this to us?. At the very least they should make it possible for us to attract some AFL quality coaching ability. That is the very least they should be doing. Its at least the one way to help our football maintain or even improve its quality. Sucking money & players out of us is one thing but at least give us some chance to stay relevant by enabling some quality coaching to be maintained here.
At times it appears they are actually trying to kill AR football here.

Bloody hell you are a nark

The bloke is going to better himself and hopefully crack it in the big time, why do you have to turn everything into some warped idea of football administrators trying to wreck the game, applaud Ace for what he's done for his club and wish him all the best.

Burnie have appointed former premiership coach Brent Plant as coach for next year and former Gold Coast Sun Luke Russell has returned to the club as assistant coach. I have heard the club is chasing other recruits as well to complement their young list so next year is looking a lot brighter for the Dockers.

Bloody hell you are a nark

The bloke is going to better himself and hopefully crack it in the big time, why do you have to turn everything into some warped idea of football administrators trying to wreck the game, applaud Ace for what he's done for his club and wish him all the best.

Err? I wished him good luck you dork. Cant you read?

If I choose to make further comment about the state of our game, then I will. If you dont like it then you have 2 choices, ignore it or shove it up your rear entrance.

Kane Richter resigned as senior coach and GM of North Hobart today.
Taking on a job at AFL Cape York up in Queensland.
It would be easier to list the Clubs not looking for a Coach in 2018!
Even both grand final teams there were some uncertainty on both coaches going forward (well that was the case a few weeks back).

All the best to Kane Richter in Cape York.

It would be easier to list the Clubs not looking for a Coach in 2018!
Even both grand final teams there were some uncertainty on both coaches going forward (well that was the case a few weeks back).

All the best to Kane Richter in Cape York.

I think thats sad. Kane has a passion for junior development so good luck to him. I liked what he was achieving at NHFC. Coming from a long way back, I could see the players improvement. Internally I think the club is stronger for the work Kane did.

Still its another loss to Tas football. Others on here dont seem concerned. I think we all should be. Its a pity our politicians throw money at the AFL. I dont see any sort of benefit for our footy.

We should at least be helped to get AFL experienced coaches at TSL level. It seems the AFL' community development stuff doesn't apply to Tasmania.

I think thats sad. Kane has a passion for junior development so good luck to him. I liked what he was achieving at NHFC. Coming from a long way back, I could see the players improvement. Internally I think the club is stronger for the work Kane did.

Still its another loss to Tas football. Others on here dont seem concerned. I think we all should be. Its a pity our politicians throw money at the AFL. I dont see any sort of benefit for our footy.

We should at least be helped to get AFL experienced coaches at TSL level. It seems the AFL' community development stuff doesn't apply to Tasmania.
Spot on
I am member of TCA and went to AGM, (sept), "The Hussey report" amongst other thinks identified the need to bring in Top coaches and support staff
( you pay peanuts , you generally get the monkeys, ), Off field has had a massive restructure ,and now all those second rate x NSW players have to earn there baggy green
Drew Ginn is typical and a new strengthening guy, and a few others

Spot on
I am member of TCA and went to AGM, (sept), "The Hussey report" amongst other thinks identified the need to bring in Top coaches and support staff
( you pay peanuts , you generally get the monkeys, ), Off field has had a massive restructure ,and now all those second rate x NSW players have to earn there baggy green
Drew Ginn is typical and a new strengthening guy, and a few others

Yes its the experience of the the AFL we rarely get & what we desperately need. The effect of a Zane Littlejohn is rare. he was such an impressive character & has gotten his chance in the big time. Aaron Cornelius showed a lot as a young coach, even through the bad injury he sustained, he still grew in the job. That was a real gutsy effort in anyones language. He is off to the NEAFL but I recon he'll go a lot further than that. With more support maybe Kane Richter would still be here & improving all the time.

We need these sorts of people to be deveioped where we can, & recruited maybe as part of an overall national AFL development of coaches. Each TSL club would benefit hugely & all the players & kids would improve.

We have exercise & strength courses through UTas in Launceston. So those people are about. With a couple of experienced AFL fitness people being brought in to develop our youth, but also help develop those local professionals cut their teeth in the TSL, with experienced over site, they'd improve the clubs & players as well as themselves. Sports Physios & Sports medicine specialists are already here.

Its the coaching we really need, with professional fitness people, & maybe some good footy managers.

Yes its the experience of the the AFL we rarely get & what we desperately need. The effect of a Zane Littlejohn is rare. he was such an impressive character & has gotten his chance in the big time. Aaron Cornelius showed a lot as a young coach, even through the bad injury he sustained, he still grew in the job. That was a real gutsy effort in anyones language. He is off to the NEAFL but I recon he'll go a lot further than that. With more support maybe Kane Richter would still be here & improving all the time.

We need these sorts of people to be deveioped where we can, & recruited maybe as part of an overall national AFL development of coaches. Each TSL club would benefit hugely & all the players & kids would improve.

We have exercise & strength courses through UTas in Launceston. So those people are about. With a couple of experienced AFL fitness people being brought in to develop our youth, but also help develop those local professionals cut their teeth in the TSL, with experienced over site, they'd improve the clubs & players as well as themselves. Sports Physios & Sports medicine specialists are already here.

Its the coaching we really need, with professional fitness people, & maybe some good footy managers.

great comments

The difference is, Cricket luckily we play against other states,very few players leave Tas Cricket recent poor performances was recognised , and to attract the Coaches/admin, here (no good locals ) we had to pay world market rates .
we will never have a local based AFL team, as we already have a saturated market in winter,
just a few draft picks and the odd coach and heaps of $ going across bass strait

great comments

The difference is, Cricket luckily we play against other states,very few players leave Tas Cricket recent poor performances was recognised , and to attract the Coaches/admin, here (no good locals ) we had to pay world market rates .
we will never have a local based AFL team, as we already have a saturated market in winter,
just a few draft picks and the odd coach and heaps of $ going across bass strait

Well actually the difference is CA is a national competition that is nationally run & state based. The AFL is not. It is a Melbourne suburban & self interested competition that brought in & crushed WA & SA state competitions in order to survive, Then into QLD & NSW to expand its TV income with some pretense at expanding the game. It has taken over our football for its own interests. Not the games benefit.
Its just a pity our lick spittle politicians haven't the guts to help its own football community.

Didnt know they were building these ovals, certainly looks impressive. Maybe TSL games to played there in the future, Or even a TSL club??
This will be the home ground for the Penguin football club but I understand AFL Tas. and Cricket Tasmania have been involved with this project. The ovals are fully compliant with AFL requirements and I understand the surface on the main oval at least will rank equally with Aurora, Blundstone and Kingborough twin ovals as the only AFL accredited grounds in the state. I'm not sure what the plans are for grandstands etc. but with most projects like this infrastructure is developed over a period of time. There may be some TSL games played there which would be great and I'm hoping that the Coastal teams can play their home finals there, at least up to pre-finals, obviously the grand finals will be at Aurora or Blundstone. Its hard to see why finals could not be played at this ground but AFL Tas. don't seem to want any finals outside Launceston or Hobart. Taking finals away from the coast was always about the condition of the playing surfaces now they will have to find another reason not to play finals here. With the tiny crowds we get at TSL games these days (including finals) they wont be able to use lack of spectator facilities as an excuse or will they ????

I saw some diagrams of this on the Central Coast Council website some months ago. I just looked again & theirs a great UTube fly through visualisation of the facility. So good luck to Penguin.

I must say it would have been nice to see some upgrading of Devonport Oval & West Park. They are much bigger towns & much more utilised facilities. (Cricket, Football, Carnival athletics & cycling) Those two facilities are simply falling apart.

Otherwise they could have built something significant like that for the NW coast nearer Devonport which is close to Latrobe so its a bigger population areaa & more likely to attract people from Launceston & Hobart for events. That extra 1/2 hour or so, each way, makes a difference.

Anyway, its where it is, so good luck.

I saw some diagrams of this on the Central Coast Council website some months ago. I just looked again & theirs a great UTube fly through visualisation of the facility. So good luck to Penguin.

I must say it would have been nice to see some upgrading of Devonport Oval & West Park. They are much bigger towns & much more utilised facilities. (Cricket, Football, Carnival athletics & cycling) Those two facilities are simply falling apart.

Otherwise they could have built something significant like that for the NW coast nearer Devonport which is close to Latrobe so its a bigger population areaa & more likely to attract people from Launceston & Hobart for events. That extra 1/2 hour or so, each way, makes a difference.

Anyway, its where it is, so good luck.
But Latrobe is too far for people from Burnie and the Circular Head to use. The Ovals are designed for the people on the NW to use, not Launny.

The Central Coast is in a great location for everyone on the Coast. It is similar to the NW Thunder, who play their games at Ulverstone.

plus the old Penguin Oval is in prime real estate, if you get my drift ;) with no room to improve it